Huntington National Bank Reviews

1.9 out of 5 stars
18 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 29, 2013
Love 24-hour grace Checking
Anonymous Account Holder

I opened this account for a feature I never hope to use. If you overdraw your checking account they alert you (text and/or email) and you have a day to fix it before an Overdraft fee is charged. Love it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 03, 2014
Huntington National Bank is a JOKE
Anonymous Account Holder

I used Huntington National Bank (HNB) for a loan I took out for my car. I paid the loan for about 2 years until I built up enough money to pay-off the loan in full.

I called the bank to pay-off the laon and all was good. I told them that I am taking the payment out of a seperate account than I had been using from my monthly withrawls. The representative took the new account information and repeated it all back to me with the amount that would be withrawn from the new account. She reassured me that the amount would not be taken out of the account I had previoucly been billed for. All was good ... until 1 week later. I looked at my account and I have -$500. The representative had taken the pay-off amount from the WRONG account and over withrew from the account she and I confirmed it would NOT be taken out of. After 2 long hours on the phone with Huntington filing a dispute, they listened to the recording from the conversation I had with the rep. and apologized ... after being rud eto me over the phobe. At one point the manager said, "I'm sure our representatives would not take down the wrong information." Well, sorry buddy THEY DID.

Finally, I received my money back. Of course HNB was so disorganized, they credited my account AND sent a check (real smart).

I thought all was good, until 2 weeks later a larger amount was taken out of the account AGAIN, WITHOUT my authroization.

I fought again on the phone, mind you I have an 8-5 job, so this was quit disruptive.

I went to my bank to dile a dispute and charge them for the over draft fee.

Three weeks later, I FINALLY have my money back AGAIN.

Now I can pay-off the loan and I ask to have the amount reduced tot he original pay-off amont they messed up in the first place. The rep. confirms wt will be that amount. low and behold ... it was not the amount taken out of the account and I have to file my THIRD dispute.

It's still ongoing ... and yes, I'm still waiting for them to reimburse the $35.00 over withrawl fee.

Huntington Nationla Bank is a JOKE and their Customer Service is rude and irratating.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jul 06, 2017
Awful
Anonymous Account Holder

I have never been late for a payment. I received a notice in the mail that I missed a payment, and after spending hours on the phone and providing proof from my bank that the check was received and CASHED, the bank still will not credit my loan for the payment that was made. They are absolutely horrible and incompetent.

more ...
Jun 29, 2017
Horrible experience
etwillms Account Holder

I have a car loan through Hungtington.  I can't access the website because they're always telling me there was an issue with something.  I got tired of mailing checks in, it's my only account that's not automatically withdrawn, so I tried calling and asking to set up a auto payment, or give me access to the website so I could do it myself.  Well, they couldn't help me with either. First, they said this wasn't possible to set up via the website, and I'd have to receive a fax.  I was at work and was unable to recieve a fax.  Really, a fax?  The payment slipped my mind and I was late paying it, which ****ed me off, but then, it was my fault. So I tried calling them again.  This time I was told they could email me the form, then I'd have to mail or fax it back.  Ok, whatever.  I then had to procede with an online application process simply to print the form, that hasn't been updated since 1996.  I'm paying over the phone, and am going to send my mail in my form for next month.  If it was just this, I probably would have given them a two star rating.

So today, I checked my credit score since I'm going to be looking for another apartment.  I see it dropped 50 points out of nowhere.  I was like...wha???  Then I notice that my car loan says it hasn't recieved a payment in three months.  Flatly wrong, so wrong.  Now I have to call this horrible bank tomorrow and ask them what the hells up with this. So yea, don't use this bank unless you like the idea of a ****ty retro banking experiece from the 1990s.

more ...
Jun 28, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Account Holder

I've been waiting for over 22 days for a proof of pay off. Everything takes longer than 20 days to get to you, even if your only an hour away from said bank. Customer service is not the greatest. Will never use this bank again.

more ...
Jun 21, 2017
Absolutely painful experience!
Anonymous Account Holder

Do NOT finance your home with a mortgage from Huntington! The whole process is a mess and the loan officers are incompetent. We applied for the loan at the end of April, it is now June 21. We never receive updates on the process unless we contact them first. We go weeks without hearing a word with the understanding that everything is in the works. Well when we finally hear back there's always an issue that needs addressed. We pushed our closing date back 3 times because of this lender. I understand buying a home is not a walk in the park but this is just ridiculous! We are on the verge of not having a place to live if these people don't do their job. The seller won't wait much longer and we have already asked so much of them and they are kind enough to work with us. Huntington does not take that into consideration. Go elsewhere for financing because this experience sucks! 

more ...
May 24, 2017
Huntington Bank is dishonest.
Anonymous Account Holder

Huntington Bank advertises 24 hour grace and then pulls string to reneg on that offer. I had 4 pending bills that qualified for the 24 hour grace. I went to the bank ATM well before the midnight cut-off to deposit the required amount to cover the bills. I deposited part cash and part check. In spite of never having held any of the approximately 200 checks I deposited previously, they decided to put a 2 day hold on an $87 check I deposited that night. They also refused to credit any of the cash deposit towards the bills. The result was $150 of overdraft fees. The bank manager tried to tell me that the 24 hour grace period starts when you swipe the card, not when it hits the bank and you are sent the notice. The notice on my computer and the text message sent by Huntington on my phone both state the 24 hour notice starts at the time it clears your bank and the notice is generated. This bank, and specifically this branch, is dishonest. They use promises to lure you in and then refuse to honor their promises. Very disappointing.

more ...
May 14, 2017
Liers and cheats
ouellette210 Account Holder

Ridiculous hold times on deposited checks,sending letters claiming they have confidenial ingormation that a check wont clear so they wil wihhold funds for two weeks. Guess what liers, it's my check,from anther bank, so I know it's going to to clear, you have no confidential information,just liers.

more ...
May 12, 2017
No issues
Anonymous Account Holder

i enjoy the 3% back in category of my choosing. I shop Walmart a lot so I have that as my rewards. Super easy to transfer to bank account. 

more ...
Apr 12, 2017
Huntington Bank - great if you are OCD
Anonymous Account Holder

I normally use Chase Bank.  However, Huntington had a great promo for $150 if you deposited $1000....who gives a 15% return on investment anymore?  So I did it.  I also figured a credit card that gives me 3% back on the utilities that I have to pay anyway would be awesome.  Huntington staff were incredibly nice and helpful.

Fast forward about 6 months.  I've finally how they could make money off of me, the person who hasn't paid a bank fee in over 20 years.  They don't have an option to make automatic payments to your credit card!!!  So you either have to be obsessive and check your account regularly to set up the payment amount, or run the risk of paying late.  

Back to Chase with autopay.  I'll give up the 2% extra in credit card rewards for the convenience of never having a late fee on my credit record.

more ...
Mar 28, 2017
Dishonest
Anonymous Account Holder

I am retirement age and in my whole life have never dealt with anyone so dishonest, actually taking money out of my account unauthorized.

more ...
Feb 08, 2017
policy changes= bill pay late fees
Anonymous Account Holder

After 4 years. suddenly I  can't  get my  bills  paid on time.  They  don't seem to  care  about low income  disabled  individuals.  just  policy changes which   make you  chose  which fees  to  take.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations