Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Huntington National Bank

2.3 out of 5 stars
17 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 22, 2016
Awesome
c4est88 Account Holder

5 Stars for these reasons: Excellent customer service in every Huntington bank I have been to, Overdraft protection, An excellent website and App, Rated as the best bank in Columbus, OH, and The availability of banks present in town.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 22, 2015
Be forwarned regarding 24 hour grace
Anonymous Account Holder

Do NOT rely on this and the advertising on this is misleading. It is up to the discretion of the bank as to whether to cover something so you have no idea when they are going to cover something or not. Soemtimes they cover checks, sometimes they dont. Sometimes they cover a debit transaction, sometimes they dont. They dont tell you this in the advertising. Do NOT rely on this.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Nov 22, 2016
Awesome
c4est88 Account Holder

5 Stars for these reasons: Excellent customer service in every Huntington bank I have been to, Overdraft protection, An excellent website and App, Rated as the best bank in Columbus, OH, and The availability of banks present in town.  

more ...
Nov 07, 2016
Horrible!
Anonymous Account Holder

They do not work with you at all! We tried 4 times to make it automatic payments. And everytime the person we talked to said yes it was successful and it would take the payment out monthly. Well, lo and behold I notice the payment has not been processed, and so I call them. They say your payment is late you have to pay late fees. I was very upset the first time and explained we had already switched to automatic, they siad we weren't in their system as automatic and the bill is late (their late fee is over $50!). All the following times the same thing happened! I have now paid $200 in late fees due to their error. And each time I called they would say yup you are set up and it'll come out monthly, and each time I would be charged a late fee! They were not helpful or understanding of what was going on, I can't wait to get out of this bank and into one that is competant!

more ...
Oct 30, 2016
No Issues So Far
Anonymous Account Holder

I switched to Huntington from a credit union earlier this year and I've had nothing but great experiences. The credit union I was with would charge me overdraft fees for the smallest things - even if I had the money in my account. At one point they bounced my rent check, even though I had the money, and didn't even inform me! Needless to say, I had to pay close to $100 in late/insufficent funds fees because of their stupid mistake. With Huntington I've yet to have that issue. Their asterick-free crecking is amazing! Hopefully I won't be regretting the switch later down the line.

more ...
Oct 20, 2016
Horrible experience with a car loan
Marsh14 Account Holder

I used this bank for a vehicle loan over a year ago. I recieved orders for a 365 deployment and overseas assignment afterwards, we couldn't take my vehicle. I sold it and then started the serious issues...I owed less than the sale price. HNB owed me the excess and assured me a check would be sent within 10-20 days. Day 21, no check and they sent the title to the wrong place for the new owner (I tracked it down and got it to the new owner). I had to go through several people for them to track down the money they owed me, which it turned out who ever closed my loan and sent the title NEVER had the check drafted in the first place. A month later (i'm not exaggerating fyi) and days shy of deploying I finally recieved what was owed to me. Worst experience with a bank to date.

more ...
Sep 29, 2016
Avoid car loan at ALL costs.
dcreeves88 Account Holder

Car loans are a joke through this lender. Customer service is OK, but laregly unhelpful. Will never go near Huntington for any reason again.

more ...
Jul 26, 2016
Auto Loan
Anonymous Account Holder

They are completely incompetent, every employee I've spoke to is rude and not very intelligent. A process that takes a week at a normal bank takes a month with Huntington. I can't wait to pay this car off and NEVER use their services again.

more ...
Jul 20, 2016
6 years of good banking at HNB in IN
HKMITCH Account Holder

I have banked with Huntington bank for 6 years and like them very well. I wish they had more branches, locations, or even "deposit" HNB ATM locations around that would make it a lot easier. Their 24 grace period, text, email alert has been nice a few times so I did not overdraft my account. I had problems with other banks, larger banks in the past and had no problems with Huntington in my 6 years with them. Very friendly to me at branches as well and helpful.

more ...
Jun 30, 2016
1st time customer and horrible experienc
Anonymous Account Holder

I called Huntington customer service to ask a simple question of why there is a difference in the original loan amount and current principle balance on a new loan. I have not made a payment as yet and what is that difference. I got multiple answers that did not make sense, when I called them out on it they say it is interest but you cannot calculate it, you need a special calculator to calculate this, and that they cannot calculate it. Then I got a response look at you loan documents and go back to the dealer for an explanation, when the issue is on Huntington's website. I did not choose them as a bank, unfortunately the dealer I bought my car with selected them...I wish I can easily switch banks, because their customer service is not informed and not helpful. I spoke with a supervisor that told me that she cannot explain the difference and I need to read my loan docs...I ask her if she had those in front of her, cause I did not and she said yes and it was not her job to explain that......extremely horrible service and speaking with them for a simple question ruins your entire day.

more ...
Jun 08, 2016
DONT GET THEIR MERCHANT SERVICES!
Anonymous Account Holder

Basically I'm out for over $500 and my business almost went under due to their lack of knowledge, their lack of following up and not passing along important details! I don't know how they stay in business with all the bad reviews.

more ...
Jun 03, 2016
Absolute worst online banking EVER
Anonymous Account Holder

Just don't do it. Go anywhere else.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations