Huntington National Bank Reviews

1.6 out of 5 stars
15 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Oct 12, 2017
Terrible.
Anonymous Account Holder

Moved out of state and have been chasing them for a month now to get a copy of the title to my husband so he can register his car in RI. My bank got everything to me in just under 2 weeks, and I had no issues. My husband has had to call every day and is repeatedly told another reason for the delay. He's also spoken with supervisors who say they will call him back with updates, but never have. We offered to pay off the car to get the title, but they told us it could be an additional 3-4 weeks for that process to complete, so we're stuck.

more ...
Oct 02, 2017
Voice credit card points are a joke!
Anonymous Account Holder

I paid off my credit card then received an email saying use the points so I tried to redeem they were worth $199 since I paid most of the card off they closed the account and I still owe under $100 on it and I lost my points. What a rip off!? I do not recommend their credit card at all!

more ...
Sep 21, 2017
Can't trust them!
Anonymous Account Holder

If you pay a bill using your debit card, but if the company don't take their money out until your account is less then what thug have available, they'll charge you a late fee of 37.50. Then when you call to dispute the matter they will have you on holds for hours. Currently been on hold for 45min, while writing this review

more ...
Jul 06, 2017
Awful
Anonymous Account Holder

I have never been late for a payment. I received a notice in the mail that I missed a payment, and after spending hours on the phone and providing proof from my bank that the check was received and CASHED, the bank still will not credit my loan for the payment that was made. They are absolutely horrible and incompetent.

more ...
Jun 29, 2017
Horrible experience
etwillms Account Holder

I have a car loan through Hungtington.  I can't access the website because they're always telling me there was an issue with something.  I got tired of mailing checks in, it's my only account that's not automatically withdrawn, so I tried calling and asking to set up a auto payment, or give me access to the website so I could do it myself.  Well, they couldn't help me with either. First, they said this wasn't possible to set up via the website, and I'd have to receive a fax.  I was at work and was unable to recieve a fax.  Really, a fax?  The payment slipped my mind and I was late paying it, which ****ed me off, but then, it was my fault. So I tried calling them again.  This time I was told they could email me the form, then I'd have to mail or fax it back.  Ok, whatever.  I then had to procede with an online application process simply to print the form, that hasn't been updated since 1996.  I'm paying over the phone, and am going to send my mail in my form for next month.  If it was just this, I probably would have given them a two star rating.

So today, I checked my credit score since I'm going to be looking for another apartment.  I see it dropped 50 points out of nowhere.  I was like...wha???  Then I notice that my car loan says it hasn't recieved a payment in three months.  Flatly wrong, so wrong.  Now I have to call this horrible bank tomorrow and ask them what the hells up with this. So yea, don't use this bank unless you like the idea of a ****ty retro banking experiece from the 1990s.

more ...
Jun 28, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Account Holder

I've been waiting for over 22 days for a proof of pay off. Everything takes longer than 20 days to get to you, even if your only an hour away from said bank. Customer service is not the greatest. Will never use this bank again.

more ...
Jun 21, 2017
Absolutely painful experience!
Anonymous Account Holder

Do NOT finance your home with a mortgage from Huntington! The whole process is a mess and the loan officers are incompetent. We applied for the loan at the end of April, it is now June 21. We never receive updates on the process unless we contact them first. We go weeks without hearing a word with the understanding that everything is in the works. Well when we finally hear back there's always an issue that needs addressed. We pushed our closing date back 3 times because of this lender. I understand buying a home is not a walk in the park but this is just ridiculous! We are on the verge of not having a place to live if these people don't do their job. The seller won't wait much longer and we have already asked so much of them and they are kind enough to work with us. Huntington does not take that into consideration. Go elsewhere for financing because this experience sucks! 

more ...
May 24, 2017
Huntington Bank is dishonest.
Anonymous Account Holder

Huntington Bank advertises 24 hour grace and then pulls string to reneg on that offer. I had 4 pending bills that qualified for the 24 hour grace. I went to the bank ATM well before the midnight cut-off to deposit the required amount to cover the bills. I deposited part cash and part check. In spite of never having held any of the approximately 200 checks I deposited previously, they decided to put a 2 day hold on an $87 check I deposited that night. They also refused to credit any of the cash deposit towards the bills. The result was $150 of overdraft fees. The bank manager tried to tell me that the 24 hour grace period starts when you swipe the card, not when it hits the bank and you are sent the notice. The notice on my computer and the text message sent by Huntington on my phone both state the 24 hour notice starts at the time it clears your bank and the notice is generated. This bank, and specifically this branch, is dishonest. They use promises to lure you in and then refuse to honor their promises. Very disappointing.

more ...
May 14, 2017
Liers and cheats
ouellette210 Account Holder

Ridiculous hold times on deposited checks,sending letters claiming they have confidenial ingormation that a check wont clear so they wil wihhold funds for two weeks. Guess what liers, it's my check,from anther bank, so I know it's going to to clear, you have no confidential information,just liers.

more ...
May 12, 2017
No issues
Anonymous Account Holder

i enjoy the 3% back in category of my choosing. I shop Walmart a lot so I have that as my rewards. Super easy to transfer to bank account. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations