Huntington National Bank Reviews

2.3 out of 5 stars
18 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 29, 2013
Love 24-hour grace Checking
Anonymous Account Holder

I opened this account for a feature I never hope to use. If you overdraw your checking account they alert you (text and/or email) and you have a day to fix it before an Overdraft fee is charged. Love it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 03, 2014
Huntington National Bank is a JOKE
Anonymous Account Holder

I used Huntington National Bank (HNB) for a loan I took out for my car. I paid the loan for about 2 years until I built up enough money to pay-off the loan in full.

I called the bank to pay-off the laon and all was good. I told them that I am taking the payment out of a seperate account than I had been using from my monthly withrawls. The representative took the new account information and repeated it all back to me with the amount that would be withrawn from the new account. She reassured me that the amount would not be taken out of the account I had previoucly been billed for. All was good ... until 1 week later. I looked at my account and I have -$500. The representative had taken the pay-off amount from the WRONG account and over withrew from the account she and I confirmed it would NOT be taken out of. After 2 long hours on the phone with Huntington filing a dispute, they listened to the recording from the conversation I had with the rep. and apologized ... after being rud eto me over the phobe. At one point the manager said, "I'm sure our representatives would not take down the wrong information." Well, sorry buddy THEY DID.

Finally, I received my money back. Of course HNB was so disorganized, they credited my account AND sent a check (real smart).

I thought all was good, until 2 weeks later a larger amount was taken out of the account AGAIN, WITHOUT my authroization.

I fought again on the phone, mind you I have an 8-5 job, so this was quit disruptive.

I went to my bank to dile a dispute and charge them for the over draft fee.

Three weeks later, I FINALLY have my money back AGAIN.

Now I can pay-off the loan and I ask to have the amount reduced tot he original pay-off amont they messed up in the first place. The rep. confirms wt will be that amount. low and behold ... it was not the amount taken out of the account and I have to file my THIRD dispute.

It's still ongoing ... and yes, I'm still waiting for them to reimburse the $35.00 over withrawl fee.

Huntington Nationla Bank is a JOKE and their Customer Service is rude and irratating.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

May 14, 2017
Liers and cheats
ouellette210 Account Holder

Ridiculous hold times on deposited checks,sending letters claiming they have confidenial ingormation that a check wont clear so they wil wihhold funds for two weeks. Guess what liers, it's my check,from anther bank, so I know it's going to to clear, you have no confidential information,just liers.

more ...
May 12, 2017
No issues
Anonymous Account Holder

i enjoy the 3% back in category of my choosing. I shop Walmart a lot so I have that as my rewards. Super easy to transfer to bank account. 

more ...
Apr 12, 2017
Huntington Bank - great if you are OCD
Anonymous Account Holder

I normally use Chase Bank.  However, Huntington had a great promo for $150 if you deposited $1000....who gives a 15% return on investment anymore?  So I did it.  I also figured a credit card that gives me 3% back on the utilities that I have to pay anyway would be awesome.  Huntington staff were incredibly nice and helpful.

Fast forward about 6 months.  I've finally how they could make money off of me, the person who hasn't paid a bank fee in over 20 years.  They don't have an option to make automatic payments to your credit card!!!  So you either have to be obsessive and check your account regularly to set up the payment amount, or run the risk of paying late.  

Back to Chase with autopay.  I'll give up the 2% extra in credit card rewards for the convenience of never having a late fee on my credit record.

more ...
Mar 28, 2017
Dishonest
Anonymous Account Holder

I am retirement age and in my whole life have never dealt with anyone so dishonest, actually taking money out of my account unauthorized.

more ...
Feb 08, 2017
policy changes= bill pay late fees
Anonymous Account Holder

After 4 years. suddenly I  can't  get my  bills  paid on time.  They  don't seem to  care  about low income  disabled  individuals.  just  policy changes which   make you  chose  which fees  to  take.

more ...
Feb 02, 2017
Courteous employees and generous policie
jolee24 Account Holder

I've been banking with Huntington since before I could see over their counter. They worked with me in my teen years when I didn't quite understand overdraft fees, and are now working with me during the home buying process. No matter which branch I walk into, I know the employees will be kind and helpful. They also have a great debit card fraud policy and will refund any erroneous charges without you having to someone show proof of it or go through a long process.

more ...
Jan 06, 2017
Horrible!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

Do not finanace anything through this bank, I promise you will wish you hadn't!! 

more ...
Nov 22, 2016
Awesome
c4est88 Account Holder

5 Stars for these reasons: Excellent customer service in every Huntington bank I have been to, Overdraft protection, An excellent website and App, Rated as the best bank in Columbus, OH, and The availability of banks present in town.  

more ...
Nov 07, 2016
Horrible!
Anonymous Account Holder

They do not work with you at all! We tried 4 times to make it automatic payments. And everytime the person we talked to said yes it was successful and it would take the payment out monthly. Well, lo and behold I notice the payment has not been processed, and so I call them. They say your payment is late you have to pay late fees. I was very upset the first time and explained we had already switched to automatic, they siad we weren't in their system as automatic and the bill is late (their late fee is over $50!). All the following times the same thing happened! I have now paid $200 in late fees due to their error. And each time I called they would say yup you are set up and it'll come out monthly, and each time I would be charged a late fee! They were not helpful or understanding of what was going on, I can't wait to get out of this bank and into one that is competant!

more ...
Oct 30, 2016
No Issues So Far
Anonymous Account Holder

I switched to Huntington from a credit union earlier this year and I've had nothing but great experiences. The credit union I was with would charge me overdraft fees for the smallest things - even if I had the money in my account. At one point they bounced my rent check, even though I had the money, and didn't even inform me! Needless to say, I had to pay close to $100 in late/insufficent funds fees because of their stupid mistake. With Huntington I've yet to have that issue. Their asterick-free crecking is amazing! Hopefully I won't be regretting the switch later down the line.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations