FirstMerit Bank

1.4 out of 5 stars
10 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

1.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Mar 10, 2017
Have had no issues with this bank .
Anonymous Account Holder

Friendly customer service .

more ...
Feb 13, 2017
AWFUL
msneisy04 Account Holder

I have only banked with FIrst Merit since September and they suck badly!!! They backdated overdraft fees so that they could charge me! My account was current and then they overdrafted me for dates passed on a weekend so that you could not call and complain. When I was finally able to call in and complain they were rude and disrespectful and unwilling to refund the charges even though they were totally false charges I have talked to several people there and I think that they are trained to be rude.

more ...
Dec 23, 2016
HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

Firstmerit Nickel and dimes you for everything. They won't even give you 24 hrs to transfer money from one acct to the other, so when I had internet trouble and had to wait until the next day they charged me overdraft fees. Their system does not update everyday either. It can be days sometimes. My other bank updates continuous. Horrible customer service also. So glad Huntington is taking over.

more ...
Dec 19, 2016
I HATE HATE HATE THEM
Anonymous Account Holder

The worst bank EVER. Whatever you do, do not trust them with your money or services. I have never had so much trouble with logging on to a web site for online banking information. My debit card number, on multiple occasions has come up as not matching their records. At times when I have desperately needed my card they have put holds on it.

I truly hope they go out of business and I will never deal with them again accept to cheer when they go under!!!

more ...
Nov 09, 2016
Unprofessional and dispectful!
Anonymous Account Holder

No matter what area we went to the people that worked there didnt want to do their job. But the one that we occisioanlly went to was even worse we avoid most contact we can with the tellers. SO MANY MISTAKES! and they didnt want to fix what they did wrong. They were always dispectful with rude comments and very unprofessional.  I never recomend this bank. I think they have gotten bought out by Hunnington but alot of the same workers in some areas. 

more ...
Sep 07, 2016
Rude & don't know what they're doing
Anonymous Account Holder

These people are so rude and help with nothing. Good luck getting anyone to help. If they make a mistake, you pay for it. There's a crappy customer service that you mail back and forth to get things right, and they still suck. Stay away from this crappy bank!

more ...
Sep 01, 2016
Overdraft Theives!!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

I made an ATM deposit of CASH on a Friday BEFORE closing time.  My receipt stated it would be available on Monday.  I made debit card purchases Monday and they charged me 2 overdraft fees on Tuesday for two of those purchases!!!  Even my online statement shows the deposit posted on Monday and there were NO negative balances.  After several phone calls, they reversed only one of the charges as a "courtesy".  They stated only part of the cash deposit was available on Monday.  My receipt did not say that.  What a bunch of BS.  We have banked with them for years and besides them being extremely slow, have not had any issues.  I'll be looking for a new bank.

more ...
Jun 21, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank is a thief. I once had used my debit card to do purchases such as gas, then to the grocery store, etc. the next day I overdraw my account a few bucks since I have the overdraft practice. FirstMerit charged me $35 for each transaction. For gas, grocery, and other items even though I had the funds in the account prior to overdrawing my account. I talked to a representative over the phone and he was getting smart with me saying they were all overdraft fees because I didn't have the funds in my account. RIPOFF! 

more ...
May 17, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

I would give them negitve stars if I could! They took my money from my account due to inactivity! I hate this bank it want to see it fail miserably! The people inside suck too! Not helpful or friendly!

more ...
May 03, 2016
Unable to make loan payments online
Anonymous Account Holder

I received a loan for my car through First Merit. I attempted to pay my loan online but was unable to because I do not have a checking or savings account with them. It's frustrating because now I have to either set up with them or pay through the mail by check. I feel like I should be able to make an online payment whether or not I bank with them. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations