Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

FirstMerit Bank

1.0 out of 5 stars
8 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year


Application Process

1.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1 5

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Sep 07, 2016
Rude & don't know what they're doing
Anonymous Account Holder

These people are so rude and help with nothing. Good luck getting anyone to help. If they make a mistake, you pay for it. There's a crappy customer service that you mail back and forth to get things right, and they still suck. Stay away from this crappy bank!

more ...
Sep 01, 2016
Overdraft Theives!!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

I made an ATM deposit of CASH on a Friday BEFORE closing time.  My receipt stated it would be available on Monday.  I made debit card purchases Monday and they charged me 2 overdraft fees on Tuesday for two of those purchases!!!  Even my online statement shows the deposit posted on Monday and there were NO negative balances.  After several phone calls, they reversed only one of the charges as a "courtesy".  They stated only part of the cash deposit was available on Monday.  My receipt did not say that.  What a bunch of BS.  We have banked with them for years and besides them being extremely slow, have not had any issues.  I'll be looking for a new bank.

more ...
Jun 21, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank is a thief. I once had used my debit card to do purchases such as gas, then to the grocery store, etc. the next day I overdraw my account a few bucks since I have the overdraft practice. FirstMerit charged me $35 for each transaction. For gas, grocery, and other items even though I had the funds in the account prior to overdrawing my account. I talked to a representative over the phone and he was getting smart with me saying they were all overdraft fees because I didn't have the funds in my account. RIPOFF! 

more ...
May 17, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

I would give them negitve stars if I could! They took my money from my account due to inactivity! I hate this bank it want to see it fail miserably! The people inside suck too! Not helpful or friendly!

more ...
May 03, 2016
Unable to make loan payments online
Anonymous Account Holder

I received a loan for my car through First Merit. I attempted to pay my loan online but was unable to because I do not have a checking or savings account with them. It's frustrating because now I have to either set up with them or pay through the mail by check. I feel like I should be able to make an online payment whether or not I bank with them. 

more ...
Jan 30, 2016
Just Terrible In All Things.
Carp8888 Account Holder

First off it doesn't really matter anymore because as of 2/12/15  First Merit with be "Huntington Bank" I believe that's what it's called.  When it was Citizens I loved it , al the Tellers knew my name , were helpful , nice would even let me cash a check EVEN if there was NOT enough Money in my account to cover it mostly because I had been Banking there for 30 YEARS !  Then it's changes to F.M. and I start to notice after 3 or 4 months NOT ONE Employee is left they ALL quit, Then I notice it's like a "Ghost Town" no Customers and only TWO people working behind the Counter! Then nobody in the offices THEN they STOP GIVING Deposit or Withdrawel slips so your just supposed to give them your Deposit and Assume they know who you are? Well that's how it's been going it seems if I need to make a Overnight Deposit in the Drop box I end up looking for a piece of scratch paper sometime then I just made my own Deposit Slips on my Computer Talk about being friggen CHEAP anyway you know a Banks in Serious Trouble when ALL the Employees quit and the ones that are there are from there other near by Banks in other Cities but the Biggest give away is when you go there there's not a single Customer besides you. Skip First Merit and Skip "Huntington"  I know Bank at "Chase" and have nothing but Good things to say about them.

more ...
Jan 05, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

It just sucks. I loved citizens bank. From branch service to your online experience . I have had an over draft fee removed from my account twice. And both time my balance never went negative. The first time went there and took care of it . Second time just paid there fee. With citizens every electronic transaction was up dated instantly. First merit they delay some times multiple days. I understand that I should keep better records of what comes in and out of my account. But for years citizens bank ability to keep data up to date was all that was needed.

more ...
Dec 21, 2015
too stressful
Anonymous Account Holder

I had an account for years with Citizens before Firstmerit took over.  It was my grandmother's account before mine.  I accepted the transition might have problems, but 6 months later the debits were still a mess.  I would place an order and sometimes there would be a charge for that amount AND a hold for the same amount.  Until the hold expired 2 weeks later, my account was basically down twice the money.  I was scared to order anything unless I had twice as much in the account than I needed.  The people at the bank couldn't help and didn't understand how to work the computer.  Also a few deposited checks took 2 weeks to post to my account.  It's fine to say just keep a good register  of deposits and debits, but I had a heck of a time when it took so long for things to post correctly.  I had to close this account that was decades old, and move to the credit union- which works perfectly by the way.  Too bad.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations