First PREMIER® Bank Reviews

1.8 out of 5 stars
57 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 17, 2019
Good & Bad Unbiased Review
kf4sci Account Holder

I’ve had two cards with them for about 4 years. Started with a low credit limit but raises automatically a few times each year. Interest is high with processing and annual fees but Iknew that going in. Everything has been fine except that paying online is often difficult. The website is down about 1/3 the time! It also can take several days to post payments to your account. Pay at least a week early! When the website is down, call customer service and pay by telephone! Other than that, no complaints. It has been a tremendous help rebuilding my credit! So yes, it was worth the estra cost and effort.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 09, 2018
They dont care about customers!
ShayB1215 Account Holder

They will suspend your account without you knowing for stupid reasons like you are adding too much money. You will be at the register and cant make a purchase. Took them two weeks to resolve issue. I had to send verification three times so they could get it right.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jul 15, 2019
Garbage...
DaylinKnight Account Holder

Absolutely terrible. Don't use it. I've had nothing but trouble. My credit score has dropped huge amounts twice because of them. It is extremely difficult to talk to them because they rarely answer the phone, don't have a logical online way to communicate, and frequently just say to send them a letter...in 2019. I used the account that I use to pay most of my bills and it didn't work. No reason was given and they didn't tell me until a month later when I owed over $100. That number kept rising because none of my other payment methods (that I use for other bills) worked...and they did literally nothing whatsoever to help fix this problem. I have never despised a company more in my life. A 1* is beyond generous. I would go lower if I could. Complete and utter garbage. Avoid at all costs.

more ...
Jul 14, 2019
Greedy
Jersey2Georgia Account Holder

Because my name was spelled wrong on my initial card..the "a" was missing from the end of my first name, due to my last name being hyphenated. The supervisor fixed it, but refused to send me the right card, until I pay my fee, my argument was I don't mind the fee, but I didnt have to pay first when I ordered the card n got the card with the missing letter, so when I get the card with the right info, I will pay the fee, she said no..I told her that's not in the terms and conditions. If I get a wrong name I cant use my card, so I should pay money then get card when it was their fault to begin with? Nope.!!

more ...
Jul 05, 2019
The Premier Credit Card is a SCAM!
TLFord12 Account Holder

I made the mistake of obtaining this card, as the advertisement stated that it would help with poor credit, etc. However, this is one of those cards that charge extremely high interest rates as well as extraordinary fees on a MONTHLY basis. I received a $700 credit limit. I put approximately $600 on the card. I have made over $750 in payments to Premier and my balance is still just under $600. The monthly interest rate is approximately $60. With the numerous fees, the minimum monthly payment is about $140 (with a $600 balance). If you do not pay the full amount each month, Premier reports to the credit bureaus that you missed a payment. I have never missed a monthly payment, yet my credit report shows that I missed my last 3 payments. This card directly caused my credit score to drop 60 points. Please spread the word about the Premier Credit Card. I would hate to see anyone else get scammed the way I did. READ THE FINE PRINT.

more ...
Jul 05, 2019
The Premier Credit Card is a SCAM!
TLFord12 Account Holder

I made the mistake of obtaining this card, as the advertisement stated that it would help with poor credit, etc. However, this is one of those cards that charge extremely high interest rates as well as extraordinary fees on a MONTHLY basis. I received a $700 credit limit. I put approximately $600 on the card. I have made over $750 in payments to Premier and my balance is still just under $600. The monthly interest rate is approximately $60. With the numerous fees, the minimum monthly payment is about $140 (with a $600 balance). If you do not pay the full amount each month, Premier reports to the credit bureaus that you missed a payment. I have never missed a monthly payment, yet my credit report shows that I missed my last 3 payments. This card directly caused my credit score to drop 60 points. Please spread the word about the Premier Credit Card. I would hate to see anyone else get scammed the way I did. READ THE FINE PRINT.

more ...
Jul 05, 2019
Not too choosy with bad/borderline cred
PJ2012 Account Holder

Yes, they charge up front fees before you receive the card. In the housing industry this is akin to getting a junk mortgage where the lender was providing funds up front for mortgages that should not have been written.  Hence, FP charge higher rates and also a monthly rate.

My limit is $1000.  My first bill was $20 before I received the card.  However, the payment was due after I got the card.

My only complaint with FP is the length of time between taking payment from the bank and making that credit available.  I'm at 2 weeks right now and while the balance shows accurately, the available credit is not updated.

It's not them, it's me with my credit.  Get better credit, see FP go away.  It's really that simple.  I'm not there yet.  Soon!!

more ...
Jul 03, 2019
HORRIBLE
KRUIZ8285 Account Holder

DO NOT GET THIS CARD!!!!! This card was fine in the beginning UNTIL the app stops working-you can't log on you can click to get a new password sent to you and you will never get a link to reset your password and good luck on getting somone on the phone. This made me fall behind on payments and the thing is I WANT TO PAY THEM AND I CAN'T LOG ON!!!! I fell behind on payments and it dropped my credit score immensly. I got a letter in the mail with steps on how to pay on an overcharged card and guess what the steps on the paper do not match the steps on the site.. the steps that they have aren't even an option!!! I'm on the phone with someone right now who has a huge attitude talking to me like I don't know how to follow directions and she went on the website and saw for herself that they steps aren't even an option online!! I've been on hold now for 20 minutes!!! STAY AWAY!! TO FIX CREDIT CHOOSE A CAPITAL ONE OR CREDIT ONE CREDIT CARD THEY HAVE BEEN GREAT.

more ...
Jul 04, 2019

You can seriously call and make a payment over the phone if you “REALLY” wanted to pay. Stop making excuses for your own ineptitude

 
Jul 17, 2019

Both Capital One and Credit One are similar and just as bad.

 
Jul 02, 2019
shadow049 Account Holder

no problemas of yet and i have had this card a year now

more ...
Jul 02, 2019
shadow049 Account Holder

read before you apply for this card i have never had any problem with this card had it a year now

more ...
Jun 17, 2019
Good
Jaymiemmm Account Holder

Ive had this card for 4 months and only use it some, but so far eveythings going great. Builidng my credit has never been so easy as soon as i hit my 6th month im going to apply for a real credit card. This card has boosted my credit score 130 points. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations