First PREMIER® Bank Reviews

2.0 out of 5 stars
62 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 08, 2017
Do what I did...And rebuild your credit
Anonymous Account Holder

I am writing this review to let everyone know its OK. It really is. I got this card back in May 2015 and cancelled it January 6, 1017. I kept this card approximately 1 1/2 years. When I first applied for this card my credit was terrible. But, they approved me for a $300.00 limit. And, at the time of approval I was very grateful. The first thing I did was set up an online account for the purpose of making payments. Most importantly, I made all payments on time (making sure to pay a few days before the due date and paying in full when I could.) Never any issues with customer service or payment receipts. They really do help to rebuild you credit because payments are reported to the 3 major credit bureaus every month. I cancelled the card because, I now qualify for high limit, no interest credit cards without annual fees and First Premier does not provide credit line increases with out a charge. So do what I did...use the First Primier credit card as a tool to re-establish your credit. And, everything else will fall into place. Keep in mind, this is not the card for people with excellent credit so use it wisely and responsibly

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 12, 2013
Horrible card stay away from
Anonymous Account Holder

I've had this card for 14 months now I had to reestablish my credit from my divorrce from my wife I have this card and 1 other to try to get back on track and I can say this card is the worst card in the world and the company is nothing but about the money. The interest rate is 36% $99 annual fee and a d*** 15 per month maintanence fee what a rip off stay as far away from First Premier as possible.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jun 26, 2017
SCAM....STAY AWAY AT ALL COSTS!!!!!!!!!!
deuce145 Account Holder

This bank will give you the card, then utilize every excuse to penalize you in any way possible. I made above minimum payments mothly EARLY....and they would still send "reminders" to my email "reminding" me of my monthly payment due. I called several times customer service, only to be told the "reminders" are automatic, despite the fact I was able to verify with confirmation number my above minimum payment was already processed early for the said month. Equally, they were always tacking on various "processing" fees, which when I called customer service I was told they are routine. Bottom line they are a total SCAM....essentially a legal loan shark...do yourself a favor and stay away at all costs not worth it.

more ...
Jun 26, 2017
ONE OF THE WORST CREDIT CARDS, I HAD!!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

AVOID IT AT ALL COST, FIRST PREMIER BANK IS A RIP OFF, I KEEP MAKING PAYMNETS AND MY BALANCE STILL THE SAME... THEY CHARGE FOR EVERYTHING...THEY ARE SHARKS TAKING ADVANTAGE OF YOUR SITUATION, DON'T GOP FOR THEM... IHAVE A BETTERE XPERIENCE WITH CAPITAL ONE

more ...
Jun 12, 2017
Terrible Customer Service; DO NOT USE
CierraRosee Account Holder

After months of on time payments and using this card monthly about $200-$400 and would pay off in full. Within two weeks of my automatic payment not going through they closed my account and I only found this out when I went to make a $200 payment via the phone. They told me if it happens twice they automatically close your account. The automatic payment attempts were two days apart, I cannot believe I did not receive a letter or a voicemail stating what happened and that they were going to close my account. Would never recommend this bank to anyone, will continue to use my business elsewhere. 

more ...
Jun 08, 2017
Ridiculous and excessive "fees"
kjt4116 Account Holder

I applied for this joke of a card simply to have something set aside for emergencies. My credit is not fantastic but frankly not that bad either. i've got other cards and a car loan and none of them are this utterly ridiculous. I was expected to pay a $95 "program fee" AND an annual fee AND a monthly fee, all for a lousy $600 credit limit. When i called them and told tht that was obscene and said cancel it, i still got daily phone calls to remond me to pay thiere "program fee" before i could use the card.. <insert your choice of expletive here) NO!!

Stay far far away from this card.Try for Capital One. They will give most anyone a chance to prove yourself, and they won't rip you off with absurd fees.

more ...
May 26, 2017
Great
Anonymous Account Holder

It's a great card to start out building up your credit. If you don't know how credit cards work get more information before getting one. Seriously it's pretty cool.

more ...
May 21, 2017
This card will do
Anonymous Account Holder

The only issue I have with this card is if one card is over do they lock all your accounts  

easy fix  I had the make both cards do at the same time and yes I pay on time  or b4 the do date now  lol

more ...
May 20, 2017
Helps re-establish your credit.good
Anonymous Account Holder

I had filed bankruptcy and my credit was in the toilet - I needed to establish good credit again and this bank card helped me do  just that. Yes,  you have to pay to get started again, fees, etc. but it is better than not having credit which is something we need in this society. They were a great help to me in my time of need,  but I have other cards with no high fees and annual payments. so I cancelled my cards. but thank Premiere for the help and support I needed it.

more ...
May 17, 2017
work with you to a point
Anonymous Account Holder

when payment is due you better make it

more ...
May 07, 2017
AWFUL11111111111111111111111111111111
cubbee65 Account Holder

This is the WORST card ever they charge you a percent of charges that you dont  even make becasue byt the time they take out this and that you have nothing left to spend every month they charge me anywhere from 14.66 to 14.95 of interest like I said on purchases not ever make, DON'T EVER GET THIS CARD EVEN IF YOUR TRYING TOO BUILD YOUR CREDIT, THERE ARE OTHERS THAT ARE BETTER..

more ...
Apr 22, 2017
Good if you are willing to play by rules
Kelbert6677 Account Holder

I have had 1st Prem for about 2 years ( second one I got about a year after the first one) and both are at $700 now..  It is my first credit card since rebuilding my credit.  They did charge me for the first CLI of $100 at 25%.  I made up my mind to pay them off and be more responsible with my money.  I paid them off and put the cards away about 5 months later (January 2017).  I needed to rent a party bus and put the charge on this card and immediately paid it off before the next statement closed.  Fast forward to earlier this month (April 5th 2017) they have increased my limit $300 without the fee.  The letter said as a reward for my good credit and responsible use I was getting a $300 credit limit increase without the fee.  My credit score on my bill was 685.  As for the cards I currently hold...(many of them so I'm trying to get everyone of them down to zero balance and only use 1 or 2 at a time) Discover It Chrome 0% interest,. AMEX Blue Cash Everyday, CITI Costco 0%, Creidt Union Visa Card, Merrick-non-secured and Capital One Quicksilver.  

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations