Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

First PREMIER® Bank

1.9 out of 5 stars
70 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year


Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

2 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 10, 2016
Remember why we all have this card!!!
smul86 Account Holder

I have had this credit card for almost 3 years, and the only reason why I have not cancelled it is because they CONSISTENTLY report to all 3 credit bureas. My credit was A MESS! I was young and stupid with credit, and I got myself wayy in over my head. This card has helped me build my credit up from a 400 to a 750! I pay off my balance pretty quickly and because its a usually just a 300$ credit limit it is easy to do so, yes the interest rate is high, as with every other loan or card offered to someone who has bad credit. I don't really use this card ever anymore, I just pay the monthly 6$ fee and I'm thankful for the positive reporting first premier does for me, pretty much we are paying them to report that we have an open account in good standing and show payment activity. And thats that. I have been able to take out personal loans from my bank with low interest rates, I have cards with Chase, Capital one, and other store cards.

more ...

Was this review helpful?


Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 01, 2016
It is what it is...
KCKub Account Holder

Look, you need to rebuild credit. Well, this bank will help you do that. Yes, you'll have to pay exhorbitant fees (monthly, yearly, limit increase fee) but it does what you need it to do: Rebuild your credit. But it only works if you keep up with your credit. The card itself isn't going to do this for you.

I've had one 1st Premier card for about 3 years and a 2nd one for about 2 years. I keep up with payments (I don't spend that much on them) and typically pay them off every month. Over the past year I've been able to get other credit cards from places like Capital One and USAA that have way lower interest rates and much higher credit limits. 3 years ago I would have never been able to do that.

So if I've been happy with them, why such a low score?

1)  Most credit cards will, if you have a good history with them, lower your interest rate if you ask them to. 1st Premier will not do this. It is written in the contract that the rate you get when you're approved for the card is the rate that you will have for the life of your account. 

2)  All these **** fees! Monthly servicing fee, annual fee, and if you accept an offer to raise your credit limit, they charge you a fee for that, too! (25% of credit limit increast amount.) It really is ridiculous. And the fees you have to pay just to open the account...ridiculous as well.

3)  Customer service is awful. They only tell you what they CAN'T do for you instead of what they CAN do for you. 

Those are my three biggest complaints. Now that my credit has been rebuilt pretty well, I wish that I could just close the account (I mean, I physically can) but closing accounts is bad for your credit score. So unfortunately, I'll just keep payint my $6 a month servicing fee (even thought I haven't used the card)  for a couple more years and then close them.

more ...

Was this review helpful?


These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Oct 26, 2016
Jjf02914 Account Holder


more ...
Oct 25, 2016
Terrible Never apply
brosss Account Holder

NEVER and never apply. My account closed and I am just paying to cover balance. They closed my account because I did 2-3 payments in a month (whats the hell). I now I cant pay online even by phone,I shoud call customer service wait for answer and then they can do it. I am going to pay remaining amount and throw the card to the trash and. AGAIN NEVER APPLY. 

more ...
Oct 19, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

I hate this card I get charged a monthly fee and a stupid rate every month. I cant wait to cancel it 

more ...
Oct 08, 2016
First premier is down right terrible !!!
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank doesn't handle credit cards well.
They refuse to handle aviable credit dollars.
They should be thrown in JAIL! TAKE IT OVER!

more ...
Sep 29, 2016
One late payment
niecytown38 Account Holder

I was late once on this card and tried to get them to remove it from my go. 

more ...
Sep 19, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

After claiming chapter 7 They approved me at $750. I undertod the fees which are high however I had to start somehere and this was a good start, I now have two of their cards total of $1,400.00  I really dnt mind the APR because I pay my card off every month and now I have a total of 5 credit cards all zero balance :) plus a convertaible at 9% , not to mention my crredit scre is 710 :-)

more ...
Sep 19, 2016
This bank is about fees-
Anonymous Account Holder

Fees are the highest in the credit card industry. As soon as you get your card, YOU OWE $180. Also an $8 per month servicing fee even if you have no balance. Yearly fees are $175...every year. Highest interest in the industry. They prey on people who have no credit. Nasty customer service rep who said take it or leave it. I cancelled the card after 1 month. STAY AWAY FROM FIRST PREMIER. They will put you in debt with their fees and phony charges.

more ...
Sep 13, 2016
Perfect for what I need it for
Anonymous Account Holder

No other company would approve me after my bankruptcy and my low credit scores. First Premier did, although the interest rates are high, it is worth it to begin rebuilding. And it did help me rebuild. I now how lower interest credit cards, but still keep this one because of how much it helped me. I use it for small mothly bills and pay it off right away. For people rebuilding, options are limited so be grateful for the companies willing to invest in high risk customer.

more ...
Aug 30, 2016
Waste of time............
CreditSaavy Account Holder

I had this card and it is awful. The fees will eat up your utilization alone, further bringing down your score. There's at least $100 fees within a matter of months all for a card with $300 limit. Their automated system is garbage. I have opened an Opensky secured card and a Capital One secured and let me tell you, even though it's secured, it's a heck of a lot better than having HALF of your "unsecured" amount taken in fees!!!!! Opensky did NOT check my credit which was great and Capital One did, scores around 500, and they STILL approved me!

more ...
Aug 15, 2016
they did right by me
Anonymous Account Holder

When I got crushed in 2009, I defaulted on this card.  Customer Service was empathetic and tried to work with me, but unfortunately it was "blood from a stone" :(  A couple of years later, they came back and offered to remove the default and restore the debt as my credit limit.  Being employed again, I agreed knowing this was the price to pay for pulling my credit score back out of the dumpster.  After paying everything back, they've increased my limit (twice), and have a *relatively* competitive 19.9% APR.  The whole sub-prime credit/rebuilding business is shady, but I keep them around out of appreciation, and use it for a handful of small recurring subscriptions I have.  I consider the monthly service fee as a hedge against having one of my main accounts being stolen and losing a ton more money from somewhere with a higher limit.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations