First PREMIER® Bank Reviews

1.7 out of 5 stars
54 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 08, 2017
Do what I did...And rebuild your credit
Anonymous Account Holder

I am writing this review to let everyone know its OK. It really is. I got this card back in May 2015 and cancelled it January 6, 1017. I kept this card approximately 1 1/2 years. When I first applied for this card my credit was terrible. But, they approved me for a $300.00 limit. And, at the time of approval I was very grateful. The first thing I did was set up an online account for the purpose of making payments. Most importantly, I made all payments on time (making sure to pay a few days before the due date and paying in full when I could.) Never any issues with customer service or payment receipts. They really do help to rebuild you credit because payments are reported to the 3 major credit bureaus every month. I cancelled the card because, I now qualify for high limit, no interest credit cards without annual fees and First Premier does not provide credit line increases with out a charge. So do what I did...use the First Primier credit card as a tool to re-establish your credit. And, everything else will fall into place. Keep in mind, this is not the card for people with excellent credit so use it wisely and responsibly

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 24, 2017
Disappointing
Tony335 Account Holder

This company did not report to credit services as should have. I made a large payment and switched banks( even updating banking information online) and they still processed my old bank. Which, when I called, they said I did not update ( which obviously was a lie because they also processed an additional amount from my current bank). They did not want to remove the fee they charged me! I told the agent that I did not think it fair that I have to pay the fee, but I would at a later date and I probably would close the account at that time too......A week later I found out they suspended my account! Then, the following week, they updated their status on my credit report saying account closed due to creditor and also put an over the credit limit amount that I had NEVER reached( which would look bad on my credit report to any future creditors)! I will be reporting this company to the BBB. They are in it to make money from people and the deposit you won't get back if you use this card. So beware!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Dec 11, 2017
Street hustlers
Anonymous Account Holder

Although this car does help you build it also hurts you it charges you a tremendous amount of money will you calculate what you spent on this card your heart will drop if you want a real card tried to secured by discover I'm attaching my link you can use my link to sign up and you'll receive $50 as far as First Premier slowly walk away I regret it I didn't know about other cards until after I was sucked in with him

Become a Discover Cardmember and you'll get $50 Cashback Bonus with your 1st purchase within 3 months.
https://refer.discover.com/s/tttp6

more ...
Nov 29, 2017
HORRIBLEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!
jreese311 Account Holder

If you can get another card do it. Stay away from this card I have had so many issues with this company and right now I can't close the account since I have balances on them which i will be paying off. Their customer service is terrible can't even speak english or understand anything you ask them. their fees are ridiculously high but they don't tell you these things when you sign up. just stay away from this card.

more ...
Nov 10, 2017
Stay away unless you’re truly desperate.
LittleNimbus Account Holder

I got my first credit card with them about 3 years ago when I was in desperate situation and I had nowhere else to turn. I was approved for a $300 limit, and I made my monthly payments on time (if not early). After almost a year, I got an offer in the mail to apply for another credit card with them, and I was approved again, but this time for a $700 limit. Again, I made all my payments on time, though I will admit that I was only paying the minimum amount due.

I was relatively satisfied with them (their interest rates are no joke), until a couple months ago. I went online to make my monthly payment as usual, and I selected the option to pay the minimum due which was around $51. I used their preselected option instead of typing in the amount due. The payment cleared my account and I thought all was well until I started getting calls and a letter about my “past due account”. What? Apparently the $51 listed on their website wasn’t *actually* the minimum amount due, it was actually about $25 more than that. So why did the website say that, instead of saying I owed $76? No one had an answer. Of course, since my account was “past due”, they charged me a late fee on top of it. Of course, I never had an issue before so I don’t have any proof of what their website said and naturally their records apparently don’t show any discrepancies. Since I had just moved around the time this happened, I was severely strapped for cash and couldn’t give them the extra money they wanted plus the late fee, so my account stayed “delinquent” and I keep accumulating fees, despite me still giving them as much as I can afford every month.

my favorite part is, even though my first credit card is still being paid on time and I should have credit available to me, I can’t use the card because of my other account. Wonderful.

I would stay far, far, FAR away from this company unless you literally have nowhere else to turn.

more ...
Nov 10, 2017
LittleNimbus Account Holder

I got my first credit card with them about 3 years ago when I was in desperate situation and I had nowhere else to turn. I was approved for a $300 limit, and I made my monthly payments on time (if not early). After almost a year, I got an offer in the mail to apply for another credit card with them, and I was approved again, but this time for a $700 limit. Again, I made all my payments on time, though I will admit that I was only paying the minimum amount due.

I was relatively satisfied with them (their interest rates are no joke), until a couple months ago. I went online to make my monthly payment as usual, and I selected the option to pay the minimum due which was around $51. I used their preselected option instead of typing in the amount due. The payment cleared my account and I thought all was well until I started getting calls and a letter about my “past due account”. What? Apparently the $51 listed on their website wasn’t *actually* the minimum amount due, it was actually about $25 more than that. So why did the website say that, instead of saying I owed $76? No one had an answer. Of course, since my account was “past due”, they charged me a late fee on top of it. Of course, I never had an issue before so I don’t have any proof of what their website said and naturally their records apparently don’t show any discrepancies. Since I had just moved around the time this happened, I was severely strapped for cash and couldn’t give them the extra money they wanted plus the late fee, so my account stayed “delinquent” and I keep accumulating fees, despite me still giving them as much as I can afford every month.

my favorite part is, even though my first credit card is still being paid on time and I should have credit available to me, I can’t use the card because of my other account. Wonderful.

I would stay far, far, FAR away from this company unless you literally have nowhere else to turn.

more ...
Nov 09, 2017
One dishonest bank. They will double dip
stang6626 Account Holder

Dishonest rude csm

more ...
Nov 07, 2017
A poster child for Predatory Lending ! X
Anonymous Account Holder

You have to pay them large sums of start-up fees, then you wind up with about 1/10 of what the credit is they promised you. Total scam, report them to your States' A.G.

more ...
Oct 23, 2017
Horrible bank with insane fees.
Anonymous Account Holder

Annual fees plus montly fee. Huge ripp off . Credit karma should be ashamed for offering this card as "help" to build your credit back. Please do not apply. Banks steal millions of dollars annually on fees alone. Should be illegal. We are slaves to the banking system , ripp us from living a normal life burns us with financial problems , rat race stressed out how do you expect someone poor to read all the small letters when you "apply" when we can barely pay your bills when you are overworked and stressed out to figure out your own living. 

more ...
Oct 02, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

bad bad customer servise (worst credit card ever) i talked to(( maria )) in customer servise she was not profisional, she did not explain to me any thing

more ...
Sep 29, 2017
brasolt03 Account Holder

Customer service is actually quite good, they have wave late fees and anual fees many times for me you just have to talk to them. Pay at Walmart! posts right a way and only cost 3 dollars. They have helped me rebuilld my credit!.

more ...
Sep 29, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Account Holder

Someone gained access to my card number and set up a bogus PayPal account.  Premier sent me 2 letters stating they had verified the information with PayPal and it matched my name and address.  They flat out refused to send me the needed papterwork to file my claim.  Fortunately the Customer Service at PayPal has more sense.  They reviewed my information and was able to tell me within hours what was wrong.  The customer service at Premier sucks.  As soon as PayPal reverses the fraudulent charges, Premier can consider themselves cancelled. I can always rebuild my credit score.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations