Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

First PREMIER® Bank

2.0 out of 5 stars
65 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 08, 2017
Do what I did...And rebuild your credit
Anonymous Account Holder

I am writing this review to let everyone know its OK. It really is. I got this card back in May 2015 and cancelled it January 6, 1017. I kept this card approximately 1 1/2 years. When I first applied for this card my credit was terrible. But, they approved me for a $300.00 limit. And, at the time of approval I was very grateful. The first thing I did was set up an online account for the purpose of making payments. Most importantly, I made all payments on time (making sure to pay a few days before the due date and paying in full when I could.) Never any issues with customer service or payment receipts. They really do help to rebuild you credit because payments are reported to the 3 major credit bureaus every month. I cancelled the card because, I now qualify for high limit, no interest credit cards without annual fees and First Premier does not provide credit line increases with out a charge. So do what I did...use the First Primier credit card as a tool to re-establish your credit. And, everything else will fall into place. Keep in mind, this is not the card for people with excellent credit so use it wisely and responsibly

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 18, 2016
A horror show
rl127 Account Holder

Terrible customer service, lousy posting practices and a nightmare if you report fraudulent activity.  To compound the felony, they make you jump through hoops and still do not correct the problem.

STAY AWAY FROM FIRST PREMIER BANK.  IT IS A RIP-OFF!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Feb 11, 2017
App fees? Annual Fees? MONTHLY FEES?
18Shilva Account Holder

Okay so, to start off, I'll put the 'good' first: FPB provides you with regular credit increases "for a one-time fee" every time. That's not so out of the box for credit card targeted towards bad/fair credit scores, but just thought people might want to know about this if they're looking for some first time credit offers and come across First Premier.

Now the 'bad':

1. INSANELY high interest rates (36%. Yes you read that right. THIRTY-SIX PERCENT) (my credit score was 620 when I got my first FPB credit card).

2. "Application Fee" of $95. Yup. You have to pay them $95 to apply.

3. "Annual Fees" of $75. 

4. "Monthly Maintenance Fees" WTF? (whatever they assign): Now this is what made me close the two FPB cards I had. I had $700 on each. I started paying off all my credit cards in full, and I started with the ones with the highest APR, so obviously FPB cards were the first ones I paid off. The following month, expecting to see a ZERO balance, I logged on (THANK GOD! I always check all my credit cards whether I pay them off or not as well as track them thru monthly FICO reports), and I saw a $14.50 and $8.00 balance on each card. I thought oh okay maybe that's what was left and my last balance didn't reflect it. So I paid the two fees. Then in the month of February, I log on to my account, and there they are again. I thought maybe my payment didn't go through. Checked my payment history and yup they went through alright. Called up customer service expecting to hear something down the line of 'the online account isn't reflecting the latest balance' (which has happened to me with other credit cards, so not an unrealistic expectation). 

Instead the rep dropped me the following line: "That's your monthly maintenance fee". So essentially you can *NEVER* pay off your balance. Every month you'll have a balance that reflects whatever monthly fee they charge on you. I've had good and bad credit cards but I've never come across one that charges a MONTHLY fee.

Anyone just starting off, go with Indigo. Or Credit One.. If you have negative items on your credit report and are desperate. I guess you can get a FPB card if you REALLY need an urgent line of credit that you'll pay off immediately. Other than that, there's NO WAY and NO REASON why anyone should carry this crap more than a few months. Absolute sham.

oh and THEY DON'T ALLOW ANY BALANCE TRANSFER FROM THEIR END TO OTHERS. YUP. NO BALANCE TRANSFER. 

more ...
Feb 10, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

Do not use this bank.  They are a nightmare.  You can pay over the limit and still get hit with the fees.  This is not a good bank.  It reminds me of those horrible payday loan sharks.

more ...
Jan 30, 2017
johnnykurtz Account Holder

Got this card march 2016 with a 550 credit score, used sparingly paid it off every month and it will slowly rebuild your credit just getting the card bumped my Fico at the time 25 points,  shortly after I got this card capital one approved me, Discover, target, Walmart, Kohls and the list goes on I now have 11 Credit Cards with over $20,000 In credit lines. It does what it's supposed to do help you rebuild your credit! And I am about to cancel it because the yearly fee gets added after 12 months and I no longer need it.

more ...
Jan 27, 2017
Worse credit card ever! Avoid!
Anonymous Account Holder

This card by far is the worst credit card I've ever had!! I'd give negative stars if I could! They have hidden fees and odd hours you can make payments online or they'll charge you late fees. We won't mention the always high interest rates! Do not trust them! I paid on my card on time for several months paying over the minimum amount and my card is now over the limit! It never goes down; only up! And year two, they start to charge a  monthly fee just for having the card!! Ridiculous!! If you get one to rebuild, get rid of it after 8 or 9 months. But I still say, avoid this bank/credit card... or you'll be sorry! 

more ...
Jan 08, 2017
Do what I did...And rebuild your credit
Anonymous Account Holder

I am writing this review to let everyone know its OK. It really is. I got this card back in May 2015 and cancelled it January 6, 1017. I kept this card approximately 1 1/2 years. When I first applied for this card my credit was terrible. But, they approved me for a $300.00 limit. And, at the time of approval I was very grateful. The first thing I did was set up an online account for the purpose of making payments. Most importantly, I made all payments on time (making sure to pay a few days before the due date and paying in full when I could.) Never any issues with customer service or payment receipts. They really do help to rebuild you credit because payments are reported to the 3 major credit bureaus every month. I cancelled the card because, I now qualify for high limit, no interest credit cards without annual fees and First Premier does not provide credit line increases with out a charge. So do what I did...use the First Primier credit card as a tool to re-establish your credit. And, everything else will fall into place. Keep in mind, this is not the card for people with excellent credit so use it wisely and responsibly

more ...
Jan 13, 2017

Thanks for your input.

 
Jan 30, 2017

Agreed it's for Credit building purposes👍

 
Dec 30, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

No way to contact them how do you close this card??

more ...
Dec 26, 2016
Be Thankful!
CoolOpinion2 Account Holder

It may not be the best card, especially when it comes to fees. Sometimes it makes you say...dang, why did I make so many mistakes in my past? That is the thing though, I made those mistakes and being given a second opportunity is by the grace of GOD. That is the price that I have to pay for making bad decisions. So to those who are complaining, if you had better options such as AMEX, Capital One, Chase, Discover, Citi, and Barclays, you would not be on here making your disappointment known. It is a good option if you want to rebuild your credit. When you make bad decisions, like I did, you have to pay higher interest rates. It is better that you get approved with a hard inquiry than to get constantly denied.  Remember that this is an unsecured card, meaning that they are allowing you use their money to help rebuild your damaged credit. Rebuild your credit until you can get better options.

more ...
Dec 17, 2016
Unhelpful
Anonymous Account Holder

I got this card hoping it'll help fix my credit, didn't help much plus they don't like to raise your credit limits. I've had it longer than my other credit cards and my other card already raised my credit limit. I definately wouldn't refer anyone to apply for this. 

more ...
Dec 12, 2016
TERRIBLE
heefees77 Account Holder

I decided to close my account due to their service fees. I wasn't using the card and my balance kept going up. After paying on time for over three years, including the final payment, they decided to file a late pay on my credit report. I most certianly did not pay late. VERY VERY unprofessional from a company that claims to help build credit for its customers. Also, the customer service is terrible. Very complicated process.

more ...
Dec 11, 2016
Not worth the time
Anonymous Account Holder

I'm never late on my card bills and I pay triple if not more than the minimum payment all I want to say is my other credit cards are way better than this one and btw I got  $45k in credit. Everybody is entitled to their own opinion and mine is that this is the worst card that I have thank you! Btw Capitol one helped me torebuild my credit better and quicker than anyone else (check them out!) 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations