Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

First PREMIER® Bank

2.0 out of 5 stars
70 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 10, 2016
Remember why we all have this card!!!
smul86 Account Holder

I have had this credit card for almost 3 years, and the only reason why I have not cancelled it is because they CONSISTENTLY report to all 3 credit bureas. My credit was A MESS! I was young and stupid with credit, and I got myself wayy in over my head. This card has helped me build my credit up from a 400 to a 750! I pay off my balance pretty quickly and because its a usually just a 300$ credit limit it is easy to do so, yes the interest rate is high, as with every other loan or card offered to someone who has bad credit. I don't really use this card ever anymore, I just pay the monthly 6$ fee and I'm thankful for the positive reporting first premier does for me, pretty much we are paying them to report that we have an open account in good standing and show payment activity. And thats that. I have been able to take out personal loans from my bank with low interest rates, I have cards with Chase, Capital one, and other store cards.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 18, 2016
A horror show
rl127 Account Holder

Terrible customer service, lousy posting practices and a nightmare if you report fraudulent activity.  To compound the felony, they make you jump through hoops and still do not correct the problem.

STAY AWAY FROM FIRST PREMIER BANK.  IT IS A RIP-OFF!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jan 08, 2017
Do what I did...And rebuild your credit
Anonymous Account Holder

I am writing this review to let everyone know its OK. It really is. I got this card back in May 2015 and cancelled it January 6, 1017. I kept this card approximately 1 1/2 years. When I first applied for this card my credit was terrible. But, they approved me for a $300.00 limit. And, at the time of approval I was very grateful. The first thing I did was set up an online account for the purpose of making payments. Most importantly, I made all payments on time (making sure to pay a few days before the due date and paying in full when I could.) Never any issues with customer service or payment receipts. They really do help to rebuild you credit because payments are reported to the 3 major credit bureaus every month. I cancelled the card because, I now qualify for high limit, no interest credit cards without annual fees and First Premier does not provide credit line increases with out a charge. So do what I did...use the First Primier credit card as a tool to re-establish your credit. And, everything else will fall into place. Keep in mind, this is not the card for people with excellent credit so use it wisely and responsibly

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 13, 2017

Thanks for your input.

 
Dec 30, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

No way to contact them how do you close this card??

more ...
Dec 26, 2016
Be Thankful!
CoolOpinion2 Account Holder

It may not be the best card, especially when it comes to fees. Sometimes it makes you say...dang, why did I make so many mistakes in my past? That is the thing though, I made those mistakes and being given a second opportunity is by the grace of GOD. That is the price that I have to pay for making bad decisions. So to those who are complaining, if you had better options such as AMEX, Capital One, Chase, Discover, Citi, and Barclays, you would not be on here making your disappointment known. It is a good option if you want to rebuild your credit. When you make bad decisions, like I did, you have to pay higher interest rates. It is better that you get approved with a hard inquiry than to get constantly denied.  Remember that this is an unsecured card, meaning that they are allowing you use their money to help rebuild your damaged credit. Rebuild your credit until you can get better options.

more ...
Dec 17, 2016
Unhelpful
Anonymous Account Holder

I got this card hoping it'll help fix my credit, didn't help much plus they don't like to raise your credit limits. I've had it longer than my other credit cards and my other card already raised my credit limit. I definately wouldn't refer anyone to apply for this. 

more ...
Dec 12, 2016
TERRIBLE
heefees77 Account Holder

I decided to close my account due to their service fees. I wasn't using the card and my balance kept going up. After paying on time for over three years, including the final payment, they decided to file a late pay on my credit report. I most certianly did not pay late. VERY VERY unprofessional from a company that claims to help build credit for its customers. Also, the customer service is terrible. Very complicated process.

more ...
Dec 11, 2016
Not worth the time
Anonymous Account Holder

I'm never late on my card bills and I pay triple if not more than the minimum payment all I want to say is my other credit cards are way better than this one and btw I got  $45k in credit. Everybody is entitled to their own opinion and mine is that this is the worst card that I have thank you! Btw Capitol one helped me torebuild my credit better and quicker than anyone else (check them out!) 

more ...
Dec 03, 2016
Garbage
FyrFlower85 Account Holder

First and foremost, expect a rather hefty fee just to open an account with these scam artists. Want to wait until the next day to pay a measly minimum payment? Here's a big fat late fee. Make a payment and expect your credit to be available anytime soon? Well that can take anywhere from 6-21 days. Also, here's a monthly maintenance fee that doesn't do anything for you since they can't apply your payment for a month anyway. How about an ungodly interest rate to go with that? You know what? Here's an annual fee, too! Do yourself a favor...if you're working in your credit score, go with capital one. You can download the app for your phone, you can get cash back for your purchases, you can use that cash back on your balance, your payment is applied and available next day as well. I've also not experienced any type of monthly maintenance fee. It has helped my credit significantly and as long as you make your payments, you'll get a credit line increase.

more ...
Nov 28, 2016
Bringing down my score
Anonymous Account Holder

Every customer service person I spoke to is rude and not helpful at all. I called them and they said I don't owe anything - next thing I see on my credit is that I am over my limit ?!?! Now my score is all screwed up!! DON'T USE FIRST PREMIER!!!

more ...
Nov 19, 2016
it's for rebuild in credit
Anonymous Account Holder

Thats it. Stop crying about the card. You know what you signed for from the beginning. It got me so far $30k in credit cards in one yr along with the help of this credit repair group.

more ...
Nov 14, 2016
Good for Rebuilding Credit
dotiso Account Holder

This card is meant to be used to pay in full on time everytime. They penalize you for being a minute late, and for those like me that ended up rebuilding credit this card is God send. All other companies denied me except this one.
After the first year they start charging a monthly 6.25 servicing fee which adds onto your existing interest so beware. You will not pay off this card off in minimum payments, it's a death trap for those that don't know how to manage their finances.

But what this card did do for me is rebuild my credit, which is what it is intended to do. They report to all three credit bureau's every month. My score started off at 550 after I lost my job and started racking debt. I ended up paying off all of my existing debt, as well as making small purchases like gas and electric bill on this card every month, paid in full every month. Seven months later I get approved for a loan to purchase a new car at 1.9%. Four months later I purchase another used car for 6%. The bank that is providing me the loan for my used car is capital one, so I quickly apply for their quicksilver one credit card and and get approved for a 300 limit. A year later I'm bumped up to a $1000.00 limit, two years an amazon credit card, and now after three years I just qualified for an amex everyday card. None of this would have happened if it wasn't for the first premier credit card, but now it's finally time to cancel because paying this monthly fee of 6.25 is getting ridiculous as well as an annual fee. But I can safely say I can cancel after two car loans, renting an apartment, with three major good credit cards.

I was given a second chance, I took it, and I didn't mess up this time. I plan to keep it that way.

For those that are interested, I went from 550 to 650 in one year. Rebuilding process is quick, but once you're past 650 it slows down. Be patient and don't apply for any other major credit cards until after a year later, the more you apply and get denied the more hard inquiries hit your credit report; which will delay the process of getting a better card even with a decent credit score. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations