Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

First PREMIER® Bank

2.0 out of 5 stars
73 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 10, 2016
Remember why we all have this card!!!
smul86 Account Holder

I have had this credit card for almost 3 years, and the only reason why I have not cancelled it is because they CONSISTENTLY report to all 3 credit bureas. My credit was A MESS! I was young and stupid with credit, and I got myself wayy in over my head. This card has helped me build my credit up from a 400 to a 750! I pay off my balance pretty quickly and because its a usually just a 300$ credit limit it is easy to do so, yes the interest rate is high, as with every other loan or card offered to someone who has bad credit. I don't really use this card ever anymore, I just pay the monthly 6$ fee and I'm thankful for the positive reporting first premier does for me, pretty much we are paying them to report that we have an open account in good standing and show payment activity. And thats that. I have been able to take out personal loans from my bank with low interest rates, I have cards with Chase, Capital one, and other store cards.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 01, 2016
It is what it is...
KCKub Account Holder

Look, you need to rebuild credit. Well, this bank will help you do that. Yes, you'll have to pay exhorbitant fees (monthly, yearly, limit increase fee) but it does what you need it to do: Rebuild your credit. But it only works if you keep up with your credit. The card itself isn't going to do this for you.

I've had one 1st Premier card for about 3 years and a 2nd one for about 2 years. I keep up with payments (I don't spend that much on them) and typically pay them off every month. Over the past year I've been able to get other credit cards from places like Capital One and USAA that have way lower interest rates and much higher credit limits. 3 years ago I would have never been able to do that.

So if I've been happy with them, why such a low score?

1)  Most credit cards will, if you have a good history with them, lower your interest rate if you ask them to. 1st Premier will not do this. It is written in the contract that the rate you get when you're approved for the card is the rate that you will have for the life of your account. 

2)  All these **** fees! Monthly servicing fee, annual fee, and if you accept an offer to raise your credit limit, they charge you a fee for that, too! (25% of credit limit increast amount.) It really is ridiculous. And the fees you have to pay just to open the account...ridiculous as well.

3)  Customer service is awful. They only tell you what they CAN'T do for you instead of what they CAN do for you. 

Those are my three biggest complaints. Now that my credit has been rebuilt pretty well, I wish that I could just close the account (I mean, I physically can) but closing accounts is bad for your credit score. So unfortunately, I'll just keep payint my $6 a month servicing fee (even thought I haven't used the card)  for a couple more years and then close them.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Nov 28, 2016
Bringing down my score
Anonymous Account Holder

Every customer service person I spoke to is rude and not helpful at all. I called them and they said I don't owe anything - next thing I see on my credit is that I am over my limit ?!?! Now my score is all screwed up!! DON'T USE FIRST PREMIER!!!

more ...
Nov 19, 2016
it's for rebuild in credit
Anonymous Account Holder

Thats it. Stop crying about the card. You know what you signed for from the beginning. It got me so far $30k in credit cards in one yr along with the help of this credit repair group.

more ...
Nov 14, 2016
Good for Rebuilding Credit
dotiso Account Holder

This card is meant to be used to pay in full on time everytime. They penalize you for being a minute late, and for those like me that ended up rebuilding credit this card is God send. All other companies denied me except this one.
After the first year they start charging a monthly 6.25 servicing fee which adds onto your existing interest so beware. You will not pay off this card off in minimum payments, it's a death trap for those that don't know how to manage their finances.

But what this card did do for me is rebuild my credit, which is what it is intended to do. They report to all three credit bureau's every month. My score started off at 550 after I lost my job and started racking debt. I ended up paying off all of my existing debt, as well as making small purchases like gas and electric bill on this card every month, paid in full every month. Seven months later I get approved for a loan to purchase a new car at 1.9%. Four months later I purchase another used car for 6%. The bank that is providing me the loan for my used car is capital one, so I quickly apply for their quicksilver one credit card and and get approved for a 300 limit. A year later I'm bumped up to a $1000.00 limit, two years an amazon credit card, and now after three years I just qualified for an amex everyday card. None of this would have happened if it wasn't for the first premier credit card, but now it's finally time to cancel because paying this monthly fee of 6.25 is getting ridiculous as well as an annual fee. But I can safely say I can cancel after two car loans, renting an apartment, with three major good credit cards.

I was given a second chance, I took it, and I didn't mess up this time. I plan to keep it that way.

For those that are interested, I went from 550 to 650 in one year. Rebuilding process is quick, but once you're past 650 it slows down. Be patient and don't apply for any other major credit cards until after a year later, the more you apply and get denied the more hard inquiries hit your credit report; which will delay the process of getting a better card even with a decent credit score. 

more ...
Nov 10, 2016
So Rude
Anonymous Account Holder

I absolutely dread calling first premier. Their customer service sucks. They are so rude and make you feel like you are wasting their time. I'm surprised anyone works with them

more ...
Nov 10, 2016
Terrible
Anonymous Account Holder

Won't take your payments then give you bad credit ratings. Refunded my payments and then wrote it off as bad debt.

more ...
Nov 07, 2016
Awesome
Anonymous Account Holder

This was an awesome card to use when your just establishing your credit.

more ...
Nov 07, 2016
The worst
Anonymous Account Holder

I wish I could give these people no stars at all. Their customer service is absolutely horrible. These people go out of their way to make Wells Fargo and Comcast customer service look like angels I have never been so frustrated working with one company as I have been every single time I contact First Premier. If you are in the market for a new credit card these are definitely not the people you want to do business with. Unless your thing is getting yelled at and called a liar by their supervisors, or if your thing is never having information be correct then maybe they are for you but I highly doubt it. Trust me people shop around this is not what you want to do.

more ...
Nov 06, 2016
THIS IS THE WORST CREDIT CARD
Anonymous Account Holder

Please avoid this card. I was approved for $500 limit and at the time I was getting married and needed the funds. I was charged a fee and when I received the card there was only $447 available credit from the fee that was charged. The interest rate is extremely high and if you don't pay before a certain time on your due date then there is a late payment fee. Horrible...Customer Service is a freaking joke. AVOID THIS CARD IF YOU CAN!!! It's not worth it as the interest and the monthly fee they charge you and after paying the balance in full, it doesn't show that I have an available balance like WTH I pay my money but I have no funds to use? HORRIBLE

more ...
Oct 26, 2016
Horrible
Anonymous Account Holder

This card is a rip off 

if you're 1 day late they will charge you $27 to $37 and they do not care if your finding your card with a bank (that's usually closed on Weekends and Holidays) they'll still charge you.. 

and this is suppose to be a card that is suppose to help people with their credit, it makes it harder.  Whatever happened (by Law) for the 10 day grace period for a payment process

THIEVES... BE CAREFUL BEFORE YOU GET THIS CARD

more ...
Oct 26, 2016
ABSOLUTELY HORRID!!!
Jjf02914 Account Holder

Do not get this card THEY ARE THE WORST BANK EVER!!! AND CUSTOMER SERVICE?LOL WHAT A ****ING JOKE!!!!!!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations