First PREMIER® Bank Reviews

1.6 out of 5 stars
53 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 20, 2017
Helps re-establish your credit.good
Anonymous Account Holder

I had filed bankruptcy and my credit was in the toilet - I needed to establish good credit again and this bank card helped me do  just that. Yes,  you have to pay to get started again, fees, etc. but it is better than not having credit which is something we need in this society. They were a great help to me in my time of need,  but I have other cards with no high fees and annual payments. so I cancelled my cards. but thank Premiere for the help and support I needed it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 24, 2017
Disappointing
Tony335 Account Holder

This company did not report to credit services as should have. I made a large payment and switched banks( even updating banking information online) and they still processed my old bank. Which, when I called, they said I did not update ( which obviously was a lie because they also processed an additional amount from my current bank). They did not want to remove the fee they charged me! I told the agent that I did not think it fair that I have to pay the fee, but I would at a later date and I probably would close the account at that time too......A week later I found out they suspended my account! Then, the following week, they updated their status on my credit report saying account closed due to creditor and also put an over the credit limit amount that I had NEVER reached( which would look bad on my credit report to any future creditors)! I will be reporting this company to the BBB. They are in it to make money from people and the deposit you won't get back if you use this card. So beware!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Feb 17, 2018
Full of crap!
Anonymous Account Holder

Stay far away from this card, I hate it! It will take a lifetime to pay them off. 

more ...
Feb 15, 2018
Anonymous Account Holder

Very high interest rate (36%) had a 700 limit. Just paid it off to find out I still owed them 8.00 for a “monthly” fee.. that’s just insane.

more ...
Feb 15, 2018
It works...
Mxvks Account Holder

I’ve read so many bad reviews about this card. Listen, your credit is bad, nobody else will give you credit without a deposit, and you messed up your credit so badly your head is spinning. Take what you can get and make the best out of it. 

Heres the cons: The fees are RIDICULOUS and they take a lifetime to credit back your account after you make a payment. If you’re one day late or even the day of and you’re past the cut off time, you’re charged a late fee. They charge you monthly for having the cardboard on top of the annual fee. The app sucks butt. I could go on. 

But.... you did this to yourself. How is everyone going to complain it sucks when you’ve literally done this to yourself. Suck it up. MAKE THE BEST OF THIS CARD AND BE RESPONSIBLE WITH IT. ISNT THAT THE POINT? You don’t want a late fee? Pay it the day before and be responsible. Use this card to build your credit, not to use just for bills or gas or food. Just charge less than $30 every month and pay that mfcker off. Especially with the high interest rate. 

I can admit this card sucks, but they’ve given me credit. It’s up to the person who can make the best out of something crappy. I started off with a $300 credit limit, which was $225 to start off with. I paid the fees and dealt with it. A year later they guaranteed me a separate card with a $1000 credit limit. I’ll close out the smaller card and start again. It sucks, it really does. But you shouldn’t have messed up your credit in the first place. Figure out the ins and outs of this card and be RESPONSIBLE which is the **** point.. and suck it up. If you can’t, this card will **** you up even more than where you started. You’re welcome. 

more ...
Jan 20, 2018
Horrible
JAvonne85 Account Holder

This credit card company the worst creditors I have ever experience. They charge you with ridulous fees and give you the worst customer service once you decide to cancel
They'll tell you we will continue to charge you. Once you tell them they are also being recorded they hang up the phone.

more ...
Jan 02, 2018
It's all about the credit card fees.
Anonymous Account Holder

I had made some bad mistakes and opened my account with First Premier Bank to rebuild my credit. After years of having them with a perfect payment history and never going over the limit, I decided to cancel this high interest card. They first tried to get me to bump my credit limit for a fee of $37.50, and I said no. Then they tried to tell me that closing my long time account would drastically hurt my credit score. As a last ditch effort, they offered a one time $35 credit to keep the account open. Sorry, but when the annual fee is $48 and then you charge $6/mth to have the card open, it's not at all worth it. 

more ...
Dec 28, 2017
RUN WHILE YOU CAN
Artmartinezz Account Holder

If you're reading this before applying, pay close attention:

1st of all, you have to pay a $95 (Initiation fee) to even begin using your credit card. I was approved with a $400 credit limit thinking that I pay $95 and I should have access to the $400. WRONG: When you get your card, you will need to pay $95 as a "startup/initiation fee" AND THEN they'll throw in an "ANNUAL FEE" of $99  BEFORE you even start using your card! So let's do the math: $95 to startup, $99 as an annual fee for a total of $195 before you even get your first statement. You're much much better off using the $200 for a security deposit with a trusted branch like Citi, CapitalOne for Bank Of America where you'll get your money back anyways if you make your payments on time. 

There is no way in hell i'm keeping my card open with them. I'll gladly pay off my card and close out this account to not have to deal with a company that is trying to rob you from the start. I don't even want to know what it's like trying to work out a dispute or a claim. Thanks but no thanks! 

more ...
Dec 22, 2017
TERRIBLE
Hatefirstpremier Account Holder

The worst false information all the fees are on you if u have a credit limit of 500 you will only see 325 of that rude customer service I wouldn’t recommend this company to my worst enemy 

more ...
Dec 21, 2017
Poor customer service.
Theron133 Account Holder

Making a payment over the phone is a 20 min process. Due dates change monthly and customer service is non existent.

more ...
Dec 11, 2017
Street hustlers
Anonymous Account Holder

Although this car does help you build it also hurts you it charges you a tremendous amount of money will you calculate what you spent on this card your heart will drop if you want a real card tried to secured by discover I'm attaching my link you can use my link to sign up and you'll receive $50 as far as First Premier slowly walk away I regret it I didn't know about other cards until after I was sucked in with him

Become a Discover Cardmember and you'll get $50 Cashback Bonus with your 1st purchase within 3 months.
https://refer.discover.com/s/tttp6

more ...
Nov 29, 2017
HORRIBLEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!
jreese311 Account Holder

If you can get another card do it. Stay away from this card I have had so many issues with this company and right now I can't close the account since I have balances on them which i will be paying off. Their customer service is terrible can't even speak english or understand anything you ask them. their fees are ridiculously high but they don't tell you these things when you sign up. just stay away from this card.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations