Fifth Third Bank Reviews

1.6 out of 5 stars
18 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Aug 03, 2017
No free checking...mail adds for life
digitallife Account Holder

No free checking ...costly to waive monthly fees. CS not very good or helpful. Worst part is they will send you letter in the mail til you are blue in the face...forever btw. No way to stop them. I opened it to get a bonus...wish i hadn't. Not worth it

more ...
Jul 10, 2017
Fraud dept may stop payments at any poin
MomOf3G1B Account Holder

I have had this account almost 2byears. I just went to make my gas payment online like I do every month and it was declined even though it was $10 less than my available balance. I got a text from the fraud dept asking if I was making the purchase. I called and verified, and was told to wait 5 minutes and make the payment again. I was told the fraud dept could stop payment for any out of state transactions and, if I take a road trip, I have to call the bank every time I go to use the card out of state reporting the city and state I'm in and waiting for the card to be unlocked for that location before I use it. Never thought I'd have to report my exact location every transaction while on vacation. Definitely changing banks before travelling.

more ...
Jun 29, 2017
Frontier for banks
Anonymous Account Holder

Everything is poorly done. No account statements for installment loans and customer service is very cumbersome to deal.

more ...
Mar 23, 2017
They are a terrible mortgage company
Anonymous Account Holder

  I had a mortgage with fifth third before and they overcharged me on taxes they had two years worth in the bank and they wanted another years worth now that I close that mortgage out and got another mortgage with them for less than half they are doing the same screw ups  my escrow account keeps going up and up and I've only been in the new house one year and I have proven to them their mistakes as well as core logic's is at the root of all evil and they won't correct the problem and I'm not allowed to talk to anybody about a supervisor and that's all you're a lot to do 

more ...
Feb 06, 2017
Awful customer service
Anonymous Account Holder

Made an arrangement and paid on a debt I owed for over a year. The last $400 came and they sent me off to a third party collection agency for no reason. Per our arrangement I was 2 months away from closing out the debt. Now I'm dealing with a shady 3rd party simply because they felt like it.

more ...
Jan 29, 2017
no customer service, shady
Anonymous Account Holder

when you post payments, they may not go through, you are unable to speak with anyone when it is not their buisness hours which is east coast time, they give no explination to things when things do not go right, when you ask for paper work to change your loan to another provider they act as if they do not understand what it is you are asking for and they don not provide you with the appropriate paperwork, which you cannot even printout on your own from your account because it is unavialable to you evenythough it is your information, i will be getting a lawyer because this is stupid!

more ...
Jan 19, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Account Holder

Unprofessional, shady, hangs up when they know they are wrong or constantly transferring which ends to a hang up. When my direct deposit goes through im pulling it all out and closing my account. Never again. Do not use this crackpot excuse of a bank..

more ...
Jan 08, 2017
It's the worst bank on earth
Anonymous Account Holder

One day I woke up to negative 500,000.04 in my account n when I called in they said I was just a measure to close up my account because they suspect frauds n they will mail me a check of my available balance.

more ...
Dec 18, 2016
Above and beyond to help cutomers
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank is Awesome, probably the best bank I have ever been with.  They constantly and consistently fo above and beyond to make sure I am happy and taken care of.  I would recommend this bank to anyone.

more ...
Nov 28, 2016
Meh
Anonymous Account Holder

Surprise charges and mediocre customer service..but no worse then any other bank..but STAY AWAY FROM THEIR ATMS. Bank employees have acknowledged that their atms lose checks,eat cards, and lock up on A DAILY BASIS. deposit everything in person, and DOCUMENT EVERYTHING

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations