Fifth Third Bank

1.5 out of 5 stars
24 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Mar 23, 2017
They are a terrible mortgage company
Anonymous Account Holder

  I had a mortgage with fifth third before and they overcharged me on taxes they had two years worth in the bank and they wanted another years worth now that I close that mortgage out and got another mortgage with them for less than half they are doing the same screw ups  my escrow account keeps going up and up and I've only been in the new house one year and I have proven to them their mistakes as well as core logic's is at the root of all evil and they won't correct the problem and I'm not allowed to talk to anybody about a supervisor and that's all you're a lot to do 

more ...
Feb 06, 2017
Awful customer service
Anonymous Account Holder

Made an arrangement and paid on a debt I owed for over a year. The last $400 came and they sent me off to a third party collection agency for no reason. Per our arrangement I was 2 months away from closing out the debt. Now I'm dealing with a shady 3rd party simply because they felt like it.

more ...
Jan 29, 2017
no customer service, shady
Anonymous Account Holder

when you post payments, they may not go through, you are unable to speak with anyone when it is not their buisness hours which is east coast time, they give no explination to things when things do not go right, when you ask for paper work to change your loan to another provider they act as if they do not understand what it is you are asking for and they don not provide you with the appropriate paperwork, which you cannot even printout on your own from your account because it is unavialable to you evenythough it is your information, i will be getting a lawyer because this is stupid!

more ...
Jan 19, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Account Holder

Unprofessional, shady, hangs up when they know they are wrong or constantly transferring which ends to a hang up. When my direct deposit goes through im pulling it all out and closing my account. Never again. Do not use this crackpot excuse of a bank..

more ...
Jan 08, 2017
It's the worst bank on earth
Anonymous Account Holder

One day I woke up to negative 500,000.04 in my account n when I called in they said I was just a measure to close up my account because they suspect frauds n they will mail me a check of my available balance.

more ...
Dec 18, 2016
Above and beyond to help cutomers
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank is Awesome, probably the best bank I have ever been with.  They constantly and consistently fo above and beyond to make sure I am happy and taken care of.  I would recommend this bank to anyone.

more ...
Nov 28, 2016
Meh
Anonymous Account Holder

Surprise charges and mediocre customer service..but no worse then any other bank..but STAY AWAY FROM THEIR ATMS. Bank employees have acknowledged that their atms lose checks,eat cards, and lock up on A DAILY BASIS. deposit everything in person, and DOCUMENT EVERYTHING

more ...
Nov 09, 2016
FEES, FEES, FEES!!
Anonymous Account Holder

Fifth Third Bank has extremely antiquated technology and it's a way for them find ways to charge you fees. They require that you do online internet banking...during branch hours. What is the point of internet banking then?! They charged me fees because I was transferring funds and paying bills online after 7pm. What?!?! I spoke to operator XXXX (would not give operator ID)in the call center and Supervisor XXXXX (Operator ID XXXXXX). They would not waive the $38.82 fee under any circumstances...even though they acknowledged that it is not stated anywhere that online banking closes at 7pm ET.  DO NOT USE THIS BANK!! Unless you enjoy fees. Fifth Third Bank was willing to lose my business for $38.82.

more ...
Nov 08, 2016
AWFUL! THEY CHARGE FEE'S FOR EVERYTHING!
Anonymous Account Holder

I HAVE AN ACCOUNT AT 5/3 BANK AND ALSO AT CHASE BANK. 5/3 AND CHASE ARE VASTLY DIFFERENT!!! AT 5/3 THERE IS A FEE CHARGED FOR EVERYTHING, AT EVERY TURN!!! DEFINITLY NOT LOOKING OUT FOR THE CUSTOMERS BEST INTEREST. IT IS THE COMPLETE OPPOSITE AT CHASE BANK!!!! I AM CLOSING MY 5/3 ACCOUNT AND MOVING FORWARD SOLELY WITH CHASE!!!

more ...
Oct 17, 2016
Don't trust Fifth Third
Anonymous Account Holder

I've been with 5th 3rd for many years and had no issues, until recently.  I made a property tax payment through online banking scheduled to be delivered 10 days before due date.  They mailed it out a month late, even though they dated the check the correct date.  I got a $110 penalty for the payment being late.  They would not reimburse me the late fee because they said it was dated correctly and the city must have held it for a month...right.  Then I was told in the online agreement (that nobody ever reads) that it states "not" to use online bill payment for taxes and that they are not liable if you do.  Next they had a customer service person from call center in India call me to read from his script and deny any wrong doing on the part of the bank.  It was absolutely ridiculous.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations