Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Fifth Third Bank

1.3 out of 5 stars
26 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Nov 28, 2016
Meh
Anonymous Account Holder

Surprise charges and mediocre customer service..but no worse then any other bank..but STAY AWAY FROM THEIR ATMS. Bank employees have acknowledged that their atms lose checks,eat cards, and lock up on A DAILY BASIS. deposit everything in person, and DOCUMENT EVERYTHING

more ...
Nov 09, 2016
FEES, FEES, FEES!!
Anonymous Account Holder

Fifth Third Bank has extremely antiquated technology and it's a way for them find ways to charge you fees. They require that you do online internet banking...during branch hours. What is the point of internet banking then?! They charged me fees because I was transferring funds and paying bills online after 7pm. What?!?! I spoke to operator XXXX (would not give operator ID)in the call center and Supervisor XXXXX (Operator ID XXXXXX). They would not waive the $38.82 fee under any circumstances...even though they acknowledged that it is not stated anywhere that online banking closes at 7pm ET.  DO NOT USE THIS BANK!! Unless you enjoy fees. Fifth Third Bank was willing to lose my business for $38.82.

more ...
Nov 08, 2016
AWFUL! THEY CHARGE FEE'S FOR EVERYTHING!
Anonymous Account Holder

I HAVE AN ACCOUNT AT 5/3 BANK AND ALSO AT CHASE BANK. 5/3 AND CHASE ARE VASTLY DIFFERENT!!! AT 5/3 THERE IS A FEE CHARGED FOR EVERYTHING, AT EVERY TURN!!! DEFINITLY NOT LOOKING OUT FOR THE CUSTOMERS BEST INTEREST. IT IS THE COMPLETE OPPOSITE AT CHASE BANK!!!! I AM CLOSING MY 5/3 ACCOUNT AND MOVING FORWARD SOLELY WITH CHASE!!!

more ...
Oct 17, 2016
Don't trust Fifth Third
Anonymous Account Holder

I've been with 5th 3rd for many years and had no issues, until recently.  I made a property tax payment through online banking scheduled to be delivered 10 days before due date.  They mailed it out a month late, even though they dated the check the correct date.  I got a $110 penalty for the payment being late.  They would not reimburse me the late fee because they said it was dated correctly and the city must have held it for a month...right.  Then I was told in the online agreement (that nobody ever reads) that it states "not" to use online bill payment for taxes and that they are not liable if you do.  Next they had a customer service person from call center in India call me to read from his script and deny any wrong doing on the part of the bank.  It was absolutely ridiculous.

more ...
Oct 02, 2016
very bad messy bank
realityreviewer Account Holder

Insted of credited me for fraud transaction they debited me the same amount, customer service bounced me arround with no real help

If you want to sleep normal then dont deal with that bank!

more ...
Sep 30, 2016
Awful experience closing account
Anonymous Account Holder

Absolutely awful experience attempting to close an account when moving out of state. Incredibly unhelpful customer service and conflicting messages from branch, phone and online staff.

more ...
Sep 30, 2016
They took my money/called me a liar
Anonymous Account Holder

I frequently would do cash deposits at the ATM since it was convenient for me.  One day the machine shut down in the middle of my transaction.  After about 10 min of waiting I went into the branch and they told me there was nothing they could do but if I call the dispute number they would see that the machine was over and put the deposit in my account.  They credit my account that day and then a month later took the money back.  I called they told me that the machine wasn't off.  I asked them if it would have given it to the person who came after me and they told me it was impossible.  They could see me on camera doing a transaction, I know they could see in their system that I choose deposit.  After arguing with the Rep for 15 min ( he basically called me a liar) I asked for a supervisor who told me to reach out to the branch manager because they get daily ATM reports to see if he had something different then what they had.  Well he did find that his report showed that the machine was off $40 instead of the $60 I deposited, which at this point I was willing to let the $20 go.  Well, it's been almost two weeks and they received the branch manager documentation and they still haven't put the money in my account and every-time I call the have an attitude and tell me they have up to 14 days to resolve the matter.  

more ...
Sep 16, 2016
Awesome
Anonymous Account Holder

I love 5/3 Bank in Schaumburg IL by Woodfield mall

more ...
Sep 06, 2016
Cares little about customers
Okage Account Holder

I find bank sometimes dishonest in some of their dealings. Their customer service is really poor and they only think about their own bottom line. using their credit card can sometimes be painful since they block their cards at the very slightest suspicion.

more ...
Aug 08, 2016
Poor business practices; cant be trusted

My husband and I have done business with Fifth Third for years.    I would highly discourage anyone from obtaining a mortgage or doing any type of business with this company.    I am told one thing when I call customer service on one day and told something different when I talk to someone else the next day.   There is constant confusion and when we challenged them on this confusion they always find away to shift responsibility.  Plus, interests rates and customer service are better with smaller banks/credit unions.  We have moved almost all of our banking business to a local credit union and are very happy.    

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations