Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Discover® Bank

2.6 out of 5 stars
28 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 23, 2016
Overall it's worthwhile
Keith0384 Account Holder

Very good bank overall. Customer service has always been very friendly; I can tell Discover has training as a priority. One rep even walked my mom through the process of using the app to take a picture of a check for a deposit. It's also reassuring they're open 24/7 and that you can use ATMs (here and there though) for free.

I would say, having said that, some of the perks might attract you but, ultimately, are kind of lame. The free ATMs are very random; the $0.10 is also kind of lame in that they cap it at a measly $10.00 a month; mailing time is ridiculous. I ordered checks and they sent them to the wrong address and then it took, basically, about a month to receive something as basic as checks for a checking account.

I'd say go with Discover and recommend it, however, like I do, you may want to have as a backup a checking account, however small of a balance, at a nearby bank just in case you have cash you'd like to deposit.

Thanks, Keith.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 07, 2016
daveyp225 Account Holder

Initiated a deposit of more than ten thousand dollars a week ago from my checking account. Nothing in my account as of today. They need to fix the speed at which money is deposited.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Nov 22, 2016
Great Card
Anonymous Account Holder

I love this card because I had to initially use it as a balance transfer card. It allowed 0% on either a transfer or purchases. I chose the transfer and it is working out great. It also has a lower Apr than my other card, so I don't have to worry if I would use it for a purchase instead of my other card.

more ...
Nov 05, 2016
Good Rate, Bonus paid, easy to use.
Anonymous Account Holder

I set up an money market account to get the $100 bonus and a good (for these times) 0.95% rate. No problems setting it up transfering money and they paid the bonus no problem. The card and bank app are now united so that makes it easy to watch my money grow.  

more ...
Nov 03, 2016
Awesome!
Anonymous Account Holder

Discover has great customer service and they are very friendly.

more ...
Nov 03, 2016
A TOTAL MESS
Niiri Account Holder

Don't do it - don't get the account, it's not worth the hassle. They are in so much of a mess they don't even apply payments correctly. On several occasions they applied payments to the wrong accounts, in spite of account number not matching the payments made. They claim they are unable to fix this without speaking with you, the customer who did everything right. These conversation can take upwards of an hour AND have to be within their very limited business hours. I WORK longer than these people are available. Total MESS.

more ...
Oct 05, 2016
transfer delays
Anonymous Account Holder

i forgot to add that if you transfer money to another bank it takes almost a week. The worst part is how slow you see your transactions so you can never be sure if the balance is correct.

more ...
Oct 05, 2016
Discover Debit card that can't be used
klausksjfndk Account Holder

Tell me what kind of transactions we are supposed to pay with a debit card. Example: Groupon purchases that are online, Uber transportation, Food delivery over the phone or online.

All these do not include a swipe nor a pin entered, but they should go through, right?

I used my Chase debit card with no problems ever.

But the discover is getting declined and the customer service states that is because they are timing out as they are processing as a credit.

Shouldnt Discover have a feature that if the transaction is being issued as a credit because no swipe/no pin, should go through anyway?

So, this tells me that the money i have on that account should only be transfered, go to an atm and withdraw or send payments checks online.

Funny that i have another debit card with Discover (joint with my husband who always run out of money) and it never gets declined.

In my case, that I always have funds, it gets declined.

Try to open a checking account somewhere else.

more ...
Oct 05, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

The card takes for ever to get , cant use it but in certain places and it is not a credit helping company in any circumstance you make the deposit then they tell you it can be a year before they review to see if you can get a normal card and god forebid that someone useing the card swipes it and dont know how to use the mechanism its up to 2 weeks before you get your money back and if you cancel it can take up to 6 months before you get your money back in my opinion they had to pay someone to make a nice report on them and they didnt get paid enough end of the line just dont do ittttt!!!!!!!!

more ...
Aug 20, 2016
Discover Checking
Anonymous Account Holder

I like Discover generally, and they have good customer service. Unfortunately, the checking simply doesn't work.  I've deposited checks that didn't show up, and there's a weirdly low limit on the checks that can be deposited.  It is, in short, a disfunctional bank that has no real-world locations. 

more ...
Aug 12, 2016
Hurts you for using cash advance feature
Anonymous Account Holder

I have multiple accounts in excellent standing. I appled for a credit line increase and was denied. One of the factors was "cash transactions". I had used the cash advance once, was never late on payments and always exceeded the minimum payment due. Discover  credit told me that just because i used the cash advance feature once it was viewed negatively. i told them that this practice is hurting customers because although Discover offers cash advances, it frowns on these but does not inform its customers.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations