Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Discover® Bank

2.2 out of 5 stars
25 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year


Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 23, 2016
Overall it's worthwhile
Keith0384 Account Holder

Very good bank overall. Customer service has always been very friendly; I can tell Discover has training as a priority. One rep even walked my mom through the process of using the app to take a picture of a check for a deposit. It's also reassuring they're open 24/7 and that you can use ATMs (here and there though) for free.

I would say, having said that, some of the perks might attract you but, ultimately, are kind of lame. The free ATMs are very random; the $0.10 is also kind of lame in that they cap it at a measly $10.00 a month; mailing time is ridiculous. I ordered checks and they sent them to the wrong address and then it took, basically, about a month to receive something as basic as checks for a checking account.

I'd say go with Discover and recommend it, however, like I do, you may want to have as a backup a checking account, however small of a balance, at a nearby bank just in case you have cash you'd like to deposit.

Thanks, Keith.

more ...

Was this review helpful?


Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 07, 2016
daveyp225 Account Holder

Initiated a deposit of more than ten thousand dollars a week ago from my checking account. Nothing in my account as of today. They need to fix the speed at which money is deposited.

more ...

Was this review helpful?


These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Oct 05, 2016
transfer delays
Anonymous Account Holder

i forgot to add that if you transfer money to another bank it takes almost a week. The worst part is how slow you see your transactions so you can never be sure if the balance is correct.

more ...
Oct 05, 2016
Discover Debit card that can't be used
klausksjfndk Account Holder

Tell me what kind of transactions we are supposed to pay with a debit card. Example: Groupon purchases that are online, Uber transportation, Food delivery over the phone or online.

All these do not include a swipe nor a pin entered, but they should go through, right?

I used my Chase debit card with no problems ever.

But the discover is getting declined and the customer service states that is because they are timing out as they are processing as a credit.

Shouldnt Discover have a feature that if the transaction is being issued as a credit because no swipe/no pin, should go through anyway?

So, this tells me that the money i have on that account should only be transfered, go to an atm and withdraw or send payments checks online.

Funny that i have another debit card with Discover (joint with my husband who always run out of money) and it never gets declined.

In my case, that I always have funds, it gets declined.

Try to open a checking account somewhere else.

more ...
Oct 05, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

The card takes for ever to get , cant use it but in certain places and it is not a credit helping company in any circumstance you make the deposit then they tell you it can be a year before they review to see if you can get a normal card and god forebid that someone useing the card swipes it and dont know how to use the mechanism its up to 2 weeks before you get your money back and if you cancel it can take up to 6 months before you get your money back in my opinion they had to pay someone to make a nice report on them and they didnt get paid enough end of the line just dont do ittttt!!!!!!!!

more ...
Aug 20, 2016
Discover Checking
Anonymous Account Holder

I like Discover generally, and they have good customer service. Unfortunately, the checking simply doesn't work.  I've deposited checks that didn't show up, and there's a weirdly low limit on the checks that can be deposited.  It is, in short, a disfunctional bank that has no real-world locations. 

more ...
Aug 12, 2016
Hurts you for using cash advance feature
Anonymous Account Holder

I have multiple accounts in excellent standing. I appled for a credit line increase and was denied. One of the factors was "cash transactions". I had used the cash advance once, was never late on payments and always exceeded the minimum payment due. Discover  credit told me that just because i used the cash advance feature once it was viewed negatively. i told them that this practice is hurting customers because although Discover offers cash advances, it frowns on these but does not inform its customers.

more ...
Aug 03, 2016
Long time Discover user
Anonymous Account Holder

I have used Discover for years, both the bank and credit card.  There is no major bank that matches their exceptional customer service.  They are fair in disputes and do not always side with the customer.  I disputed something but I was wrong and they handled the dispute graciously.  I have never had an incorrect statement.  If you need a major bank these are the guys to do business with.

more ...
Jul 21, 2016
What a bank should be.
Anonymous Account Holder

My review is as simple as stating Discover Bank is "what it should be." All services are easy to setup and use. I have both a checking and savings account with Discover. I've had no issues with transfers, deposits, or customer service. If anyone has a problem with not having a face-to-face meeting with a bank teller, my advice is join this millenium!

more ...
Jul 13, 2016
Does not value me as a customer
Anonymous Account Holder

Opening the savings account was smooth.  I have been with them for 6 months.  Things were going great.  

I wanted to transfer a small amount of my balance to another bank.  I set up the external account where they send two small deposits and take them back to validate the link.  That went smooth.  I had a time sensitive transfer and I made it on a Friday.  All weekend I thought the transfer was in motion.  On Monday morning, I received an email from Discover saying my transfer failed and to call Customer Service if I wanted the details.  I called them immediately.  Customer Service could not tell me anything except to call their Fraud Department, which I did and found they were not open until 8 am.  I call them at 8 am, and they put me though a very rigid validation of my identity including when I bought my home and the ages of my kids, among other things.  Then they sent a code to my cell phone that I had to read back to them.  I did all that.  Then they discuss the cancellation of my transfer.  The reason for cancelling it was...they just wanted to make sure it was really my account!  Really?  Like they could not have quesitoned it when I established the link to the external account?  Instead they cancell my time sensitive transfer.  

So what good is a high interest rate if you do not have reliable access to your money.  I am in the process of closing out this account.

Very disappointed.

more ...
Jul 09, 2016
Horrible, worst bank ever
Martinho69 Account Holder

I deposit a payroll check via mobil deposit on Friday and it doesnt clear until Tuesday or Wednesday.
I deposit same check with PNC bank on Friday and its cleared on Saturday morning.
Discover is a joke and bottom line driven.
When I get my mortgage August 1st im leaving this poor excuse for a bank.

more ...
Jul 07, 2016
daveyp225 Account Holder

Initiated a deposit of more than ten thousand dollars a week ago from my checking account. Nothing in my account as of today. They need to fix the speed at which money is deposited.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations