Discover® Bank Reviews

1.6 out of 5 stars
24 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 09, 2017
Great online experience,high APY
Anonymous Account Holder

I have both savings and checking account with Discover as well as their credit card. 

1) The cash back checking is a great way to earn cash back for those people who use a debit card. You will earn 10 cents for each debit card swipe and check clearance. Not much, but no other banks in my knowledge offers it. The debit card is a Discover debit card which is not as widely accepted as visa or MasterCard but most merchants now accept it. I personally rarely use a debit card for a transaction as credit cards have much better fraud protection than any debit card. 

2)Their ATM network is big. You can withdraw money from any CVS ATMs and other ATMs also. One problem with these online banks is lack of depositing money. Like chase ATMs where you can deposit money, you can't do it with Discover bank. Even though I use mostly credit card and my salary directly comes to my bank account but sometimes my roommate pays me cash and I can't deposit that in the Discover Bank. (You can mail them, it's a risk from my point of view). So, if you are dealing with cash you must an account at a local bank. I deposit money into my chase account then ACH to discover.

3) Few people complained about their ACH speed. Until recently, if an ACH request I put in Discover to withdraw money from my Chase it took 4 business days to happen. Now they reduced it to 2 days. Alternatively, you can always ACH from Chase to Discover which took 2 days. Also, you can deposit a check through the app which hassle-free. 

4) My Discover checking is my default payment account for every credit card, utility companies as I will never close it as it does not have any maintenance fee. I Chase checking I need to maintain 1500$ to avoid fee which is not possible for me to do always.

5) Their saving account has 1.15% APY just behind market leader CIT bank which offers 1.3% APY. So, I save all my money is the Savings account. Just because they are not traditional brick and mortar bank their operational cost is less so they can offer higher interest rate compare to chase which is 0.01%. 

6) About the smartphone APP. The APP is great, comparable with Chase, fur better than the Bank of America in my experience. I think a local bank account(big bank or credit union)  and Discover makes a great pair.  

7) Discover Bank is not a member of Zelle pay. If it ever becomes a member you can transfer from your other Zelle accepted banks in real time. (https://www.zellepay.com/partners)

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 22, 2017
Obsessed with freezing customer accounts
Anonymous Account Holder

A very uncanny, paranoid bank that abuses the Patriot Act when customers transfer money to accounts they own.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Sep 09, 2017
Great online experience,high APY
Anonymous Account Holder

I have both savings and checking account with Discover as well as their credit card. 

1) The cash back checking is a great way to earn cash back for those people who use a debit card. You will earn 10 cents for each debit card swipe and check clearance. Not much, but no other banks in my knowledge offers it. The debit card is a Discover debit card which is not as widely accepted as visa or MasterCard but most merchants now accept it. I personally rarely use a debit card for a transaction as credit cards have much better fraud protection than any debit card. 

2)Their ATM network is big. You can withdraw money from any CVS ATMs and other ATMs also. One problem with these online banks is lack of depositing money. Like chase ATMs where you can deposit money, you can't do it with Discover bank. Even though I use mostly credit card and my salary directly comes to my bank account but sometimes my roommate pays me cash and I can't deposit that in the Discover Bank. (You can mail them, it's a risk from my point of view). So, if you are dealing with cash you must an account at a local bank. I deposit money into my chase account then ACH to discover.

3) Few people complained about their ACH speed. Until recently, if an ACH request I put in Discover to withdraw money from my Chase it took 4 business days to happen. Now they reduced it to 2 days. Alternatively, you can always ACH from Chase to Discover which took 2 days. Also, you can deposit a check through the app which hassle-free. 

4) My Discover checking is my default payment account for every credit card, utility companies as I will never close it as it does not have any maintenance fee. I Chase checking I need to maintain 1500$ to avoid fee which is not possible for me to do always.

5) Their saving account has 1.15% APY just behind market leader CIT bank which offers 1.3% APY. So, I save all my money is the Savings account. Just because they are not traditional brick and mortar bank their operational cost is less so they can offer higher interest rate compare to chase which is 0.01%. 

6) About the smartphone APP. The APP is great, comparable with Chase, fur better than the Bank of America in my experience. I think a local bank account(big bank or credit union)  and Discover makes a great pair.  

7) Discover Bank is not a member of Zelle pay. If it ever becomes a member you can transfer from your other Zelle accepted banks in real time. (https://www.zellepay.com/partners)

more ...
Aug 25, 2017
So frustrating!!!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

Never had so much chaos and confusion from a simple checking account. I was with Bank of America for years and should have never left. Did it for the cash back. They can't give me enough cash back to get me to stay. Horrible!!!!

more ...
Aug 09, 2017
Purgatory
Divafreida Account Holder

This experience was pure hell.  they are prejiduce against class, and color. The abuse the patriot act ant dont wish to send your funds..... I have ptsd now from dealing with this bank....Save the hassel. dont use them.. I am dumping them ...... If your thinking of this as a good saving solution it is but u cant get your money bank without being blocked for suspicious activity..... RUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUNNNNN!

more ...
Jul 31, 2017
Good Service, S**T bank
Zoiek Account Holder

 used to say customer service is #1, but when you're a bank the money should be #1. The fact that it takes 3-5 business days to deposit a $500 check into my account is ridiculous. People (like myself) cannot wait that long for their money. I understand 24-48 hours like most banks but 5 days!? Oh, and since I did online deposit on Saturday, that doesn't count so it really could be 7 days. I'd much rather deal with a $20 monthly fee to keep my account open, then deal with this online bull**** anymore. I'll be so happy when I am finally done with them.

more ...
Jul 23, 2017
The Paranoid Bank
AtriusNY Account Holder

This is the most paranoid bank one will ever come accoss. They will freeze bank accounts, verify deposits by calling people who made the deposits, put deposits you personally made on hold for weeks and not all necessarily at once. They will charge you $35 for wire transfer and make you refret you ever wanted to use it. 

I am not talking about an incident here and an investigation. Above mentioned are random, unexpected interruptions for amounts that are less than 5K over a span of 3 years. There is something exreemely wrong with this bank. It is either used heavily by criminal organizations or their fraud prevention departent is lead by an idiot. 

more ...
Jul 17, 2017
Worst Bank
Anonymous Account Holder

 They were offering a promotion code "MM217" in May 2017, giving you $100 if you open savings account and meet certain criteria.  I met all their requirements including having to deposit $15000 into the savings account by a certain date and when it was time for them to give me the reward as promised they reneged on giving me the $100 claiming the reward code was not put on origional application.  I asked them to verify it by going back and listening to the recorded line when account opened where their representative verified the reward promotion. They said it would take up to 4 weeks to look into and that no guarantee I would get the $100.  It has been over 2 weeks with multiple calls to supervisors and still no resolution. They also started taking federal witholding taxes out of my interest claiming I messed up by not filling out all the paperwork, later it was determined they messed up I had filled out all the necessary paperwork.  They are horrible to do business with, I fell like I was scammed.

more ...
Jul 13, 2017
Legacy customers are treated like dirt
Anonymous Account Holder

Been a customer for over 30 years with 849-850 FICO and they closed my account due to an error.  They told me I can re-apply which I will not because their system approves charges from vendors even if the card is expired in the vendor system. Discover claims that they do this so that there is continuity in service with the vendor but the account holder does not want to automatically continue the service each year.  Why is Discover making decisions for the account holder? Customer Service no longer cares if you are a legacy customer and Discover places the blame on the loyal customer. There is no such thing as loyalty with Discover. I am done with credit cards with all the trickery, fraud and breaches. I will start using cash.

more ...
Jul 07, 2017
Horrible. Worst bank
Stephie2780 Account Holder

Worst bank to deal with ever. Customer service is completely useless and won't take ownership of the wrong informtion provided. Long story is they will take your deposit. Hold it for as long as they want. Give you the wrong information and when you have items that need to be paid they will return them and charge you a fee even though they have over $3k sitting in a deposit hold that has already cleared the other bank. Then they want to tell me that that's not the case when I clearly can see the money is gone. So it's in limbo? Worst experience ever. This is coming from a former BOA employee who understand the banking industry RUN FROM THIS BANK!! Do not use them at all!!!

more ...
Jun 16, 2017
Horribly bank. Avoid it.
Mauizard Account Holder

It has been two weeks since opening my account and depositing my first paycheck at my new job in the new state that I moved to and I still only have access to $200 of the total balance. Just went to the ATM to use my debit card and take some cash out and despite setting up the card correctly, it was registered as invalid and will not work anywhere, so I cannot even access the $200 that was released to my account. So now I have to wait 2-3 business days for a new card to be shipped to me. Required an absurd amount of identification for account, froze my account when it wasn't received and allowed no flexibility based on circumstances. Customer service is very friendly but so far has been completely useless, just like every other feature of the bank.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 09, 2017

Agree! I had to get a prescription for Xanax after this mess!

 
Jun 06, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Account Holder

They suddenly closed my account, stating they could not verify my identity. Yet they failed to contact me in any form to attempt to verify, obtain my ID or any form of verification. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations