Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Discover® Bank

2.5 out of 5 stars
28 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 23, 2016
Overall it's worthwhile
Keith0384 Account Holder

Very good bank overall. Customer service has always been very friendly; I can tell Discover has training as a priority. One rep even walked my mom through the process of using the app to take a picture of a check for a deposit. It's also reassuring they're open 24/7 and that you can use ATMs (here and there though) for free.

I would say, having said that, some of the perks might attract you but, ultimately, are kind of lame. The free ATMs are very random; the $0.10 is also kind of lame in that they cap it at a measly $10.00 a month; mailing time is ridiculous. I ordered checks and they sent them to the wrong address and then it took, basically, about a month to receive something as basic as checks for a checking account.

I'd say go with Discover and recommend it, however, like I do, you may want to have as a backup a checking account, however small of a balance, at a nearby bank just in case you have cash you'd like to deposit.

Thanks, Keith.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 07, 2016
daveyp225 Account Holder

Initiated a deposit of more than ten thousand dollars a week ago from my checking account. Nothing in my account as of today. They need to fix the speed at which money is deposited.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jan 17, 2017
They need to stck to credit cards!
cs1ktech Account Holder

Application process... Tried to sign up for joint checking and savings. During process, found that you cannot get checking and savings account at same time despite the signup page saying you can. Ok, went with the flow, and created joint savings. Went back around and tried to create joint checking account. It said due to technical issues, you can't create a joint checking account and you have to call to accomplish that. OK, sounds OK. Well, not so much. Called after creating checking account and was told that I have to send paperwork in. They know there's a problem, but can't fix it. That, and spelling / grammar errors on three of the signup pages - which I reported.

Deposit availability... Ok, got through the signup process. Made inital deposit - $1000. A week goes by, and still no deposit, though the bank account shows that the ACH hit took the same day as I initiated the transfer. Called customer service. Again, they say they did an upgrade, and are having problems. Literally took a week for the deposit to make it.

Transfers between accounts: After deposit finally showed, figured I'd move some of the inital deposit to Checking from Savings. Nope. No luck. In the accounts dropdown, the only option is "external account" yup, I can pull another week-long wait for money from my other bank account. Cannot xfer from savings to checking. Customer service doesn't know why. Said they had to refer to tech support. We're several days into this, and it's still not fixed. Compared to Discover card online site and Discover card customer service, this is a complete joke.

Will likely just tell them to cut check, and close account. Who knows how long that will take.....

more ...
Dec 14, 2016
Not bad, I've had mediocre experience.
hoodun Account Holder

I have been with Discover for about a decade. They have been good overall. Recently they worked out a deal where I get a year at 12% while I pay off some of the card. The only thing is they froze it. Also, which I was not aware of, the balance lowers as I pay it off, so it hurt my credit score pretty bad always being at 100% utilization. At least they mean well. 

An ok bank. They did help me get started with my credit...

more ...
Dec 06, 2016
Slow, useless, do not do business with t
chocoagogo Account Holder

They will hold your money much longer than standard (to make interest off of it, of course) and process things when it's convenient for them. Website and app are frequently down and customer service reads from a script and is incompetent.   I've had enough and am closing the account -  they  should stick to their credit cards. I  would never recommend them to anyone I liked. 

more ...
Nov 22, 2016
Great Card
Anonymous Account Holder

I love this card because I had to initially use it as a balance transfer card. It allowed 0% on either a transfer or purchases. I chose the transfer and it is working out great. It also has a lower Apr than my other card, so I don't have to worry if I would use it for a purchase instead of my other card.

more ...
Nov 05, 2016
Good Rate, Bonus paid, easy to use.
Anonymous Account Holder

I set up an money market account to get the $100 bonus and a good (for these times) 0.95% rate. No problems setting it up transfering money and they paid the bonus no problem. The card and bank app are now united so that makes it easy to watch my money grow.  

more ...
Nov 03, 2016
Awesome!
Anonymous Account Holder

Discover has great customer service and they are very friendly.

more ...
Nov 03, 2016
A TOTAL MESS
Niiri Account Holder

Don't do it - don't get the account, it's not worth the hassle. They are in so much of a mess they don't even apply payments correctly. On several occasions they applied payments to the wrong accounts, in spite of account number not matching the payments made. They claim they are unable to fix this without speaking with you, the customer who did everything right. These conversation can take upwards of an hour AND have to be within their very limited business hours. I WORK longer than these people are available. Total MESS.

more ...
Oct 05, 2016
transfer delays
Anonymous Account Holder

i forgot to add that if you transfer money to another bank it takes almost a week. The worst part is how slow you see your transactions so you can never be sure if the balance is correct.

more ...
Oct 05, 2016
Discover Debit card that can't be used
klausksjfndk Account Holder

Tell me what kind of transactions we are supposed to pay with a debit card. Example: Groupon purchases that are online, Uber transportation, Food delivery over the phone or online.

All these do not include a swipe nor a pin entered, but they should go through, right?

I used my Chase debit card with no problems ever.

But the discover is getting declined and the customer service states that is because they are timing out as they are processing as a credit.

Shouldnt Discover have a feature that if the transaction is being issued as a credit because no swipe/no pin, should go through anyway?

So, this tells me that the money i have on that account should only be transfered, go to an atm and withdraw or send payments checks online.

Funny that i have another debit card with Discover (joint with my husband who always run out of money) and it never gets declined.

In my case, that I always have funds, it gets declined.

Try to open a checking account somewhere else.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations