Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Commerce Bank

1.2 out of 5 stars
21 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1 out of 5 stars

1 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Mar 01, 2017
Fees, fees, and fees
Chairman Account Holder

Fees everywhere.  Oh, you haven't done anything with your savings account?  Let's charge you a dormant fee.  Oh, we won't let you transfer money between accounts online?  Just call us and we'll do it for you...for a fee. You want to see more than a few months of your account history?  You guessed it, a fee for that.   Anything else?  How about a fee for that too while we're at it.

Screw this bank.  I just called and--after 15 minutes on hold--closed two old accounts that were 20 years old (opened when I was a teenager) because of these nonsense fees.

more ...
Feb 07, 2017
Ridiculous, greedy, incompetent
Anonymous Account Holder

Agree with the comments above about incompetence. Was told by BRANCH MANAGERS that the best way to build credit was to carry a high balance and make payments (turns out high utilization hurts your score, thanks CK for the awesome credit simulator).

I keep almost all of my money with Commerce, and have for +20 years. I applied for a credit card while in college and was approved, but it has been a nightmare ever since. They have kept my limit at $500 for almost 2 years, despite NEVER missing a payment and never carrying a balance (FICO 752). I wrote a letter to the execs to ask for an increase, they are completely unwilling to budge. I am taking my money OUT of this bank immediately. Unfortunate... I like the card just fine. Just hate the bank.

more ...
Feb 01, 2017
Bait and switch
BeSkepticalOfAll Account Holder

Commerce Bank promised 0% interest and 0% fees on balance transfers.  In actuality, they gave me only $1000 credit line, and added a large fee for balance transfers.

more ...
Feb 01, 2017
Bait-and-switch
BeSkepticalOfAll Account Holder

Commerce Bank offered me a preapproved credit card with 0% interest and 0% fee on balance transfers.  I applied.  After about 2 weeks, I got a letter that my application had been approved--but for only $1000.  I called up their underwriting department, and asked why my balance transfer had not been executed, at least up to the $1000 limit.  She replied that my credit was so bad (FICO 740) that they would not do a balance transfer after all.

The next day, I received my credit card.  The included disclosure statement made clear that I could indeed do a balance transfer if I wished--but with a high fee, contrary to what was promised.

In short, this bank wasted my time.

more ...
Jan 07, 2017
Poor Customer Service
Anonymous Account Holder

I have never been treated this way with anything in my life before they have very poor customer service they have a ton of hidden fees then they close out my account because I was overdraft $8.77 and they called me back and everytime I try to explain there was once an excuse I'm not really understanding I don't recommend this bank for anyone and they are not a great fit for small businesses and they have very very poor customer service they are very rude and once they found out that I was not going to continue to accept the overdraft they wants then close my account out and then call me back and didn't have really a great explanation on closing my account besides being overdraft for a dollar and some change.

I also feel that they are not perfect for small businesses I didn't have much cash flow coming in and I think that's the reason why they closed my account they do not value small businesses in the community well at least they did not volumize and that's the way I feel and that is my opinion like I said very very very bad customer service and last but not least my card did not work all the time I was always been denied but the transaction was going through to make me overdraft I don't recommend this to anyone that has a small business you better get up and you're better run as fast as you can to the next bank.

more ...
Dec 02, 2016
You are just a number
Anonymous Account Holder

Customer service will just hang up on you. Don't dare lose a card and need it replaced. 

more ...
Nov 02, 2016
Completely worthless institution
Anonymous Account Holder

My account was opened 10 years ago as a small account tied to my college ID card. It was easy to add a debit card, get free checks, and have a basic no-fee account with locations in town and around the midwest. Employees were kind and helpful. Perfect for a college student just starting out.

Flash forward to October 2016. I have been depositing more than $1000 every month via direct deposit for the past 5 years and never dropped below the minimum. My employer had a small issue with direct deposit and had to send mine as a wire transfer this month.

I received a $12.00 fee for receiving a wire transfer, and an $8.00 fee for failing to make a deposit in October. I guess the wire doesn't count as a deposit.

Checks are no longer free, customer service is no longer friendly or helpful, and the fees are totally insane and follow no discernable system other than making money for the bank. Depositing money into your account? That'll cost you $12.00. Oh, by the way, we are charging you $8.00 for not depositing any money into your account this month.

p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 12.0px 0.0px; line-height: 14.0px; font: 12.0px Arial; color: #232323; -webkit-text-stroke: #232323}
span.s1 {font-kerning: none}

It's a miracle Commerce Bank is still in business; they certainly don't deserve to be.

more ...
Oct 27, 2016
Loses information such as social seurity
Anonymous Account Holder

Loses information such as your social seurity number after having their credit card for more than 40 years.  I thought it was phishing or a scam until I called them and talked to their people.  Apparently losing information about you is a normal thing with them.  

more ...
Oct 25, 2016
RUDE
Anonymous Account Holder

If you are haveing financial issues and need them to work with you don't bother. your past payments don't matter no matter how loyal you have been if you have hit a stubbling block be ready to PAY up big time they have no regard.  They are rude. If you have a loan through them refinance ASAP.

more ...
Oct 21, 2016
Terrible customer Service
Anonymous Account Holder

They nickel and dime you. There moto...
'The Company's customer promise, We ask, listen and solve is not just its brand, but also its corporate focus. " That is definitely not true. Worse bank ever.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations