Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Commerce Bank

1.2 out of 5 stars
18 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1 out of 5 stars

1 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jan 07, 2017
Poor Customer Service
Anonymous Account Holder

I have never been treated this way with anything in my life before they have very poor customer service they have a ton of hidden fees then they close out my account because I was overdraft $8.77 and they called me back and everytime I try to explain there was once an excuse I'm not really understanding I don't recommend this bank for anyone and they are not a great fit for small businesses and they have very very poor customer service they are very rude and once they found out that I was not going to continue to accept the overdraft they wants then close my account out and then call me back and didn't have really a great explanation on closing my account besides being overdraft for a dollar and some change.

I also feel that they are not perfect for small businesses I didn't have much cash flow coming in and I think that's the reason why they closed my account they do not value small businesses in the community well at least they did not volumize and that's the way I feel and that is my opinion like I said very very very bad customer service and last but not least my card did not work all the time I was always been denied but the transaction was going through to make me overdraft I don't recommend this to anyone that has a small business you better get up and you're better run as fast as you can to the next bank.

more ...
Dec 02, 2016
You are just a number
Anonymous Account Holder

Customer service will just hang up on you. Don't dare lose a card and need it replaced. 

more ...
Nov 02, 2016
Completely worthless institution
Anonymous Account Holder

My account was opened 10 years ago as a small account tied to my college ID card. It was easy to add a debit card, get free checks, and have a basic no-fee account with locations in town and around the midwest. Employees were kind and helpful. Perfect for a college student just starting out.

Flash forward to October 2016. I have been depositing more than $1000 every month via direct deposit for the past 5 years and never dropped below the minimum. My employer had a small issue with direct deposit and had to send mine as a wire transfer this month.

I received a $12.00 fee for receiving a wire transfer, and an $8.00 fee for failing to make a deposit in October. I guess the wire doesn't count as a deposit.

Checks are no longer free, customer service is no longer friendly or helpful, and the fees are totally insane and follow no discernable system other than making money for the bank. Depositing money into your account? That'll cost you $12.00. Oh, by the way, we are charging you $8.00 for not depositing any money into your account this month.

p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 12.0px 0.0px; line-height: 14.0px; font: 12.0px Arial; color: #232323; -webkit-text-stroke: #232323}
span.s1 {font-kerning: none}

It's a miracle Commerce Bank is still in business; they certainly don't deserve to be.

more ...
Oct 27, 2016
Loses information such as social seurity
Anonymous Account Holder

Loses information such as your social seurity number after having their credit card for more than 40 years.  I thought it was phishing or a scam until I called them and talked to their people.  Apparently losing information about you is a normal thing with them.  

more ...
Oct 25, 2016
RUDE
Anonymous Account Holder

If you are haveing financial issues and need them to work with you don't bother. your past payments don't matter no matter how loyal you have been if you have hit a stubbling block be ready to PAY up big time they have no regard.  They are rude. If you have a loan through them refinance ASAP.

more ...
Oct 21, 2016
Terrible customer Service
Anonymous Account Holder

They nickel and dime you. There moto...
'The Company's customer promise, We ask, listen and solve is not just its brand, but also its corporate focus. " That is definitely not true. Worse bank ever.

more ...
Oct 18, 2016
Most Incompetence I've Ever Seen
Anonymous Account Holder

There is no shortage of imcompetence on the loan I've had to deal with, with this company. They missed blatent errors when generating disclosures that are causing massive delays in our loan being able to process, and could cost us the purchase of our new home. There is no way to describe how many errors the processors, loan officer XXXXX, and the underwriters have made. I've never experienced more incompetence from supposed seasoned mortgage people in my life. Stay as far away from this bank and their employees as possible. 

more ...
Oct 03, 2016
incompetence
Anonymous Account Holder

I received a letter in the mail requesting my signature along with a K-9 form with my birth date and social security number PREFILLED.  After numerous calls to Commerce for an explanation, all I get is transferred around.  The checking account was opened in 1984 and they stated they have no signature card on file.

Apparently the savings counselor is one of the "senior" members of the staff at the branch that committed this careless act.  I find it hard to believe that in today's world of fraud and identity theft, the bank does not have safeguards in place and TRAINING to ever let this happen. 

more ...
Sep 08, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

My identity was stole twice. Shame on me for not switching the first time.

I'm currently on hold for 12 minutes for customer service to close my account.

They called to get me a home loan and kept calling my by the wrong name.

more ...
Sep 07, 2016
Is This A Bank?!
Anonymous Account Holder

This review is based on a simple checkings account and customer service for both in person and online help. I have since cancelled the account.

1) The reps are incredibly impolite borderline rude. They will be sitting at their desks conversing with each other and continue to ignore patrons even though they see you.

2) Online help is a joke. They will have you in waiting for over 30+ minutes. Tried to call one of the many office locations and you will still be directed to online help center and make you wait.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations