Commerce Bank Reviews

1.4 out of 5 stars
18 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Dec 02, 2017
Run! Take your business elsewhere!!
kwagner33 Account Holder

Customer service is horrible like no other! When applied for the card I applied for one promotion so I thought and didn’t find out u til almost 6 months later. Spent 6 weeks trying to find out when I would be getting a reward statement credit. I was told I would receive it at the close of October statement. After 6 weeks I was then told I didnt apply for the promotion I thought I had therefore now I wouldn’t be receiving it. This was after 6 weeks of getting nothing! No one could give me an answer! Was tolld I would get an answer in 2-3 business days. What a joke! Then they offered to give me the promotion but that included raising my interest rate!! Bad bad business!! Honestly I can not recall ever experiencing worse customer service then I had with this card. Audios Commerce Bank and good reddens!!

more ...
Nov 24, 2017
Horrible customer service many mistakes
nrd94 Account Holder

Half their customer service numbers do not work and when you do try to call customer service, you stay on hold over half an hour and then the call drops. I would never do business with them again. Beware!

more ...
Nov 21, 2017
Meh..
Shearon6843 Account Holder

Interest rates aren't that great, service is hit or miss depending on who you get, and they'll charge you for things you wouldn't think twice about: like withdrawing your own money in person at a teller. We tried to open "MySpending" cards for my husband and I to help with our budgeting (and to protect our account incase of an online breach since the cards aren't directly linked to our main account). Mine was processed fine, no hitches. I called and set it up over the phone, drove to the main branch, and it was printed and in my wallet the same day with the "fee" charged directly to our account. My husband went to a different branch a couple days later (different schedules), got a card printed out, but there's no account attached to it! On top of that, they "withdrew" the money for the card (rather than just charge the setup fee to the account) which incurred an *additional* withdrawl fee... so we paid *MORE* for a card WE CAN'T USE. -_-

more ...
Nov 10, 2017
Horrible bank
Anonymous Account Holder

They charge me for "identity theft protection" and when I try to call customer service to clear amounts they take about 1 hour to get a hold of! Failure to innovate.

more ...
Nov 08, 2017
No issues.
PrehistoricFish Account Holder

Haven't had the card long, but no issues here. Easy application process (So far easier than posting this review.) Visa signature with a reasonable credit limit. Average rewards program. No complaints.

more ...
Oct 02, 2017
Simply Awful
Anonymous Account Holder

Hidden fees, shady business practices, and non-existent customer service. Just plain terrible. Go elsewhere!

more ...
Jun 18, 2017
Don't waste your time there
Anonymous Account Holder

I've had multiple issues with the bank. For example we went to the bank for a deposit but we also wanted to double check that our new debit card was activated. The teller deposits the money and then cancels the debit account. We couldn't fix it unless we went down to the bank and because we work bussiness hours we had to wait a whole week. Don't waste you time here. Plus THEY WILL SCREW YOU OVER ANY CHANCE THEY GET. 

more ...
May 22, 2017
Terrible
Anonymous Account Holder

Disgusted with how terrible the servicies are of this company. Time and time again they have failed to do anything useful and the people who work there are not must smarter than 12 year olds. It almost seems they intentionally try to inconvenience their customers. Any sane person will stay far far far away from these people. 

more ...
May 16, 2017
Not customer friendly
merenina Account Holder

My boss got a pre-approval letter for this card with a wonderful interest rate and $20,000 limit.  His credit score was 700 and he had a lot of other credit card debt.  I applied my score is 797 and I got 2 percent higher interest rate than he did and only $5000 credit limit.  I have must lower credit card debt.  I figured because he was sent an offer and I applied directly was the reason for the difference.  I really enjoy the toggle feature as I planned to use this card to pay all my monthly bills that I normally use my checking account to pay and it would be auto debited and give me rewards.  After about a month and half I decided to try to make this the only credit card I use and contacted them for how to get an increase in my credit limit.  All my other cards have high limits like $10,000 as my credit is strong and I don't use my cards a lot.  I called to find out how and they transferred me to the underwriting department.  Without the woman having any of my information in front of her, she asked how long have I had my account and I said not more than 2 months.  She told me that it was impossible to get an increase and that they don't really give increases that they apply you for a new card and then combine them into one.  When I asked her why would I only have $5000 limit she kept giving me maybe scenarios like maybe because of this or that but nothing specific to me.  I asked her to please look up my information to give me an answer specific to me and she said did not need to because it wasn't going to change her response.  I ended the call since I was getting nowhere.  I tried to call back and ask for a supervisor and got a young man that promised me one would call back but of course they never did.  If not for their toggle feature I would be canceling this card and account.  Poor customer service and experience.

more ...
Apr 05, 2017
Bad customer service
Anonymous Account Holder

Trying to redeem rewards for travel from the credit card we have used for YEARS.  This bank is just difficult when it comes to the details.  I have currently been on hold with Commerce Visa Rewards for 1 hour and 20 minutes trying to book a flight because their website will not accept my COMMERCE credit card!!!  They totally gave me the run and around and think that they can just pass the responsibility to the next person. FRUSTRATING!!!!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations