Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Commerce Bank

1.3 out of 5 stars
15 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year


Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Oct 21, 2016
Terrible customer Service
Anonymous Account Holder

They nickel and dime you. There moto...
'The Company's customer promise, We ask, listen and solve is not just its brand, but also its corporate focus. " That is definitely not true. Worse bank ever.

more ...
Oct 18, 2016
Most Incompetence I've Ever Seen
Anonymous Account Holder

There is no shortage of imcompetence on the loan I've had to deal with, with this company. They missed blatent errors when generating disclosures that are causing massive delays in our loan being able to process, and could cost us the purchase of our new home. There is no way to describe how many errors the processors, loan officer XXXXX, and the underwriters have made. I've never experienced more incompetence from supposed seasoned mortgage people in my life. Stay as far away from this bank and their employees as possible. 

more ...
Oct 03, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

I received a letter in the mail requesting my signature along with a K-9 form with my birth date and social security number PREFILLED.  After numerous calls to Commerce for an explanation, all I get is transferred around.  The checking account was opened in 1984 and they stated they have no signature card on file.

Apparently the savings counselor is one of the "senior" members of the staff at the branch that committed this careless act.  I find it hard to believe that in today's world of fraud and identity theft, the bank does not have safeguards in place and TRAINING to ever let this happen. 

more ...
Sep 08, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

My identity was stole twice. Shame on me for not switching the first time.

I'm currently on hold for 12 minutes for customer service to close my account.

They called to get me a home loan and kept calling my by the wrong name.

more ...
Sep 07, 2016
Is This A Bank?!
Anonymous Account Holder

This review is based on a simple checkings account and customer service for both in person and online help. I have since cancelled the account.

1) The reps are incredibly impolite borderline rude. They will be sitting at their desks conversing with each other and continue to ignore patrons even though they see you.

2) Online help is a joke. They will have you in waiting for over 30+ minutes. Tried to call one of the many office locations and you will still be directed to online help center and make you wait.

more ...
Aug 22, 2016
What a JOKE!
coramackenzie Account Holder

We have never had an account with this bank, and now I know why... We recently purchased a vehicle and the loan is through Commerce Bank, having purchased other cars over the years I expected that I could log in online to make a payment. NOPE! Not possible. Is it 1994 or 2016? This is a joke, right? What bank in 2016 can't you make an online payment with? Your grandpa's bank, aka Commerce Bank. If you have an account with them you can make it through the ATM. Why the hell would you do that? Or you may call the 800 number and be charged $5 to not even speak with a person and make it with a non-Commerce debit card. I really just can't even. We will be looking to refinance with a different bank IMMEDIATELY, and this is only the first payment. It is laughable how ridiculous this is. I pay literally everything online, we don't get paper statements for anything anymore and haven't for years. I don't want to mail checks or go into a branch bank or even call an 800 number. I want to log in, spend 30 seconds paying the bill like I do the 10 other bills and get my life together. I have nothing good to say about this experience at all, and I would never open an account with a bank that is so antiquated and old fashioned. We didn't pick who the loan went through, obviously, but if they tell you it will be Commerce Bank and you care about being able to do things 2016 style, then tell them to keep looking for another lender. My grandpa would probably enjoy banking here, or my 70 year old dad, he still likes to write a check and send snail mail, so this bank is definitely for the blue hairs of the world, anyone else should run away like they are on fire and find somewhere else with technology and a website that fits the needs of 2016, this is not it.

more ...
Aug 09, 2016
Wyvonia Account Holder

I did an application and didn't receive an answer for over a week, then they sent me a card for $1,000 which was insulting. When I called to have the card rescinded, they had already transferred a balance I listed as a possible transfer from another card before I was ever approved, notified or had even activated the card. I asked how could you do that and apparently it's in the fine print on the online application that no one can see, probably with fuzzy language. I'm requesting my copy of the application and will have to argue to fix this. Stay away from this Bank!

more ...
Jul 03, 2016
Lots of hidden fees and bad rates.
Anonymous Account Holder

Had my account with them since I was 16 and 20 years later I'm finally closing the acounts because I can take anymore of the hidden fees.  I got swindled out of $72 of overdraft fees that weren't even my fault and approx. $500 worth of inactivity fees without my knowledge.  Not to mention they have horrible lending rates.  My suggestion...find another bank or credit union.

more ...
Jun 30, 2016
Worst bank I have ever dealt with.
Anonymous Account Holder

Literally the worst bank I have ever had an account with. Possibly the rudest customer service, who is unwilling to work with their customers. No regard for your personal finances, willing to hold your money hostage, and make it nearly impossible to get anything resolved.

more ...
Jun 09, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been with Commerce Bank for almost 20yrs but today they have let me down! I am currently on hold and have been now for 30 min exactly!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations