Commerce Bank

1.2 out of 5 stars
24 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1 out of 5 stars

1 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Apr 05, 2017
Bad customer service
Anonymous Account Holder

Trying to redeem rewards for travel from the credit card we have used for YEARS.  This bank is just difficult when it comes to the details.  I have currently been on hold with Commerce Visa Rewards for 1 hour and 20 minutes trying to book a flight because their website will not accept my COMMERCE credit card!!!  They totally gave me the run and around and think that they can just pass the responsibility to the next person. FRUSTRATING!!!!

more ...
Mar 28, 2017
very bad
Anonymous Account Holder

i do not like them the service is very bed

more ...
Mar 06, 2017
Super Slow Contact Center
Anonymous Account Holder

I just called their contact center because of my online account was locked. The waiting time was ridiculous. It took 17 minutes in total to solve a simple unlock online account request. All my experience with their contact center was like this. Their branch service is better. I decided to close my accounts with them. 

more ...
Mar 03, 2017
HORRIFIC!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

Very Unprofessional.  I was told to go to FEDEx for a Notary!! This was after witing an Hour to be serviced.  I actually went to Fedex to inquire about their Notary Services and the man looked at me like I was growing 2 heads. In the process of finding another financial institution after 30 years!!!!!

more ...
Mar 01, 2017
Fees, fees, and fees
Chairman Account Holder

Fees everywhere.  Oh, you haven't done anything with your savings account?  Let's charge you a dormant fee.  Oh, we won't let you transfer money between accounts online?  Just call us and we'll do it for you...for a fee. You want to see more than a few months of your account history?  You guessed it, a fee for that.   Anything else?  How about a fee for that too while we're at it.

Screw this bank.  I just called and--after 15 minutes on hold--closed two old accounts that were 20 years old (opened when I was a teenager) because of these nonsense fees.

more ...
Feb 07, 2017
Ridiculous, greedy, incompetent
Anonymous Account Holder

Agree with the comments above about incompetence. Was told by BRANCH MANAGERS that the best way to build credit was to carry a high balance and make payments (turns out high utilization hurts your score, thanks CK for the awesome credit simulator).

I keep almost all of my money with Commerce, and have for +20 years. I applied for a credit card while in college and was approved, but it has been a nightmare ever since. They have kept my limit at $500 for almost 2 years, despite NEVER missing a payment and never carrying a balance (FICO 752). I wrote a letter to the execs to ask for an increase, they are completely unwilling to budge. I am taking my money OUT of this bank immediately. Unfortunate... I like the card just fine. Just hate the bank.

more ...
Feb 01, 2017
Bait and switch
BeSkepticalOfAll Account Holder

Commerce Bank promised 0% interest and 0% fees on balance transfers.  In actuality, they gave me only $1000 credit line, and added a large fee for balance transfers.

more ...
Feb 01, 2017
Bait-and-switch
BeSkepticalOfAll Account Holder

Commerce Bank offered me a preapproved credit card with 0% interest and 0% fee on balance transfers.  I applied.  After about 2 weeks, I got a letter that my application had been approved--but for only $1000.  I called up their underwriting department, and asked why my balance transfer had not been executed, at least up to the $1000 limit.  She replied that my credit was so bad (FICO 740) that they would not do a balance transfer after all.

The next day, I received my credit card.  The included disclosure statement made clear that I could indeed do a balance transfer if I wished--but with a high fee, contrary to what was promised.

In short, this bank wasted my time.

more ...
Jan 07, 2017
Poor Customer Service
Anonymous Account Holder

I have never been treated this way with anything in my life before they have very poor customer service they have a ton of hidden fees then they close out my account because I was overdraft $8.77 and they called me back and everytime I try to explain there was once an excuse I'm not really understanding I don't recommend this bank for anyone and they are not a great fit for small businesses and they have very very poor customer service they are very rude and once they found out that I was not going to continue to accept the overdraft they wants then close my account out and then call me back and didn't have really a great explanation on closing my account besides being overdraft for a dollar and some change.

I also feel that they are not perfect for small businesses I didn't have much cash flow coming in and I think that's the reason why they closed my account they do not value small businesses in the community well at least they did not volumize and that's the way I feel and that is my opinion like I said very very very bad customer service and last but not least my card did not work all the time I was always been denied but the transaction was going through to make me overdraft I don't recommend this to anyone that has a small business you better get up and you're better run as fast as you can to the next bank.

more ...
Dec 02, 2016
You are just a number
Anonymous Account Holder

Customer service will just hang up on you. Don't dare lose a card and need it replaced. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations