Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Citizens Bank™

1.1 out of 5 stars
22 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Feb 22, 2017
Apple Payment Plan / Upgrade iPhone Loan
puakela Account Holder

No way for you to know your balance/payoff unless you call in an get dragged through the stupid automated system that repeatedly asks you for an account number, even though Apple customer are not given an account number.. I emailed, hoping the response might be quicker (just wanted to pay off!!) since nearly all companies have online customer service and it took 2 WEEKS for a response. I emailed on 02/08/17 and got a response on 02/22/17 - telling me to call in with my account number. OMG

By then, I'd already called in a few times to finally talk to someone who could get me the information I needed to pay off. Worst customer service for sure. If it helps, all of their "Apple Core Operations" info is below from the email signature. In quotes because to me, core operations sounds like they know how to operate, which it doesn't seem like they do.

Citizens One Bank - Apple Core Operations

Apple Payment Plan / Apple Upgrade iPhone Loan

Telephone: 855-764-6395 / 888-427-9671 (option 2) / 888-201-6306

Email: appleupgrade@CitizensBank.com

more ...
Feb 15, 2017
Do Not Report To Credit Bureaus
FredrickVegas Account Holder

I got this loan through Apple Program.  I called to ask why they do not report positive remarks to Credit Bureaus.  Was told that it cost them to do so, but they will report negatives, such as late payments etc.

I am almost done with payments and perfect pay history.  Shame they do not report as I could use a loan payment such as this to add to my positive history as a recurring loan type.  Also, they said they do not report any loan info on any type of loan.  Can not use this to rebuild credit etc.  Will never use this bank for anything again.  Bad of Apple to pick this bank

more ...
Feb 13, 2017
Citizen's Bank - The Fee Machine!
Anonymous Account Holder

I missed making a deposit into my checking, so they hit me with a $9.99 fee. Now when my Loan Payment was processed, I went negative. Boom, $35.00 fee, and NO NOTICE that I was in overdraft. Then, every four days they apply another $30.00 fee for "Sustained Overdraft". I only check my account every few weeks because all that I have on it is the loan payment - $180 in fees later I happen to log in. After 15 minutes on the phone with the branch - I'm told there is nothing they can do locally, and to try the national number. The call ends with the Branch Rep. wishing me good luck with the national team - sounds promising right.

I spend an hour on the line with the national team. Their solution, either pay the fees or leave the account in negative for another couple of weeks and let it default.

Thanks, Citizen's, for taking banking to a new low.

more ...
Jan 25, 2017
bad
lilokast2012 Account Holder

Been with them 1 year and it been so bad I rarely use their credit card only once a month I rarely carry a balance. I made a purchase for $14 and Already paid my money for the month and only owe $14 for that transaction but 2 days later I got charged $5.49 for interest. When ever I pay with their credit and pay it off before due date I still get charged interest.

more ...
Jan 16, 2017
they will scam you
jbhuang Account Holder

my citizens bank credit card posted 2 payments of the same amount in the month. They insist it was my fault but why would i schedule 2 payments of the same amount!

This put me over my account  balence in my checking account by $100. Instead of overdrafting to my savings which had plenty of money. They hit me with a $35 over draft fee. Then every 4 days they hit me with a $30 additional overdraft fee. EVERY 4 days. They did not notify me via email, phone, txt anything. Apparenty they only notify you by your account dashboard which you have to login to see. WHAT A SCAM! If you only login once a month like most people and you accidentally overdraft you will be hit with $150 worth of fees before you realize.

more ...
Jan 10, 2017
Rips off customer
KaySHuff Account Holder

A business double charged me on a debit transaction.  I put the claim in.  Never hear another word from Citizens.  Nearly four months later I learn my claim was "closed".  No communication, explanation from Citizens.  I'm out $50.00.  Taking my money elsewhere.

more ...
Dec 12, 2016
Citizen Bank is a worse choice!
Anonymous Account Holder

I opened an account on the Citizen bank after 2months, they frozen my account without any reason and they charged my credit card $27. When I asked them about it, they said that you need to show the same documents when I opened again!! Now I am waiting to re-opening my account more than 10 days!! no real answer for me!!

DON"T OPEN ACCOUNT IN CITIZEN BANK, they don't respect you!!

more ...
Oct 23, 2016
They WILL nickel and dime you.
Anonymous Account Holder

What is said about the reordering of transactions is true. However, what upset me the most is the lack of notifications that there is an overdraft. They will not text you, email you, or send you any type of fast indication. They will only mail you a notice that the account is overdrawn, so here I am all weekend thinking things are great and I get a letter saying I owe them a few hundred dollars.

more ...
Oct 18, 2016
bank with a bad habit
BdRN Account Holder

I've been banking with Citizens for over 10 years. They have a bad habit of reordering withdrawals and transactions to cause the most overdraft fees. They do it late at night so that by the time you see it you can't correct the mistake as to not be charged a fee. I had received a settlement a few years back after they were sued for doing this. I figured they would stop but they have not. I have even opted out of overdraft protection so that nothing will go through if I don't have the money but they managed to charge me for a bill that was first to go through yesterday but was last on the online statement today. Customer service is not helpful at all and not friendly. I'm very disappointed in the bank.

more ...
Sep 30, 2016
Ripoff!
Anonymous Account Holder

I would put no star if I could. 

This bank even does not provide clear contact information because they do not want people to contact them. Even if you finally find the way to contact them, they would provide someone overseas who cannot help you except telling that they do not have authority to answer the questions.

This bank also charge you every month minimum interest fee for the checks supposly having zero interest. But first you pay fee when you cash these checks, then they add interest fee every month.

Surprisingly checking account working fine but I guess different management works.

Stay away from this credit card. There are much better options for you.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations