Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Citizens Bank™

1.1 out of 5 stars
19 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jan 16, 2017
they will scam you
jbhuang Account Holder

my citizens bank credit card posted 2 payments of the same amount in the month. They insist it was my fault but why would i schedule 2 payments of the same amount!

This put me over my account  balence in my checking account by $100. Instead of overdrafting to my savings which had plenty of money. They hit me with a $35 over draft fee. Then every 4 days they hit me with a $30 additional overdraft fee. EVERY 4 days. They did not notify me via email, phone, txt anything. Apparenty they only notify you by your account dashboard which you have to login to see. WHAT A SCAM! If you only login once a month like most people and you accidentally overdraft you will be hit with $150 worth of fees before you realize.

more ...
Jan 10, 2017
Rips off customer
KaySHuff Account Holder

A business double charged me on a debit transaction.  I put the claim in.  Never hear another word from Citizens.  Nearly four months later I learn my claim was "closed".  No communication, explanation from Citizens.  I'm out $50.00.  Taking my money elsewhere.

more ...
Dec 12, 2016
Citizen Bank is a worse choice!
Anonymous Account Holder

I opened an account on the Citizen bank after 2months, they frozen my account without any reason and they charged my credit card $27. When I asked them about it, they said that you need to show the same documents when I opened again!! Now I am waiting to re-opening my account more than 10 days!! no real answer for me!!

DON"T OPEN ACCOUNT IN CITIZEN BANK, they don't respect you!!

more ...
Oct 23, 2016
They WILL nickel and dime you.
Anonymous Account Holder

What is said about the reordering of transactions is true. However, what upset me the most is the lack of notifications that there is an overdraft. They will not text you, email you, or send you any type of fast indication. They will only mail you a notice that the account is overdrawn, so here I am all weekend thinking things are great and I get a letter saying I owe them a few hundred dollars.

more ...
Oct 18, 2016
bank with a bad habit
BdRN Account Holder

I've been banking with Citizens for over 10 years. They have a bad habit of reordering withdrawals and transactions to cause the most overdraft fees. They do it late at night so that by the time you see it you can't correct the mistake as to not be charged a fee. I had received a settlement a few years back after they were sued for doing this. I figured they would stop but they have not. I have even opted out of overdraft protection so that nothing will go through if I don't have the money but they managed to charge me for a bill that was first to go through yesterday but was last on the online statement today. Customer service is not helpful at all and not friendly. I'm very disappointed in the bank.

more ...
Sep 30, 2016
Ripoff!
Anonymous Account Holder

I would put no star if I could. 

This bank even does not provide clear contact information because they do not want people to contact them. Even if you finally find the way to contact them, they would provide someone overseas who cannot help you except telling that they do not have authority to answer the questions.

This bank also charge you every month minimum interest fee for the checks supposly having zero interest. But first you pay fee when you cash these checks, then they add interest fee every month.

Surprisingly checking account working fine but I guess different management works.

Stay away from this credit card. There are much better options for you.

more ...
Aug 09, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

Horrible Customer Service

more ...
Jul 31, 2016
CitizensBank violates my rights
Anonymous Account Holder

First of all, the loan or line of credit was opened by Apple iPhone without letting me know that they actually opened the line of credit under my SS#. Secondary, I paid it off in 2 days after it was opened, but when I tried to close the line of credit, the Citizens One Loan that is part of the Citizens Bank reps refused to do so stating that I have to wait 30 days, then after 30 days passed, I was told that I have to wait 45 days, then after 45 days passed, they say I have to wait 60 days, then after 60 days passed, I was told that I have to wait 60 business days that do not include any weekends. Citizens Bank violates my rights to close the line of credit per my request. I do not understand the reason they keep the line of credit opened, I am sure that reason does not benefit me, but it seams that I cannot close it even if I call them every 15 days with my request. 

more ...
Jul 22, 2016
Re-orders transactions
Anonymous Account Holder

The way they re-order transactions to make you overdraft your account several times is sickening. I have had a transaction not show up in my online banking for days, then all of a sudden when it goes through, it is posted for a few days earlier.....causing several overdrafts to my account instead of just one....they are SHADY when it comes to this..intentionally deceitful. Keep in min they just had a 14 billion dollar overdraft settlement they had to pay because they would reorder transactions based on the highest amount per transaction...they will screw you anyway possible for a profit

more ...
Jul 19, 2016
Citizens Bank is a nightmare.
Anonymous Account Holder

Do not bank with them.  They lost my paycheck last weekend, closed my account on monday with no notification, and have sent and lost 3 debit cards in the mail in just the past 8 months.  Nightmare. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations