Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure


1.0 out of 5 stars
26 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year


Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1 5

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Oct 17, 2016
Fraudulant people
Anonymous Account Holder

I have never in my life dealt with such uneductaed people in my life. If they lock your account be prepared to wait 30 days or more just to use your card.  They got my account locked while trying to activate my card plus they take your money before you are even approved. Customer service is no good and get you annoyed right off the bat. Do not use this place ever you will live to regret it.

more ...
Oct 07, 2016
irritating bank ever
Anonymous Account Holder

worst bank ever if they give u credit card plz dont u will die for their service ....plz plz dont take account in this bank u will suffer

more ...
Oct 05, 2016
faruque001 Account Holder

I had CitiBank account for more than 15 years. I just closed my bank account including all of my citibank credit cards after having horrible experience over the last few years. In 2012-2013 (not sure specifically the year), citibank blocked transactions on my checking account sensing a fraudulan activity. I was making payments to another creditor and getting notification for dishonored payment .  Citibank had my home phone number, cell phone number, my personal e-mail, and also citibank's own in-box messeging service. Unfortunately, citibank won't care that it's important to communicate with their customers, because they treat customers as 'customers' where as other bank treat customers as 'valued customers' or 'clients'. So they did their job and blocked and it is customers' headache to take the responsibility to communicate with them instead. As a result, that creditor closed my account and put a 'derogetory' flag on my credit report. Because of that, I paid thousands of dollars when bought my car, trying to refinance my houghe, etc... Today, I went to check my credit report and same thing I see. A negetive mark on my credit report for over limit on a citibank credit card. Again, not any sort of communications, same repeatation of 2013. This bank is number one to charge you the fee for the account, not to mention.

So I called today and spoke to an agent of citibank and wanted to close my bank account and as well as all of my citibank credit cards. The agent without asking me the reason say 'OK, no problem'...I had to laugh.

I don't even wanna suggest to citibank to hire trained and skilled employees and save billions instead of saving a few bucks an hour and hire untrained and 'don'tcare' type of agents.

No wonder why citibak's rating here is ONE START. But they don't even deserve it.

more ...
Oct 01, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

Applied for a checking account online. Got it opened stared card and checks will arrive in the mail. 2 months later nothing, still have not received anything. Went to a branch and was told I have 3 months to setup direct deposit and bill pay before I am charged any fees. Asked when will I get the checks and debit, it went out a month ago, just wait it may still be in the mail. Wow please close this account. Worst banking experience in my life. 

more ...
Aug 22, 2016
Horrible dispute department
kregan1005 Account Holder

The credit card itself is fine and I liked it all up until I filed a dispute because a company charged me an incorrect amount. I sent in the receipts and have called propably over 10 times, when you want to be transfered to their department it rings a few times tells you they are other people and to go online to contact them. I've never experienced such bad customer service and from the reviews this company doesn't seem to care.

more ...
Aug 08, 2016
Bad Online System n Bad Customer Service
HonestReviews Account Holder

I pay my Citi bank credit card from my Bank of America checking account. One day, I transferred an amount that didn't reflect on Citi's online portal straight way which normally does. I did the transfer again by thinking that nothing probably happened. Second time, it shows. But Citi submitted 2 similar checks to my BoA. One got declined from BoA due to insufficient funds. Thus Boa charged me $35. Similarly Citi charged me $25. When I chatted online and explained BoA, they refunded me that $35. But when I did the same to Citi, the consultant was rude and asked me to call. The other consultant on phone was rude too. This bank is too greedy that they couldn't control themselves from taking this $25 from me which actually happened due to their crappy online system. Last and worst, after the conversation with that consultant, I found that my account remain hold for about 10 days. When I called again, I found the other consultant doesn't know anything and was trying to fool me by saying ****.  I still couldn't use my account and that $25 was never refunded.

more ...
Aug 01, 2016
The bad, the worse, and the ugly.
atran9 Account Holder

I applied for a citi credit card at the beginning of July and got an approval on July 7. I waited two weeks for my card to come in, then comes August. I tried calling customer service in late July but they put me on hold for over 30 minutes so I gave up. I caved in again today (August 1st) and called them again. Not only did they have me waiting for over 20 minutes this time, but the customer service was just plain bad. As ****ed as I was for both not receiving my card and for being put on hold for so long, I still talked to the representative politely using my pleases and thank yous. The representative on the other hand, didn't even acknowledge it and didn't even say "you're welcome"; he had an attitude and was unpleasant. Turns out they never even sent out my card, and if I had not called them I would've never even received it. I have to be put on hold for an eternity and deal with a disrespective representative just to use YOUR card? I could apply to any other credit card company and be approved and not have to deal with this **** according to my credit score. Honestly, I wish I never applied. So not worth the hard inquiry on my credit score. If you're looking for a credit card company to be a part of and this is one of your options, DON'T DO IT!!!!!!!!!!!!

more ...
Jul 25, 2016
From AmEx to Citi? No thanks
Anonymous Account Holder

Citi account management web site is horrible. Auto pay history shows sometimes and sometimes doesn't. Latest statement shows one amount, but autopay payment quite different. It seems that the payment was made, but citi nasty site still says that payment is due and due date. I always new that citi was a shady business, now Costco shoved their bank down our throats and we have to cope with it. I would love to or join a lawsuit against these bozos, their don't  care attitude deserves it. Total waste of my time.

more ...
Jul 13, 2016
Poor Fraud Handling
Anonymous Account Holder

Had fraud on my credit card account.  They were quick to close the bad card and send me a new one.  I thought all was good.  It's been a week now and the fraudulent charges are still on my account, $0 available credit.  Already had a few bill-pays get declined because of this.  Customer service keeps reciting the same drivel from a piece of paper that "It may take 1 to 2 billing cycles for the credit to appear on your account."  Absolutely rediculous.  I've had fraud on one other card, and they IMMEDIATELY refunded my credit line, FedEx'd a new card to me.  Citi will not help out, and I will be closing my account with them.

more ...
Jul 06, 2016
Terrible bank
Anonymous Account Holder

The customer service is terrible and so is their business. It's a crooked messed up bank. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations