Citibank® Reviews

1.4 out of 5 stars
35 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 10, 2013
Love it
Anonymous Account Holder

I have used this bank for 8 years without a single problem. The staff is always friendly and efficient.

I have my checking account and credit cards all from this bank.  I love thank-you points which are free and have bought all my christmas presents for free for three years.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 08, 2013
This is a terrible, terrible company.
PauliP Account Holder

I wish I could give them negative a thousand zero stars. Like, you know what the temperature is on Neptune at night? That's how many stars they deserve. This company is run by very good scammers, I will give them that. To make my headache-ridden, almost unbelievable story of how they scammed me short, I will give you insight into your likely future scenarios at Citibank:

Their online banking system is very poorly operated and kicks you out regularly. It prompts you to call their customer service. Then customer service sets up your bill pay and confirms your bill is paid by phone and email.

8 days later, you will recieve an email saying that your 'check' was returned and you are being charge $20 for returned check fee and $20 for late payment on your bill. You will call to bitch. They will say sorry and that they'll pay you back. Then they ask for your information again and confirm your bill is paid.

Next month, the same thing happens, which is odd since the payment already went through last month. Weird, right? I'm not a rocket scientist, but my credentials didn't change in 3 weeks, so I would think the payment should easily go through again.

Somehow my information keeps changing every month so that I have a 'returned check fee ($20)' and a 'late fee ($20)' EVERY MONTH for 6 months. And EVERY MONTH they say sorry, bank error, we'll return your fees. AND EVERY MONTH THEY DON'T.

Until 6 months later when you ask them where your money is and they say, 'Well, it's only $60'. ACTUALLY IT'S MORE LIKE $160 and if it's ONLY $60, then why won't you give it back to me?

I paid in full (plus extra that they scammed out of me), closed my account, and vowed to be a thorn in their sides. Do yourself a favor and beware of credit card scammers operating under the guise of a reputable company.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

May 13, 2017
Terrible Customer Service
Anonymous Account Holder

Citi Customer Service is TERRIBLE!  I was a customer from 1999 to 2017. 18 YEARS. I received a late fee when my online banking service transposed a number.  I called customer service, explained the situation, and asked for the late fee to be removed.   I offered to send documentation from my bank but they were not interested.   I was put on hold numerous times while they "reviewed the account."  After 45 minutes on the phone, I spoke to a supervisor.   They refused to remove the late fee because it was allegedly my bank's fault not theirs.  Obviously, they did not want further business from me.  I hope the $25 late fee was worth losing an 18 YEAR customer.  

more ...
May 03, 2017
Worst customer service ever.
Anonymous Account Holder

Citibank has been absolutely horrible to deal with. They insisted that I changed my address (which I didn't) and then couldn't verify my identity. They told me five different ways to verify my identity, then I was told by another manager that it wasn't a valid method. Every person I talked to told me something different, they don't have a uniform protocol or message. I had to call them 9 times; after every time my card got denied and then multiple more times to try and "verify my identity." Customer service was horrible, managers were rude and unhelpful, and I got the run around everytime I called. I can't believe they're still in business. I got a card through Costco and every Costco rep was extremely helpful and polite. Huge contrast to the horrible treatment I got from Citi. Frankly I'm surprised Costco would be affiliated with such a horribly run company. I finally had to fax my social security card, license, and a utility bill, where I included a cover letter asking them to call me to confirm the closure of my account. They didn't call and after three days I called to check on the status-they told me they couldn't read the account number on my utility bill but they couldn't call to tell me that because my identity wasn't confirmed. So they had no intention of letting me know that I needed to send the documents again. It was the most ludicrous run around and that was every single conversation I had with them. 9 calls and a whole lot of confusion later I finally have my account closed. I will never open an account w Citi again. You shouldn't either.

more ...
May 03, 2017
Above and beyond!
Yluve1lv Account Holder

Fraud department is awesome!! I don't have an account or credit card with them... But recently have had some fraudulent applications come in on my name. I called them to report fraud and couldn't believe the help I got. Not only did they set up a free 7 year fraud alert on my credit, they called the credit bureau with me to dispute inquiry and it was removed right away! This was all done for free, without even having any accounts with them!! They also sent me the fraudulent application, and a information packet on fraud and my rights as a consumer!! I had a credit card with capital one, and basically got the see you next Tuesday attitude from them!! After several phone calls and waiting months... I'm still waiting for that inquiry to come off my credit report!

more ...
May 02, 2017
Inefficient Company
dravannti Account Holder

I haven't even hit two weeks yet and I'm concerned about this bank. I've had 2 credit cards with them with no issues. I open a checking account for a $300 and have direct deposit and transferred $15k. After almost 2 weeks of having online access they all of a sudden want to verify my debit card, pin number, and account number to allow me to view my account online. I got a card, that I never ordered, but no pin. I call and they admit a pin was never sent and that I'm locked out till a pin is mailed to me. Futhermore, without a debit card and a pin I cannot have online access. Needless to say I'm concerned about not being able to view $15k until a pin is mailed out to me.

more ...
Apr 21, 2017
Never again
Anonymous Account Holder

I will NEVER do business with Citibank again....I was with them 6 years!!! Never missed a payment actually I paid more..just trying to get it paid off.. FINALLY got it paid off...I was so HAPPY..One week later they charge me 170.00 interest... I was so ****ed so I called them...all they could tell me about are these award points I had accumulated...I said unless you can apply those points to my account I DON'T CARE!!! How can a company this large #1 be so money hungry that they couldn't wave 170.00 #2 NOT Care about their customers!!! NEVER AGAIN!!!! NEVER AGAIN

more ...
Jan 19, 2017
go to capital one
Anonymous Account Holder

They will lower your credit limit without notice even if u pay all your payments on time. Apparently u r a risk if u use it too often. Paying off and canceling. I have had capital one for years and I will just stick with them. They are awesome.

more ...
Jan 06, 2017
Not reliable, will ruin your finances.
ambitionz82 Account Holder

1 )Ordered checks and when i called 2 monthes after. They stated noone ordered checks.
2) constant mistakes of charging me overdraft fees when theres money in the account. I have to call all the time to have them remove it due to mistakes in there behalf.
This is a ridiculous bank the reason i pay a monthly fee is so they can manage my money in my account, but they dont seem to have the knkw how to be able to do that.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 07, 2017

I was a landlord with 4 mortgages through them and they could never figure this out. the refinance people are total jerks. I was notified that c losing for a refinance was the next day and it had to have both my wife ;s and my signature. She was backpacking in a wilderness area off the grid. Idiots! It took some 50 days to get to where they were ready to close - and they can't give a reasonable advance notice?

 
Dec 12, 2016
horrible im canceling my account asap
Anonymous Account Holder

they took my check deposit and wont release my funds fora whole week they are sending me on a wild goose hunt then tellin me to call the costumer service and wen i call thy cant help me either and thy don't care if u gt **** to pay if i could give em a zero i wld

more ...
Dec 06, 2016
Horrible customer loyalty
mwrood Account Holder

Horrible company! Allows contractors to commit blatant fraud, drags the dispute on for 90 days, and then sides with the contractor who has OBVIOUSLY submitted fake "evidence". Doing all of this while continuously asking for more documentation, that has absolutely nothing to do with the case. How is a person suppose to get a "refund authorization" from someone who is a scam artist?!?!? That makes absolutely zero sense. Way to be incompetent. My dog has more common sense than your "investigators".

more ...
Dec 05, 2016
Worst customer service ever
Anonymous Account Holder

Trying to get a customer service letter with my current balance for my lander for almost 2 weeks now, still no success.

Chase and capital one provided one with 30 minutes from the call. Citibank keep saing inproccess 48h, 24h, working on it.

Unbelivble it is the simpleast thing to do to jgenerate an automtice letter to be sent imideately. and they put you on days wait for what, why?

If it wasn't Costco card I wouldn't use it at all!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations