Citibank® Reviews

1.5 out of 5 stars
27 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 30, 2016
credit card
tgriffin0807 Account Holder

great customer service

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 13, 2017
Terrible Customer Service
Anonymous Account Holder

Citi Customer Service is TERRIBLE!  I was a customer from 1999 to 2017. 18 YEARS. I received a late fee when my online banking service transposed a number.  I called customer service, explained the situation, and asked for the late fee to be removed.   I offered to send documentation from my bank but they were not interested.   I was put on hold numerous times while they "reviewed the account."  After 45 minutes on the phone, I spoke to a supervisor.   They refused to remove the late fee because it was allegedly my bank's fault not theirs.  Obviously, they did not want further business from me.  I hope the $25 late fee was worth losing an 18 YEAR customer.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jul 20, 2017
Really bad
Anonymous Account Holder

The processing time is a lot longer compared to other banks. The customer service representative hung up on my phone when I was inquiring about a transaction... Really rude...

more ...
Jul 14, 2017
Will con you into opening account
Madams76 Account Holder

So I have a bit of a story regarding Citibank and it's not a good one

Citibank was running a $400 promotion to open an account if you deposited $15,000 and kept it there for 3 months..  I went in to open an account at this location within one day of seeing the promotion online.  When I walked in to open an account, the first words out of my mouth were that I was opening an account because I saw the $400 promotion online.  The banker and I literally talked about what a good deal it was.  We also talked about how soon I would need to deposit the money to earn the promotion amount and how long it would take for the bonus money to hit my account.

I opened an account that day and kept 15,000 on deposit for well over 6 months and never got any money. i called 3  months in and asked why my money wasn' there and they said it would take another month or so for the money to hit my account 

When the money didn't come, I wasted an hour going back into the same branch trying to figure out what happened and they couldn't even find the original promotion.  Conveniently, the person who opened my account was no longer there.

I would not recommend ever doing anything with Citibank

more ...
Jul 03, 2017
RUDE, Neglectful, and Incompetent
Anonymous Account Holder

I lost my debit card, and tried to have it canceled and replaced over the phone. The agent LAUGHED at me, gave me incorrect instructions, and asked for information he DID NOT NEED to access my account, and in the end was so incompetent he couldn't even figure out how to do anything I asked. Maybe citibank would be better off hiring garden gnomes.

more ...
Jun 26, 2017
There is a reason why the folks call it
logrus Account Holder

****ty bank!

more ...
May 13, 2017
Terrible Customer Service
Anonymous Account Holder

Citi Customer Service is TERRIBLE!  I was a customer from 1999 to 2017. 18 YEARS. I received a late fee when my online banking service transposed a number.  I called customer service, explained the situation, and asked for the late fee to be removed.   I offered to send documentation from my bank but they were not interested.   I was put on hold numerous times while they "reviewed the account."  After 45 minutes on the phone, I spoke to a supervisor.   They refused to remove the late fee because it was allegedly my bank's fault not theirs.  Obviously, they did not want further business from me.  I hope the $25 late fee was worth losing an 18 YEAR customer.  

more ...
May 03, 2017
Worst customer service ever.
Anonymous Account Holder

Citibank has been absolutely horrible to deal with. They insisted that I changed my address (which I didn't) and then couldn't verify my identity. They told me five different ways to verify my identity, then I was told by another manager that it wasn't a valid method. Every person I talked to told me something different, they don't have a uniform protocol or message. I had to call them 9 times; after every time my card got denied and then multiple more times to try and "verify my identity." Customer service was horrible, managers were rude and unhelpful, and I got the run around everytime I called. I can't believe they're still in business. I got a card through Costco and every Costco rep was extremely helpful and polite. Huge contrast to the horrible treatment I got from Citi. Frankly I'm surprised Costco would be affiliated with such a horribly run company. I finally had to fax my social security card, license, and a utility bill, where I included a cover letter asking them to call me to confirm the closure of my account. They didn't call and after three days I called to check on the status-they told me they couldn't read the account number on my utility bill but they couldn't call to tell me that because my identity wasn't confirmed. So they had no intention of letting me know that I needed to send the documents again. It was the most ludicrous run around and that was every single conversation I had with them. 9 calls and a whole lot of confusion later I finally have my account closed. I will never open an account w Citi again. You shouldn't either.

more ...
May 03, 2017
Above and beyond!
Yluve1lv Account Holder

Fraud department is awesome!! I don't have an account or credit card with them... But recently have had some fraudulent applications come in on my name. I called them to report fraud and couldn't believe the help I got. Not only did they set up a free 7 year fraud alert on my credit, they called the credit bureau with me to dispute inquiry and it was removed right away! This was all done for free, without even having any accounts with them!! They also sent me the fraudulent application, and a information packet on fraud and my rights as a consumer!! I had a credit card with capital one, and basically got the see you next Tuesday attitude from them!! After several phone calls and waiting months... I'm still waiting for that inquiry to come off my credit report!

more ...
May 02, 2017
Inefficient Company
dravannti Account Holder

I haven't even hit two weeks yet and I'm concerned about this bank. I've had 2 credit cards with them with no issues. I open a checking account for a $300 and have direct deposit and transferred $15k. After almost 2 weeks of having online access they all of a sudden want to verify my debit card, pin number, and account number to allow me to view my account online. I got a card, that I never ordered, but no pin. I call and they admit a pin was never sent and that I'm locked out till a pin is mailed to me. Futhermore, without a debit card and a pin I cannot have online access. Needless to say I'm concerned about not being able to view $15k until a pin is mailed out to me.

more ...
Apr 21, 2017
Never again
Anonymous Account Holder

I will NEVER do business with Citibank again....I was with them 6 years!!! Never missed a payment actually I paid more..just trying to get it paid off.. FINALLY got it paid off...I was so HAPPY..One week later they charge me 170.00 interest... I was so ****ed so I called them...all they could tell me about are these award points I had accumulated...I said unless you can apply those points to my account I DON'T CARE!!! How can a company this large #1 be so money hungry that they couldn't wave 170.00 #2 NOT Care about their customers!!! NEVER AGAIN!!!! NEVER AGAIN

more ...
Jan 19, 2017
go to capital one
Anonymous Account Holder

They will lower your credit limit without notice even if u pay all your payments on time. Apparently u r a risk if u use it too often. Paying off and canceling. I have had capital one for years and I will just stick with them. They are awesome.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations