Chase Bank Reviews

1.8 out of 5 stars
41 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 03, 2016
Wonderful
booieloubear Account Holder

I had an account with Chase. They were very friendly and helped answered any questions that I had. Was even kind enough to give me a friendly call after my account was set up to see if everything was going ok and if they could help with anything else.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 14, 2017
Tried to close an account
Anonymous Account Holder

After attampting to close my checking account I was told the account would be closed by the end of the day. Instead they closed it 4 days later and allowed charges to the account to be made without my permission and after I was told it was closed!!! Then I got a letter from them stating the amount still owed on the account with ALL their overage fees. The total came to 189 dollars because thy allowed reaccuring charges to be made on a closed account1! Customer service was little to no help and was extremely rude. Trying to leave this bank is an absolute nightmare and they make every effort to keep your money even after you have left. DO NOT BANK WITH THEM AT ALL!!!! SUCH A SCAM.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Nov 07, 2017
I've never had trouble with Chase
SSGpain Account Holder

After reading all the negative reviews, I'm a little hesitant to write a good one. I've had Chase for about 15 years now, and I've never had a problem with them. I don't know about all the "check holding" other folks are complaining about. I do a lot of online deposits (love the Chase mobile app), and I never have checks held. In fact, it's usually less than an hour before I get an email saying my deposits are accepted, and the money is always available after midnight the day of the deposit. Maybe that's just because I've banked with them for so long and my deposits never bounce?

Anyway, I visit the local branch when I need to, but 99% of my banking is done online. The app works well, the reps are friendly (if not the most knowledgeable in the world), and I've had a consistent, problem-free banking experience with Chase. Even when I've needed foreign funds, Chase gets it done.

more ...
Oct 27, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

I called Chase for a replacement card on Oct 20, 2017 the lady in the fraud department ensure me that I would have a replacement card in the next 5 to 10 business days. Well today I call to ask why I have not recieved my card, in the past Chase replace cards would arrive in less than 10 days. When the representative told me that no card was issue for me and if I wanted to get the card fast I would have to pay $5. Well I ask why! Then they had me to answer several security questions that did not apply to me and caused me not to get the fees waived if I wanted to get the card in 2 days. Then I went into a branch they do not give temporary cards anymore here in Illinois. I asked the representative did the bank switch presidents because the 20 years that I'ved been with Chase I have never experience such horrible customer services. 

more ...
Oct 04, 2017
Holding Funds 12 Days
Thunter3 Account Holder

PLEASE SHARE: Chase bank steals from their own customers. For example, a check deposited on 9/30, clearing 10/2 has a 12 day hold on it. Why? In the 80s a 5 day hold was common but now 12 days is happening? What are you doing with MY money? Why don't you possess enough honor to reverse the unjustified OD fees your business has caused?  Talked to 3 people and have sent 8 emails. Banked with Chase for approximately 10 years.  Sent a screenshot proving that check cashed and funds received on 10/2.  10/4 they are still telling me that they need 12 days.  Not a good business practice.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 04, 2017

Irgonant bank,can't trust the scumbag organization.

 
Sep 29, 2017
This bank is not customer service based.
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank is by far the worst bank that I have ever done business with. I was in the process of switching my accounts to a new bank and they charged me a nsf fee of $15 because my account was overdrawn by $0.96. That’s ridiculous. I got no notifications. No nothing. The manager stated that he could not remove it because it would cost the branch money.  Oh well. I paid the fee and closed my account. I am so relieved to no longer be with a money hungry bank that could care less about doing the right thing for the customers. Consumers beware. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 07, 2017

That just sounds like normal banking. It doesn't matter if you're overdrawn by a penny, any bank will charge you.

 
Sep 17, 2017
Bait & Switch Bank
Smiklemeyer Account Holder

We recently moved to Texas from California. Had to switch banks because our previous bank did not have locations nearby. 
We received the coupon below in our USPS relocation package. We packed it with our belongings and brought it with us. 

3 days after arriving here, we signed up for a Chase checking & savings account. A week or so later we unpacked that $300 offer and brought it to the bank. A full month before the expiration date on the coupon. (See attached image). Even though we met all the requirements, they would not honor it because it had been more than 7 days since we opened the account. 

No where on this coupon does it state a 7 day policy. It is just another bait & switch tactic to lure people to sign up for an account. We even spoke with the branch manager Brandi Z. whom despite the obvious being stated, would not honor the coupon either.

To make matters worse. Chase will put a hold on deposited Checks for several days before clearing them. We are talking about small amounts under $1,000.

We are going to close our Chase account in the next couple weeks and sign up for an account with Wells Fargo. Whom we already have a business account with.

BEWARE of JP Morgan Chase banks. Do your research online. They have  a horrible rating. 

more ...
Sep 03, 2017
WORST BANK TO DEAL WITH, AVOID IT.
Anonymous Account Holder

There was a wrong charge on my cc that i disputed as i have not received the service. Chase reported me to credit agencies as if I didn't want to pay to the bank which is not the case as the whole card is paid off.

more ...
Aug 19, 2017
Greedy and merciless.
Anonymous Account Holder

Chase doesn't give a darn about you as an individual.

more ...
Aug 06, 2017
Pretty good, sometimes inconvenient
Preheatpizzarolls Account Holder

They do not accept coins any more and good luck talking to them by phone. I live in a state that does not have a branch but due to online banking I have been able to keep my account. However when something goes wrong and I need to call them... I ALWAYS get stuck with a rep with the THICKEST accent and the WORST head set. It is so difficult to feel like I'm being helped when I can't even u understand them and just have to agree and hope they were not asking a question.

more ...
Jul 29, 2017
ATM Error
Anonymous Account Holder

I have dealing with a financial nightmare.  The ATM ate my deposit of 4 checks totaling A LOT of monday and it's been over a week and the "claim" is still being processed.  I have NO insight on when and if I will actually recieve the funds.  I am a small business owner and beyond frustrated.  I have talked to numerious supervisors and managers and even 6 figures isn't enough for someone to expedidte this.  I have NO words on how aggrevating this has been.  If I hear another... "It will take 48-72 business hours" to verify the claim.... Feeling helpless.

more ...
Jul 15, 2017
AVIOD CHASE BANK
businessowners Account Holder

Will kill a small business with all the fees. Not to mention the customer service is terrible. Aviod this company

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations