Chase Bank Reviews

2.2 out of 5 stars
52 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 24, 2015
Mortgage Holder
Anonymous Account Holder

I have to admit in years past I have absolutely dreaded working with Chase and hated when I found out my mortgage was sold to them in 2013.  I found the mortgage department of CHASE to be unscrupulous.  HOWEVER, I just had to make a change in my insurance company and when I ran into a beaucratic issue between CHASE and the insurance company, the customer service representative said "let me get them on the phone."  Obviously CHASE has been working on their call centers but my representative showed incredible critical thinking skills and came through in the crunch.  Great job.  One person CAN change the way customers think about an organization.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 19, 2014
Chase Total Checking or Chase Anything
Anonymous Account Holder

I have a few credit cards with this bank. I also have a business card. I only keep them to retain good credit. The points on the business card are okay but everything else about this bank is incredibly unsatisfactory.

Their customer service experience is barely tolerable.

You are much better off getting an account with a small credit union.

The Total Checking account nickel and dimes you with fees. Also, to open an account, they want you to spend time at their branch for an ....err 'interview' to pitch more nonsense.

After many years of paying my bills on time, they never have lowered my APR and I have asked a few times.

They don't care nor do they have to care.

Time for consumers to take their money elsewhere.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jul 15, 2017
AVIOD CHASE BANK
businessowners Account Holder

Will kill a small business with all the fees. Not to mention the customer service is terrible. Aviod this company

more ...
Jul 14, 2017
Great Experience!
Anonymous Account Holder

I had such good experience that I told the manager I would write a great review. Here it is!

more ...
Jul 13, 2017
a awesome bank!
Anonymous Account Holder

this bank is amazing, no wonder there known for their awesome customer service

more ...
Jul 06, 2017
Okay for free checking.
Anonymous Account Holder

It's a find free checking account but if you use a non-Chase ATM, not only do you get tagged with the ATM fee from the ATM itself, you also get tagged with a fee from Chase for each transaction. 

more ...
Jul 06, 2017
Worst bank to deal with in my life
Anonymous Account Holder

I will be SO glad to finish changing my automatic deposits and payments from Chase Bank to my new friend in the banking industry (USAA). After being a LONGTIME Chase customer with mortgage, checking, savings and credit cards they royally screwed me over. Thanks Chase for showing me how much you appreciated my business. NOT!!! I will be telling everyone I know or meet how stinking BAD your Bank is to their customers. The latest bank manager at the 10th and Springdale Branch in Jeffersonville, Indiana gets a lot of credit for me taking my business elsewhere. His new male cashier gets some credit also. They are both so rude and discourteous. The MOST unhelpful individuals I EVER dealt with in Banking PERIOD. I already posted this on Facebook and had no representative contact me which shows Chase truly cares less about customer service. They might have been able to save an account with a customer who USED TO promote them. NOW they have an ex-customer who is influential in where people do business. Social Media is a powerful thing and I make use of it in giving and receiving reviews. Your bank took the wrong side on a dispute I made in regards to TWO charges by a scam company. I was billed TWICE for a product I didn't want and was supposed to be refunded by the company. The company takes your money and doesn't honor their money back guarantee as they advertise. Chase showed me who they appreciate more so I can no longer in good conscience allow them to make anymore money off of my money. Good-riddance Chase. My wife is also closing her accounts with Chase and moving to USAA. Let anyone who reads this be warned. There are a lot of banks out there. Some will be your friend. Chase not so much.

more ...
Jul 01, 2017
Worst Service
Kal002 Account Holder

Don't trust chase to buy as they don't dispute invalid transactions easily. You to spend more than 10 hours with them in order get dispute documents and more hussles to follow up. Very unprofessional services. I am going to close all my accounts with them.

more ...
Jun 29, 2017
CROOKS!!
Anonymous Account Holder

As a former employee and current bank customer, I have experienced so many situations that are just dishonest.  They post purchases whenever they want, send alerts when it's convenient for them, use every tool they can to milk people out of their money.  They take numerous notes on customers, so they WILL hold things against you and try to manipulate processes and fees to their benefit.  They are a very smart bank.  So they know how to essentially "steal" within the context of situations.  You need to WATCH YOUR ACCOUNTS!!!  They play the worst games when they choose to pay or unpay items or in the order they do so and their alerts are A JOKE.  They say they have a million alerts on their accounts and, yet, I have signed up numerous times for ALL of them and they still find ways to "update" their systems so the alerts disappear and you are stuck with fees.  REMEMBER that FEE REVENUE is how they make their profits.  Epecially in a low-interest-rate-environment.  WATCH YOUR MONEY if you decide to risk banking with them!!

In addition, they do NOT lend out money.  This is NOT how they make their money and do not want to take on ANY risk.  So unless you have a 800+ credit score and millions in the bank, they will not extend any credit to you.  It is just NOT their business.  GO ELSEWHERE. 

more ...
Jun 29, 2017
CHASE RIP OFF
Anonymous Account Holder

I got approved but  when I called them to transfer my balance they say I dont qualify for transfer of balance.. its depends on your credit to qualify... It didnt say that when I applied... It Says  O percent Annual Fee and Balance Transfer.. Uggg.. Such A rip off

more ...
Jun 19, 2017
Abusive, they will lie.
Anonymous Account Holder

The accounts are not secure, I had a large amount of money stolen and my account has

been frozen for 6 weeks--I was told uneqivocably that my automatic deposits will come nto my frozen accoutns, then suddenly told they will not.

I cannot get the truth, nor can I get my money.

more ...
May 26, 2017
If I could give 0 stars, I would.
Anonymous Account Holder

Horrible customer service. Don't ever have any thing unexpected happen in your life which would cause you to to possibly be late on a payment (even if it is the first time ever), they won't care or try to give any assistance in any way. Oh and they will destroy your credit if you do make a payment late (I made my payment 3 days after due date and was reported to credit agencies).

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations