Chase Bank Reviews

2.2 out of 5 stars
44 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 24, 2015
Mortgage Holder
Anonymous Account Holder

I have to admit in years past I have absolutely dreaded working with Chase and hated when I found out my mortgage was sold to them in 2013.  I found the mortgage department of CHASE to be unscrupulous.  HOWEVER, I just had to make a change in my insurance company and when I ran into a beaucratic issue between CHASE and the insurance company, the customer service representative said "let me get them on the phone."  Obviously CHASE has been working on their call centers but my representative showed incredible critical thinking skills and came through in the crunch.  Great job.  One person CAN change the way customers think about an organization.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 19, 2014
Chase Total Checking or Chase Anything
Anonymous Account Holder

I have a few credit cards with this bank. I also have a business card. I only keep them to retain good credit. The points on the business card are okay but everything else about this bank is incredibly unsatisfactory.

Their customer service experience is barely tolerable.

You are much better off getting an account with a small credit union.

The Total Checking account nickel and dimes you with fees. Also, to open an account, they want you to spend time at their branch for an ....err 'interview' to pitch more nonsense.

After many years of paying my bills on time, they never have lowered my APR and I have asked a few times.

They don't care nor do they have to care.

Time for consumers to take their money elsewhere.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

May 26, 2017
If I could give 0 stars, I would.
Anonymous Account Holder

Horrible customer service. Don't ever have any thing unexpected happen in your life which would cause you to to possibly be late on a payment (even if it is the first time ever), they won't care or try to give any assistance in any way. Oh and they will destroy your credit if you do make a payment late (I made my payment 3 days after due date and was reported to credit agencies).

more ...
May 16, 2017
Crap Customer Support
Anonymous Account Holder

Chase is unable to handle the simple task of managing a false fraud alert... find another bank

more ...
May 11, 2017
Awesome
Redready60 Account Holder

They keep my account safe. Any charge on my account that looks questionable they immediately message fraud alert to my phone.

more ...
Apr 26, 2017
Chase in Vernon Hills, Il is horrible
Anonymous Account Holder

We unfortunately visited the Chase branch on Milwaukee Avenue in Vernon Hills.  The manager was an idiot.  Probably the dumbest person I have ever encountered.  Not to mention she was rude and unprofessional.  I understand she has a low end job, but she seemed to have a lot of anger built up.

more ...
Mar 31, 2017
Do NOT Bank with Chase
Anonymous Account Holder

I was a WAMU customer and when they were bought I became a Chase customer.  Chase is a terrible bank.  Their Quickpay service is easily hacked and fraud was committed on my account because of this problem. They immediately closed my account and locked my online access to my three accounts, including a credit card account.  I was working abroad for 6 weeks at the time.  The only identity verification they would accept was for me to visit one of their branches with 2 forms of ID.  Chase did not have any branches in the country where I was working.  Consequently I was unable to access my direct deposit funds from my salary and they essentially told me there was nothing they could do for me as a woman traveling alone in a foreign country to access the cash I would need for basic survival. Additionally, since all of my bill paying including my mortgage and student student loans were drawn from this account, I am now dealing with late fees and other financial consequences due to this company's inability to function in the 21st century.  I will not be trusting them with my paycheck ever again.  Do not use this bank.

more ...
Mar 24, 2017
Watch your money closely
TexasMarc Account Holder

keep a close eye on your accounts, especially when you make a payment...debits show up right now, credits, not so much...also, be aware that Chase is in a massive downsizing (at least in Texas), which may leave you looking for a new branch.

more ...
Mar 24, 2017
HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE
Miamicustomer Account Holder

Everything is a hassle! I have a reserve card which suppoused to be their top card and the customer service is garbage. $450 fee and I am going to cancel because everytime I have to talk to them is a nighmare! I will stick with Citi. Much better service and assistance.

more ...
Mar 21, 2017
No customer satisfaction guarantee here
Anonymous Account Holder

I contacted the company to stop auto debit from an account I was closing. All set right? NOPE. They took a minimum payment form my new acccount however, they still auto debited or TRIED from my closed account. They had the guts to charge me a fee because the closed account obviously wasn't able to be used for the monthly mimimum payment. Then, I call to let them know what happend and they didn't offer to reverse the fee or to make an upset customer happy. I called back the next day to close the account. They were very quick to close it without a word of apology and THANKED me for being a Chase customer!!

more ...
Mar 20, 2017
BAD EXPERIENCE!!
Anonymous Account Holder

VERY DISAPPOINTED! After receiving letters in the mail on offers for the Chase Unlimited Freedom Card, I decided to apply. Within the first month of opening the card, I've used up $500. ''$150 bonus after you spend $500 on purchases in the first 3 months from account opening.'' AND SO IT SAYS. Unfortunately, it should be viewed as false advertisement. I waited about two and a half months and still NEVER received the $150 bonus, so I call up Chase and spoke to a lady who provided her best customer service, so props to that. (But unfortunately, it isn't important anymore.) Two weeks later(today), I receive a letter in the mail that says ''I see that there was no enrollment bonus offer associated...If you received an offer for the $150 bonus, please send a copy of the offer to us..." Do they really expect us to keep the letter after already getting approved??? No... and thats how they get you! So, I guess in a way it was my fault FOR not reading the bad reviews on the card, apparently MANY others had the same problem! Will I continue to use Chase in the future? Definitely not! Will I recommend it? Definetely not! I once asked my friend "Why are you using TD bank?" And he told me that he had a bad experience with Chase. And i couldn't believe it, being that I started with chase since I was like 16 and I'm 22 now.  But it only takes one bad experience to ruin it permantly. Being in the business field, it is important for a campany to be able to satisfy their customers needs in order to keep their business, but for a comany to pull a scheme like this and trying to put the blame on the customer is definetely not the way to go. 

more ...
Mar 18, 2017
Worst ever
Anonymous Account Holder

I just deposited a check 4 days ago. Iv been checking my accout for this to clear. Now they tell me that loss prevention has put a hold on my account. And of course they do it on the weekend when nobody is available and I will not be able to handle it until Monday 2 days from now great just great. And the snotty you rap you basically told me I wasn't her problem and to call back on Monday. Closeing this account.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations