Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Chase Bank

2.3 out of 5 stars
49 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 18, 2016
Garden variety, everyday bank.
CueBallElf Account Holder

I have both credit cards and a checking account with Chase and I've never had a problem with them.  From reading the reviews, I think a lot of people seem to be angry about overdraft fees, which by the way, are disclosed when you open a checking account. Funny thing is, all you have to do to prevent overdraft fees is check the little box marked "No" when they ask for overdraft.  Tada!  They'll decline your transaction if you try to overdraw, problem solved.

Both banking and credit card customer service are great, the only reason I would say it's 'good' instead of 'great' is that it can take a while to get ahold of someone. 

Their online banking and mobile apps are easy to use, and put all your credit/ checking accounts on one page.  Also, if you have a Chase checking and want to pay your Chase credit card bill, the transaction is one of the fastest I've seen. 

Also, there are A LOT of Chase banks in most heavily populated areas, as well as Chase ATM's.  I switched banks when I temporarily moved to rural NC, which was a mistake.  Switched back and haven't regretted it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 22, 2016
Terrible Bank
Anonymous Account Holder

In January 2016, I discovered that someone was using a copy of my debit card to make fraudulent charges. They took almost $200.00 from me in one week. When I realized this, I reported to Chase immediately. In reviewing my bank statements for the last six months more carefully I saw that two other charges were made. The amounts were so small: $40.00 and $60.00 that I didn't notice them. One was in August, and one was in October. Chase's policy states that fraudulent charges must be reported within 60 days in order to have the amount credited back based on their insurance. So I did not expect to get my money back for the the two charges that were made beyond January and February. However, because the charges began in August 2015, Chase said I could not be refunded for the charges that I reported within 60 days. The bulk of the charges happened on one day in January, and I reported them on that exact day. So because the criminals began stealing money from me in August and I didn't realize it until January I was denied coverage under their insurance, and have now been robbed of $300.00 with no refund from the bank. And just to add, I am a teacher who works with children with disabilities, and $300.00 is a lot of money for me to lose. While for Chase, it would have been pennies just to help me out when I was a victim of a crime that they failed to prevent.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Dec 03, 2016
Wonderful
booieloubear Account Holder

I had an account with Chase. They were very friendly and helped answered any questions that I had. Was even kind enough to give me a friendly call after my account was set up to see if everything was going ok and if they could help with anything else.

more ...
Dec 03, 2016
Customer Service? Just a buzz word.
Anonymous Account Holder

My Washington Mutual accounts were assumed by Chase in 2008.  I've tried.  I gave them 8 years of chances.  Customer service is a buzz word, and they may offer cookies and coffee in the lobby - but when it comes time to do what they promised - there is nobody that can help.  I am told to call the customer service number.  The customer service number tells me to go to the branch.  This has happened on multiple occastions - it's a pattern.

I've been on hold now for just under 2 hours - bounced from one person who can't help to the next - I'm done.

I'll be transfering all my business to the Credit Union down the street on Monday morning.  I've had it.  

more ...
Dec 02, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

i think its a great bank to start building financially.

more ...
Nov 27, 2016
Horrible
Anonymous Account Holder

Just know that when any type of fraud happens they will not be helpful. At all!!!

more ...
Nov 21, 2016
Great online products and good customer
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been banking with chase bank for 10 years. Great products and good customer service. 

more ...
Nov 20, 2016
Terrible Customer Service!
Anonymous Account Holder

The customer service will tell you something different each time that you call 

more ...
Nov 20, 2016
holleybrooks Account Holder

I had constant problems with Chase and the way they processed their transactions. Also one customer service representative would say one thing and if you called one day later another cusotmer service representative would say something different. It seems as if there is poor communication within the company.

more ...
Nov 18, 2016
Great Bank to work with
Anonymous Account Holder

I have had a Chase acct for checking and saving for 12 years.  Last summer I applied for a no interest credit card and I was approved in no time.

This is a great bank, customer service is always willing to help me, listen to me and explain everything to me so that I understand completely. I have had no issues with this bank.

Am having an issue with submitting this review.

more ...
Nov 18, 2016
Beautiful bank with great employee's
Anonymous Account Holder

The employee's at Chase will go out of there way to help you. Very friendly.

more ...
Nov 17, 2016
Chase I feel like chase doesn't care
Anonymous Account Holder

Chase just cares about money and its overdraft fee is unforgivable.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations