Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Chase Bank

2.5 out of 5 stars
47 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 18, 2016
Garden variety, everyday bank.
CueBallElf Account Holder

I have both credit cards and a checking account with Chase and I've never had a problem with them.  From reading the reviews, I think a lot of people seem to be angry about overdraft fees, which by the way, are disclosed when you open a checking account. Funny thing is, all you have to do to prevent overdraft fees is check the little box marked "No" when they ask for overdraft.  Tada!  They'll decline your transaction if you try to overdraw, problem solved.

Both banking and credit card customer service are great, the only reason I would say it's 'good' instead of 'great' is that it can take a while to get ahold of someone. 

Their online banking and mobile apps are easy to use, and put all your credit/ checking accounts on one page.  Also, if you have a Chase checking and want to pay your Chase credit card bill, the transaction is one of the fastest I've seen. 

Also, there are A LOT of Chase banks in most heavily populated areas, as well as Chase ATM's.  I switched banks when I temporarily moved to rural NC, which was a mistake.  Switched back and haven't regretted it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 24, 2017
Awful
Anonymous Account Holder

They closed my accounts and won't tell me why. I was a Chase Private Client member and they totally snubbed me. HORRIBLE process.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Feb 24, 2017
Awful
Anonymous Account Holder

They closed my accounts and won't tell me why. I was a Chase Private Client member and they totally snubbed me. HORRIBLE process.

more ...
Feb 22, 2017
Unfair
Anonymous Account Holder

I have three Chase credit cards. One I've had for 18 years the other one I've had for seven years and the last one I Have only had about a year. My two highest limit credit cards they decreased the limits. Last I looked I made 255 out of 255 on time payments they decreased my credit limit a lot and as a result my credit score dropped 70 points in one day thank you very much. I will pay them off this year and use my other cards.

more ...
Jan 31, 2017
Chase Bank Greenwood IN
RoyLeeD Account Holder

I have been in business (own pizza shop) for 20 yrs.  I have used every bank in town....and I have NEVER been treated so well as they do at the Chase bank on 135, Greenwood IN.  I came from 5/3, and the professionalism is uncomparable.  I have no intentions on changing anytime soon.   ALL banks have their faults...If I didn't need to used a bank, I wouldn't,,,but I do,  and Chase is excellent.  I have personal, business and credit card processing, and I had a mortgage with them once.  That being said, some branches aren't as awesome as this branch, but they still do a pretty good job all around.

more ...
Jan 27, 2017
Worst Bank ever
Anonymous Account Holder

Chase sent me a letter saying they will close my account. My wife and I had this account for very longtime and now all of the sudden they decided to close the account. When i called chase to ask why? all they said was "they don't have a reason to close the account and they can close anyone's account anytime they want". I had my wife direct deposit for payroll and some pending ACH which will go back. I was really frustrated when they could give me a reason why my account is being close. I thing this is ********. I will recommend everyone I know not to bank at chase for any reason. 

more ...
Jan 20, 2017
Stay away
Anonymous Account Holder

They close my  account when I haven't use their card for a while. They claimed they send me letter notice 2 months when I called to request for the restore of my account. I sign up for e-statement, so they should know I don't check the mail. My account with them was over 19 years and $20k limit. I my credit score impact negatively, my overall credit limit dropped. I email/called, but they still refill to restore. They asked me to request for new card. That's crazy! why do I want to have another financial relationship with them?

more ...
Jan 07, 2017
Terrible
terriblechase Account Holder

They closed my accounts for what they call lack of enough documentations and charged me 100 US dollars as "Check Charge". They did not accept my legal valid immigration documents. I am legally working in the US as an engineer and paying my taxes. Even the banker was surprized why they are not accepting my documents.

more ...
Jan 06, 2017
They play games and will rob you!
Anonymous Account Holder

They put a check and my direct deposit in the same minute but reverse order so they can charge you $36. Nickle and diming people! They did not return the overdraft fee after speeking to the manager! Horrible company!!! They treat you like garbage with no respect! Im taking my money elsewhere!

more ...
Jan 03, 2017
Sucky
Anonymous Account Holder

I just received a letter saying my Chase Slate Credit Card will be cancelled because I did not use it last year.  I've had the card since 1998 and had a $33,000.00 credit limit.  I have never been late on a payment.  No warning--just cancelled.  And the snotty customer service rep. told me the decision was not reversible, period.  What a bunch of jerks!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 20, 2017

The same case here. I was card member since 1998 and $20k credit line. Didn't know until notice lower credit score, and $20k lower credit limit, which shot my spending ratio up. I called and they refuse to restore. Then, have the nerve to ask to establish a new card. They can't fool me twice, I'm going with another back as I don't want to get dump again.

 
Dec 03, 2016
Wonderful
booieloubear Account Holder

I had an account with Chase. They were very friendly and helped answered any questions that I had. Was even kind enough to give me a friendly call after my account was set up to see if everything was going ok and if they could help with anything else.

more ...
Dec 03, 2016
Customer Service? Just a buzz word.
Anonymous Account Holder

My Washington Mutual accounts were assumed by Chase in 2008.  I've tried.  I gave them 8 years of chances.  Customer service is a buzz word, and they may offer cookies and coffee in the lobby - but when it comes time to do what they promised - there is nobody that can help.  I am told to call the customer service number.  The customer service number tells me to go to the branch.  This has happened on multiple occastions - it's a pattern.

I've been on hold now for just under 2 hours - bounced from one person who can't help to the next - I'm done.

I'll be transfering all my business to the Credit Union down the street on Monday morning.  I've had it.  

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations