Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Charles Schwab Bank

3.3 out of 5 stars
16 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 02, 2016
No international ATM withdrawal fees
celis0814 Account Holder

Initally I had opened up my Schwab investor checking account because I was traveling outside of the states.  

The trips and withdrawls from ATMs were seamless and the fees were refunded to me.  Even the $5 fee from JFK's international airport terminal where I made a withdrawal in euros as I was concerened that the card may not work in Europe.  It did, I withdrew cash in France and in the Azores, the fees were refunded.  

Having had a positive experience I opened a brokerage account with them and purchased some no fee EFTs from their select list, and later their mutual funds.   I then started researching and educating myself and downloaded their Streetsmart Edge application on my computer and their app for my phone.  They have webcasts twice a week on the current market conditions, as well as classes on their trading tools, Recognia.  

I've only purchased 10 shares of one stock thus far, but that's going well.  The $8.95 trading fee is high, as you could download other apps to do free trades. 

Having received phone calls from Schawb to talk about my experience and offering assistance, has been quite helpful.  

I'm sold on Schwab.  I've rolled over an old IRA to them from a large mutual fund company that I had been with since the 1990s.  They seem to be seamless, embrace technology, provide fantastic customer service, and do their best to educate the customer.  I've recently applied for their Amex Investor Card and I look forward to the same positive experience I have had with their other products and with the company.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 30, 2016
Make me cry
Quenah Account Holder

This bank closed my Accouts both checking and saving with out  any warning .their reson was  low credit score so they deciede to closed the accounts. and return most of my payment which cost me to be more late. payment and interest.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Nov 30, 2016
Very poor communication skills at their
Gringolandia Account Holder

They are eager to accept you as a client and then the problems began....had to use my daughters address as we travel. They wanted to see my name on a utility bill....closed the account after that

more ...
Nov 14, 2016
Horrible bank
mngharry Account Holder

Horrible bank. Originally opened a checking account with them to avoid ATM fees and foreign transaction fees because I am a frequent traveller. However, every time I've tried to use the card, there have been issues that have prevented it. Everything takes days or even weeks to process. Usually takes 10 days to deposit a check. Expect to have to send in physical mail forms and handwritten letters for most things you want to do. Worst of all, they randomly suspended my account. When I called in to regain access, they said my birth date as well as all my other personal information was wrong. I was told to go into a branch to fix this. When I went to the branch, I was told to send a notarized letter to fix it. That sealed the deal for me and I will no longer be banking with Schwab. 

more ...
Nov 11, 2016
I can't say enough good things
Anonymous Account Holder

I will say I'm a pretty low maintenance customer. I have had this checking account for over eight years and never had a complaint. Everything is free and all atm fees are reimbursed; what is there to complain about? I gave up on brick-and-mortar banks a long time ago. The one issue is depositing cash but I deal with less and less cash so it really has become a mute point. I remember when you had to mail in all checks, with mobile banking this account is solid gold.

more ...
Nov 02, 2016
Hands Down Best Customer Service
Anonymous Account Holder

The reimbursed my overdraft fee when I first opened my checking account as a welcome gift. They provide very solid investment guidance in a branch and online setting. The Inteligent Portfolio consistently outperforms all discount trading teams. All ATM fees are reimbursed, no limit or exception. They will advance deposit times upon request after you establish some history with them. Their phone support is the best I've experienced, including Ritz concierge and AMEX Platinum Concierge. There are no fees or minimums to hold a checking or savings account. They will waive trading fees when you call and place an order over the phone. They have some of the most comprehensive and vast investment research tools in the industry, and provide free training and learning platforms to understand them all. Free bill pay. I'm proud to bank and invest with Schwab and I won't leave them for anyone else. 

more ...
Sep 30, 2016
Make me cry
Quenah Account Holder

This bank closed my Accouts both checking and saving with out  any warning .their reson was  low credit score so they deciede to closed the accounts. and return most of my payment which cost me to be more late. payment and interest.

more ...
Aug 15, 2016
Exceptional Service, Excellent Products.
LuckyStars7 Account Holder

After I got back on my feet I went back to Schwab to re-establish my investing and also to use Schwab Bank. I am impressed with their level of customer service, their wonderful website, ease of transactions, and ATM rebates. In my experience they are a huge step above other brokerages and banks unless you are very well-off in which case any bank becomes your best friend. But for those of us still working for a living, Schwab is fantastic. The only downside to their banking is that you have to use the mobile app or website to deposit checks & they don't take straight cash deposits. But the cheap way around this is to go to the USPS or 7-11, convert any cash to a money order for a few cents, write it to youself, and then deposit to Schwab. Given their near total lack of fees for anything else this is a very small expense. Other pluses: Schwab is consistently ranked as a great place for women, minorities, and LGBTQ to work so the corporate culture is very inclusive and the people I speak with on the phone or in-branch are usually very happy to be at work. I think this makes a very positiive difference in their customer experience. Add to that their investment offerings and Schwab really is a one-stop shop for most people's financial needs. 

more ...
Jul 02, 2016
No international ATM withdrawal fees
celis0814 Account Holder

Initally I had opened up my Schwab investor checking account because I was traveling outside of the states.  

The trips and withdrawls from ATMs were seamless and the fees were refunded to me.  Even the $5 fee from JFK's international airport terminal where I made a withdrawal in euros as I was concerened that the card may not work in Europe.  It did, I withdrew cash in France and in the Azores, the fees were refunded.  

Having had a positive experience I opened a brokerage account with them and purchased some no fee EFTs from their select list, and later their mutual funds.   I then started researching and educating myself and downloaded their Streetsmart Edge application on my computer and their app for my phone.  They have webcasts twice a week on the current market conditions, as well as classes on their trading tools, Recognia.  

I've only purchased 10 shares of one stock thus far, but that's going well.  The $8.95 trading fee is high, as you could download other apps to do free trades. 

Having received phone calls from Schawb to talk about my experience and offering assistance, has been quite helpful.  

I'm sold on Schwab.  I've rolled over an old IRA to them from a large mutual fund company that I had been with since the 1990s.  They seem to be seamless, embrace technology, provide fantastic customer service, and do their best to educate the customer.  I've recently applied for their Amex Investor Card and I look forward to the same positive experience I have had with their other products and with the company.  

more ...
Jun 04, 2016
Blahblahblaaaah Account Holder

Super long hold time, low deposit limit. Be sure to check out their hold time and limits. They are the worst.

more ...
May 14, 2016
Excellent Bank
walkman1081 Account Holder

I have had Charles Schwab for 7 years. Barely used it the first couple years, only for investing. Now I use it as my main bank and couldn't be happier. Great customer service, free ATMs, and the app/online banking regularly gets updates and upgrades. Very satified! 

more ...
May 08, 2016
Excellent customer services
paphau Account Holder

Reimburse ATM fees, you can always talk to a knowledge rep. Bases in the US

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations