Charles Schwab Bank Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
14 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 02, 2016
Hands Down Best Customer Service
Anonymous Account Holder

The reimbursed my overdraft fee when I first opened my checking account as a welcome gift. They provide very solid investment guidance in a branch and online setting. The Inteligent Portfolio consistently outperforms all discount trading teams. All ATM fees are reimbursed, no limit or exception. They will advance deposit times upon request after you establish some history with them. Their phone support is the best I've experienced, including Ritz concierge and AMEX Platinum Concierge. There are no fees or minimums to hold a checking or savings account. They will waive trading fees when you call and place an order over the phone. They have some of the most comprehensive and vast investment research tools in the industry, and provide free training and learning platforms to understand them all. Free bill pay. I'm proud to bank and invest with Schwab and I won't leave them for anyone else. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 30, 2016
Make me cry
Quenah Account Holder

This bank closed my Accouts both checking and saving with out  any warning .their reson was  low credit score so they deciede to closed the accounts. and return most of my payment which cost me to be more late. payment and interest.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jun 01, 2017
A place where the customer comes first
dervishhater Account Holder

Because Charles Schwab Bank cannot be in every major city, it waives ATM fees anywhere you go. There is no minimum balance required either.

more ...
May 30, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

great customer service

more ...
Apr 12, 2017
Excellent
Anonymous Account Holder

Easy to deal with

more ...
Apr 03, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

Awesome product. No In network or Out of network ATM fee. No minimum balances.

more ...
Mar 23, 2017
Good online bank, no ATM/foreign fees!
Thomas777999 Account Holder

Overall, Schwab offers a good online banking product, if you can live without brick and mortar branches.  They are the only bank I have used that offers full rebates on ATM and foreign transactrion fees.  Its a great choice for frequent travellers.  Its also a benefit to have the brokerage account, so you can easily move money back and forth.  The two downsides are getting the account up and running, which can be a little slow and its not really a "high yield" account at 0.10% APY...  Be aware that they do put a 4 day hold on ACH tranfers from an external bank account.  The way around this is to initiate the transfer from Schwab not your external account.    

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 24, 2017

If you don't mind me asking what kind of credit score did you have when applying? I want to apply for a trip I will be going on but am scared of the HP doing damage to my credit before I travel.

 
Mar 13, 2017
Incompetent Trustee Services
Anonymous Account Holder

Had them as a trustee of my Dealware trust and it took them months to get trust opened, endless requests for the same information that they lost.  Now they want to charge me as if they are managing my money.  Customer service has no clue.  Avoid.

more ...
Feb 04, 2017
Professional and helpful
arthurbrownleeiv Account Holder

I've been with CS since 2007 when they first started their heckling services. In that time, I've never had a complaint. Their phone staff are helpful, always there, and professional. Deposits generally go through next day from my phone. When I had my card number stolen, they had the money back in my account the same day. 

Over all, I'll likely never leave them. I've had other local banks over the years and always wind up disappointed. 

more ...
Jan 12, 2017
Easy to do Business With
BeefaloSpringer Account Holder

Great customer service, easy to use, ATM fee rebate, to foreign transaction fee, chip protected debit card, on-line bill pay service.  We like it very much.

more ...
Dec 17, 2016
Great
Anonymous Account Holder

I have an online checking account with them that I've had for a few months. Support has been excellent so far, they always refer me to American customer support that knows what it's doing even if I have questions at 5 AM. The only problems so far have been low interest rate on their savings accounts and you are required to open (but not fund) a brokerage account in order to get a checking or savings account. The lack of fees and ATM reimbursement are also great, but be aware that online banks generally have no way to deposit cash at ATMs.

more ...
Nov 30, 2016
Very poor communication skills at their
Gringolandia Account Holder

They are eager to accept you as a client and then the problems began....had to use my daughters address as we travel. They wanted to see my name on a utility bill....closed the account after that

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations