Capital One® Bank Reviews

2.5 out of 5 stars
26 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 07, 2014
Start Your Journey with Cap 1
FixnCred Account Holder

If you are serious about building or rebuilding credit there is no better bank period. Take it from a guy who has been through all of the subprime banks searching desparately for a bank to give me a chance. I started out slow with them on a Capital One Platinum card with an initial CL of $500 which went to $750 shortly after. I also got the Capital One Secured version of the card for $49.00 at the time and a $200 CL. The other bank to go to that was not a First Premier or something like it was Orchard Bank which gave me a CL of $300. One year later Orchard Bank converted over to Capital One. 

By now I was ready for a CLI and I was totally maxed out due to running a new business and needing every penny to buy product and stay a float. They bumped me to $1000 from $750 but nothing on the secured card. After the conversion of Orchard Bank they bumped me from $1000 to $2250 and from $300 on the orchard bank to $500.

My business has since picked up and so I applied for a Capital One Spark Business Select and was initially declined. I called into the Executive Offices and a few days later I was approved for an initial CL of $500. I haven't gotten the new card yet but I called back today because I wanted to see if there was any upgrade on my other cards after doing this hard pull for the Spark card.

Surprisingly, my rep told me that I could have both of the Platinum cards upgraded immediately to the Quicksilver with 1.5% rebate. After reading me a bunch of disclosures about rewards and losing anyting I did have and etc...etc.. she said I would keep the same account but new cards are on the way. As for the secure card there is no path for that other than put more money into it or close it out.

While we were at it, she also put in a request for a CLI on my two newly upgraded Platinums to Quicksilver with rewards and the Spark Card which should be in my mailbox tomorrow. You can't ask for a better bank to work with you and give you a respectful card that isn't riddled with fees and surprises or absurd charges. Yes it's a higher APR but you are a higher risk and that's the price you pay. It's worth it because it keeps them in business and able to help many other americans who are in the same spot as me. 

I hope that anyone and everyone who is trying to build a solid credit profile will look at Capital One first. There are so many other benefits such as mobile banking which I use daily. There is also quick turnaround on payments. If you make a payment before 5pm on a business day your funds are available for use the next day. This is a huge and very valuable benefit as it frees up your cash for use right away.

Even if I do not get a CLI for these three cards I am grateful for the new Spark card and the upgrade to rewards from the Platinum. Hopefully I get a CLI which will lower my utilization which is currently at 86%. Yes, they really did approve me for a Spark Business Classic while having a credit report with very high utilization, 4 unpaid collections, and 1 unpaid judgement. The key really is the perfect payment and it is the only thing I hae an A on my CK. Everything else is D or F as I also have 20 inquiries. Albeit 16 of those inquries were for my car loan in September 2013 with GM Financial.

I think mainly because I have three cards with them currently in which I pay more than twice a month on each card because I need to pay them off and reuse them again for the business and keep up with my cashflow needs.I have a perfect payment record for the last 40 months on all of my accounts on my credit report.

Pay your CC bills early every month and pay more than once a month. Yes you should pay more than the minimum but you should also show good habits by paying often throughout the month. This will also help you avoid interest rates of 22% which is $43 a month if you have a balance of $2250 (I know this from experience this month where I was hit with $43 but last month it was only $1.64). Some months I will miss the grace period because a customer doesn't pay me on time and the grace period is over or some other reason I can't control.

Like I said... start here and stay with them. They will take care of you the way you should be taken care of. Even after my credit improves and I am able to get better cards. I will stay with Capital One... they are here for me when I need them and they are the reason why I am able to run a business. 

It's not easy, but nothing worthwhile is. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 12, 2017
Lousy lousy customer service............
Anonymous Account Holder

I financed a car loan for 3 months  thru these people and had nothing but problems.  I tried to pay off my loan and all I heard was "we cant do this or that"  I finally and reluctantly gave them my checking account number.  When I asked for written verification I was originally told they do not issue ANY PAPERWORK to confirm that my car loan was paid in full.  .  It was MY responsibility to contact DMV to make sure they did THEIR job.  I complained about them to DMV and additionally my bank.  Was told by DMV and my bank that this is not the way to do business.   Do not trust this characters and dont use them unless you absolutely have to.  When I would call to speak with a customer service representarive I always felt like I was a big bother to them.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jul 09, 2017
Crooks and Fraudulent
Anonymous Account Holder

This company doesn't take responsibilty for what they say or do. They put their customers in bad position. I hope to be rid of them within the next year.

more ...
Jun 13, 2017
Awful
Anonymous7707 Account Holder

I wanted to give this bank a zero but I could not. This is the worst bank I have ever opened an account with. The online account services are great because  of one feature. The mobile deposit and many other banks offer this. They do not have a lot of atms in Richmond. In fact, there is only one located in innsbrook. That is not convenient and is ridiculous! Next, Capital One provides horrible customer service. Although, many are nice. Many are rude, ill-mannered, and low rent. They are limited to how much they can really help their consumers. The recourse on grievances are non existent. I had several charges I did not recognize which led to my account being over drafted. The dispute team denied my claim and I was later told they have decided to cut ties with me for their failure to honor my dispute once my balance is paid. I am not paying them nothing! Why would I want to keep doing business with a company like that. They have decided to cut ties. Don't make me laugh! I was even charged a 35 dollar overdraft fee for a disputed transaction which was later returned by the merchant. They would not waive the fee at all. Do not open an account with them. They will not resolve any issues you may have and smile while they do it. This bank only cares about money. They are greedy parasites! The administrative communication is horrible as they do not know what is going on. Don't bother with this inept company that will leave you wishing you never signed up in the first place.

more ...
May 06, 2017
Hard to Deal With
andydallas Account Holder

I have had a CapOne credit card for a few years, I have perfect credit, and my Cap One is my lowest limit card.  I decieded to make my life simplier by getting rid of a few credit cards, but CapOne is  a card I was going to keep, so I ask for a decent credit line increase (have never done that before with them), they turned me down, and even that took 2 days!

I went to Chase and saw the new Sapphire Reserve card, applied and had the credit limit I requested  in less than 1 minute.

I don't know why I would keep the account open,,,they obviously don't care if you have never missed a payment.  

I can't quite figure them out, but Discover, Citi, Chase and AMEX love me, so I don't really care and I will never do business with CapOne again.

more ...
Apr 12, 2017
Lousy lousy customer service............
Anonymous Account Holder

I financed a car loan for 3 months  thru these people and had nothing but problems.  I tried to pay off my loan and all I heard was "we cant do this or that"  I finally and reluctantly gave them my checking account number.  When I asked for written verification I was originally told they do not issue ANY PAPERWORK to confirm that my car loan was paid in full.  .  It was MY responsibility to contact DMV to make sure they did THEIR job.  I complained about them to DMV and additionally my bank.  Was told by DMV and my bank that this is not the way to do business.   Do not trust this characters and dont use them unless you absolutely have to.  When I would call to speak with a customer service representarive I always felt like I was a big bother to them.  

more ...
Apr 10, 2017
Criminals
Anonymous Account Holder

I received a past due charge for late payment on May 5th... today is April 10th. The late fee withdrew my account so I received another fee for that. There's no reason to try and pay them off. They are criminals and there needs to be some form of consumer protection.

more ...
Mar 18, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

over all good product

more ...
Feb 25, 2017
Excellent Customer Service
Anonymous Account Holder

I did not understand an aspect of how autopay works but my customer service representative explained it clearly and slowly so I understand it well now. When I lost my card it was easy to cancel and replace. No complaints from the 6 months I've had them. 

more ...
Feb 20, 2017
Restrictions are ridiculous on card
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been in line in a store and got declined and was told that if I make a big purchase I have to call and verify that it's me that is using the card every time !! From the embarrassment of being told my card has been declined while I have had a large credit limit on the card , cause I had to call them to ask for permission to spend anything over 300$ is kind of insane 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 06, 2017

I was their client since 1995! Closed my account in 2010 and wanted to re open it. . Every time they called him, they kept asking for documents and he would send them. They even asked me to change my address on my Citi account and I even did that . Even after that they said they could verify who I was. I ask to go directly to a branch, they said it HAD to be done online. This has been the worst experience ever! I have Excellent credit and trusted @CapitalOne. Now they wont even cancel the card that I received that is restricted. But....good news went to my bank who approved me for a Citi Prestige Card and AE gave me an American Express Centurion Card. This puts Capital One to shame. Bad customer service, bad verification department.

 
Feb 14, 2017
STAY AWAY !!!
Anonymous Account Holder

Poor customer service in the branches - changing branch managers yearly - and many more. We had business accounts that was closed for no reason - they mailed a letter with no explanation that said stop writing checks. What? Yes, correct, sounds completely crazy and only 10 calendar days to ease all activity from a business account. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 06, 2017

I was their client since 1995! Closed my account in 2010 and wanted to re open it. . Every time they called him, they kept asking for documents and he would send them. They even asked me to change my address on my Citi account and I even did that . Even after that they said they could verify who I was. I ask to go directly to a branch, they said it HAD to be done online. This has been the worst experience ever! I have Excellent credit and trusted @CapitalOne. Now they wont even cancel the card that I received that is restricted. But....good news went to my bank who approved me for a Citi Prestige Card and AE gave me an American Express Centurion Card. This puts Capital One to shame. Bad customer service, bad verification department.

 
Feb 13, 2017
AMAZING BANK
Anonymous Account Holder

0 FEES AND LOTS OF COURTESEY ADJUSTMENTS! I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS ACCOUNT!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations