Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Capital One® Bank

2.5 out of 5 stars
18 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 11, 2016
Texas
Anonymous Account Holder

Im not one that add reviews, but I would like to add my personal experience with Capital One. I would like to disagree with the member that stated having a secured card was not an option to go. Well I applied for a secured in Dec with a total of $300 and in 6 months of paying my bill on time, my credit score was raised by 79pts and my secured card turned into an unsecured card with a $600 cl. I truly can say I am really glad i chose that option.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 28, 2016
Capital one: worst customer service
Anonymous Account Holder

Capital One has the worst customer service. Their representatives are plain obnoxious. They close accounts because of fraud and cannot even tell you what exactly happened. They ask you for documents which they do not review. I have never had issues with a credit card and I will be closing this one shortly.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Nov 21, 2016
Great service
eclipsegen2 Account Holder

While my credit limit was upped without my knowledge or approval, the company itself is wonderful. Great customer service. 

more ...
Nov 06, 2016
Horrible
MsLaPorsha87 Account Holder

Dont get a creadit card from them they hurt your credit worst then anything

more ...
Nov 05, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

Incompetent and very unprofessional customer service 

Misleading information provided by separate representatives.

Capital One Bank has no sense of managing or monitoring refunds and payments.

more ...
Oct 28, 2016
Awesome!
Anonymous Account Holder

Good bank to start of with credit cards

more ...
Oct 12, 2016
Extremely long phone waits
Anonymous Account Holder

The first problem was CapitalOne required all new customers to call a security phone number.  I waited on hold over a half hour twice during its posted hours..  no answer or even an automated estimate of wait time.  Tried calling new customer line, which is answered promptly, but they refuse to help with the security line problem.  Apparently they answer phones for new customers until they are signed up and then force them into endless wait lines.  I opened online accounts with Synchrony and Ally, both with similar high waits and both actually answer phones if you need to call.

more ...
Sep 15, 2016
Old fashioned and not helpful in dispute
Anonymous Account Holder

They rely on snail mail and FAX!  They cannot resolve a small $500 fruadulant charge from AirBnB even though I have proof the charge is wrong.

more ...
Aug 29, 2016
They severely lack in customer service.
Anonymous Account Holder

If you are applying for a Capital One Secured Card Acount, you will pay the minimum secured deposit. I closed my account in January of 2016. It is now late August of 2016, I have yet to recieve my secured deposit which is to be given back after closing the account. This is assuming you do not owe any money, which I do not. I have been issued 2 seperate refund checks, which I have never recieved, and the third time calling about my money I have not recieved back, I have been told it would be 10 business days for the company to follow up on my case, and 3 business days for the funds to be direct deposited. This was on August 5th and it is now August 29th and I still have not recieved my refund. When calling to speak to their customer service, I spoke to Kim who is their senior account manager. She informed me she would have to submit a request as the other senior account manager had, who I spoke to on August 25th. I was told it would take another 48-72 business hours for them to recieve the information about my refund from the secured account department and why I still do not have a refund. Kim would not allow me to speak to her supervisor and offered no other means of finding where my funds are besides submitting another request to the secured account department. If you want a card that will help you build credit, this card will do that. However, do not expect to recieve your secured deposit back. Also do not expect any help from their customer service, they will continue to apologize and give you the run around. I will be surprised if I ever recieve my funds back. I will be closing my other account with them and switching to a new credit card company. I would not reccommed this card or this bank to anynone. Especially seeing my payments were always on time and I still have yet to recieve my refund almost 9 months later.

more ...
Jul 16, 2016
grendel40 Account Holder

They have a terrific cash back credit card and the best money market rates in the buisness (1%). The customer service is always excellent whenever I call. There are no difficult accents to deal with and they are very accomodating. If I have to transfer any money I always do it by phone with zero problems and a double didget confirmation #!. I know that CitiBank has a little better cash back credit card (2%), but Cap One is exce'lent (1 1/2%) and I wouldn't think of leaving them because their customer service is so superior!

more ...
Jun 22, 2016
Amateurish
Anonymous Account Holder

Completely unprofessional company. Application process makes you jump through all these hoops, including income verification, which is insulting considering no other credit card issuer requires that information (and considering my previous account with CapOne). Provide the necessary documentation through their antiquated methods (i.e., fax). Customer service is inept, can't find the info to process the application, refuse to do anything else to help. Absolutely done with this company, they have lost a customer for life.

more ...
Jun 21, 2016
Card is great, customer srvc not so much
MsEllieV Account Holder

Long story short, I had to call 5 days in a row, spoke with 16 representatives, 4 supervisors, and 5 Fraud supervisors and my issue still has not been resolved. At this point I have given up. Unfortunately I am now stuck with this BS company because if I close my account now it will undo all the good I've done towards rebuilding my credit.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations