Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Capital One® Bank

2.8 out of 5 stars
26 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 11, 2016
Texas
Anonymous Account Holder

Im not one that add reviews, but I would like to add my personal experience with Capital One. I would like to disagree with the member that stated having a secured card was not an option to go. Well I applied for a secured in Dec with a total of $300 and in 6 months of paying my bill on time, my credit score was raised by 79pts and my secured card turned into an unsecured card with a $600 cl. I truly can say I am really glad i chose that option.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 28, 2016
Capital one: worst customer service
Anonymous Account Holder

Capital One has the worst customer service. Their representatives are plain obnoxious. They close accounts because of fraud and cannot even tell you what exactly happened. They ask you for documents which they do not review. I have never had issues with a credit card and I will be closing this one shortly.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Feb 14, 2017
STAY AWAY !!!
Anonymous Account Holder

Poor customer service in the branches - changing branch managers yearly - and many more. We had business accounts that was closed for no reason - they mailed a letter with no explanation that said stop writing checks. What? Yes, correct, sounds completely crazy and only 10 calendar days to ease all activity from a business account. 

more ...
Feb 13, 2017
AMAZING BANK
Anonymous Account Holder

0 FEES AND LOTS OF COURTESEY ADJUSTMENTS! I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS ACCOUNT!

more ...
Feb 07, 2017
Ridiculously long holds on transfers
djwdjw Account Holder

I have had Capital One 360 accounts since they bought out ING Direct.  While the basic banking functionality is ok, they continue to put effectively 7 calendar day holds on recurring inter-bank transfers.  This is just nuts.

Last year Cap 360 published an advert about improving funds availablity.  This in practice was nonsense.

I regularly transfer in deposits to savings from another major nationwide bank.  Capital One 360 for some bizzarre reason likes to keep your funds unavailable for a week.  When I transfer to, say USAA bank for example, my funds are immediately available.  Maybe all of Cap 360's customers are crumbs, but it makes no sense for repeating transfer in deposits to have this sort of hold.  Will Cap 360 every grow up to be an adult bank?  Probably not.

more ...
Jan 24, 2017
WORST customer service EVER
BeyondCredit Account Holder

If your credit sucks and you can't get approved for anything else, then apply to CapitalOne. Otherwise, if you have options, stay as far away as you can. I have never had such bad service in my entire life. They have the worst dispute department. I have never been so frustrated in my entire life. Literally this past experience with them made me want to cancel my credit cards with them - regardless of whether it causes a dip in my score or not.

more ...
Jan 04, 2017
Fair practices and good services.
DanielKWard Account Holder

Capital One has been great to me so far, the interest rates are moderately above normal however, I anticipated this early on as I am rebuilding credit and reestablishing myself after the great recession.  They have offered (and I've accepted) credit, banking and loan opportunities that are light years better than other lenders for folks in the "build or "rebuild" state of their lives​.  I would reccommend this bank to anyone looking for a fair fresh start or restart.

more ...
Jan 03, 2017
work with you
Anonymous Account Holder

most other companies closes you down and won[t work with you under rough times

more ...
Dec 23, 2016
ZERO FRAUD PROTECTION/INCOMPETENT SERVIC
corpmagic Account Holder

Totally incompetent customer service.

I phoned in to report 2 disputes one being a fraudulent charge for an item which was never received. 

45 days later I discover that they lost the details on one of the disputes and we start all over again with potentially up to 90 days to resolve !!!

Incompetence ! 

Oh and when I first reported the disputes they also spent the first 45 minutes trying to convince me that I'd probably done something wrong on the vendor's website and that it was all my fault. The fact that no item was received was obviously too complicated for them to grasp.

Useless. Can't wait for this to be resolved so that I can cancel this card and get it OUT OF MY WALLET.

more ...
Dec 21, 2016
Bad app, not easy to use or understand.
Anonymous Account Holder

Not easy to make payments, doesn't inform you on information, bad customer service they don't help you. Hard to understand. 

more ...
Dec 14, 2016
You get exactly what you think.
hoodun Account Holder

There have been no surprises with Cap1. I have held a card for a decade and while the utilization rate is always high, I know what I am getting into. As far as banks go, they are solid. I wish they would offer lower rates though. I never heard of a Cap1 card with a low rate...

more ...
Dec 13, 2016
good
Anonymous Account Holder

Very quick and love the cash back 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations