Capital One® Bank Reviews

Capital One® Bank Reviews
1.4 out of 5 stars
28 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 31, 2020
Car Refinance
Amexboy123 Account Holder

Was the easiet and fastest refinance I ever have done. Was so smooth and autopay is easy to set up unlike my last bank. Any credit card I've ever had with them was top notch as well.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 09, 2019
Horrible customer service.
Mark90210 Account Holder

If you call, they love to drop the call, over and over again. I suggest you always ask for a supervisor immediately. At least if they want to waste your valuable time, you can do so with one of their employees making slighly over minimum wage.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Aug 01, 2020
Poor Customer Service
SunshineSouperman Account Holder

Poor Customer ServiceToday was the second time in the last few months my credit card was turned off by Capital One for no good reason.  I found out that this time it was turned off was because whenever you update your personal info, the card is flagged and it is shut off until you take a photo of your ID and email it to them for a 7 to 10 day review.  This makes the card useless to me since I can't rely on the card to be active when I need it the most.  As much as I explained this to the Customer Service Department, they could care less, defaulting to reading company regulations.  I now use my Navy Federal Visa exclusively and didn't bother reactivating my Capitol One Master Card.

more ...
Jul 30, 2020
Steer clear if you value your time
forrestpw Account Holder

I sent in important legal documents to their "bank power of attorney" team to manage an urgent matter for my father, who's health is failing.  We're six phone calls in thus far (they have not proactively reached out to me a single time), at an average of 40 minutes per conversation.  To date I am 25 days in without resolution, have been promised two dates by managers, neither of which have been fulfilled as they committed.  Without accountability or an individual to communicate with, I cannot be spared the 20 minute process of explaining the situation from the ground up each time they are overdue on communication.  I have been a cardholder for a few years, but I would not dream of continuing to do business with an institution that values customer experience with such a cavalier approach.  A word to the business savvy, if your customer reviews are in the single star range, customer attrition is going to affect your bottom line a lot more than the cost of deploying a mechanism that permits direct human contact in your organization. Get your **** together, especially when you are dealing with the life savings of human beings.

more ...
Jul 14, 2020
Locke Me Out Of My Savings Accountg
hguy5246341 Account Holder

Capital One freaked out when I changed my address. They suspected me of fraud??? I sold my house and I had to change my address, I no longer liver at the original address. Without question, they locked up my checking and savings accounts and then close my credit account, which was in good standing. Fortunately, they did this before I deposited $150K into my savings account. As of 3 months later, they still will not allow me access to my savings account. WIERD!!!!

more ...
Jul 09, 2020
Capital One is GREAT!!!
dihardsgr8 Account Holder

Any idiot can write bad reviews about this or any bank/creditor.  Sadly, these idiots tarnish the good name Capital One and others.  SHAME on ALL of you fools!!!!

Capital One is perhaps the most stable and consumer consciencious of them all!!!  

I agree with whomever said: "Most of the previous comments are from people that didn't fulfill their financial obligations, or had one thing go wrong that made them walk away."  These do come from bad payers who can't seem to get their act straight!!

Capital one will work with consumers and they are dedicated to accuracy.  They will also defend their card holders from fruad and other issues one may incurr which includes lost or stolen cards.  Their customer relations are GREAT!!!

I thank them for all they've done for me, even in my darkest hours of financial grief.

more ...
Jun 29, 2020
The worse customer service EVER!!!
Kay111793 Account Holder

I applied for a secured card back in FEBRUARY, since then I have been trying to reach capital one to get my money back! Thank the lord I only put $100 down, I would be banging on doors somewhere if I had put more down. NOBODY has contacted me about my card after the MANY failed attempts to receive my card, the website can not "find" my information yet I pull up the email where I deposited the $100. every number I call connects me with capital one CANADA & I'm transferred over to the same people over and over and nobody seems to help! 
DO NOT USE THIS POS BANK! 

more ...
May 31, 2020
Car Refinance
Amexboy123 Account Holder

Was the easiet and fastest refinance I ever have done. Was so smooth and autopay is easy to set up unlike my last bank. Any credit card I've ever had with them was top notch as well.

more ...
Apr 30, 2020
**** for younger folks trying to build.
JeremyGolden Account Holder

I have been with them for 10 years. They were my first card as a kid. I have a perfect payment record with them along with every other form of credit I have. I have a 800 credit score been with them for 10 years and cant get more than a $3300 credit limit from them over that 10 years. I have other cards that I have $50k and $20k limits on having them for only 2-5 years. Its just absurd when your young and trying to build your credit.

more ...
Apr 30, 2020
Flowerworld Account Holder

I found out today they reported me to the reporting agencies while my job was shut down during covid 19!!!! I even talked to a supervisor and they act like they don't care! I'm So mad!!! I've been with them a long time and I have had a good payment history with them!!!! As soon as I get back to work I will be paying them off and getting rid of them!!!! 

more ...
Apr 20, 2020
Ridiculous Scammers
PriceBaker19 Account Holder

Me and my fiancee set up a 360 performance savings account online. we were able to make sign in information for him but kept running into problems setting mine up. After several days of trying and calling and even a chat bot with them, still no resolution, they wont fix a thing, they act like they are retarded, and claim they can help close it seeing as it is now connected to our checking account at our local credit union but when we call its transfers, closed departments, hang ups, and all around BS! We do not know what even to do. They have our SS#'s bank information, EVERYTHING! If things start happening we will know the responsible company for identity theft and fraud thats for sure. 

more ...
Apr 08, 2020
Reckless accounting
WPM123 Account Holder

When I got the card I was told my account would be reviewed after five months. I was told make all the payments on time and receive a reasonable credit line increase. I never heard from them in seven months so I called. I was told I made two late payments and once overcharged my limit. So I'm not eligible for an increase. None of it is true. I won't be using the card anymore. The only reason I won't cancel is it's a negative credit hit to cancel. I have a "good" credit score. I can't risk using this card and having Capital One damage my credit.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 01, 2020

Canceling it will not hurt your credit unless you have had it for a long time an it helps your credit age. What is hurting is those missed payment on your credit score. Forget them and move on. Start calling the credit reporting agencies and try to get things taken off by them. Never stop calling cap 1 call them every day if you have to, ream there *** and ask for supervisors until you know them by name haha. Keep on them and never take there ****. Its the only way to get any where and get them to change there ways.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations