Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Capital One® Bank

2.8 out of 5 stars
24 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

3 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 11, 2016
Texas
Anonymous Account Holder

Im not one that add reviews, but I would like to add my personal experience with Capital One. I would like to disagree with the member that stated having a secured card was not an option to go. Well I applied for a secured in Dec with a total of $300 and in 6 months of paying my bill on time, my credit score was raised by 79pts and my secured card turned into an unsecured card with a $600 cl. I truly can say I am really glad i chose that option.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 28, 2016
Capital one: worst customer service
Anonymous Account Holder

Capital One has the worst customer service. Their representatives are plain obnoxious. They close accounts because of fraud and cannot even tell you what exactly happened. They ask you for documents which they do not review. I have never had issues with a credit card and I will be closing this one shortly.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jan 04, 2017
Fair practices and good services.
DanielKWard Account Holder

Capital One has been great to me so far, the interest rates are moderately above normal however, I anticipated this early on as I am rebuilding credit and reestablishing myself after the great recession.  They have offered (and I've accepted) credit, banking and loan opportunities that are light years better than other lenders for folks in the "build or "rebuild" state of their lives​.  I would reccommend this bank to anyone looking for a fair fresh start or restart.

more ...
Jan 03, 2017
work with you
Anonymous Account Holder

most other companies closes you down and won[t work with you under rough times

more ...
Dec 23, 2016
ZERO FRAUD PROTECTION/INCOMPETENT SERVIC
corpmagic Account Holder

Totally incompetent customer service.

I phoned in to report 2 disputes one being a fraudulent charge for an item which was never received. 

45 days later I discover that they lost the details on one of the disputes and we start all over again with potentially up to 90 days to resolve !!!

Incompetence ! 

Oh and when I first reported the disputes they also spent the first 45 minutes trying to convince me that I'd probably done something wrong on the vendor's website and that it was all my fault. The fact that no item was received was obviously too complicated for them to grasp.

Useless. Can't wait for this to be resolved so that I can cancel this card and get it OUT OF MY WALLET.

more ...
Dec 21, 2016
Bad app, not easy to use or understand.
Anonymous Account Holder

Not easy to make payments, doesn't inform you on information, bad customer service they don't help you. Hard to understand. 

more ...
Dec 14, 2016
You get exactly what you think.
hoodun Account Holder

There have been no surprises with Cap1. I have held a card for a decade and while the utilization rate is always high, I know what I am getting into. As far as banks go, they are solid. I wish they would offer lower rates though. I never heard of a Cap1 card with a low rate...

more ...
Dec 13, 2016
good
Anonymous Account Holder

Very quick and love the cash back 

more ...
Dec 09, 2016
Overall Great Bank
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been with this bank for a long time and I must say I cannot  recall one negative experience.  The customer services is amazing, I recall calling in about something I was  confused about on my bank statement and the agent was polit and very helpful in educating me in the issues. 

more ...
Nov 21, 2016
Great service
eclipsegen2 Account Holder

While my credit limit was upped without my knowledge or approval, the company itself is wonderful. Great customer service. 

more ...
Nov 06, 2016
Horrible
MsLaPorsha87 Account Holder

Dont get a creadit card from them they hurt your credit worst then anything

more ...
Nov 05, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

Incompetent and very unprofessional customer service 

Misleading information provided by separate representatives.

Capital One Bank has no sense of managing or monitoring refunds and payments.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations