Capital One® Bank Reviews

2.6 out of 5 stars
24 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 25, 2017
Excellent Customer Service
Anonymous Account Holder

I did not understand an aspect of how autopay works but my customer service representative explained it clearly and slowly so I understand it well now. When I lost my card it was easy to cancel and replace. No complaints from the 6 months I've had them. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 12, 2017
Lousy lousy customer service............
Anonymous Account Holder

I financed a car loan for 3 months  thru these people and had nothing but problems.  I tried to pay off my loan and all I heard was "we cant do this or that"  I finally and reluctantly gave them my checking account number.  When I asked for written verification I was originally told they do not issue ANY PAPERWORK to confirm that my car loan was paid in full.  .  It was MY responsibility to contact DMV to make sure they did THEIR job.  I complained about them to DMV and additionally my bank.  Was told by DMV and my bank that this is not the way to do business.   Do not trust this characters and dont use them unless you absolutely have to.  When I would call to speak with a customer service representarive I always felt like I was a big bother to them.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jul 09, 2017
Crooks and Fraudulent
Anonymous Account Holder

This company doesn't take responsibilty for what they say or do. They put their customers in bad position. I hope to be rid of them within the next year.

more ...
Jun 13, 2017
Awful
Anonymous7707 Account Holder

I wanted to give this bank a zero but I could not. This is the worst bank I have ever opened an account with. The online account services are great because  of one feature. The mobile deposit and many other banks offer this. They do not have a lot of atms in Richmond. In fact, there is only one located in innsbrook. That is not convenient and is ridiculous! Next, Capital One provides horrible customer service. Although, many are nice. Many are rude, ill-mannered, and low rent. They are limited to how much they can really help their consumers. The recourse on grievances are non existent. I had several charges I did not recognize which led to my account being over drafted. The dispute team denied my claim and I was later told they have decided to cut ties with me for their failure to honor my dispute once my balance is paid. I am not paying them nothing! Why would I want to keep doing business with a company like that. They have decided to cut ties. Don't make me laugh! I was even charged a 35 dollar overdraft fee for a disputed transaction which was later returned by the merchant. They would not waive the fee at all. Do not open an account with them. They will not resolve any issues you may have and smile while they do it. This bank only cares about money. They are greedy parasites! The administrative communication is horrible as they do not know what is going on. Don't bother with this inept company that will leave you wishing you never signed up in the first place.

more ...
May 06, 2017
Hard to Deal With
andydallas Account Holder

I have had a CapOne credit card for a few years, I have perfect credit, and my Cap One is my lowest limit card.  I decieded to make my life simplier by getting rid of a few credit cards, but CapOne is  a card I was going to keep, so I ask for a decent credit line increase (have never done that before with them), they turned me down, and even that took 2 days!

I went to Chase and saw the new Sapphire Reserve card, applied and had the credit limit I requested  in less than 1 minute.

I don't know why I would keep the account open,,,they obviously don't care if you have never missed a payment.  

I can't quite figure them out, but Discover, Citi, Chase and AMEX love me, so I don't really care and I will never do business with CapOne again.

more ...
Apr 12, 2017
Lousy lousy customer service............
Anonymous Account Holder

I financed a car loan for 3 months  thru these people and had nothing but problems.  I tried to pay off my loan and all I heard was "we cant do this or that"  I finally and reluctantly gave them my checking account number.  When I asked for written verification I was originally told they do not issue ANY PAPERWORK to confirm that my car loan was paid in full.  .  It was MY responsibility to contact DMV to make sure they did THEIR job.  I complained about them to DMV and additionally my bank.  Was told by DMV and my bank that this is not the way to do business.   Do not trust this characters and dont use them unless you absolutely have to.  When I would call to speak with a customer service representarive I always felt like I was a big bother to them.  

more ...
Apr 10, 2017
Criminals
Anonymous Account Holder

I received a past due charge for late payment on May 5th... today is April 10th. The late fee withdrew my account so I received another fee for that. There's no reason to try and pay them off. They are criminals and there needs to be some form of consumer protection.

more ...
Mar 18, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

over all good product

more ...
Feb 25, 2017
Excellent Customer Service
Anonymous Account Holder

I did not understand an aspect of how autopay works but my customer service representative explained it clearly and slowly so I understand it well now. When I lost my card it was easy to cancel and replace. No complaints from the 6 months I've had them. 

more ...
Feb 20, 2017
Restrictions are ridiculous on card
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been in line in a store and got declined and was told that if I make a big purchase I have to call and verify that it's me that is using the card every time !! From the embarrassment of being told my card has been declined while I have had a large credit limit on the card , cause I had to call them to ask for permission to spend anything over 300$ is kind of insane 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 06, 2017

I was their client since 1995! Closed my account in 2010 and wanted to re open it. . Every time they called him, they kept asking for documents and he would send them. They even asked me to change my address on my Citi account and I even did that . Even after that they said they could verify who I was. I ask to go directly to a branch, they said it HAD to be done online. This has been the worst experience ever! I have Excellent credit and trusted @CapitalOne. Now they wont even cancel the card that I received that is restricted. But....good news went to my bank who approved me for a Citi Prestige Card and AE gave me an American Express Centurion Card. This puts Capital One to shame. Bad customer service, bad verification department.

 
Feb 14, 2017
STAY AWAY !!!
Anonymous Account Holder

Poor customer service in the branches - changing branch managers yearly - and many more. We had business accounts that was closed for no reason - they mailed a letter with no explanation that said stop writing checks. What? Yes, correct, sounds completely crazy and only 10 calendar days to ease all activity from a business account. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 06, 2017

I was their client since 1995! Closed my account in 2010 and wanted to re open it. . Every time they called him, they kept asking for documents and he would send them. They even asked me to change my address on my Citi account and I even did that . Even after that they said they could verify who I was. I ask to go directly to a branch, they said it HAD to be done online. This has been the worst experience ever! I have Excellent credit and trusted @CapitalOne. Now they wont even cancel the card that I received that is restricted. But....good news went to my bank who approved me for a Citi Prestige Card and AE gave me an American Express Centurion Card. This puts Capital One to shame. Bad customer service, bad verification department.

 
Feb 13, 2017
AMAZING BANK
Anonymous Account Holder

0 FEES AND LOTS OF COURTESEY ADJUSTMENTS! I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS ACCOUNT!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations