Capital One® Bank

2.7 out of 5 stars
27 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 25, 2017
Excellent Customer Service
Anonymous Account Holder

I did not understand an aspect of how autopay works but my customer service representative explained it clearly and slowly so I understand it well now. When I lost my card it was easy to cancel and replace. No complaints from the 6 months I've had them. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 29, 2016
They severely lack in customer service.
Anonymous Account Holder

If you are applying for a Capital One Secured Card Acount, you will pay the minimum secured deposit. I closed my account in January of 2016. It is now late August of 2016, I have yet to recieve my secured deposit which is to be given back after closing the account. This is assuming you do not owe any money, which I do not. I have been issued 2 seperate refund checks, which I have never recieved, and the third time calling about my money I have not recieved back, I have been told it would be 10 business days for the company to follow up on my case, and 3 business days for the funds to be direct deposited. This was on August 5th and it is now August 29th and I still have not recieved my refund. When calling to speak to their customer service, I spoke to Kim who is their senior account manager. She informed me she would have to submit a request as the other senior account manager had, who I spoke to on August 25th. I was told it would take another 48-72 business hours for them to recieve the information about my refund from the secured account department and why I still do not have a refund. Kim would not allow me to speak to her supervisor and offered no other means of finding where my funds are besides submitting another request to the secured account department. If you want a card that will help you build credit, this card will do that. However, do not expect to recieve your secured deposit back. Also do not expect any help from their customer service, they will continue to apologize and give you the run around. I will be surprised if I ever recieve my funds back. I will be closing my other account with them and switching to a new credit card company. I would not reccommed this card or this bank to anynone. Especially seeing my payments were always on time and I still have yet to recieve my refund almost 9 months later.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Mar 18, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

over all good product

more ...
Feb 25, 2017
Excellent Customer Service
Anonymous Account Holder

I did not understand an aspect of how autopay works but my customer service representative explained it clearly and slowly so I understand it well now. When I lost my card it was easy to cancel and replace. No complaints from the 6 months I've had them. 

more ...
Feb 20, 2017
Restrictions are ridiculous on card
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been in line in a store and got declined and was told that if I make a big purchase I have to call and verify that it's me that is using the card every time !! From the embarrassment of being told my card has been declined while I have had a large credit limit on the card , cause I had to call them to ask for permission to spend anything over 300$ is kind of insane 

more ...
Feb 14, 2017
STAY AWAY !!!
Anonymous Account Holder

Poor customer service in the branches - changing branch managers yearly - and many more. We had business accounts that was closed for no reason - they mailed a letter with no explanation that said stop writing checks. What? Yes, correct, sounds completely crazy and only 10 calendar days to ease all activity from a business account. 

more ...
Feb 13, 2017
AMAZING BANK
Anonymous Account Holder

0 FEES AND LOTS OF COURTESEY ADJUSTMENTS! I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS ACCOUNT!

more ...
Feb 07, 2017
Ridiculously long holds on transfers
djwdjw Account Holder

I have had Capital One 360 accounts since they bought out ING Direct.  While the basic banking functionality is ok, they continue to put effectively 7 calendar day holds on recurring inter-bank transfers.  This is just nuts.

Last year Cap 360 published an advert about improving funds availablity.  This in practice was nonsense.

I regularly transfer in deposits to savings from another major nationwide bank.  Capital One 360 for some bizzarre reason likes to keep your funds unavailable for a week.  When I transfer to, say USAA bank for example, my funds are immediately available.  Maybe all of Cap 360's customers are crumbs, but it makes no sense for repeating transfer in deposits to have this sort of hold.  Will Cap 360 every grow up to be an adult bank?  Probably not.

more ...
Jan 24, 2017
WORST customer service EVER
BeyondCredit Account Holder

If your credit sucks and you can't get approved for anything else, then apply to CapitalOne. Otherwise, if you have options, stay as far away as you can. I have never had such bad service in my entire life. They have the worst dispute department. I have never been so frustrated in my entire life. Literally this past experience with them made me want to cancel my credit cards with them - regardless of whether it causes a dip in my score or not.

more ...
Jan 04, 2017
Fair practices and good services.
DanielKWard Account Holder

Capital One has been great to me so far, the interest rates are moderately above normal however, I anticipated this early on as I am rebuilding credit and reestablishing myself after the great recession.  They have offered (and I've accepted) credit, banking and loan opportunities that are light years better than other lenders for folks in the "build or "rebuild" state of their lives​.  I would reccommend this bank to anyone looking for a fair fresh start or restart.

more ...
Jan 03, 2017
work with you
Anonymous Account Holder

most other companies closes you down and won[t work with you under rough times

more ...
Dec 23, 2016
ZERO FRAUD PROTECTION/INCOMPETENT SERVIC
corpmagic Account Holder

Totally incompetent customer service.

I phoned in to report 2 disputes one being a fraudulent charge for an item which was never received. 

45 days later I discover that they lost the details on one of the disputes and we start all over again with potentially up to 90 days to resolve !!!

Incompetence ! 

Oh and when I first reported the disputes they also spent the first 45 minutes trying to convince me that I'd probably done something wrong on the vendor's website and that it was all my fault. The fact that no item was received was obviously too complicated for them to grasp.

Useless. Can't wait for this to be resolved so that I can cancel this card and get it OUT OF MY WALLET.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations