Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure


1.5 out of 5 stars
11 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year


Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Sep 06, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

Stay away...they charge outrageous fees for no reason. They do not work with their customer, nor listen to them.

more ...
Sep 01, 2016
Excellent service & customer protection
Ekiii Account Holder

I've been banking with BB&T for almost 10 years now and have never had any issues with them. I felt compelled to leave a review because most of the responses on the internet are from people who wanted to rant, not everyday users who generally aren't inclined to go randomly rate their bank on CK. I have two credit lines with BB&T and each application brought one and only one hard pull (someone in the comments said they had 8 had pulls for 1 application.. Yeah.. Right.). They're a very conservative bank and fared extremely well during the recession because of it; their lending never froze up and they weren't even close to going under. I haven't paid an overdraft fee in ages and it's because if you overdraft and opted out of protection, you can just call them, tell them you're sorry and restore the balance the next day and they waive it. Additionally, I fell on hard times between jobs and was late on 2 credit payments and BB&T made sure it never showed up in my credit history. Instead of dinging me hard for the long term, both times they called me, asked what was going on and gave me a week and a half to make the payment since I've been a loyal customer and they know I'm trustworthy. I made both payments in the time period we agreed on and it never showed in my history, they didn't charge a single late fee, and now they still have me as a loyal client years later making plenty of money with a substantial credit limit that is never near max and is always paid in full early. My father has banked with them for over 30 years because of a lifetime of good service from BB&T and they won my loyalty as well. Excellent bank, easy to get along with, protects it's customers, and doesn't invest in toxic assets for quick cash. Don't listen to the people who don't understand check processing and deposit posting, this bank is fantastic.

more ...
Jul 29, 2016
BBT has lost their customer service.
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been with BBT for almost 40 years.   Overall their service is fair if you are looking for a place to deposit your money and pay your bills.  But when looking for a partner in your financial planning, personal and business loans their service levels fall short.   

more ...
Jun 27, 2016
Customer Service is terrible
Anonymous Account Holder

It should not take up to 20 minutes to get either a person from web site services or customer service on the phone. I just wanted to know whether a family member had remembered to deposit a gift check I sent.

more ...
Apr 22, 2016
Scam artists
Anonymous Account Holder

Scumbags ran my credit without my permission and my credit was dinged EIGHT points for a hard inquiry. This should only be done when applying for credit (and even then with permission), which I didn't do.  I repeatedly tried to talk to them to figure out why and first they asked me why would we do that? Uh, hello, that is what I am here to find out! They then asked for proof, I brought it. They then lied to me repeatedly and became increasingly nasty to ME. They are not trustworthy with your info!

more ...
Apr 16, 2016
worse bank ever
ahab5277 Account Holder

I would give them less then 1 star if they had that rating here. I have been with BB and T for almost 30 years When they were a regional bank from NC they were very service oriented and efficient. Over the years since they have grown and assimililated other small banks they have become all about the dollar and less about efficiency and customer satisfaction. In the last year they have managed to lose our requested checks, my debit card and still manage to charge me $2.00 for calling them and closing my credit card account which I haven't used in a few years. I would recommend any other bank then BB and T and if there are servicemen within the BB and T regional branches service area, I would strongly recommend another bank or even better a credit union, one that puts the customer first..

more ...
Mar 30, 2016
Disgusting. BB&T incompetence cost me $
Anonymous Account Holder

Due to dealing with BB&T's incompetence in the past, I knew to make a point of confirming on my BB&T account page that the funds I deposited were available for me to write a check drawing on those funds.

Well surprise surprise - the check was denied by BB&T due to insufficient funds.  So the fees start - the one from the institution that had the check returned posted immediately, I'm waiting to see how much the vendors that tried to draw from that institution are going to charge me to resubmit draw requests.

If for some reason you're foolish enough to do business with BB&T wait several days and get on the phone with a rep (which will likely take the "better" part of a day...) while you're making the deposit to make sure the funds shown as available actually are available.

more ...
Mar 11, 2016
Customer Service:
Anonymous Account Holder

I have call customer service twice and both time was on hold for over a half an hour before anyone picked up.  Representative acted bored when i told her.  

more ...
Mar 01, 2016
Not worth it.
TangyLang Account Holder

I wanted to simply open a BB&T savings account to use as an overdraft protection account. This was encouraged by the website by having me follow links to get the second account set up to carry money over to the primary account when the primary account goes below zero. I called them 3 separate times to piece together the fact that it would not be possible. This was after waiting for callbacks that never took place. The website said nothing about not being able to open and attach a savings account that was opened in one state to a checking account with the same bank, in another state. I was furious that it took multiple redirections to get this information to me. It is not simply common sense but they still made me pay an overdraft fee although the money was in another BB&T account. This is because they waived another overdraft withing 24 months because of another bank miscommunication. I asked to be referred to a manager to sort it out but was told that a supervisor would not be able to change the policy. A ticket was finally opened that I never heard back about. I have been with this bank for over 15 years. It is my 1st bank account EVER. I felt like they did not care at all and had to wait over 20 minutes every time I called, even at 8:30 AM EST. I paid the overdraft fee and the $2 fees for each phone call to customer service (yes they do that too). I have closed the bank account with BB&T and will never bank with them again. I am now with PNC and very pleased with the focus of customer relations as well as the online resources. Shame on you BB&T for cutting corners although you are nickel and diming everyone out of the most basic services.

more ...
Nov 30, 2015
Horrible customer service
Anonymous Account Holder

I took loan from wyndham capitol mortgage, which sold my loan to BBT. It has been over a month I have not been able to set up my account, Horrible horrible customer service. Next to impossible to talk to customer service agent. Would refinance my  loan from someone else but stay away from them

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations