BB&T Reviews

1.2 out of 5 stars
10 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Sep 23, 2017
BB&T's "new" website is HORRIBLE
Anonymous Account Holder

Run to another bank as fast as you can!!!

more ...
Aug 04, 2017
Wrongful PMI Denial
Anonymous Account Holder

My mortgage is serviced by BB&T, but held by Freddie Mac (sold after closing) which is extremely common.  We recently completed an addition on our house and due to the increase in value associated with this addition, we requested that BB&T cancel our private mortgage insurance (PMI).  I read all of Freddie Mac's  published guidelines regarding PMI cancellation and knew that we met their requirements.  After paying for the appraisal, BB&T attempted to deny my request, and inform me that my only option was to pay several thousand dollars to meet the threshold that they were deeming appropriate.  Believing that the bank was misinformed, I called Freddie Mac directly (as BB&T kept making reference to the 'investors' requirements).  Magically 3 days later I receive a notice from BB&T saying my PMI has been cancelled as Freddie Mac agreed with my stance.  There was no discussion as to their negligence in the initial wrongful denial, which I find especially interesting.  I am thankful that I was confident enough to challenge what they were telling me, but I wonder how many people they have wrongfully denied cancellation of PMI insurance to.  Overall, the customer service department is plenty nice, but after this experience I certainly wonder about thier knowledge of full banking regulations.

more ...
Jun 18, 2017
Disgusting
Anonymous Account Holder

This worse investment of my life.  I signed up when I was 18 and it has been a miserable experience.  They have kept my wife's account open long enough to charge a fee when they received the paper work to close it 2 weeks in advance.  Their customer service is poor and will not help you transfer funds over the phone.  Pitiful excuse for a bank institution.  

more ...
Jun 16, 2017
Worst bank I've Ever Dealt
Anonymous Account Holder

This is by far the worst bank I've ever dealt with. Horrible customer service, backwards reps,....every time I've had to interact with employees it's been a ridiculously cumbersome experience. Gonna pull all my funds out and move to another bank--the hassle is worthwhile.

more ...
Mar 15, 2017
Poor/Careless Customer Service
jleanne Account Holder

I had my banking information stolen while with BB&T, and the experience was an absolute nightmare. WORST customer service expereience I've ever had anywhere, to the point where I was in tears on the phone. They didn't tell me my information was stolen- just turned my card off. I was out to lunch with some work friends when my card was declined out of nowehere and it was incredibly embarassing. The young man I got on the phone with when this happened didn't even verify who I was- just started rattling off my personal infromation as soon as I gave him my debit card number. He was rude, and if I'm being totally frank- quite useless in handling the first leg of that issue. Everytime I come into BB&T I'm given different information about the same problems. There is no consistency and they don't care or do anything to make it right. Fees are quite high in comparison to other banks, so you'd think that the service would make up for that, but no. I'll be closing my account as soon as I can make it in to their office. I've been considering closing it for some time and I think I've finally hit the last of my patience with BB&T today. 

more ...
Mar 07, 2017
Careless/nonexistent service
rfwinans Account Holder

BB&T took over my bank, NationalPenn, last year. NationalPenn had great customer service, they would call me if there ws an anomaly in my account. The first insult was when I made a mobile deposit from BB&T into a credit union ccount and simultaneously made a mobile deposit into my BB&T account. BB&T immediately deducted the outgoing transaction and held the deposit funds resulting in overdraft charges. Furthermor, they held the deposit funds so long that there were multiple debits that each, regardless of amount, triggered another overdraft fee. Overdraft fees have been a constant problem because of this inequity in treatment of payments versus deposits. I am moving all my accounts after trying to contat the branch manager who ws never in the branch and did not respond to email or phone messages. The worst bank I've ever had the misfortune to do business with. My advice: walk on by.

more ...
Feb 05, 2017
Kbeck2 Account Holder

Bb&T has to be the most lackluster banking institution I've ever worked with. I opened an account with them last year when my company started to do business with one of their branches. It was convenient getting to one of their ATMs and the savings account was free so I figured, "why not?" I was in the process of saving for an upcoming move so I figured the account would be very helpful and convenient. I had the account for less than a year and it was a horrible experience. 

Shortly after opening the account, the problems began. I tried to make a transfer from my BB&T savings account to my checking account at another institution which id done several times before without issue. Well, unfortunately for me, BB&T's website was having technical difficulties (as it often does, check their reviews and mobile app reviews) and processed the transfer TWICE which resulted in an overdraft fee that I wasn't notified about until days later when I received an email threatening me to pay the fee or else. I called their customer service line confused about why I was charged only to be told that I must have "accidentally" made my transfer twice. Really BB&T? According to them, I purposely made two identical transfers within seconds of each other and intentionally overdrafted my account. That sounds pretty idiotic to me but apparently not to the airheaded customer service agent I spoke with. I'm usually not a name caller but this lady made it a point to ignore everything I was saying and then made it clear that I owed the overdraft fee even though she admitted their system had no record of ever sending me a notification concerning the error AND confirming that the website had been having issues and was not sending notifications about transfers or deposits either. According to her, everything was my fault and I should pay up or shut up. The icing on the cake was when she instructed me on how to close my account with them and when I didn't actually close the account, 2 months later, it was forcefully closed ONCE AGAIN WITHOUT ANY NOTICE OR COMMUNICATION FROM BB&T. The lack of communication was what I was complaining about to her before and then they turned around and did the same thing months later. The free savings account isn't worth the unprofessionalism.

I had the account for all of about 10 months and the website had issues almost every one of those months. If you don't need a reliable bank or don't fear waking up to transactions occurring without your knowledge or permission, by all means, give them a shot. 

more ...
Feb 02, 2017
HORRIBLE HORRIBLE BANK
Kellyko109 Account Holder

If you're looking for a bank do not, I repeat do not use this bank. They will rip you off and take all your money. They will charge you fees and then take your money and tell you that your account is now even and then after they take your money they will tell you they were mistaken and add more fees to your account. They are the absolute worst bank I've ever been to and I would never ever ever ever use them again.

more ...
Jan 24, 2017
Credit score lowering waste of time!
PatrickC91 Account Holder

I had a checking account here for 10 years and finally grew enough credit to refinance my car and they decline it because of I don't have enough credit history. Because apparently not missing one payment in 3 years isn't good enough for them. Long story short unless you are a middle to high class family or person they have absolutely no interest in helping you. They will just sweet talk you and brown nose you and give score lowering inquiries all while knowing that they can't even help you in the 1st place. DO NOT I REPEAT DO NOT GIVE YOUR BUSINESS TO BB&T. IF YOU HAVE AN ACCOUNT I STRONGLY RECOMMEND THAT YOU CLOSE IT.

more ...
Jan 10, 2017
To Big to Care!
Anonymous Account Holder

It appears that creating fees for customers is a main focus of their business. I spoke with several representatives of the bank and each one had a different explination as to what happened. In the end they had no desire to correct the issue.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations