Bluebird by American Express Reviews

Bluebird by American Express Reviews
1.5 out of 5 stars
25 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 29, 2020
Confused at negative ratings
amr121 Account Holder

I'm reading all the bad reviews for this card...I'm just baffled, I've had this card for a long time, and have never had any of the problems mentioned. I have always been able to reach a customer rep, have had any of my issues addressed. When I saw a purchase I didn't recognize , they immediately sorted it out. I transfer money from my checking account without any issues. I use my card for travel and it never appears as a prepaid, only as an Amex card. So needless to say I'm surprised at the reviews. My suggestion is try it, and see, you can always cancel it. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 07, 2019
Customer Service is non-existant
darcym65 Account Holder

If you think their "24/7 Customer Service" hotline is reassuring, before you put money on this card I would highly recommend you actually try calling it and speaking with a Representative. As of this writing, I have been unable to find that illusive button press to get to a live person. It's all automated and tells you nothing more then what you can find out at the website. I currently have a few hundred dollars I am unable to get access to because the ATM refuses to allow me to withdraw, can't send the money to the Walmart pickup, can't add a payee to pay a bill, so it's like they are willing to take your money, but refuse to allow you to use your money when you really need it. I suggest going with a real bank you can actually visit to get customer service. Even if it's at a monthly fee, atleast you know you got access to YOUR money. *THUMBS DOWN to Amex*

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Apr 26, 2020
WORST BANK EVER
JUSTAMEMBER1 Account Holder

I am beyond ****ED off at Bluebird by American Express. My account got hacked 2 days ago and all of my money was stolen. The hacker was able to change passwords, security questions, email address, and send over $2300 to Walmart to pick up and was successful with actually getting my money. The company is suppose to be 24/7 a week for customer support. I understand the high call volume due to COVID-19. However, I have been holding for the last 2 days for 2hrs. and 8mins increments until the line automatically disconnects the calls. NO one is answering the phones I have attempted to contact them sun up and sun down. My card was also blocking twice in the last 2 months when I attempted to get a small amount out of the atm. When all of this fraud happened my card was never block not even once. I will be looking to hire an attorney. This makes no since at all

more ...
Apr 26, 2020
Very POOR SERVICE/EXPERIENCE
JUSTAMEMBER1 Account Holder

I am beyond ****ED off at Bluebird by American Express. My account got hacked 2 days ago and all of my money was stolen. The hacker was able to change passwords, security questions, email address, and send over $2300 to Walmart to pick up and was successful with actually getting my money . They also made several transactionsThe company is suppose to be 24/7 a week for customer support. I understand the high call volume due to COVID-19. However, I have been holding for the last 2 days for 2hrs. and 8mins increments until the line automatically disconnects the calls. NO one is answering the phones I have attempted to contact them sun up and sun down. mY CARD HAS BEEN BLOCK TWICE IN 2 MONTHS WHEN I ATTEMTED TO TAKE A SMALL AMOUNT OUT OF MY ACCOUNT. WHEN ALL OF THIS FRAUD WAS DONE IT WAS NOT BLOCKED NOT EVEN ONCE. I will be looking to hire an attorney. This makes no since at all

more ...
Apr 15, 2020
BILL PAY SYSTEM FLAWED DURING COVID-19!
Credit2Good2betrue Account Holder

I, a BLUEBIRD account holder paid a bill using their BILL PAY system on 4/6/20.  As of 4/15/20, the receipient of that payment has not receive it.  Now, I understand the closure associated with the COVID-19 virus, BUT, they should not be processing payments.  They don't have the MEANS TO DO SO.  Thank God, I was able to pay my credit card using my personal banking account otherwise it would be a LATE PAYMENT MARK ON MY CREDIT AND I DON'T HAVE ANY.  The thing is, this is not the first time this has happened.  It is the second time.

more ...
Apr 15, 2020
BILL PAY SYSTEM FLAWED DURING COVID-19!
Credit2Good2betrue Account Holder

I paid a bill using their service on 4/6/20 and the company I paid still has not received the payment.  Now, it realized the company has limited staff during the COVID-19, but they should not keep accepting transactions they cannot process.  Not to worry, I paid the company from my checking account, but I still want a refund for my payment.

more ...
Apr 14, 2020
Customer service is non-existent
SteveG892 Account Holder

I got the Bluebird card for online purchases. I have found that it is easy to link an account to the Bluebird card to transfer money to the account, but it is virtually impossible to electronically transfer money to another account from the Bluebird card. I attempted to use the "Bill Pay" function to transfer money to another account, what is not mentioned until after you set up the transaction, is the system says it will take a week to transfer funds. I set up the transfer, waited a week, and then the status on the transaction said it would be another week. I ended up having to close the account that i was trying to transfer the money to for other reasons, so now when i check the status on the transaction, it says it will take a week to transfer and adds a day with each day i check. i have tried to call customer service to cancel the transaction, i was on hold for 2 hours the first time before hanging up out of frustration, i was on hold for just over an hour and a half the second time before having to hang up again, i am on hold as i am writing this review and have been for over 20 minutes. So i have had the money floating in the abyss where i cannot access it for over two weeks now, every time i check it says it will be a week to finish the transfer to an account that no longer exists, and i can't get ahold of an actual person to get the money back. This is absolutely absurd.

more ...
Feb 29, 2020
Confused at negative ratings
amr121 Account Holder

I'm reading all the bad reviews for this card...I'm just baffled, I've had this card for a long time, and have never had any of the problems mentioned. I have always been able to reach a customer rep, have had any of my issues addressed. When I saw a purchase I didn't recognize , they immediately sorted it out. I transfer money from my checking account without any issues. I use my card for travel and it never appears as a prepaid, only as an Amex card. So needless to say I'm surprised at the reviews. My suggestion is try it, and see, you can always cancel it. 

more ...
Feb 19, 2020
Frauds that shut you down with no explan
Amcortez Account Holder

We use this card for my minor son's spending because I can track it and help him budget. Well now our account has been permanently suspended for a violation and nobody will tell us what! Called the number in the email, and they don't even identify themselves. They just start asking for personal information. I hung up the first time because I'm not giving out my info to a company that doesn't even say who they are when they answer. Called the number on the back of my card, and the automated system hung up because my account is "permanently suspended." Called the number in the email back, and they won't tell you ANYTHING! They will only tell you to read your email. The email tells you nothing except you've supposedly committed a violation. If you want any kind of answer you have to write a letter. When asked about the money on my card, the lady said they don't give refunds. We have to write a letter. This is bull! Never again will I use this card. I'll go back to Greenlight and pay the monthly fee. Had no problems with them.

more ...
Jan 14, 2020
KMC2020 Account Holder

They hold all refunds for 7 days. Constantly have system issues where you won't be able to use your card. During system issues of you were unfortunate enough to attempt to use the atm, you won't get your money but Amex will take it from your account and say you did get it. So then you have to dispute and wait up to 7 days to get your money back. Now should you have to call customer care.. good luck you could be waiting hours. They are absolutely horrible, save your time and go with another company.

more ...
Dec 22, 2019
Very horrible
Sha223 Account Holder

Always having a System problem and u can’t get your money when you need it charge you for their problems when they have a system down when they do have a system down there hang up the phone or you put your money on hold don’t get there card

more ...
Dec 20, 2019
Afotey Account Holder

the website and web application fail FAR too often, leaving cardholders without any access whatsoever to their money for HOURS upon end.

for this alone I can't recommend this service at all

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations