Bluebird by American Express Reviews

2.3 out of 5 stars
95 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 25, 2013
So far so good
Anonymous Account Holder

I've had my Bluebird card for a couple of months.  I am currently haveing my paycheck direct deposited to it after having an overdraft issue with my checking account. 

The ONLY issue I have had so far was that I used it at the Gas pump to pay for gas once.  BIG Mistake!!!!  They set aside $100 to cover the the purchase as an "authorization".  I about blew a gasket considering I was going out of town for the weekend!.  I called and vented, which the CSR calmly allowed, then he explained what happened.  He then REMOVED the hold!  Excellent(although I had threatened to cancel the card if it couldn't be fixed).

So, here's what I recommend:

1.  DO NOT waste $5 buying a started kit at Walmart & adding money.  Go to www.bluebird.com & sign up there.  You will save $5 & you will know if it will be approved or not.

2.  DO NOT preauthorize Gas at the pump.  They will hold $100 if you do!  Pay for the gas by withdrawing cash from an atm(my local gas station has a money pass atm) or just prepay for a specific amount(yes, it makes filling up harder, but well worth saving yourself the aggrevation).

3.DO NOT use their app to deposit checks.  It takes at LEAST a week.  Not worth the wait.

4.  DO ceate subaccounts & get cards for your kids.  My son loves the fact that he has his own card(he's 16).  He uses it to pay for his XBox live & other things that I would have to take care of for him.  He just gives me the money & I load it to my card & transfer it to his subaccount(evidently you can't load funds with a subaccount card from what I have experienced).

I was also able to get 100 of their checks free(I think that offer is done).  The checks require you to pre-authorize them.  I LOVE that feature.  I have tried for years to get banks to allow me to notate on my on-line banking that I wrote a check & have those funds set aside to cover it so I don't bounce & have to pay an overdraft fee.  The banks always ask "Why would you want that?"  This is a great way to manage your money & make sure you don't overdraw!  & if your checks get stolen they are useless because AmEx will not honor any check that wasn't preauthorized.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 09, 2014
Terrible customer service
Anonymous Account Holder

I have had this card for two weeks and have already had several problems. All I wanted to do was be able to give my son the convenience of having a prepaid credit card. Doesnt' work that way. I have had to contact customer service to figure out even how to navagate the website. It is very confusing. Customer service does not have English speaking techs and I could barely make out what they were tyring to tell me. I ended up just hanging up and figuring it out for myself.  My son tried to make a purchase only to find out that the tranfer I made 5 days ago didn't get onto his card. I enabled Auto accept, but for some reason, it didn't work. So, once again I had to contact customer service. Terrible experience. Now that my son has tried to use the card with no money on it, they put a hold on it. Get a prepaid Walmart Card or other company and pay the $3 fee. This card is just not worth the hassle. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jun 23, 2017
Not very reliable
Anonymous Account Holder

That they don't honor their words, also that getting this card. You will be very disappointed in the refund policy and how they do not honor their word. Stay away, I will be closing my account shortly.

more ...
Jun 17, 2017
Criminals
Anonymous Account Holder

I had my card stolen, the bank would not approve my funds back, they told me pretty much that I was a liar and that I made the charges when in fact I had proof that these charges were made by someone else online. In order not to pay me, they froze my account, they ended my account 2 days later, so I couldn't even go into my account and look at my previous purchases anymore. These people are criminals, if you lose money or your car gets stolen you will never get it back.

more ...
Jun 10, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

I had the card and it was ok till it let charges be approved that exceeded the amount of money i had on the card - so that I ended up with a negative $50.00 that i had to pay back to get the card back to a positive balance.  As a prepaid card - it should have said insufficient funds and not let it go over what i had on the card

more ...
Jun 10, 2017
Bad
Anonymous Account Holder

I tried to put money on my card by photo check. It would not accept. called and spent almost an hour and ws told they wouldn't accept the check and wouldn;t tell me why. A month later had problems--took a long time and finally was told they cancelled my account for reasons they wont tell me. Worst "bank ever.

more ...
Jun 05, 2017
Never a problem
Eric5717 Account Holder

I have had this card for about 6 years now.  Great alternative to banking.  I have never had any problems with the card or customer service.  It is AMEX so not all merchants or online bill pay will accept it, however, the overall value is worth it.  I have 2 traditional credit Mastercards to cover anytime a merchant won't accept my AMEX.  No fees at all unless I have to use an ATM that is not MoneyPass.  I like the fact I can write checks as well.  Makes paying my mortgage on my house easy.  All in all, one of the best values in preloaded cards out there in my opinion.  A lot of the "negative" reviews are just ridiculous-take into account that a good majority are "anonymous" that should tell you something.  A good card from a great company.  A+ AMEX customer service that is 24/7/365.  

more ...
Jun 02, 2017
Stay Away from. it!!
Anonymous Account Holder

This card is almost completely Useless! I tried paying bills and go other things online only to be told they don't accept payments from that bank. Then, if you lose your card, you're screwed because you will have no access to your money, not even a temporary way to access it. Unless of course you know someone else who has a Bluebird card, then you can transfer money to that other persons account, who in turn would withdraw the money from their account to give back to you. Really??!! That's what they came up with as a way to get your money? And customer service? Forget it. Because I lost my card, i couldn't enter my card # to get to customer service! I got on Ask Amex on Twitter to ask for a resolution to contacting customer service. They told me to press 0 as soon as you hear the music then press # after each "I'm sorry. I didn't get your card number" a total of 5 times! Really? So you need a backdoor secret way to contact Bluebird customer service. They don't advertise this in their "We're just like a bank without all the fees" in all their marketing. Besides, once you get through to them, you're stuck talking to someone foreign. Stay clear of this card. It is essentially useless!

more ...
May 31, 2017
Thieves at it's best
bullfrogtrucker Account Holder

I have been a very loyal customer for about 5 years. Direct deposit, Walmart reload, etc always great. Even had a few times that I went over, (still trying to figure out how that happened), and they covered it and I turned around and had it covered and put me well back into the positive. Last year I was arrested and spent 10 months in lock up and I have SOLID proof. My ex, who was not on the account ANYWHERE, illegally used my card and spent about $325. I got out in April and found this out and started the dispute process immediately, faxing everything that they asked of me. The declined my disputes so now I am out $325 and they refuse to do anything else about it. They are covered by FDIC and that insures me and them against illegal activities. Instead of doing what is right, they went ahead and closed my account without my permission, sent me a letter stating that PER MY REQUEST it was closed and then sent me a check for $0.88. REALLY???? That is an insult. And to think that I just got through talking my daughter and her boyfriend into getting the card so that I could send money to her free and easy. NO MORE.

more ...
May 27, 2017
Best Pre-Paid Card ever
stplong Account Holder

This card is the best prepaid card I have seen, you can open up cards for family members and you can have a set aside account, I haven't seen a better card around. Love this card especially when traveling, just load what you are going to use at the time and you are worried free about being hacked. I can't say enough good things about this card except I wish more placed accepted American Express.

more ...
May 13, 2017
fast, easy and odd
Anonymous Account Holder

First of all let me say this. Most people only come online to complain about a bad experience. This go's for anything. It's not to often that a satisfied costomer will pop on here to say something positive about a product so dont feel shamed for owning this card after seeing all the negative reviews. most of them seem to be personal experiences not really related to the card anyways...

I use the card for online purchases only. I load the card and drain it usually the same day. my only problem with this card is that, some times when I buy something online it puts a statement on my card that says something about holding *said amount of money. Meanwhile there is still an available balance thats not really there, because I know I spent it and when the hold clears, so will the imaginary funds it says I have. What I dont understand is this - Here is an example of an experience i had - I loaded $130 to the card. I charged about $125 off of it when I bought something. The payment went through all fine an dandy but the next day, when i went to check on my card balance it showed the widthdrawl from when i bought something. It said "is holding" -$118 or something like that and showed an available balance of $105. It should be more like $5 if the payment went through. Im confused because I spent $125 of the $130 I had on there and then it said I had $105 to spend and the charge i made to it was "in holding" for $118.... i got an email saying my card is negative balance even though it has an imaginary $105 balanceon it. I dont understand. im not gonna spend the money it says i have thats not really there and when the holding charge thing clears im sure it will zero out to the $5 that should be in there? ITS ALL CONFUSING.

To be clear. the card loaded perfectly and i bought something online with no issues. My issue was my balance after the purchase and the statement of the purchase on the card didnt make any darn sense at all.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations