Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Bluebird by American Express

2.5 out of 5 stars
103 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year


Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 18, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

Had this card for quiet awhile and to this day I have yet had a problem. Boyfriend had this card first and recommended it. Since we live 200 miles away from each others I like that we can to transfers to one another anytime. Every time called the 800# my questions been answered and staff very professional. The only down part was when I got my tax refund I couldn't "cash out" at Wal Mart like the app and website states that you can up to thousands of dollars. So I went to ATM which was free but limited as to how much you can take out. I don't do direct deposit to this card. I find it easier to cash my check, pay bills then and add money to the card since the bank and Wal mart are near by. I have had the gas station authorize for more then what I paid but like the reviews above find a different gas station who doesnt put a hold on it or deal with it. What I do is put a greater amount or some to the SET ASIDE account that way if i gas up and it takes more then what i wanted i can transfer between the main account and the set aside account.. ALL WORKS OUT!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?


Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 08, 2016
terrible, misleading
Anonymous Account Holder

got 2 kits as i was replacing my bank, one for day to day transactions, one for savings.  no where on the packaging does it say you can only have one card.  now that the first kit is set up they are basically stealing the cost of the second kit.  they claim theres nothing they can do about it but how hard is it to put "you can only have one" on the outside of the packaging.  horrible customer service

more ...

Was this review helpful?


These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Oct 21, 2016
OK, I guess
Anonymous Account Holder

I can easily deposited money onto the card. Will pay you about $2.00 ATM fee and an extra $2.50 just for withdrawal money. I suggest to find a PNC bank ATM. It won't cost you anything. Great service though.

more ...
Oct 20, 2016
Beware of this Company
Anonymous Account Holder

I'm using this for while until I found out this company is not secured my account was charged without my consent and hidden fees is very Bad Customers service always say I'm sorry

more ...
Oct 18, 2016
Easy to use but may drop you at any time
wildboy211 Account Holder

So i had a American Express Bluebird card for about 2 years. The application was easy, everything seemed to go smoothly, and rarely had issues. Then one day I saw a charge that I did not recognize. I called them up, they said they were going to replace my card. I had direct deposit going to the account, so any money that I had on the account had to wait until I got the new card. I got the new card about a week later. I also got my direct deposit deposited that day. Activated my card, checked my account, the money was there. So I left the house and drove about a hour to my friends house. I got to the gas station at my friends house and tried to use my new card. Declined. Checked my balance. It was now $0. Called up customer service and asked why my balance was now zero, and he put me through to another agent. This agent said they denied my fraudulent card, and cancelled my card, and told me to cut up my card and to wait 7-10 days for a check in the mail. I was now a hour away from my house with no gas and a non working card. What is a check going to do a week from now. I asked them why they didnt call me or send me a email, and he said another department was supposed to do that, but I couldn't talk to that department. I got home and I did get the emails about 20 minutes after I talked to them on the phone.

So to recap. Easy to signup, easy to use, but they will drop at the drop of a hat, and they may or may not tell you about it.

more ...
Oct 15, 2016
Freaking awesome
br4t Account Holder

I love how I get paid two days early with direct deposit. I can transfer money from my other cards or my husband's account in like seconds. I have bill pay and a built in automatic savings program so I can save up for date nights and special purchases. I can't get personalized photo cards like my PayPal card, but i do like Bluebird better.

more ...
Oct 10, 2016
Waste of money and time!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

I bought the starter kit from Walmart. I tried to register it online and it kept saying unable to register it at this time. So I called the customer service number 18774865990. So the first lady I spoke with said her name was Mel. Said the validation team refused the registration of the card to my name because my information was not correct (so apparently they know my information better than me)...But I could still register with somebody else's information. I asked how am I supposed to do that - go from door to door and ask for somebody to give me their personal information?!? That's illegal!!! I asked to speak with a supervisor, I got Jen who kept saying the same BS and refused to give me last name or CS ID(every company has those to protect employees’ identity). I got frustrated and started recording the conversation because it was really insane. I told her: "As of right now I am recording the conversation. Would you like to continue?" She got super angry and started screaming that in order to record her I have to get her consent. I only said: "I just asked you but to be honest Bluebird American Express never asked me for my consent, you just informed me that I am recorded."

Anyway I continued after she stopped yelling: "So you are saying that I can't register the card on my name because the validation team found my information to not be truthful? But at the same time nobody can give me an explanation to why they decided that?"

Jen:"That's correct, ma'am."

Me: "And you are telling me that I can register the card that I purchased for myself with somebody else's information? That's the only option I have?"

Jen:"I believe that was the only other option given to you."

Me:"And you are telling me that I spent $6 and change for the card but I am not getting a refund, even though you can't tell me why you won't register a prepaid card? A prepaid card? A card that you put money in advance?"

Jen:"Madam, you paid Walmart not us."

Me:"But that is your product, your logo, your customer service?"


Me:"Crazy that Walmart would be getting all the profits from it...Anyway, in addition you've told me that your name was Jen and you can't give me any other identifiable information about you, last name or CS ID number?"

Jen:"We are not allowed to."

Me:"O.k. so I got that you can't give me information about why my registration was denied, can you or me talk to the validation team and make an inquiry?"

Jen:"No, ma'ad. To be honest they are in the back office. They are very busy and they don't take calls."

Me:"O.k. So Jen, are you a CS representative for the Bluebird brand or American Express?"

Jen:"I am a CS supervisor for American Express."


Jen:"So is there anything else, I can help you with today?"

Me:"Are you seriously asking me that question?!? After providing zero information or help so far?!?"

Jen:"Well, if there is nothing else..."

I hung up, because I didn't need to hear anymore BS. So, please be aware. It's not the $6, I am mad about, it's the principle. This is a prepaid card - you put your own money in advance and you use the money when you need it. It's supposed to be simple but somehow it's not. And nobody can give you an answer as to why. 

more ...
Oct 07, 2016
They do hold checks
Anonymous Account Holder

They do hold checks but now can use app and send to online.

more ...
Oct 01, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank will hold you funds from your acct  up to 8 days. I have had not good experience with the bank for a year now. Another issue I have is that how can this acct which is "prepaid" have an negative balance?  You only can use what's available to you. I will no longer keep my acct with them customer service is not great all.

more ...
Sep 29, 2016
Easy to use
Anonymous Account Holder

No fees if u don't use other ATMs

more ...
Sep 27, 2016
errbdycntbme Account Holder

Do not I mean do not get this card!!! You will NOT be protected from unauthorized transactions! Even though it says in their policy that you would be protected its a lie! I've filed a police report and everything and they still will not credit back my money! It's been almost a month and every person I've spoke with does not care to help! They need to be shut down! I do not recommend this card to anyone! Yea no fees but that should have been a sign to me and I wouldn't be out of almost $400! Worst card ever!

more ...
Sep 22, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

They have the worst service for a prepaid card. I disputed a transaction for something that was not as described I tried to contact the merchandise to return item I did not get a response. So I disputed it with bluebird. They did not issue no credit and they said they received a message stating that item was not received and they close the case. I specifically told them I do not have an address to ship it back to and if they did not respond to me how was I supposed to send it back. This was a third party sale by the way. I should of never purchase any lage item with this credit card unless you are willing to risk it! Now I see how America express went down the drain. I only use it for walmart.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations