Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Bluebird by American Express

2.5 out of 5 stars
107 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 18, 2016
Awesome!
Anonymous Account Holder

Had this card for quiet awhile and to this day I have yet had a problem. Boyfriend had this card first and recommended it. Since we live 200 miles away from each others I like that we can to transfers to one another anytime. Every time called the 800# my questions been answered and staff very professional. The only down part was when I got my tax refund I couldn't "cash out" at Wal Mart like the app and website states that you can up to thousands of dollars. So I went to ATM which was free but limited as to how much you can take out. I don't do direct deposit to this card. I find it easier to cash my check, pay bills then and add money to the card since the bank and Wal mart are near by. I have had the gas station authorize for more then what I paid but like the reviews above find a different gas station who doesnt put a hold on it or deal with it. What I do is put a greater amount or some to the SET ASIDE account that way if i gas up and it takes more then what i wanted i can transfer between the main account and the set aside account.. ALL WORKS OUT!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 21, 2015
Pitiful customer service!
Anonymous Account Holder

It's hard to use a card you can't load money on.  Don't bother as it's been more of a headache than it could ever be a help!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Dec 06, 2016
The best!!!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

Get a card, you'll love it.

more ...
Dec 05, 2016
Excellent
Crbrowning724 Account Holder

Never had a problem with them. I had lost my card and was able to get a new one and arrived in just few days. Love all the features on it. Love that there are no ATM fees!! All you have to do is take seconds to look it up they are everywhere. 

more ...
Dec 02, 2016
The best banking I've used.
Anonymous Account Holder

Very easy to use and the very best card you could ever have or use.

more ...
Nov 18, 2016
con artists liars be careful
Anonymous Account Holder

do not use them to pay your bills
they will pay them late
I have had this card for a year
the card itself is fine
but do not ever use the bill pay
I can't even say how many problems I had
customer service outsourced to Philippines
so
no help

more ...
Nov 16, 2016
Absolutely Terrible!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

Nothing they can do for any issues you have!!!
American express is no longer accepted by mostly everybody who matters.
Cant pay bills!! only online shopping
Will get denied for permanent card!!
No use wasting money cant pull off card no refund!!!

more ...
Nov 15, 2016
Worst banking experience in my life.
DSkiGone Account Holder

Don't lose this card, you won't be able to gain access to your funds. 

more ...
Nov 13, 2016
Excellent
Anonymous Account Holder

I have never had any issues with this card, I absolutely love it. There's no hidden fees , no fee for using your money, whatever you put on your card is what you'll have to spend.

more ...
Nov 10, 2016
Really easy to sign up and track.
Anonymous Account Holder

Nice to have to accumulate your walmart dollars

more ...
Nov 05, 2016
Linking sucks. So is loading.
Anonymous Account Holder

Tried to link a debt card so that I could pay a bill off this card. I had to call to confirm a bucnch of stuff and that would have been fine but I sat on hold while they got ahold of my bank as soon as they did I kept hearing 2 different people saying hello was very confused and then both started saying I cant hear the costomer and hung up. I said hello several times and nothing. In the 10 seconds that they said they both didn't hear me that was enough to hang up. I'd rather call and talk to the one person I need to to change the card to my bank. Also so far I can only load this card at Walmart and its 15 miles away and it takes forever to wait in a line to load it with cash so I'll be getting rid of this card. 

more ...
Nov 04, 2016
They suck
Anonymous Account Holder

-The cost of this card is $5 for the startup kit. Even if the packaging doesn't show a fee on it anywhere, or if the signs at Walmart don't indicate a fee, there is one.

-The app is great when it works.

-Understand that this product is a joint offer from American Express and Walmart. They like to blame each other for any errors you receive.

-Loading money means you have to go to a Walmart. A pain, but not totally a bad thing.

- The checks that are offered as part of the service are what drew me to this card.

-In April 2016, my account was "flagged" for unusual spending patterns. I put money on the card and then wrote a check for a bill about 4 months in a row, without using it too much otherwise. (Previously, hHubby and I switched to cash to keep our finances under control. This card seemed like a real nice way to use cash, but pay bills with credit card or their "special" checks.)  Now, months later, they tell me that it will never be turned back on, and don't bother buying a new card. There is no phone number for the invisible dept that turns off your money loading for the card.

-So for regular, normal use that you want this type of card for, with the bonus checks, you will get blocked at some point. Like right when you are trying to pay that due bill. Thanks for nothing, you useless plastic!!!!!

-You can only own one Bluebird card or Serve card product.  Only one.  EVER.   And if they choose to flag your account for "suspicious spending patterns", they are allowed to do that under the PATRIOT ACT and don't have to give you a reason or a chance to dispute it.  It is just done by a mysterious department that can't talk on the phone or answer letters.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations