Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Bluebird by American Express

2.5 out of 5 stars
109 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 18, 2016
Awesome!
Anonymous Account Holder

Had this card for quiet awhile and to this day I have yet had a problem. Boyfriend had this card first and recommended it. Since we live 200 miles away from each others I like that we can to transfers to one another anytime. Every time called the 800# my questions been answered and staff very professional. The only down part was when I got my tax refund I couldn't "cash out" at Wal Mart like the app and website states that you can up to thousands of dollars. So I went to ATM which was free but limited as to how much you can take out. I don't do direct deposit to this card. I find it easier to cash my check, pay bills then and add money to the card since the bank and Wal mart are near by. I have had the gas station authorize for more then what I paid but like the reviews above find a different gas station who doesnt put a hold on it or deal with it. What I do is put a greater amount or some to the SET ASIDE account that way if i gas up and it takes more then what i wanted i can transfer between the main account and the set aside account.. ALL WORKS OUT!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 08, 2016
terrible, misleading
Anonymous Account Holder

got 2 kits as i was replacing my bank, one for day to day transactions, one for savings.  no where on the packaging does it say you can only have one card.  now that the first kit is set up they are basically stealing the cost of the second kit.  they claim theres nothing they can do about it but how hard is it to put "you can only have one" on the outside of the packaging.  horrible customer service

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jan 20, 2017
Worst Fraud Protection Ever
Anonymous Account Holder

My card number was stolen after 2 months. I reported 3 fraud transactions. One was taken off but the other two I had to repeatedly call to get taken care of. The result? They accused ME of LYING and cancelled my account permanently. I'm out $640 and have no access to my funds. 

more ...
Jan 18, 2017
Outstanding customer service
Anonymous Account Holder

Customer service is available 24/7. Free checks, absolutely no fees of any kind. I have had a couple disputes with unauthorized use of my card in the 3 plus years. The issues was resolved rather quickly. My government check loads the last day of every month. Free ATM at specific location. I absolutely love my Bluebird.

more ...
Jan 07, 2017
A "Shady-A-F" bank like any other
Anonymous Account Holder

I had a disastrous experience with American Express Bluebird that further eroded any remaing scintilla of trust I had in commercial banks and financial institutions: For over a year, I used my Bluebird account regularly and kept it in good standing, and made deposits regularly and spent money with the card. One day, I tried to make a reload/deposit with cash at an in-person retail location and, whaddya know, they denied my deposit.  I simply couldn't reload and deposit any funds.  When I called American Express Bluebird customer service, supervisor *******, employee ID ********** told me my account was being suspended for reasons he would not or could not disclose.   He was very scant on information and told me the only way I could recover my remaining deposit balance was to make purchases with the card, which is an insidious form of secondary capital accumulation via the credit card processing fees charged to the merchant/store where one tenders their card.  He told me my only recourse was to escalate my complaint to American Express but would not give any phone numbers or email address, ONLY the following US mail address: American Express Customer Relations **************** MY TAKEAWAY CLOSING ADVICE IS: be very careful if you are able to open a Bluebird account and choose to deposit funds with them; you may have difficulty accessing or withdrawing your money and this outfit evidently seems willing to flaunt the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) on this matter.

more ...
Jan 06, 2017
Totally unusable after 4 months
Anonymous Account Holder

I had the card for approximately 4 months and was impressed with its ease of use.  Then I was notified that I may no longer add funds to the card and to close the account as soon as I withdrew the remaining balance.  This put me in a terrible bind and I called Customer Service who told me they couldn't reactivate the card nor could I open a new account.  I used Bluebird to make my utility and loan payments online.  Not to be deterred, I had my Dad open an account and after 4 months, same thing.  The email he received said the account was restricted because they observed unusual activity and he/I would no longer be able to load more funds.  There were 18 total transactions of which 16 were consistant (4 vendors x 4 months) and the other two were for gas and  a utility.

I would strongly recommend NOT getting this card.

more ...
Dec 27, 2016
I wouldn't recommend it.
SuBiEfLoW Account Holder

This card is probably better for a teenager who doesn't have bills. I tried to pay my credit cards and my car insurance and the payment got rejected evek though I had me then enough money in my account. I think as long as you don't try to pay bills with it ypur fine.

more ...
Dec 27, 2016
I would highly recommend this bank.
Anonymous Account Holder

The customer service is great at explaining their services and how it will affect the use of the card regarding certain issues.  They are friendly with a willingness to help until you are satisfied.  I highly recommend this bank.  I love the use of this card and will keep using it.

more ...
Dec 18, 2016
Dependability
willeb87 Account Holder

Easy to load money to your account. Furthermore Bluebird American Express card is fairly simple to manage your account.

more ...
Dec 10, 2016
Trouble using card
Anonymous Account Holder

Had nothing but trouble trying to get my money off of the card.  Have transferred money from bank account to use when go on vacation but when comes time to withdraw it would have a very hard time getting it.  Was issued a new card cause old one expired and now can't make a purchase.  I know the money is there cause just transferred it from the set aside account.  I DO NOT recommend this card.  I am currently looking into getting another prepaid card.  I would rather pay a monthly fee and be able to get my money without hassle then be stuck not able to get the money I put on it.

more ...
Dec 06, 2016
The best!!!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

Get a card, you'll love it.

more ...
Dec 05, 2016
Excellent
Crbrowning724 Account Holder

Never had a problem with them. I had lost my card and was able to get a new one and arrived in just few days. Love all the features on it. Love that there are no ATM fees!! All you have to do is take seconds to look it up they are everywhere. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations