Bluebird by American Express Reviews

2.5 out of 5 stars
77 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 05, 2017
Never a problem
Eric5717 Account Holder

I have had this card for about 6 years now.  Great alternative to banking.  I have never had any problems with the card or customer service.  It is AMEX so not all merchants or online bill pay will accept it, however, the overall value is worth it.  I have 2 traditional credit Mastercards to cover anytime a merchant won't accept my AMEX.  No fees at all unless I have to use an ATM that is not MoneyPass.  I like the fact I can write checks as well.  Makes paying my mortgage on my house easy.  All in all, one of the best values in preloaded cards out there in my opinion.  A lot of the "negative" reviews are just ridiculous-take into account that a good majority are "anonymous" that should tell you something.  A good card from a great company.  A+ AMEX customer service that is 24/7/365.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 31, 2017
Thieves at it's best
bullfrogtrucker Account Holder

I have been a very loyal customer for about 5 years. Direct deposit, Walmart reload, etc always great. Even had a few times that I went over, (still trying to figure out how that happened), and they covered it and I turned around and had it covered and put me well back into the positive. Last year I was arrested and spent 10 months in lock up and I have SOLID proof. My ex, who was not on the account ANYWHERE, illegally used my card and spent about $325. I got out in April and found this out and started the dispute process immediately, faxing everything that they asked of me. The declined my disputes so now I am out $325 and they refuse to do anything else about it. They are covered by FDIC and that insures me and them against illegal activities. Instead of doing what is right, they went ahead and closed my account without my permission, sent me a letter stating that PER MY REQUEST it was closed and then sent me a check for $0.88. REALLY???? That is an insult. And to think that I just got through talking my daughter and her boyfriend into getting the card so that I could send money to her free and easy. NO MORE.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jul 01, 2017
These negative reviews are BS🖕🏾
Anonymous Account Holder

I have had this card since 2014. I can buy airplane tickets, gas, pay all my bills that accept payments from Amex. Just feel like I'm someone  with that Amex card 😂😂 any way never had a problem with customer service support whenever I call " just keep saying agent/customer service/live person. Once the auto voice comes on you will need your credit card number so best to try and remember it or write it down somewhere.. 

the only major problem I had with them was earlier in 2017, when  I went to Hawaii after spending two weeks in New York (I am from Cali and live in sf) and when I landed in Hawaii my card worked because I got a shuttle to my hostel, but the 20 min ride from the airport to the shuttle amex service or something went out because when I got to the hostel they kept sliding the card and he kept  declining, luckily there was a atm right out front but even the atm kept saying declining me so called Amex and they told me all service to the card was out and wouldn't be back till the following morning luckily I had already paid for one night at the hotel it just sucked because I couldn't actually enjoy my first night in Hawaii because I don't even carry cash any more I just have both my jobs paycheck go direct deposit to the card so easy

I can take money free of charge from any us bank anyway or log on to my account and send some to Walmart to be picked up by me if I loose my card. List it once had to wait a whole week for another one.. 

they changed their check policy glad I stacked up on the old ones (I believe now you have to pay for checks)  but the checks are so easy to use and the best thing about these checks is no one can just steal one and write themselves one because the need a authorization code written on the front of the check to be cashed  and only you have access to that code

to hAve a set aside account (which I call mine the rainy day fund) is perfect that way I can keep some money just available and others separate that way if I book some hotel and I miss the first night the can change my card but once I move the money to the set aside account I won't be charged it will just get declined so the perfect 

i like the the card I tell my friends to get one the only and I do mean only down side to this card is that you can NOT get cash back anywhere no where at all..so you have to take from any money pass atm (and there's a website for that to find one in ur area)  or any us bank 

more ...
Jun 28, 2017
LMAO
SChakessS08 Account Holder

This is a prepaid card, not a bank, you ****tards... What the **** did you think?

more ...
Jun 27, 2017
Hold for refund of purchase
Anonymous Account Holder

I've had a blue bird account for over 3 years now. I use them because I love to get paid 2 days sooner. However, never use the card to purchase anything especially for hotel stays. They place an authorization hold on your funds and it's not released for 30 days. I learned the hard way. Also, if you return an item they can place the credit on hold for review. I called customer service to ask why and they wouldn't say but mentioned the hold would be on the account for 7 days. If I could get my payroll check sooner from another company, I would definitely close this account. 

more ...
Jun 23, 2017
Not very reliable
Anonymous Account Holder

That they don't honor their words, also that getting this card. You will be very disappointed in the refund policy and how they do not honor their word. Stay away, I will be closing my account shortly.

more ...
Jun 17, 2017
Criminals
Anonymous Account Holder

I had my card stolen, the bank would not approve my funds back, they told me pretty much that I was a liar and that I made the charges when in fact I had proof that these charges were made by someone else online. In order not to pay me, they froze my account, they ended my account 2 days later, so I couldn't even go into my account and look at my previous purchases anymore. These people are criminals, if you lose money or your car gets stolen you will never get it back.

more ...
Jun 10, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

I had the card and it was ok till it let charges be approved that exceeded the amount of money i had on the card - so that I ended up with a negative $50.00 that i had to pay back to get the card back to a positive balance.  As a prepaid card - it should have said insufficient funds and not let it go over what i had on the card

more ...
Jun 10, 2017
Bad
Anonymous Account Holder

I tried to put money on my card by photo check. It would not accept. called and spent almost an hour and ws told they wouldn't accept the check and wouldn;t tell me why. A month later had problems--took a long time and finally was told they cancelled my account for reasons they wont tell me. Worst "bank ever.

more ...
Jun 05, 2017
Never a problem
Eric5717 Account Holder

I have had this card for about 6 years now.  Great alternative to banking.  I have never had any problems with the card or customer service.  It is AMEX so not all merchants or online bill pay will accept it, however, the overall value is worth it.  I have 2 traditional credit Mastercards to cover anytime a merchant won't accept my AMEX.  No fees at all unless I have to use an ATM that is not MoneyPass.  I like the fact I can write checks as well.  Makes paying my mortgage on my house easy.  All in all, one of the best values in preloaded cards out there in my opinion.  A lot of the "negative" reviews are just ridiculous-take into account that a good majority are "anonymous" that should tell you something.  A good card from a great company.  A+ AMEX customer service that is 24/7/365.  

more ...
Jun 02, 2017
Stay Away from. it!!
Anonymous Account Holder

This card is almost completely Useless! I tried paying bills and go other things online only to be told they don't accept payments from that bank. Then, if you lose your card, you're screwed because you will have no access to your money, not even a temporary way to access it. Unless of course you know someone else who has a Bluebird card, then you can transfer money to that other persons account, who in turn would withdraw the money from their account to give back to you. Really??!! That's what they came up with as a way to get your money? And customer service? Forget it. Because I lost my card, i couldn't enter my card # to get to customer service! I got on Ask Amex on Twitter to ask for a resolution to contacting customer service. They told me to press 0 as soon as you hear the music then press # after each "I'm sorry. I didn't get your card number" a total of 5 times! Really? So you need a backdoor secret way to contact Bluebird customer service. They don't advertise this in their "We're just like a bank without all the fees" in all their marketing. Besides, once you get through to them, you're stuck talking to someone foreign. Stay clear of this card. It is essentially useless!

more ...
May 31, 2017
Thieves at it's best
bullfrogtrucker Account Holder

I have been a very loyal customer for about 5 years. Direct deposit, Walmart reload, etc always great. Even had a few times that I went over, (still trying to figure out how that happened), and they covered it and I turned around and had it covered and put me well back into the positive. Last year I was arrested and spent 10 months in lock up and I have SOLID proof. My ex, who was not on the account ANYWHERE, illegally used my card and spent about $325. I got out in April and found this out and started the dispute process immediately, faxing everything that they asked of me. The declined my disputes so now I am out $325 and they refuse to do anything else about it. They are covered by FDIC and that insures me and them against illegal activities. Instead of doing what is right, they went ahead and closed my account without my permission, sent me a letter stating that PER MY REQUEST it was closed and then sent me a check for $0.88. REALLY???? That is an insult. And to think that I just got through talking my daughter and her boyfriend into getting the card so that I could send money to her free and easy. NO MORE.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations