Bluebird by American Express Reviews

2.5 out of 5 stars
52 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 05, 2017
Never a problem
Eric5717 Account Holder

I have had this card for about 6 years now.  Great alternative to banking.  I have never had any problems with the card or customer service.  It is AMEX so not all merchants or online bill pay will accept it, however, the overall value is worth it.  I have 2 traditional credit Mastercards to cover anytime a merchant won't accept my AMEX.  No fees at all unless I have to use an ATM that is not MoneyPass.  I like the fact I can write checks as well.  Makes paying my mortgage on my house easy.  All in all, one of the best values in preloaded cards out there in my opinion.  A lot of the "negative" reviews are just ridiculous-take into account that a good majority are "anonymous" that should tell you something.  A good card from a great company.  A+ AMEX customer service that is 24/7/365.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 31, 2017
Thieves at it's best
bullfrogtrucker Account Holder

I have been a very loyal customer for about 5 years. Direct deposit, Walmart reload, etc always great. Even had a few times that I went over, (still trying to figure out how that happened), and they covered it and I turned around and had it covered and put me well back into the positive. Last year I was arrested and spent 10 months in lock up and I have SOLID proof. My ex, who was not on the account ANYWHERE, illegally used my card and spent about $325. I got out in April and found this out and started the dispute process immediately, faxing everything that they asked of me. The declined my disputes so now I am out $325 and they refuse to do anything else about it. They are covered by FDIC and that insures me and them against illegal activities. Instead of doing what is right, they went ahead and closed my account without my permission, sent me a letter stating that PER MY REQUEST it was closed and then sent me a check for $0.88. REALLY???? That is an insult. And to think that I just got through talking my daughter and her boyfriend into getting the card so that I could send money to her free and easy. NO MORE.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Dec 08, 2017
Family account options limited
Anonymous Account Holder

I signed up for this card to switch my kids from a traditional savings account over to an account that they had more access to along with an iphone app for managing. It gives me control over their accounts and allows sign up at 13 years of age. But that is where the advantages end. As my kids have grown, the limitations of this card have become too much of a hassel. They say it functions "like" a checking account, but in reality, it does not. First, my son got his first job, but we were not able to set up his paycheck to be direct deposited to his account. Banks only see the main account holder's name and refuse to deposit a check in his name, even to my main account. Second, we tried to set this up as a payment method for his Target Red Card but it keeps getting declined, probably because it is not a true bank account or my name on the main account does not match his. Third, it is not great when the kids start driving because it will hold $100 everytime you get gas. Another side note, it only allows one "Set Aside" Account for savings. I would like it to allow Set Aside Accounts for all of my kids so that they do not have access to their entire balance. All in all, I was excited that this card could be set up for kids as young as 13, but I should have waited until my kids were 16 and got a better alternative than this one.

more ...
Nov 30, 2017
horrible
Anonymous Account Holder

good for loading and transfering money to family members, simply horrible for anything else!!!

more ...
Oct 25, 2017
Lmarie807 Account Holder

When registering your card after you have paid 5$ for the card if they feel one letter one number one anything is wrong they will not activate your so basically your sol. And I was given zero options on getting my money back Very disappointing because I used them years ago and decided to go back. I would now not recommend to my worse enemy.

more ...
Oct 15, 2017
Terrible
Anonymous Account Holder

Stay away from it

more ...
Sep 25, 2017
DONT DO IT
Marklee84 Account Holder

Strike 1: No ACH drafts. I "paid" my bills and they all bounced because Bluebird doesn't allow any company to remove funds. You have to use the Billpay option and some companies do not use Billpay. 

Strike 2: Card requires drivers license verification at many places like Target etc. Good luck sending your spouse to the store with this card. 

Strike 3: Will get declined often, even at places that accept AMEX. JC Penney declined it as well as the local gas station. 

Do yourself a favor and stick with cash or a real bank account. 

more ...
Sep 25, 2017
Marklee84 Account Holder

DONT DO IT! 

Strike 1: No ACH drafts. I "paid" my bills and they all bounced because Bluebird doesn't allow any company to remove funds. You have to use the Billpay option and some companies do not use Billpay. 

Strike 2: Card requires drivers license verification at many places like Target etc. Good luck sending your spouse to the store with this card. 

Strike 3: Will get declined often, even at places that accept AMEX. JC Penney declined it as well as the local gas station. 

Do yourself a favor and stick with cash or a real bank account. 

more ...
Sep 22, 2017
Worst company ever!!!!!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

Do not use this financial institution. Everyone you speak to gives you different information. Before I got bluebird I looked into make sure my gf check could be deposited into my account and was told it could. I called a few days before it was to be deposited to make sure everything was ok and was informed it was good everything was set up properly and even though direct deposit was in her name it wouldn't be an issue. Pay day comes and no money so I call and was informed that since it wasnt in my name the funds woild be rejected so now I have to wait 3-5 business days to pay my rent now with a $50 late fee and all they can do is apologize for the mis information. You're dealing with peoples money I think you should all be on the same page here!!! Ugh

more ...
Sep 17, 2017
Good if you like cheap bank
Anonymous Account Holder

They can shutdown your account at anytime they like. I would never consider banking with them.

more ...
Sep 03, 2017
Was and is still great
Anonymous Account Holder

Just recently I am not able to add money from my debit card, a minor problem.  Just have to go to Walmart and add money for free. Customer service is horrible though, but free atm, free bill pay, free reload, so who cares. 

more ...
Aug 24, 2017
HORRIBLE CARD!
Anonymous Account Holder

STEER CLEAR OF THIS CARD!  I had a Bluebird credit card for nearly 3 years (which housed a Master account, a sub-account and my Walmart Bucks).  The card policies were awful.  I could transfer funds from my master acct to my sub-acct, but NOT from my sub-acct back into my Master acct.  Additionally, every time I attempted an outside funding contribution into my Bluebird acct, "suspicious activity" was flagged on my acct.  Also, I attempted to set-up a auto-credit into my Bluebird acct.  Their system attempted every month, for 13 months, without success (maybe a software issue on their end).  Finally, on the 14th month, the auto-funding was successful, without any explanation.  Worked for 2 months and failed again!  Tried funding from my bank acct.  For whatever reason, Bluebird would not accept funds from my Wells Fargo account (yes, I had plenty of funds in the account and yes, the account was established (10+ years).  Yesterday, I called Amer Ex Bluebird to close my account.  I spoke with 3 different reps over 45 minutes.  None of which could helpl me or close out my acct.   I was told that they needed another funding source verified before they could close the acct.  Not sure why they need my checking account info when I'm trying to close out my account which has over $450 on it and never any penalties, fees or fines, but okay.  Was told I'd receive an email with a link to login to my acct to provide the info they required.  Rcvd the email it was just a hyperlink to log into my acct and view my special "current account promotions".  Called customer service back.  Told them I just want my $450 back and my account closed.  After 20 minutes on the phone, the rep told me she didn't have clearance to close an account with a balance on it.  My request was forwarded to "upper management" and I should be receiving an email in  5 business days regarding my request to close.  Do not get this card.  Transfers are restricted, funding is hit or miss depending on their system, customer service is poor and account transactions, including closures, is a nightmare.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations