Bluebird by American Express

2.4 out of 5 stars
105 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 30, 2017
Never a fee, excellent customer service!
Anonymous Account Holder

Happy as can be! Great service & no fees!! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Oct 18, 2016
Easy to use but may drop you at any time
wildboy211 Account Holder

So i had a American Express Bluebird card for about 2 years. The application was easy, everything seemed to go smoothly, and rarely had issues. Then one day I saw a charge that I did not recognize. I called them up, they said they were going to replace my card. I had direct deposit going to the account, so any money that I had on the account had to wait until I got the new card. I got the new card about a week later. I also got my direct deposit deposited that day. Activated my card, checked my account, the money was there. So I left the house and drove about a hour to my friends house. I got to the gas station at my friends house and tried to use my new card. Declined. Checked my balance. It was now $0. Called up customer service and asked why my balance was now zero, and he put me through to another agent. This agent said they denied my fraudulent card, and cancelled my card, and told me to cut up my card and to wait 7-10 days for a check in the mail. I was now a hour away from my house with no gas and a non working card. What is a check going to do a week from now. I asked them why they didnt call me or send me a email, and he said another department was supposed to do that, but I couldn't talk to that department. I got home and I did get the emails about 20 minutes after I talked to them on the phone.

So to recap. Easy to signup, easy to use, but they will drop at the drop of a hat, and they may or may not tell you about it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Mar 28, 2017
I only use for on-line purchases. ONLY
Anonymous Account Holder

I use for online purchases only. I add only the amount of money I plan to use. It allows me to make purchases in places I do not to have access to my bank cards,  I added my daughter to the account for an easy transfer of money to her. It can be done at a no cost. Perfect for my college girl in need of money. For those reasons, I maintain the card.

more ...
Mar 26, 2017
Great for what I need!
Anonymous Account Holder

Works well for me.

more ...
Mar 22, 2017
****
Anonymous Account Holder

This banks is set up poorly, It is very difficul to do really anything, they alwasy put my card on hold and a lot of places dont take american express. I hate it. 

more ...
Mar 17, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Account Holder

Don't ever lose this card if you don't know anyone with this card you will not get your money off of it at all it's crazy.

more ...
Mar 15, 2017
Horrible Service
Anonymous Account Holder

BlueBird has a horrible customer service!!! I spoke with Supervisor Faith and the Manager Amanda. Who proceeded to lie to about the system being down because there were refusing to help me. I made a dispute for a charge on my card and which ended in favor of the merchant because of the documentation they have received. I ask to receive said documents so I can access them and was told first I have to call back, than the system is down, than to call back because it will take 4 hrs for the system to be put back up which was a total lie. If this is how this place handles their business I will NO LONGER be a customer. I will take my chances with a real bank. 

more ...
Mar 10, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

It is amazing

more ...
Mar 10, 2017
I LOVE THIS CARD ITS GREAT , EASY TO USE
Anonymous Account Holder

AMERICAN EXPRESS HAS GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE

more ...
Mar 06, 2017
HORRIBLE
Anonymous Account Holder

Has held my money hostage for over a month. I called to report a lost card. They responded by closing the account, not sending a replacement card and with repeated promises to mail a check with my funds in 7-10 days. Multiple calls later and I still don't have my money and was just told that my "case is still being investigated." Asked to speak to someone higher up and was told NO. Terrible, awful and a blight on the American Express brand. Beware!

more ...
Feb 26, 2017
Terrible
Anonymous Account Holder

There are no banks in the United States that you can visit and I can Never speak with a supervisor. I have had them for about 3 years and the last straw was today when I was on hold over an hour and a half. They do not follow proper channels for contacting you only what they feel is best so you cannot contact them back. Even though its prepaid you still have limits. Complete rip off. DO NOT USE THIS CARD VERY FRAUDULENT AND NOT UN THE U.S ......

more ...
Feb 19, 2017
So far it's good
Anonymous Account Holder

Always answer the phone always answer questions that I've ask so far it's good

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations