Bluebird by American Express

2.4 out of 5 stars
106 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 25, 2013
So far so good
Anonymous Account Holder

I've had my Bluebird card for a couple of months.  I am currently haveing my paycheck direct deposited to it after having an overdraft issue with my checking account. 

The ONLY issue I have had so far was that I used it at the Gas pump to pay for gas once.  BIG Mistake!!!!  They set aside $100 to cover the the purchase as an "authorization".  I about blew a gasket considering I was going out of town for the weekend!.  I called and vented, which the CSR calmly allowed, then he explained what happened.  He then REMOVED the hold!  Excellent(although I had threatened to cancel the card if it couldn't be fixed).

So, here's what I recommend:

1.  DO NOT waste $5 buying a started kit at Walmart & adding money.  Go to www.bluebird.com & sign up there.  You will save $5 & you will know if it will be approved or not.

2.  DO NOT preauthorize Gas at the pump.  They will hold $100 if you do!  Pay for the gas by withdrawing cash from an atm(my local gas station has a money pass atm) or just prepay for a specific amount(yes, it makes filling up harder, but well worth saving yourself the aggrevation).

3.DO NOT use their app to deposit checks.  It takes at LEAST a week.  Not worth the wait.

4.  DO ceate subaccounts & get cards for your kids.  My son loves the fact that he has his own card(he's 16).  He uses it to pay for his XBox live & other things that I would have to take care of for him.  He just gives me the money & I load it to my card & transfer it to his subaccount(evidently you can't load funds with a subaccount card from what I have experienced).

I was also able to get 100 of their checks free(I think that offer is done).  The checks require you to pre-authorize them.  I LOVE that feature.  I have tried for years to get banks to allow me to notate on my on-line banking that I wrote a check & have those funds set aside to cover it so I don't bounce & have to pay an overdraft fee.  The banks always ask "Why would you want that?"  This is a great way to manage your money & make sure you don't overdraw!  & if your checks get stolen they are useless because AmEx will not honor any check that wasn't preauthorized.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 09, 2014
Terrible customer service
Anonymous Account Holder

I have had this card for two weeks and have already had several problems. All I wanted to do was be able to give my son the convenience of having a prepaid credit card. Doesnt' work that way. I have had to contact customer service to figure out even how to navagate the website. It is very confusing. Customer service does not have English speaking techs and I could barely make out what they were tyring to tell me. I ended up just hanging up and figuring it out for myself.  My son tried to make a purchase only to find out that the tranfer I made 5 days ago didn't get onto his card. I enabled Auto accept, but for some reason, it didn't work. So, once again I had to contact customer service. Terrible experience. Now that my son has tried to use the card with no money on it, they put a hold on it. Get a prepaid Walmart Card or other company and pay the $3 fee. This card is just not worth the hassle. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Apr 21, 2017
Better than other prepaid cards but....
jman16165 Account Holder

You are better off staying with a bank. I lost my card, called them and they said they will send me a new card. Not a problem, found my card they refused to reactivate it. They would not let me get a temporary card until my card came in the mail. I also could not do a cash pick up either. I was without money for a week.  I ended up opening an account with Wells Fargo.

more ...
Apr 06, 2017
A good pick for a prepaid card
Anonymous Account Holder

I like there's no monthly fee and i can use it to buy things on the internet insted of my bank card it make me feel safe

more ...
Mar 31, 2017
dont ever get this blue bird card
Anonymous Account Holder

try to withdraw some money but i did not get it, assistant manager in walmart said it out of order thats why i did not get the money and receipt. the problem is i saw my withdrawal from my blue bird account and got the minus from my account. Now i have to wait for investigation for few day and want me fill out form for dispute and it will take 10 days! Not a good for reloadable card!

more ...
Mar 30, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

i use this for Walmart point rewards and love when they double the point but hasnt done that in a while...

more ...
Mar 28, 2017
I only use for on-line purchases. ONLY
Anonymous Account Holder

I use for online purchases only. I add only the amount of money I plan to use. It allows me to make purchases in places I do not to have access to my bank cards,  I added my daughter to the account for an easy transfer of money to her. It can be done at a no cost. Perfect for my college girl in need of money. For those reasons, I maintain the card.

more ...
Mar 26, 2017
Great for what I need!
Anonymous Account Holder

Works well for me.

more ...
Mar 22, 2017
****
Anonymous Account Holder

This banks is set up poorly, It is very difficul to do really anything, they alwasy put my card on hold and a lot of places dont take american express. I hate it. 

more ...
Mar 17, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Account Holder

Don't ever lose this card if you don't know anyone with this card you will not get your money off of it at all it's crazy.

more ...
Mar 15, 2017
Horrible Service
Anonymous Account Holder

BlueBird has a horrible customer service!!! I spoke with Supervisor Faith and the Manager Amanda. Who proceeded to lie to about the system being down because there were refusing to help me. I made a dispute for a charge on my card and which ended in favor of the merchant because of the documentation they have received. I ask to receive said documents so I can access them and was told first I have to call back, than the system is down, than to call back because it will take 4 hrs for the system to be put back up which was a total lie. If this is how this place handles their business I will NO LONGER be a customer. I will take my chances with a real bank. 

more ...
Mar 10, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

It is amazing

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations