Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Bluebird by American Express

2.4 out of 5 stars
101 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 30, 2017
Never a fee, excellent customer service!
Anonymous Account Holder

Happy as can be! Great service & no fees!! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 24, 2016
Customer service & Lost card
powder925 Account Holder

So I have had this Card for 2 years and never had a problem expect for not everybdy excepts the card and the atm withdraw fees. Other then that the cards not bad until 2 weeks ago I lost my card. i called customer service and told them I lost my card, but said I will cancel it once a bill got paid cause I didnt want my account to get suspended. So once bill was paid called customer service selected lost stolen card. spoke to a female who I told her I wanted my card replace now that my bill was paid.  Lady said no problem it will take 7 to 10 business days to get ur new card. 

So a week goes by and I decide to call them to just make sure i was getting my new card soon. Low and behold the Custimer Service Rep tells me theres no claim or notes put in that requests for a new card. I told them when I spoke to them and talked to a supervisor and they were no help and kept telling me that I have to request for a card again have to wait another 7 to 10 business days to get the card. I Pleaded with them to see if they could get the card here faster since the 1st is only a week away and I have rent to pay. They didnt want to hear it or I feel they didnt even care. I wish the company could make it easier to transfer money to other debit card  from diffent banks like BOA or CItizens, etc. After all this craziness over a lost card it makes me want to close my account and go somewhere else thats more helpful. crap cant even close my account still have to wait 7 to 10 business to even recieve a check with your money. Go figure 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Feb 19, 2017
So far it's good
Anonymous Account Holder

Always answer the phone always answer questions that I've ask so far it's good

more ...
Feb 15, 2017
Simply the best
Anonymous Account Holder

I hav had this card for almost 3 years now and live it only problems I ever have is when I travel and then I swipe the card I can use it about 5-10 times before they lock me out because they may think someone else has stolen it or if I'm trying to by something for more then 900$ they will decline the transaction and send a email telling me to call them... plenty of free atms near me. Never had a problem with the direct deposit... whenever I call never on the phone for more the  10 min

more ...
Feb 14, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Account Holder

My wallet was stolen and I made this comapnay aware that someone stole my creditials the rep who handled the call was very rude and seemed to not care I had money missing out of my account, I dont even know what he noted bc I got an email saying the dispute was denied and the transactions were authorized when i called back furious becasue I know I did not authorize such transactions I was told the matter was already handled no notes as in to how they came to that conclusion but I could write them for an appeal. I asked could I email them, and was told no I needed to write them bc there decision hjas already been made. I said on the basis of what grounds bc I called you all canceled the card, and repsorted the day I lost it, I was told nothing they can do . Basically saying you out of luck and your situation does nto matter. DO NOT USE THEM RIP OFF

more ...
Feb 13, 2017
Terrible!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

DO NOT USE THIS CARD FOR HOTEL DEPOSITS!!! They say they may hold your funds for up to 30 days but they definitely will, they will hold onto your money for the entire 30 days. Even after o called the hotel and confirmed everything was fine in the room the bluebird customer disservice refused to let me get my deposit back and it's been 27 days

more ...
Feb 03, 2017
Absolutely horrific experience
Anonymous Account Holder

Had this card and account with a relatively high balance for over 4 years.  Had a fraudulant charge come up on a statement and reported it.  VERY long story short - they cancelled my card and made it so I could not even go online and log in to check my balance. They WOULD NOT tell me why on the phone, but said it had to do with the fraudulant charge.  They simply cancelled my account and said that they would mail the check in 10 days.  This is unacceptable.  Not only did I spend 2 hours of my day yesterday "on hold" with a supervisor who could tell me NOTHING, I now have no money I can get access to.  I googled this last night and YEP - it has happened to THOUSANDS of people.  

more ...
Jan 31, 2017
A freaking headache
Anonymous Account Holder

As bluebird just updated thier policy in November as i was told. Mind you i never received notice of the change. What makes me angry is that the hold on the account from hotels and rental cars stays on for 30days regardless if the hold was released by the merchant. I feel its unfair practice, 30 days just because. Why do they need to hold my money if the merchant has been paid? What are they using it for? I've had this card 5+ years now and has NEVER had this happen. I know once the hold falls off I'll only use this card to easily send my kids money to family account while thier in school. I'm better off using my credit card and bank debit.

more ...
Jan 30, 2017
Never a fee, excellent customer service!
Anonymous Account Holder

Happy as can be! Great service & no fees!! 

more ...
Jan 27, 2017
Worst prepaid card ever
mhetrick Account Holder

While they do make it easy to get money on the card (Walmart cash loads, direct deposit), getting the cash off is very difficult.  You can not transfer to something like a checking account or savings.  Also, do not use if for ANY type of hotel or car rental authorization as it will take 30+ days to receive your money back.  They will also add an additional 15% charge on top of the authorization, meaning if you have a $100 hold, it will show as $115.

Customer Service can do nothing about it, even if you have proof of no charges from the hotel (both verbal and in writing).  When I get my money back, I will be cancelling this card immediately and never using it again.

more ...
Jan 20, 2017
Worst Fraud Protection Ever
Anonymous Account Holder

My card number was stolen after 2 months. I reported 3 fraud transactions. One was taken off but the other two I had to repeatedly call to get taken care of. The result? They accused ME of LYING and cancelled my account permanently. I'm out $640 and have no access to my funds. 

more ...
Jan 18, 2017
Outstanding customer service
Anonymous Account Holder

Customer service is available 24/7. Free checks, absolutely no fees of any kind. I have had a couple disputes with unauthorized use of my card in the 3 plus years. The issues was resolved rather quickly. My government check loads the last day of every month. Free ATM at specific location. I absolutely love my Bluebird.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations