Bluebird by American Express Reviews

2.5 out of 5 stars
50 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 05, 2017
Never a problem
Eric5717 Account Holder

I have had this card for about 6 years now.  Great alternative to banking.  I have never had any problems with the card or customer service.  It is AMEX so not all merchants or online bill pay will accept it, however, the overall value is worth it.  I have 2 traditional credit Mastercards to cover anytime a merchant won't accept my AMEX.  No fees at all unless I have to use an ATM that is not MoneyPass.  I like the fact I can write checks as well.  Makes paying my mortgage on my house easy.  All in all, one of the best values in preloaded cards out there in my opinion.  A lot of the "negative" reviews are just ridiculous-take into account that a good majority are "anonymous" that should tell you something.  A good card from a great company.  A+ AMEX customer service that is 24/7/365.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 31, 2017
Thieves at it's best
bullfrogtrucker Account Holder

I have been a very loyal customer for about 5 years. Direct deposit, Walmart reload, etc always great. Even had a few times that I went over, (still trying to figure out how that happened), and they covered it and I turned around and had it covered and put me well back into the positive. Last year I was arrested and spent 10 months in lock up and I have SOLID proof. My ex, who was not on the account ANYWHERE, illegally used my card and spent about $325. I got out in April and found this out and started the dispute process immediately, faxing everything that they asked of me. The declined my disputes so now I am out $325 and they refuse to do anything else about it. They are covered by FDIC and that insures me and them against illegal activities. Instead of doing what is right, they went ahead and closed my account without my permission, sent me a letter stating that PER MY REQUEST it was closed and then sent me a check for $0.88. REALLY???? That is an insult. And to think that I just got through talking my daughter and her boyfriend into getting the card so that I could send money to her free and easy. NO MORE.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Feb 19, 2018
DO NOT USE FAMILY ACCOUNTS
Anonymous Account Holder

I am on the 3rd month of filing disputes because someone has either HACKED into the American Expresses Bluebird family accounts database OR they have someone stealing from inside.  I'm on the third replacement card. I only activated after the prior dispute was resolved and money refunded and money moved back to master account. Guess what. They have the NEW replacement card number and charge AGAIN. Charges from WHOEASY and GNS AMERICAN EXPRESS.  Have NEVER made any online purchases to these places. Caller rep for American Express had the nerve to tell me or my daughter not to input the number for online purchases AND this is AFTER I told her I had just activated the new replacement card, it was still in my wallet, had not given it to my daughter and HAD NOT BEEN INPUT anywhere.  THe card has also been in an rfid protected wallet and could not have been scanned that way.  AMERICAN EXPRESS has a problem in their system somewhere. But they will take 2 - 3 weeks to investigate my dispute before returning money.  DONE..DONE..DONE. I'll find another way to send money to my kids.  

more ...
Feb 19, 2018
Horrible Bank, Horrible Customer Service
tlbtler2 Account Holder

HORRIBLE prepaid card!  You cant even do debit card transactions from a POS.  Then I had a situation a couple of weeks ago where I linked a debit card to my Bluebird account to do a money transfer.  How about Bluebird used an authorization from a successful $200 funds transfer to take an additional $200 off of my card the following morning.  The only problem was the money was never transferred to my Bluebird card.  It was almost like the money vanished into thin air.  The transaction showed up on the transaction history of the card I used to deposit money into the Bluebird account.  However, Bluebird had no record of it at all.  When I called their customer service, they couldn't seem to find the transaction either.  So, my bank was nice enough to credit me $200 until they could investigate what happened with my money and they waived overnight shipping on a new debit card.  But Bluebird did absolutely NOTHING to fix it.  I reached out to AMEX on Twitter and they were very nonchalant about the whole thing.  They didn't care.  Needless to say, if you want to protect your money DO NOT go out and purchase a Bluebird card.  If you do have a Bluebird card STOP TRANSFERRING FUNDS FROM YOUR OTHER DEBIT CARDS NOW!  They will take your money from you and you won't see it until MAYBE 10 days later when the transaction is no longer pending.  Oh and now I can't login to the website to remove the remaining money that I do have from the card so that I can close this account for good.  

more ...
Feb 18, 2018
Their entire site crashed yesterday.
Anonymous Account Holder

They declined purchases even tho money was on card and they still took the money out. They double processed transactions. Now they are saying it won't be fixed for 7 days! Taking my money and running after this is resolved. You can't even speak to someone for help. Bad customer service!

more ...
Feb 09, 2018
tlbtler2 Account Holder

DO NOT BANK WITH BLUEBIRD!! They made a fraudulent transaction in the amount of $200 from a debit card that I linked to transfer funds to my Bluebird account.  While I did make a transfer of $200 the day before, for some reason at 2:03 am the next day they made another unauthorized charge of $200.  When I called Bluebird customer service they stated that they did not make the charge and that there is no way possible that they could've done this.  However, my bank did say that it was Bluebird that made the transaction.  When I did try to explain this to a Bluebird customer service supervisor, she was very rude and kept saying that there was no way that it could have happened.  I was very frustrated because the transaction was pending and this could've been refunded as soon as I called in, but my Bluebird transaction history did not show that an attempt to take $200 off of my account was even made by Bluebird.  So, at this point, it looks like I'm out of $200 until my bank can investigate and figure out what really happened and Bluebird gets to continue to say they didn't do it.  I think I'm going to take legal action.  I needed that money to help get me a car today and now I can't because Bluebird is out here making fraudulent charges that they have no record for.  

more ...
Jan 29, 2018
Great and easy to use
PhrenchDad Account Holder

We use this card strictly as a means of providing funds to family members.  For that is has been amazing.  Loading money from my primary bank is very easy once the account is setup.  Managing adding funds and tranferring between cards is easy with the app or website.  Very happy with my experience so far.

more ...
Jan 27, 2018
Difficult!!!!!°°
Anonymous Account Holder

No comments

more ...
Jan 27, 2018
What Are All The Complaints About
EZAO Account Holder

Jeepers, I don't see what all the complaints are about. I have had this card for a long time now and have never had any problems with it. My direct deposit is in there super fast, pre-authorize a check to pay a bill and it's as good as cash (will never bounce) I use it to pay for all my online shopping & digital purchases, set aside is helping put down payment money away for a new car this year & the best part of all NO FEES!!! Banks suck. If you want a traditional type bank go to a small town bank or take Clark Howard's advice and join a credit union. BlueBird Rocks

more ...
Jan 24, 2018
Fraud
Anonymous Account Holder

I submitted a bank transfer which normally would take 2-3 days.    I called bluebird who told me it was my bank who had not accepted the transfer and that it can take 5 business days depending on my bank.  I have waited now 2 weeks and not only has the funds not transferred but my bank has no record of a transfer request.  I then called Bluebird back to be told that my bank had to cancel the transfer.  WHAT??? My bank has no record of a transfer request.  I spoke to a supervisor who then told me that it was a "Technical Issue" and that it would be resolved by 1 PM.  2:00 I called again because no transfer.  Was told end of business day.  Call the following morning since still no transfer and my money was not returned to my account.  I was then told the technical issue was resolved and that by 2:00 PM my transfer would happen.  Still no transfer no money no help.  STAY AWAY from Bluebird.  They have been a nightmare to deal with.  I will be severing all ties as soon as my money is returned to me if that ever happens without me getting a lawyer involved.  

more ...
Jan 24, 2018
ACH withdrawal takes forever!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

I opened a Bluebird account to make it easier for someone who owes me money to send funds. On January 13th, I received payment to my account and had it withdrawn into my checking account with another bank. It has been 12 days since I initiated the transfer and the transaction still shows processing. After countless calls to Bluebird, money is still nowhere to be found and I get a different reply from each of the representatives I spoke with. The last customer agent told me that Bluebird is having a transcript problem in transmitting funds to other banks, whatever the h** that means. I asked to have the transaction cancelled but they said there’s no way to do it while transaction is pending. This is unacceptable!!! 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations