Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

BBVA Compass

1.3 out of 5 stars
17 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Oct 29, 2016
Horrible bank!
Anonymous Account Holder

I had been banking with them for 6 months. I opened the account just for my weekly deposits and Convienience because it was close to my job. After 6 months, three account holds on my direct deposit and horrible service I'd had enough. In all my years of banking I've never been with a bank that freezes your account after 6 months of weekly reoccurring deposits. Their excuse was they needed to verify my ID. Sure they did I just come in weekly to withdraw cash and get money orders with my good looks and no ID. Even after verification this last time the Rep handling my account was the main reason I closed my account. She lied about calling me and claim my AZ DL and registration wasn't real. I would not recommend this bank at all.

more ...
Oct 02, 2016
ATTENTION!! They committed FRAUD!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

I stopped to open a checking account at 1610 N.Zaragosa El Paso, TX 79936. The banker FELICIA VASQUEZ filled up the information and when requesting to sign the documents I read that the Clear Benefit Package was included. I told her that I was not interested in having that package. She advised me that there is no way to open an account without having the Clear Benefit Package. I insisted because sounded illogical for me but again she told me that she could not open an account without accepting the benefit package. So I did open the account the way she told me. I went to the main branch (downtown) to verified the information provided and the banker told me what she said was INCORRECT, that any account can be open without accepting the benefit package. I also called your customer service line on 9/12/2016 and a representative by the name of Benjamin ID # 314091 helped me, he did provided good customer service, and he stated that what THE LOCAL BANKER TOLD ME WAS NOT TRUE.

I have been banking with you since 2005 before the bank was BBVA Compass and I have seen how your customer service is worst and worst every time. Every different branch or individual tells you different things about the same concern. They are totally unprofessional, unreliable and unethical. Basically FELICIA VASQUEZ committed FRAUD by trying to meet her selling quota. That is completely unacceptable. I will never be BBVA Compass bank customer again!

La empleada de BBVA Compass FELICIA VASQUEZ comete fraude al engañar a los usuarios diciendoles que tienen que aceptar beneficios obligatoriamente si desean abrir una cuenta nueva lo cual es MENTIRA. Los beneficios tienen un costo mensual aunque el primer mes sean "gratis".  NO ES OBLIGACION ACEPTAR ESOS "BENEFICIOS" para abrir una cuenta de cheques. No le crean solo quiere vender. 

NUNCA SERE CLIENTE DE ESTE BANCO JAMAS!

more ...
Sep 13, 2016
Worst bank ever!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

Customer service is a joke. 

Get the deposit back....... Good luck !!! 

Run from this bank as fast as you can.

more ...
Aug 17, 2016
bad bank
Anonymous Account Holder

very bad bank bad customer service

more ...
Jul 20, 2016
Worst experience of my life
Anonymous Account Holder

I will stir myself and my clients  away from business with this " bank "

more ...
Jun 26, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

The WORST BANK I'VE EVER BANKED WITH.  DO NOT BANK WITH THIS COMPANY

more ...
Jun 11, 2016
Thieves
Anonymous Account Holder

I would first say that you have to realize all banks are thieves. They create money out of thin air and then loan it with interest. But specifically on the card, you will get different answers from different representatives. When you call them on it, they will say that information is correct. When you tell them you recorded the conversation and can play it back for them, they will say that they are not allowed to listen to other representatives conversations and must end the call.... They will give you the wrong closing date which is when you want to have a zero balance to boost your credit score. They will charge you a Foreign Transaction fees when you are in Puerto Rico or the U.S. Virgin Islands. Reason: BBVA says these places are "Foreign" to the U.S. No, I'm not kidding. I have the charges and recorded conversations to prove it. They finally agreed to credit back the fees but stated that this is either due to an "online transaction" or the company I purchased from uses a clearing house in another country. I asked why my Chase card and my direct BBVA Debit card did not incur any of these Foreign Transaction fees - they had no answer. I'll be looking to get another card with equal or greater credit limit and then cancel this card so sthat my credit utilization doesn't cause my FICO to go south. If you bank with them for years, they will also start charging you statement fees. When you inquire, they will tell you that you chose paper statements, you of course go thru the process and prove that you did not. Then they will inform you that the account type you setup years ago doesn't exist anymore - so you are now paying statement fees. They will credit back these fees but only the last 60 days worth. If it took you that long to catch them stealing money from you, then you obviously didn't need the money so they should keep it. These are my personal experiences with BBVA, not stories that I have been told. I am moving to Chase and hoping for a better class of thieves.

more ...
Jun 11, 2016
A waste of a bank.
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been a customer with BBVA compass for five years and did not have any issues until now. Recently BBVA compass sent out all new chip debit and credit cards and then deactivated any existing standard card. I was never notified that my card would be deactivated nor was I sent a new chip card. I called customer service and they lady said that my address had been changed prior and a card was sent to the address on file. I told the woman that not once in my five years with the bank had I changed my address. At this point I had no access to the money in my account and was not able to acess online banking or make deposits. The woman said that a new card would be sent out withihn 2-3 business days to the correct address. The card never came, I waited unitl 5 days had passed and then called again. The woman said that the address was not updated and that the second card had been sent to the wrong address. She said she fixed the address and that the new card would be sent out within 2-3 business days. I hung up the phone and felt considerably better about the situation until I received my monthly statement which showed that BBVA compass withdrew $100 for the 2 replacememnt cards. I was not told about the charges and proceeded to call the bank again, this time a man answered the phone and told me that this was not the banks issue and I should call back after I receieve my new chip card, which again was sent to the wrong address. The address on file remains incorrect and I have been charged $100 for their inability to type numbers correctly into a computer. I will be closing my account as soon as I am reimbursed for the two cards that I never received. 

more ...
Apr 15, 2016
Poor
Ethynn Account Holder

there was a change in nba checking accout within the last 30 days, no notification. got the run around ugh, terrible i'm sure not the only one. this company sucks!! would not be my first choice.

more ...
Apr 11, 2016
Completely dysfunctional.
Anonymous Account Holder

They LOST the payoff my bank sent them for a car! If I didn't have the cash, I would have lost the chance at this car.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations