BBVA Compass Reviews

1.8 out of 5 stars
19 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 26, 2017
Never had a problem
Anonymous Account Holder

I have had a checking account with BBVA Compass for two years and have never had a problem with it. The staff at my local office is always friendly and helpful. My daughter has even opened an account with them. I have read other reviews and doesn't even sound like the same BBVA Compass I know.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 06, 2017
Don't use there atms
Mvbrooks36 Account Holder

I made a deposit in the ATM . It was a new machine and it took the cash, didn't give me a receipt. I went immediately home, called customer service and filed a dispute . They told me it could be up to 14 days for them to give me a provisional deposit of the money and then 45 days for permanent depending on the investigators findings. I went tot he branch the next morning and told them what happened . They told me they had a new machine and had had several complaints about it but they were not in charge of the ATM it was outsourced . So I would have to wait on the company to balance the machine . I called chrome setice today just for an update it has been 12 days with nothing from the bank. I was informed that they did find my cash in the machine and that I would not be receiving the deposit . Unfortunately it was not a small deposit so I will be changing banks immediately !! Don't use there new ATMs they are terrible !!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Nov 16, 2017
Great! No service charges!
JLopez5557 Account Holder

Kind customer service! Small! Feels like home not a corporation. No service fees! I enrolled in college and have since kept them. My husband concerted over especially when Wells Fargo had continuously rip him off with service fees, taking his whole check disappeared (this actually happened to my sister and best friend as well sadly, and they were non responsive. BBVA Compass my husband has now fallen in love with and vows he will never change banks as long as they don't change. 

more ...
Nov 09, 2017
Worst customer service
Anonymous Account Holder

Worst customer service ever! 

I had to call about 20 times (in one day)! to have an English speaker. 

The answer you get is either "call back in ten 10mins" or simply hang up. 

Impolite, unprofessional, not caring, useless. 

I finally got an english speaker in the evening, who could reply to my demand (closing my bank account). She was going to do it without explaining fees, or letting me withdraw whatever was left on my account. 

Advice: DO NOT open an account with BBVA.

more ...
Sep 26, 2017
disorganized and difficult to deal with.
Anonymous Account Holder

We have a residential construction loan with BBVACompass.  The loan application process was chaotic at best.  While they do use DocSign for electronic document signature I believe that is the extent of their automation.  Documents were sent for signature mulitple times when they claimed we had not signed them previously.  No single loan packet of documents existed - all the documents where sent piece meal.  The loan representative gave misinformation that we continuously had to challenge and escalate. We did hope that the application process was not indicative of the service we would recieve in managing the draws for the house.  Every draw was a battle about the amount.  Neither the contract nor the welcome packet listed exactly what was eligible for a draw when it came to deposits and the rules seemed to change as we neared completion.  The loan terms were very competitive but we paid for that saving in the on-going problems working with the bank.

more ...
Sep 14, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

BBVA Compass bank is a joke. I just open my account with them and I'm about ready to close it. I have never experienced a Customer Service that is as horrible as BBVA COMPASS BANK ever before. DO NOT BANK WITH THIS BANK. I GIVE THEM A ZERO FOR THERE PHONE CUSTOMER SERVICE. AFTER 1 HOUR OF ANSWERING QUESTIONS THEY JUST HUNG UP ON ME AND DIDN'T EVEN CALL BACK. IT SOUNDS LIKE 50 PEOPLE IN THE ROOM ALL TALKING AT ONCE. IF YOU DON'T BELIEVE ME GIVE IT A TRY. BE READY TO GET REALLY MAD AND FRUSTRATED.

more ...
Sep 14, 2017
Utter lairs and a garbage institution.
Anonymous Account Holder

I wish i could put 0 stars. They lie to you charge extra interest because they "lost your account info so the payment was late" refuse to send a lean release for over a year saying that is not our policy you have to take care of that with your DMV. You can only use the online banking if you have a checking account. Charge 10 dollars for over the phone payments. remove authorized users from your account. The final straw? I just called to get them to email me the lean release as i am sitting at a dealership trying to sell my car. Why does it take 24-72 WORK HOURS to EMAIL a lean release on a car that was payed off a year ago? That is asinine!

more ...
Sep 12, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

This is a sub standard bank.  Poor customer service. After five years I am leaving this bank.

more ...
Aug 16, 2017
They messed up my account more than once
White26T Account Holder

By them charging off my account without telling me before hand I am now at risk of getting an eviction because they're holding my money in they're "system". This bank sucks and I would never recommend it to ANYONE!

more ...
Aug 02, 2017
Horrible Customer Service!
Anonymous Account Holder

I deal with just about every bank in the Birmingham area on a regular basis and BBVA Compass is by far the absolute worst!

more ...
Aug 01, 2017
Friendly banks with good personaility
apachewoman27 Account Holder

Only this is bank close 5 Monday -Friday and not open on weekends and the other this with bbva clear spend is no mobile check loading you bed to use PayPal etc or cash at the bank and there isn't any chip on the card good thing is no money fee if you load $400 dollars or more in a month also free dirtic depot

more ...
Jul 27, 2017
Good Bank to Rebuild Credit
Anonymous Account Holder

I have not had any issues with BBVA COMPASS  since I started with them.  Large bank with a small hometown feel.

I don't know their lending practices, but I suspect they will be inline with all other banking instutions.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations