BBVA Compass

1.3 out of 5 stars
14 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Mar 06, 2017
Don't use there atms
Mvbrooks36 Account Holder

I made a deposit in the ATM . It was a new machine and it took the cash, didn't give me a receipt. I went immediately home, called customer service and filed a dispute . They told me it could be up to 14 days for them to give me a provisional deposit of the money and then 45 days for permanent depending on the investigators findings. I went tot he branch the next morning and told them what happened . They told me they had a new machine and had had several complaints about it but they were not in charge of the ATM it was outsourced . So I would have to wait on the company to balance the machine . I called chrome setice today just for an update it has been 12 days with nothing from the bank. I was informed that they did find my cash in the machine and that I would not be receiving the deposit . Unfortunately it was not a small deposit so I will be changing banks immediately !! Don't use there new ATMs they are terrible !!

more ...
Feb 13, 2017
Worse Bank Ever!
Anonymous Account Holder

Opened a business account with them that was used ocassionally. We could  only make 5 transactions to begin with either in branch or ATM before we started accumulating "overage fees". Had an issue with a deposit that was made. I called them to set up arrangements to bring the account current and everything was set to go. Then a couple of weeks later we received a "blocked" notice and had 10 days to resolve. But wait, we had spoke to someone PRIOR to getting this letter and set up both payment dates. When making the next deposit, the account was charged off 2 days BEFORE the next payment. This makes no sense!  Apparently all their departments dont share the same information. This is very stressfull when you are already rectifying the issue, but get misinformed for the same issue.

more ...
Jan 26, 2017
Never had a problem
Anonymous Account Holder

I have had a checking account with BBVA Compass for two years and have never had a problem with it. The staff at my local office is always friendly and helpful. My daughter has even opened an account with them. I have read other reviews and doesn't even sound like the same BBVA Compass I know.

more ...
Jan 17, 2017
Awful
Anonymous Account Holder

We have been customers for 17 years when it was FirstState Bank and did not have any problems until the last couple years.  I opened a joint checking with my son when he was a minor.  We closed the account and kept receiving notifications and turns out is was a line of credit for 21% interest with a $12 service charge per day.  We were not told any of this up front and took numerous calls to customer service and went physically into the branch numerous times any only received bits and pieces of information.  I requested a meeting with the branch manager and requested all documentation I signed, pol its on closing accounts, etc.  Went to meeting and no documentation was provided and the answers to all my questions were 'I don't know I didn't work here at that time'.  Banks are held to higher standards and should have notes from bank employees.  I received nothing.  They lost our business.  They have very sketchy practices and can't explain them.  Very disappointed and we are moving banks 

more ...
Dec 28, 2016
Absurd
dchicks89 Account Holder

I had a car loan through them for the last four years until I recently traded in my car for a new one. The dealership sent in my payoff yet BBVA Compass took my payment out the following month anyways, no big deal. I call them and inform them of what happened and they inform me they would send me a check in the mail. Before we got off the phone I wanted to be sure they had my updated address even though I had called and changed it three years prior when I had moved. Of course they didn't have the correct address, so they said they would update it and send the check to the right address. Three weeks pass and I still never recieved the check so I call them again, low and behold they sent the check to the wrong address and then asked if I could just drive from Florida to Oklahoma to retreive the check. WTF?? No, I wasn't taking a long trip to knock on a strangers door to get the check that they should have sent to me. Now I have to fill out a letter saying I cannot retreive the check, send it bakc, and wait another month for them to send out a check (hopefully this time it will come to the correct address, eventhough I have corrected my address with them 7 times now.) Never will use them and will encourage others to steer clear. Biggest joke of a bank out there.

more ...
Oct 29, 2016
Horrible bank!
Anonymous Account Holder

I had been banking with them for 6 months. I opened the account just for my weekly deposits and Convienience because it was close to my job. After 6 months, three account holds on my direct deposit and horrible service I'd had enough. In all my years of banking I've never been with a bank that freezes your account after 6 months of weekly reoccurring deposits. Their excuse was they needed to verify my ID. Sure they did I just come in weekly to withdraw cash and get money orders with my good looks and no ID. Even after verification this last time the Rep handling my account was the main reason I closed my account. She lied about calling me and claim my AZ DL and registration wasn't real. I would not recommend this bank at all.

more ...
Oct 02, 2016
ATTENTION!! They committed FRAUD!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

I stopped to open a checking account at 1610 N.Zaragosa El Paso, TX 79936. The banker FELICIA VASQUEZ filled up the information and when requesting to sign the documents I read that the Clear Benefit Package was included. I told her that I was not interested in having that package. She advised me that there is no way to open an account without having the Clear Benefit Package. I insisted because sounded illogical for me but again she told me that she could not open an account without accepting the benefit package. So I did open the account the way she told me. I went to the main branch (downtown) to verified the information provided and the banker told me what she said was INCORRECT, that any account can be open without accepting the benefit package. I also called your customer service line on 9/12/2016 and a representative by the name of Benjamin ID # 314091 helped me, he did provided good customer service, and he stated that what THE LOCAL BANKER TOLD ME WAS NOT TRUE.

I have been banking with you since 2005 before the bank was BBVA Compass and I have seen how your customer service is worst and worst every time. Every different branch or individual tells you different things about the same concern. They are totally unprofessional, unreliable and unethical. Basically FELICIA VASQUEZ committed FRAUD by trying to meet her selling quota. That is completely unacceptable. I will never be BBVA Compass bank customer again!

La empleada de BBVA Compass FELICIA VASQUEZ comete fraude al engañar a los usuarios diciendoles que tienen que aceptar beneficios obligatoriamente si desean abrir una cuenta nueva lo cual es MENTIRA. Los beneficios tienen un costo mensual aunque el primer mes sean "gratis".  NO ES OBLIGACION ACEPTAR ESOS "BENEFICIOS" para abrir una cuenta de cheques. No le crean solo quiere vender. 

NUNCA SERE CLIENTE DE ESTE BANCO JAMAS!

more ...
Sep 13, 2016
Worst bank ever!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

Customer service is a joke. 

Get the deposit back....... Good luck !!! 

Run from this bank as fast as you can.

more ...
Aug 17, 2016
bad bank
Anonymous Account Holder

very bad bank bad customer service

more ...
Jul 20, 2016
Worst experience of my life
Anonymous Account Holder

I will stir myself and my clients  away from business with this " bank "

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations