BBVA Compass Reviews

1.7 out of 5 stars
18 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 26, 2017
Never had a problem
Anonymous Account Holder

I have had a checking account with BBVA Compass for two years and have never had a problem with it. The staff at my local office is always friendly and helpful. My daughter has even opened an account with them. I have read other reviews and doesn't even sound like the same BBVA Compass I know.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 06, 2017
Don't use there atms
Mvbrooks36 Account Holder

I made a deposit in the ATM . It was a new machine and it took the cash, didn't give me a receipt. I went immediately home, called customer service and filed a dispute . They told me it could be up to 14 days for them to give me a provisional deposit of the money and then 45 days for permanent depending on the investigators findings. I went tot he branch the next morning and told them what happened . They told me they had a new machine and had had several complaints about it but they were not in charge of the ATM it was outsourced . So I would have to wait on the company to balance the machine . I called chrome setice today just for an update it has been 12 days with nothing from the bank. I was informed that they did find my cash in the machine and that I would not be receiving the deposit . Unfortunately it was not a small deposit so I will be changing banks immediately !! Don't use there new ATMs they are terrible !!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Sep 14, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

BBVA Compass bank is a joke. I just open my account with them and I'm about ready to close it. I have never experienced a Customer Service that is as horrible as BBVA COMPASS BANK ever before. DO NOT BANK WITH THIS BANK. I GIVE THEM A ZERO FOR THERE PHONE CUSTOMER SERVICE. AFTER 1 HOUR OF ANSWERING QUESTIONS THEY JUST HUNG UP ON ME AND DIDN'T EVEN CALL BACK. IT SOUNDS LIKE 50 PEOPLE IN THE ROOM ALL TALKING AT ONCE. IF YOU DON'T BELIEVE ME GIVE IT A TRY. BE READY TO GET REALLY MAD AND FRUSTRATED.

more ...
Sep 14, 2017
Utter lairs and a garbage institution.
Anonymous Account Holder

I wish i could put 0 stars. They lie to you charge extra interest because they "lost your account info so the payment was late" refuse to send a lean release for over a year saying that is not our policy you have to take care of that with your DMV. You can only use the online banking if you have a checking account. Charge 10 dollars for over the phone payments. remove authorized users from your account. The final straw? I just called to get them to email me the lean release as i am sitting at a dealership trying to sell my car. Why does it take 24-72 WORK HOURS to EMAIL a lean release on a car that was payed off a year ago? That is asinine!

more ...
Sep 12, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

This is a sub standard bank.  Poor customer service. After five years I am leaving this bank.

more ...
Aug 16, 2017
They messed up my account more than once
White26T Account Holder

By them charging off my account without telling me before hand I am now at risk of getting an eviction because they're holding my money in they're "system". This bank sucks and I would never recommend it to ANYONE!

more ...
Aug 02, 2017
Horrible Customer Service!
Anonymous Account Holder

I deal with just about every bank in the Birmingham area on a regular basis and BBVA Compass is by far the absolute worst!

more ...
Aug 01, 2017
Friendly banks with good personaility
apachewoman27 Account Holder

Only this is bank close 5 Monday -Friday and not open on weekends and the other this with bbva clear spend is no mobile check loading you bed to use PayPal etc or cash at the bank and there isn't any chip on the card good thing is no money fee if you load $400 dollars or more in a month also free dirtic depot

more ...
Jul 27, 2017
Good Bank to Rebuild Credit
Anonymous Account Holder

I have not had any issues with BBVA COMPASS  since I started with them.  Large bank with a small hometown feel.

I don't know their lending practices, but I suspect they will be inline with all other banking instutions.

more ...
Jul 20, 2017
AWFUL, just AWFUL....go elsewhere!
Anonymous Account Holder

This is by far THE WORST bank that I have EVER used in my entire life!  First, I open the account and they freeze my funds because they could not verify my address.  I sent the paperwork THREE TIMES, still took them a WEEK to release the money.  Then, I try to use the account but EVERY SINGLE TIME I try to send funds I have to call and spend 30 minutes to verify my identity.  EVERY SINGLE TIME.  I not only hate this bank, I HATE THIS BANK with every fiber of my being.  I have spent countless hours on the phone with these people and STILL have to go through the same thing over-and-over!  

I understand protecting your customers but this is overkill!  When it inconveniences your customers repeatedly then it's too much.  On a side note, I just transferred and spent my last 30 minutes on the phone with these people.  Closing my account ASAP!  

DO NOT PUT YOUR MONEY IN THE CARE OF THESE PEOPLE unless you have lots of free time to sit on the phone trying to get your money and/or move it around as you want to.

more ...
Jun 20, 2017
The worst bank imaginable
jus10young Account Holder

After day one, I instantly regretted opening an account. Many of the loan and credit card applications are on PAPER! No online applications...

The checking accounts are 'free' but you will be nickled and dimed constantly. My favorite is the customer service $1 per call over five--- this is painful since they will not call you back with a resolution.

The app offers "priority deposits", which you can pay a FEE to have you deposit processed faster?!  Insanity at every turn.  

more ...
Apr 22, 2017
poor customer service
Anonymous Account Holder

This is a smaller size national bank based in Alabama, it is owned by parent company BBVA based in Spain. Customer service is awful, they have started charging fees for everything they offer, if you decide to close your account....good luck, the person needed to close accounts is never available when you visit the bank, if you call on the phone you never reach the right department and have to re-dial and step through all of the automated responses that don't apply to your situation, bottom line.....it's almost impossible to close your account, when you finally get it done, guess what?, there's a fee to close the account.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations