Bank of America Reviews

1.2 out of 5 stars
65 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 26, 2017
good and best bank to have
jo189 Account Holder

I been banking with bank of america for 8 years and is my first bank.I have never been charge any fee using any of my account that I have with them have cheking, saving and credit card account with them all my check deposit have been posting in time my credit card payment have also been posting in time all my credit card reward have been posting and giving me in time never have money stolen or taken by this bank all my money still in my account. so all my experience have been good using this bank .but i see allot of bad review of bank of america which I think people are not managing their account and banking right and blame the bank for problem.bank of america also have good protection agaings theft last time I make wire tranfer using my account  but the next day my account wast not working so I call customer support and they were good handeling my problem they just verification of wire tranfer which i did and my account so no bad experiance which customer support.bank of america is really good bank if you manage you account and banking right. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 19, 2017
Horrific!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

One month ago I opened a savings account at BOA as a way to save a little $ for vacations. I figured that they have ATM's all over the place so it would be a good choice. Tuesday I checked to see if a transfer from another bank had made it into my account only to find that my account was closed. I called and was disconnected, kept on hold, transferred 4 times and told that in the Depositors Agreement the bank or the customer can terminate the account at any time for no reason....and that is what they did. I went to the Portsmouth and it was too late to talk to anyone that day. I set up an appointment and went there today. Not only do they give the customers the runaround on the phone but they do the bank staff as well. Finally they put me on a phone where I went through the same thing as I had on Tuesday only to hear the same thing, based on the Depositors agreement they opted to close my account....no reason need be given and they wouldn't!! I guess I was getting a little loud in the bank (imagine that) because they asked me to leave. I can never open a Bank of America account ever again!! I guess that is why they have such bad reviews....#nowilook!! Buyer beware BOA is run by Commies, I know it!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Dec 10, 2017
scam
mightywingman Account Holder

i opened the weakest checking account just so I can collect the extra 10% on my rewards cash back when depositing it here. threw in the minimum $1500 to avoid the maintenance fee and NEVER used it. one day out of the blue, these idiots deducts $12 monthly fee. right away, i called and they applied it back to me. the process took 3 days. but because it took 3 days, my balance during that time was $1488. sensing what was going on, i even threw in another $12, making the total $1512 so that if they take the fee again due to the 3 days it was below minimum, I could stop this silly cycle and get the $12 back like before. like clock work, they deduct another $12 at the end of the month. i call to tell them what happened but this time, they said they can refund the fee only ONCE. i closed the account right then and there. i had no trust in them whatsoever so i told them to send me a check, as opposed  to me transferring the money out of there. i couldn't risk them tacking on another $12 fee after i transfer the funds out. now it's been almost 2 weeks and still no check. it'll get here eventually. not implying that they stole it but my godness...so slow. and i thought chase was bad. absolute worst.

more ...
Dec 09, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Account Holder

How can a bank put a hold on a paycheck and not give you a reason as to why. I have been working with the same company for 6 years and I have never had a problem with depositing a check until now.

more ...
Nov 22, 2017
An unethical company this BofA.
Anonymous Account Holder

I used to love using this card, but now it's been more of a nightmare. At the beginning of using the card, i was told originally that there will be no interest charge on purchases if i pay the amount of the purchase in full by the due date. So i've been doing that for the first few months, no problem what so ever. Then one month i made the mistake of not paying it all and an interest rate was accrued. No problem, i knew why so i didn't have a problem and i didn't dispute it. BUT every month after that, that's where my nightmare with bank of america started. Even thought i continued to paid of my purchase total every month, i was still getting charged interest rate EVERY MONTH. I would call them and try to dispute, sometimes i would get a smart rep and they would understand the situation and will reverse the fee, but other times, i get ones that don't know what they are doing. so i stopped using the card, and yet i still got charge an interest rate!! Their contract says that if all of the purchase balance is paid of by due date, no interest fee will be charged. But how do i still get charge an interest fee when i'm not even using the card?! When i called to dispute, they said the card have to not be used for 2 consecutive months for no interest fee to be added?! WTF!!! why am i being charge on the 1st month when there is no purchases that was made!? i feel like this is how they make money off of their customers. Most ppl don't check their statements or don't want to waste their time researching on why they are being charged on interest rates, so Bank of America will get away with **** like this. A few bucks here and there due to fraudulent interest charges from thousands of ppl who are using their cards can add up and be very profitable for Bank of America. Check your statements ppl, they could be making money off of you as we speak! Very unethical of you Bank of America!! I'm currently a customer who is in the processing of closing my account now!!

more ...
Nov 16, 2017
BAD CHOICE.#$#$
Badproses Account Holder

Worst ever for me.
They lie, trick you to sign up with them.
And customer Rep have no knowledge of their own system.

more ...
Nov 12, 2017
Customer service doesn't know how tohelp
Anonymous Account Holder

The most un profecional service experince I've ever had with any bank. This is the first credit card I had with Bank of America and 100% the last.

Customer service rep made me wait in line and on top they hang the phone on my face. Very disapointed.

more ...
Nov 10, 2017
Incompetent
ReviewGuy Account Holder

If you get a credit card from them, good luck ever logging into their website or app. I've been trying for two days. Half a dozen phone calls, two twitter messages, two facebook messages, still no luck. Bunch of fools.

more ...
Nov 10, 2017
Overall bad
Anonymous Account Holder

Very long application process, no e-mail notification of account creation and a lot information in paper format when electronic versions would be more convenient and efficient.

more ...
Nov 09, 2017
Run
Anonymous Account Holder

If you are considering don't.
If your aleady are, run.

but whatever you do don't take out an auto loan. If you do you have borrowed from a black hole.

more ...
Oct 30, 2017
Shady Bizarre practices of BOA
Anonymous Account Holder

What a shady Bank! They cancel your cc or account without explanation,(they did it to me with over 800 credit score,never missed pmt ,paid business loan on time !-maybe that's why -they couldn't charge me any interest !) .They also deny services to me!

When you call them they will deny to give you ANY explanation why.What a arrogance and disregard for customers ,not mention stupid business practice to loose customer(I owe business and several properties).Look at they ratings!But they don't care we will work harder and bail them out again!-Scambags!

more ...
Oct 27, 2017
Horrible customer service and relations
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank doesn’t care about its customers. Policies are constantly changing that cause more effort and frustration on its customers. I have had enough and about to change banks. Do not use them!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations