Bank of America Reviews

1.4 out of 5 stars
74 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 23, 2012
Never had a problem with BoA
joelg1988 Account Holder

I've been with them for year now, and I can tell you this bank will rip you apart of you are not organized with your money (my sister gets overdraft fees all the time) I have NEVER had an overdraft fee or a problem with customer service. I am extremely organized and I have to say their online banking is simply better than any other bank in the US. Get a local bank if you are not very sharp or not very organized, if you are good with money and are responsible BoA will never let you down. You gotta pay to play.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 30, 2014
You've Been Warned!
Snowdog66 Account Holder

I could write a book about my experience with BofA but I won't. I will say this, though: All these negative complaints you are reading should be trusted. This bank tried to screw me. When I caught them in the act I immediately paid off my credit card balance and closed all my accounts. This was in 2001 and I never looked back.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jul 05, 2017
BIG MISTAKE SWITCHING TO BOFA
Anonymous Account Holder

Poor Customer Service! Rude, Sarcastic and Unhelpful  customer service associates...and that's after waiting 35 minutes to speak with someone. They clearly don't mind losing valuable customers. BIG mistake switching to BofA. Rating= -5

more ...
Jun 23, 2017
Consistently disappoints
jus10young Account Holder

I think everyone has gone through the BoA phase. I had an account for about five years, from high school to early college years. Over night, they began processing their credits and debits differently.

My direct deposit posted at 5:30a, but my automatic transfers went out at 1:00am. This meant SEVEN items were classified as overdrafts. Upon calling customer service, I was instantly laughed at and told "it's not my problem you can't handle your money".

Mind you, my automatically transfers and direct deposts had remained untouched for many years. This was prior to the CFPB  and the class action suit for intentionally causing overdrafts. 

Once trust is lost, I'll never have any BoA branded product in my househole. 

more ...
Jun 20, 2017
Overdrawn fees are ridiculous
CoachG643 Account Holder

Bank of America is the most unreliable money hungry POS in the USA. There managers talk down to employees and customers at all branch locations and in district offices. I've seen it multiple times and had it happen to me. I just got off the phone with Jennifer Adkins for Delaware office, no help what so ever, all they want is more money and new accounts.

more ...
Jun 19, 2017
Bank somewhere else
Anonymous Account Holder

this bank only cares about its bottom line. not customer friendly. The professionally tell you off in a nice way if you need any type of assistance.

more ...
Jun 18, 2017
Bank of America
Fkoyel Account Holder

I can't believe this Bank charge me Interest after my account has been closed and fully paid off. This bank will nickel-and-dime every customer and I care about the customers self. If this bike ever goes bankrupt at least they would be happy knowing they don't have to pay back a dime to anybody they owe. Disgraceful and coward. Thank God I don't have to deal with you anymore.

more ...
Jun 17, 2017
When i get my hands on my money im out !
Anonymous Account Holder

I set up a checking account they told me 25$ wont be seen for 3-5 days witch was fine but they told me any transfers after would be instant waited 3 hours nothing called help line in alabama they said it would take 24 hours wasnt mad so i waited nothing called back got someone im new york they told me 2-3 more days so now that i got my money in my account i went to the atm to take some out says invalid pin how ?? I called back up the service line they said that someone could help me activate it at an atm so as i waited 19 mins i drove to the atm i explained what happened with my temp card he told me he cant even see the temp card on my record (so whats the point of giving them out )the only way they could help me is by mail me my pin (4-5) business days im coming from captial one the only thing bad about them is the wait atleast they dont lie

more ...
Jun 06, 2017
Wouldn't let me pay my balance
PennyCat1024 Account Holder

They kept on rejecting my checking account. I had to call customer service to authorized/approved my checking account and to sign up for automatic withdrawals for minimal payment. Except they didn’t disclose that my automatic minimal payment was going to be a FLAT rate despite my actual dues could be less or more depending on the month. I got a lot of late fees that way because my automatic payment wasn’t covering the whole amount. Then I found out that they stopped my automatic payment, and told me that since I didn’t call them after 6 months to confirm I still wanted to be on automatic payment they took me off of it… They make so much money off of me with late fees or fees for not being current.

more ...
Jun 03, 2017
Great customer service.
Anonymous Account Holder

Representatives go above and beyond to help in loans, teller transactions, or to just sit and explain any questions you may have. 

more ...
Jun 01, 2017
Not worthy of my trust as a Bank.
Anonymous Account Holder

Worst customer service. I reported illegal transactions on my credit account on 5/15/17 and I did not get any help i desperately needed. On 5/31/17 another transaction occurred. I tried to call for hours without success. If I can trust you with my money as a bank please offer efficient service to me as a customer. I AM VERY FRUSTRATED.

more ...
May 22, 2017
Never been late...closed my account
Humbleviable Account Holder

I opened this BOA account over a year ago to use for the rewards points.  I have never been late, other than one payment posted a day late, on my payments with my BOA card.  I use this card for business purposes such as taking accounts to lunch, dinner, etc.  I went to use my BOA card to rent a car and it declined.  I was confused bc this card only had $406 and was no where close to the limit.  I called to ask what was going on with the card and the representative stated that a letter had been sent to me and the account had been closed due to a delinquent revolving credit card account on my credit report.  No phone call or email was sent either.  I have an online account set up to pay my bill so BOA has my email address.  I said I have never made a late payment with 3 credit cards, a mortgage, or a car payment.  The delinquent account is the result of a divorce and that has been cleared on my credit report.  AlsoIT IS AGAINST THE LAW to pull my information without my consent from my credit report.  Nowhere, when I opened this account did anyone get my permission to pull my credit report of any type every 30 days.   The BOA manager Bobby Vine told me that BOA scans your credit report every 30 days. So to make this story short basically BOA closed an account of an ontime paying customer that has never even been over the credit limit.  AND to reopen the account i would have to take another hit on my credit report for them to inquire to reopen the account.  So bc I have paid my bill every month on time and sometimes in full I get penalized.  I will never do business with BOA again.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations