Bank of America

1.3 out of 5 stars
76 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 23, 2012
Never had a problem with BoA
joelg1988 Account Holder

I've been with them for year now, and I can tell you this bank will rip you apart of you are not organized with your money (my sister gets overdraft fees all the time) I have NEVER had an overdraft fee or a problem with customer service. I am extremely organized and I have to say their online banking is simply better than any other bank in the US. Get a local bank if you are not very sharp or not very organized, if you are good with money and are responsible BoA will never let you down. You gotta pay to play.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 30, 2014
You've Been Warned!
Snowdog66 Account Holder

I could write a book about my experience with BofA but I won't. I will say this, though: All these negative complaints you are reading should be trusted. This bank tried to screw me. When I caught them in the act I immediately paid off my credit card balance and closed all my accounts. This was in 2001 and I never looked back.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Apr 20, 2017
No customer appreciation
Anonymous Account Holder

They do not value their customers. They charve me a maintenance fee because I no longer qualified for free checking when I paid off my mortgage. THEY NEVER INFORMED ME AND SAID I WAS NOTIFIED THIS COULD HAPPEN 11 years ago when I opened the account! Shame on me for not remembering

more ...
Apr 19, 2017
Customer service
Anonymous Account Holder

Terrible. I do not appreciate representatives who are condescending and rude but that is all I find. 3 phone calls and my question was not answered 

more ...
Apr 19, 2017
Worst Bank EVER
BOASUCKS Account Holder

If you want your business to remain stagnent because your bank treats you like a number this is the bank for you. The list of HORRIBLE experiences I have had with this bank are too long to list. But they fail in all aspects. Their credit card processing fees are crazy and no matter how much business you do with them they will not bring it down. My business did 1.25 million in and out with them last year and I pay all my bills on time but have to fight with someone and talk to 3-4 different managers each time to get anything done. Just pure crap, from the branch help all the way up this is not a good bank if you care about growing your small business. 

more ...
Apr 14, 2017
Absolutely horrible!
Anonymous Account Holder

Stay away!

more ...
Apr 07, 2017
out of the blues said I owe a debt from 2010
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank hires people who are clueless don't go investigate the situation & only read what is in front of the screen. i was charged for a 2010 debt in 2017 but happened to the rest of years where are the statements showing proof I owe. bad bad greedy **** up bank!!!!

more ...
Mar 30, 2017
Bank elsewhere
Anonymous Account Holder

Bank of America is a fee abuser.  They charge exorbitant fees for utilizing overdraft protection.  The way they post items results in fees at times, even when you have enough money in the account to cover transactions by transferring money from an alternate account, such as a savings account. Their customer service is terrible.  The only positive is their mobile app due to ease of use; however, the mobile app does not reflect the level of account detail their full-site shows which if you only use the mobile app, you will think you have enough money in the account to cover items, when you actually do not, which again, results in more fees.

more ...
Mar 29, 2017
Dishonest
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been with Bank of America for some time now and have always received good customer service until I wanted to pay them off. I had 2 credit cards with Bank of America. I mailed 2 separate payments from my bank. One made it there and one got lost. I called and opened a dispute for the check that got lost then eventually cancelled it and mailed a new one. I had many conversations with Bank of America up to this point and they only had documentation of 2 calls. I was told by 2 of their representatives that i would be back dated for the check to the same date as the other check that made it, but I would have to wait until they received the 2nd check. I was told that I would not be charged the extra interest! They were being so nice and cooperative that I believed what they were telling me. The day the check posted, I called again and got a totally different response. They said they only had 2 documentated conversations and none said they were going to credit the interest. They kept on telling me their process and how interest works, which I said I know how interest works and that is not what I'm concerned about. I told them that I was concerned that their representitives told me I wouldn't get charged the interest and not to worry because of the documentation they had. Well, today was different. Only two documented conversations with no one saying my interest would be back dated. I just got the full name of the manager I was talking to, although she only gave me her first name at first and an address to the complaints department and WE all know what happens to our complaints..........nothing!

more ...
Mar 28, 2017
The worst of too big to fail
Anonymous Account Holder

BofA are thieves. They may no effort to resove reasonable issues. I had accounts with them for more than 20 years but closed it in dispute over a late payment fee. Any other bank has refunded such afee in similar curcumsatnces. After paying off balnces and closing account BofA steathly added a $30 interest charge, but sent no notification. They are crooked by every defintion of the term.

more ...
Mar 26, 2017
good and best bank to have
jo189 Account Holder

I been banking with bank of america for 8 years and is my first bank.I have never been charge any fee using any of my account that I have with them have cheking, saving and credit card account with them all my check deposit have been posting in time my credit card payment have also been posting in time all my credit card reward have been posting and giving me in time never have money stolen or taken by this bank all my money still in my account. so all my experience have been good using this bank .but i see allot of bad review of bank of america which I think people are not managing their account and banking right and blame the bank for problem.bank of america also have good protection agaings theft last time I make wire tranfer using my account  but the next day my account wast not working so I call customer support and they were good handeling my problem they just verification of wire tranfer which i did and my account so no bad experiance which customer support.bank of america is really good bank if you manage you account and banking right. 

more ...
Mar 14, 2017
Money Held Hostage
clalex02 Account Holder

I sent in a claim form I was told to only send by mail. After doing so, about 2 months later i get an email telling me my claim will be reversed because they didn't receive the paper. I had to call, get another form sent which was gonna take 3-5 days to reach me. Then was told the next day after calling back for a faster solution, to go to a bank. I sat at the bank for almost an hour dealing with this. Sent the form in, called back in 2 days like i was told. They told me they were a 3rd party company that had nothing to do with BofA accounts. I waited another week before calling again for my money. Just to be told something might happen in another 3-5 business days. Then when I'd ask a question, they'd read the same standard answer to me over and over not actually answering my questions. On the verge of suing for this small *** amount.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations