Bank of America

1.4 out of 5 stars
70 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 28, 2016
Saved me from fraud
kellyc620 Account Holder

I know BOA has issues but when mt debit card number was stolen last weekend, it was the bank who caught it, fixed it, then called me. When I found out, they had already gotten everything fixed and my new card was on the way. Very grateful to BOA. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 19, 2017
Horrific!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

One month ago I opened a savings account at BOA as a way to save a little $ for vacations. I figured that they have ATM's all over the place so it would be a good choice. Tuesday I checked to see if a transfer from another bank had made it into my account only to find that my account was closed. I called and was disconnected, kept on hold, transferred 4 times and told that in the Depositors Agreement the bank or the customer can terminate the account at any time for no reason....and that is what they did. I went to the Portsmouth and it was too late to talk to anyone that day. I set up an appointment and went there today. Not only do they give the customers the runaround on the phone but they do the bank staff as well. Finally they put me on a phone where I went through the same thing as I had on Tuesday only to hear the same thing, based on the Depositors agreement they opted to close my account....no reason need be given and they wouldn't!! I guess I was getting a little loud in the bank (imagine that) because they asked me to leave. I can never open a Bank of America account ever again!! I guess that is why they have such bad reviews....#nowilook!! Buyer beware BOA is run by Commies, I know it!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Mar 26, 2017
good and best bank to have
jo189 Account Holder

I been banking with bank of america for 8 years and is my first bank.I have never been charge any fee using any of my account that I have with them have cheking, saving and credit card account with them all my check deposit have been posting in time my credit card payment have also been posting in time all my credit card reward have been posting and giving me in time never have money stolen or taken by this bank all my money still in my account. so all my experience have been good using this bank .but i see allot of bad review of bank of america which I think people are not managing their account and banking right and blame the bank for problem.bank of america also have good protection agaings theft last time I make wire tranfer using my account  but the next day my account wast not working so I call customer support and they were good handeling my problem they just verification of wire tranfer which i did and my account so no bad experiance which customer support.bank of america is really good bank if you manage you account and banking right. 

more ...
Mar 14, 2017
Money Held Hostage
clalex02 Account Holder

I sent in a claim form I was told to only send by mail. After doing so, about 2 months later i get an email telling me my claim will be reversed because they didn't receive the paper. I had to call, get another form sent which was gonna take 3-5 days to reach me. Then was told the next day after calling back for a faster solution, to go to a bank. I sat at the bank for almost an hour dealing with this. Sent the form in, called back in 2 days like i was told. They told me they were a 3rd party company that had nothing to do with BofA accounts. I waited another week before calling again for my money. Just to be told something might happen in another 3-5 business days. Then when I'd ask a question, they'd read the same standard answer to me over and over not actually answering my questions. On the verge of suing for this small *** amount.

more ...
Mar 10, 2017
Jump Ship Now!
Bednarsky Account Holder

On 2/11/17 I was scheduled for an appointment with Home Loan Officer Michael Fallon (NMLS#1030103) who never showed up.  The branch staff had to connect me to him by his cell phone. Very unprofessional! After explaining to him what I needed we proceeded with an application for a HELOC.  During the process I called him twice but NEVER received a call back to this very day.  I was passed off to MUTILPLE people in the Home Loan department who completed my application.  Due to their incompetence they misconstrued the facts of the reason for the loan they ultimately got me rejected.  Not only did Michael never call me back but no one from BOA followed up with me to resolve this issue.  I turned to my advisor at Merrill Lynch who bent over backwards to help me, and also confirmed BOA clearly made a BIG mistake in my application! Finally got someone at corporate who understood what REAL customer service was all about but at that point I was done with BOA.  As a customer of more than 25 years I was shocked at the terrible and unprofessional customer service I received and have since decided to do my business elsewhere with a company who hires people who cares and are competent!

more ...
Mar 08, 2017
Terrible
foton Account Holder

Terrible experience. I have dozens of credit cards and Bank of America is far and away the most annoying, time-wasting account I have to manage. The sign-up process took longer, asked more useless questions, and was more involved than any other card. Now when I log in I'm bombarded by more annoying messages, the website is generally confusing to navigate (even for me, and I build websites for a living). When I went to email someone at Bank of America about some of these issues, I discovered that they not only do not accept support emails (or at least they make it impossible to find the address on the site), but their chat system is not available for any of the related topics. So, since they've already made my life difficult in more ways than I care to reiterate and I don't feel like being stuck on hold for 30 minutes just to inform them their service is awful, I'm here writing a negative review instead. Get it together, Bank of America!

more ...
Mar 08, 2017
Terrible
foton Account Holder

Terrible experience. I have dozens of credit cards and Bank of America is far and away the most annoying, time-wasting account I have to manage. The sign-up process took longer, asked more useless questions, and was more involved than any other card. Now when I log in I'm bombarded by more annoying messages, and the website is generally confusing to navigate (even for me, and I build websites for a living). When I went to email someone at Bank of America about some of these issues, I discovered that they not only do not accept support emails (or at least they make it impossible to find the address on the site), but their chat system is not available for any of the related topics. So, since they've already made my life difficult in more ways than I care to reiterate, and I don't feel like being stuck on hold for 30 minutes just to inform them their service is awful, I'm here writing a negative review instead. Get it together, Bank of America!

more ...
Mar 04, 2017
Customer service is an issue
Anonymous Account Holder

I changed my name due to marriage and I brought all my documents to my local BOA to officially change my. And on my accounts.  They never sent me a new debit card so I requested a new one.  They send me one with the wrong name on it. They are really incompetent.  Every time I've called with an issue pertaining to my account it is never fixed. 

more ...
Mar 02, 2017
THE WORST!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

They only decent thing about them was their app, beyond that, I have nothing good to say. They charged outrageous fees and when I moved out of the area and switched to a local bank, I drove hours to shut down my accounts in person. They got me the check/cash for all the money and said it was done. Little did I know that it wasn't. It's take me over 4 MONTHS, countless phone calls every month with who knows how many hours on hold and then trying to explain the situation and every time I get off, they say its fine and taken care of. THEN I get hit with a fee or a statement in the mail declaring my account is still open. They have been horrible! I would never use them again, even if they were the only bank left in the world. Just the worst!

more ...
Feb 25, 2017
greedy con artists
Anonymous Account Holder

The constantly update, and change their programs, so that they make more, and you get less. You get 0.000000000000000001% interest on your saviings, and now you get even less in rewards form your credit card rewards. It used to be you get $25.00 for every $2,500 spent. Now if you spend $4,000 you get $20.00. They must really be struggling. This bank is too big, and greedy. 

more ...
Feb 22, 2017
negative one star
Anonymous Account Holder

If I could give zero stars- or better yet negative stars I would. Do not put your money here. This bank and it's staff made life difficult for my Dad. Every year they

sent him a note saying his safe deposit box was over due- and every year he to show them where they had taken the payment out of his account. Since his passing I have tried to transfer the balance remaining in his account. I have submitted all the documents including death certificate and the county form showing that I am the executor of his estate. They stall and stall and stall. I am not sure whether it is a systematic avoidance of their responsibilities or incompetence. In my opinion I have never dealt with a worse bank.

more ...
Feb 22, 2017
horrible bank
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank is horrible with credit card accounts. Never ever fall to open account  with this bank. Have account with them for almost 1/2 year but problems come along with statements and bill. They will find way to charge later payments fees and other BS.If  foe some reason you overpay bill they never will call  you  to tell you overpay  but if you get pay later for 1 day ( due to not received statement from bank ) they will start charge you fees . By spoke with one of the managers I got only one answer  We relay on US Postal service. But on who I have to relay? This bank not recommended for any service.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations