Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Bank of America

1.6 out of 5 stars
57 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 11, 2016
Banking Customer
awleesha Account Holder

As a teenager I was pretty bad with my money; I was always had a negative baance in my account and because the negative fees ate my paycheck, I would switch to one bank to another (i know HORRIBLE). Like I said that was my teenage years - but because I jumped from one bank to another making each bank close my account due to negative balances it was hard for me to bank with Wells Fargo, Chase and now US bank. Bank of America has given me a chance to bank with them and it has been well over 5 years now that I have been better with my money and I never switched banks. It is a good bank, branches everywhere, online app is easy to use, no complaints.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 01, 2016
Sf2500 Account Holder

Got to watch out for outsourcing I have great credit loan declined

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Dec 08, 2016
BoA does not provide decent service.
Anonymous Account Holder

We have an array of business and personal accounts at BoA, at their "flagship banking center" in Boston. In order to open a new account at Vanguard and transfer  some money, Vanguard required us to get a Medallion Signature Guarantee, a bit fancier than notarization.  Bank of America provides Medallion Signature Guarantees only if customers are transferring money to Merrill Lynch, their blood brother.

more ...
Nov 28, 2016
Horrible
Anonymous Account Holder

They do nothing for you at all they closed my account over some **** I didn't even know was fraudulent and then didn't want to give me my money that I had in the account worst bank ever do not go here

more ...
Nov 22, 2016
Deplorable!
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank acts like it is honorable but in reality it tries to rip you off at every turn with fees. It runs good online and has many features but unecessary fees...for instance, a paid off HELOC, they want $10 to take it off your account summary even though it has a zero balance.....I left it there for 2 years before I called and found that out. I sold my home and it was paid at closing.....what a joke. This bank represents corporate America.....greedy and liars.

more ...
Nov 22, 2016
Efficient customer service
Anonymous Account Holder

I called to obtain my mortgage payoff balance. They gave it to me, told me I needed to wire or send certified funds. No problem, except they didn't tell me where to send them. I got a letter later with specific details but it was too late, I sent the cashier's check to the same address I sent all my other payments.

BoA could have screwed me over, return the check, whatever, delaying things. But the people at the payment center took it upon themselves to forward the check to the proper location. My loan was marked paid and the account closed that same day!  Much appreciated.

more ...
Nov 16, 2016
HORRIBLE
Anonymous Account Holder

HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE

more ...
Nov 04, 2016
Worst nightmare; phone service sucks!
Anonymous Account Holder

Have banked with them for 19 years. 2 hours to verify my identity to talk to a darn customer service person. Forever playing the music. This bank sucks; truly sucks. The words "America" should be stripped from this name. Bank of ___? 

more ...
Nov 02, 2016
Excellent
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been a member since 2012 and I have had wonderful service

more ...
Oct 28, 2016
Saved me from fraud
kellyc620 Account Holder

I know BOA has issues but when mt debit card number was stolen last weekend, it was the bank who caught it, fixed it, then called me. When I found out, they had already gotten everything fixed and my new card was on the way. Very grateful to BOA. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 02, 2016

That happen to me as well Love me some BOA

 
Oct 15, 2016
Biggest regret holding money here
Anonymous Account Holder

they literally charged me 60$ a month, had no idea for keeping over 5000 in my saving? they informed me if the amount is above 2500, i wont be charged. I'm closing the account as of today, never lived with such regret. I paid them every month to hold my money?

more ...
Oct 09, 2016
First Time Home Buyers' Nightmare!
ScrubTech240 Account Holder

My husband and I have been in escrow on our first home purchase for 43 days now, and we still have no idea when we may close on our new home. We both have excellent credit and very good jobs. From the time we first started seeing our mortgage specialist back in June, we were told we would have no problem getting a house with our incomes, credit, and down payment that we had saved. Yet, it has been a nightmare from the beginning and quite frankly at this point I NEVER want to have to go through the process of buying a home ever again if this is the way it is handled. We have to constantly beg for updates because no one from the bank will stay in contact with us. We were sent a "Commit to Close on Time" agreement, but we are now 10 days over our closing date and they are saying we will not receive the reimbursement fee because they could not get ahold of our landlords for a rental history in time. Upon further investigation, they had our Apartments' phone and fax numbers mixed up, and are now blaming it on us. To top off the horrible customer service we have been receiving, we have had to fill out papers multiple times and write multiple explanation letters that have further delayed our closing. To this day, our closing date has been pushed back 4 times, and we still don't have a new time set. The first time they set our date, we got all the way to the bank, met with our mortgage specialists, she let us take out a cashier's check for the closing costs and get all the way to the title company where we sat for 10 minutes before they came out and told us we would not be closing because they had NEVER received any closing paperwork for us! When we demanded answers for this mix up they told us our application had been sent back to underwriting, but somewhere in the chain it was never communicated to our particular specialist so she apparently "had no idea". To me that is very poor business and if we were not is a time crunch to be in this house by the end of the month, we would withdraw our application at this point and go with a different bank. In the past week our application has been sent back to underwriting 2-3 times, and we still have not been given a clear explanation of why. They just keep telling us fees have changed.....?? Every time we try to talk to our mortgage specialist she just comes up with excuses or says it's all out of her hands and there is nothing she can do. I understand that these people work with these loans for a living, but this is our first home loan experience and would like to have things explained to us, but no one is willing to take the time to do that for us! I can honestly say I will NEVER NEVER NEVER go through Bank of America for another loan again! I have been banking with Bank of America for nearly 6 years and after all of this, I want to transfer all of my accounts to a different bank and never deal with them again! 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations