Bank of America Reviews

1.4 out of 5 stars
67 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 28, 2016
Saved me from fraud
kellyc620 Account Holder

I know BOA has issues but when mt debit card number was stolen last weekend, it was the bank who caught it, fixed it, then called me. When I found out, they had already gotten everything fixed and my new card was on the way. Very grateful to BOA. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 19, 2017
Horrific!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

One month ago I opened a savings account at BOA as a way to save a little $ for vacations. I figured that they have ATM's all over the place so it would be a good choice. Tuesday I checked to see if a transfer from another bank had made it into my account only to find that my account was closed. I called and was disconnected, kept on hold, transferred 4 times and told that in the Depositors Agreement the bank or the customer can terminate the account at any time for no reason....and that is what they did. I went to the Portsmouth and it was too late to talk to anyone that day. I set up an appointment and went there today. Not only do they give the customers the runaround on the phone but they do the bank staff as well. Finally they put me on a phone where I went through the same thing as I had on Tuesday only to hear the same thing, based on the Depositors agreement they opted to close my account....no reason need be given and they wouldn't!! I guess I was getting a little loud in the bank (imagine that) because they asked me to leave. I can never open a Bank of America account ever again!! I guess that is why they have such bad reviews....#nowilook!! Buyer beware BOA is run by Commies, I know it!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Aug 11, 2017
Horrible non-caring customer service.
Anonymous Account Holder

THE WORST BANK IN HISTORY

more ...
Jul 05, 2017
BIG MISTAKE SWITCHING TO BOFA
Anonymous Account Holder

Poor Customer Service! Rude, Sarcastic and Unhelpful  customer service associates...and that's after waiting 35 minutes to speak with someone. They clearly don't mind losing valuable customers. BIG mistake switching to BofA. Rating= -5

more ...
Jun 23, 2017
Consistently disappoints
jus10young Account Holder

I think everyone has gone through the BoA phase. I had an account for about five years, from high school to early college years. Over night, they began processing their credits and debits differently.

My direct deposit posted at 5:30a, but my automatic transfers went out at 1:00am. This meant SEVEN items were classified as overdrafts. Upon calling customer service, I was instantly laughed at and told "it's not my problem you can't handle your money".

Mind you, my automatically transfers and direct deposts had remained untouched for many years. This was prior to the CFPB  and the class action suit for intentionally causing overdrafts. 

Once trust is lost, I'll never have any BoA branded product in my househole. 

more ...
Jun 20, 2017
Overdrawn fees are ridiculous
CoachG643 Account Holder

Bank of America is the most unreliable money hungry POS in the USA. There managers talk down to employees and customers at all branch locations and in district offices. I've seen it multiple times and had it happen to me. I just got off the phone with Jennifer Adkins for Delaware office, no help what so ever, all they want is more money and new accounts.

more ...
Jun 19, 2017
Bank somewhere else
Anonymous Account Holder

this bank only cares about its bottom line. not customer friendly. The professionally tell you off in a nice way if you need any type of assistance.

more ...
Jun 18, 2017
Bank of America
Fkoyel Account Holder

I can't believe this Bank charge me Interest after my account has been closed and fully paid off. This bank will nickel-and-dime every customer and I care about the customers self. If this bike ever goes bankrupt at least they would be happy knowing they don't have to pay back a dime to anybody they owe. Disgraceful and coward. Thank God I don't have to deal with you anymore.

more ...
Jun 17, 2017
When i get my hands on my money im out !
Anonymous Account Holder

I set up a checking account they told me 25$ wont be seen for 3-5 days witch was fine but they told me any transfers after would be instant waited 3 hours nothing called help line in alabama they said it would take 24 hours wasnt mad so i waited nothing called back got someone im new york they told me 2-3 more days so now that i got my money in my account i went to the atm to take some out says invalid pin how ?? I called back up the service line they said that someone could help me activate it at an atm so as i waited 19 mins i drove to the atm i explained what happened with my temp card he told me he cant even see the temp card on my record (so whats the point of giving them out )the only way they could help me is by mail me my pin (4-5) business days im coming from captial one the only thing bad about them is the wait atleast they dont lie

more ...
Jun 06, 2017
Wouldn't let me pay my balance
PennyCat1024 Account Holder

They kept on rejecting my checking account. I had to call customer service to authorized/approved my checking account and to sign up for automatic withdrawals for minimal payment. Except they didn’t disclose that my automatic minimal payment was going to be a FLAT rate despite my actual dues could be less or more depending on the month. I got a lot of late fees that way because my automatic payment wasn’t covering the whole amount. Then I found out that they stopped my automatic payment, and told me that since I didn’t call them after 6 months to confirm I still wanted to be on automatic payment they took me off of it… They make so much money off of me with late fees or fees for not being current.

more ...
Jun 03, 2017
Great customer service.
Anonymous Account Holder

Representatives go above and beyond to help in loans, teller transactions, or to just sit and explain any questions you may have. 

more ...
Jun 01, 2017
Not worthy of my trust as a Bank.
Anonymous Account Holder

Worst customer service. I reported illegal transactions on my credit account on 5/15/17 and I did not get any help i desperately needed. On 5/31/17 another transaction occurred. I tried to call for hours without success. If I can trust you with my money as a bank please offer efficient service to me as a customer. I AM VERY FRUSTRATED.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations