Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Bank of America

1.6 out of 5 stars
60 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 11, 2016
Banking Customer
awleesha Account Holder

As a teenager I was pretty bad with my money; I was always had a negative baance in my account and because the negative fees ate my paycheck, I would switch to one bank to another (i know HORRIBLE). Like I said that was my teenage years - but because I jumped from one bank to another making each bank close my account due to negative balances it was hard for me to bank with Wells Fargo, Chase and now US bank. Bank of America has given me a chance to bank with them and it has been well over 5 years now that I have been better with my money and I never switched banks. It is a good bank, branches everywhere, online app is easy to use, no complaints.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 01, 2016
Sf2500 Account Holder

Got to watch out for outsourcing I have great credit loan declined

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jan 03, 2017
THE WORST OF ALL
Anonymous Account Holder

HIGH FEES, VERY VERY LONG WAITING LINE IF YOU CALL FOR HELP, UNDER STAFFED. These are reasons I am closing both business and personal accounts.

more ...
Dec 17, 2016
Horrible Customer Service.
Anonymous Account Holder

Don't open any accounts here.

more ...
Dec 17, 2016
Never had a problem with BOA.
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been with BOA for over 15 yrs and never had an issue and the support and customer service has been great 

more ...
Dec 17, 2016
Bank of America sucks ,
Anonymous Account Holder

Bank of America is horrible horrible horrible, its a shame that it named Bank of America 

more ...
Dec 17, 2016
refused my deposit?
Anonymous Account Holder

BAO refused my deposit tonight. Perhaps they'd prefer if I put my money to another bank?

more ...
Dec 17, 2016
I left them for a better bank
Anonymous Account Holder

Avoid them. Lowest interest rates in the banking industry, more fees than other banks (the maintenance fees in checking AND savings were what made me decide to leave), and you are just a number to them. The best time I had with this bank was when I wanted to close my account.

more ...
Dec 15, 2016
Awesome bank
Anonymous Account Holder

Bank of america is always ready to assist the customer to meet their financial goals.

more ...
Dec 08, 2016
BoA does not provide decent service.
Anonymous Account Holder

We have an array of business and personal accounts at BoA, at their "flagship banking center" in Boston. In order to open a new account at Vanguard and transfer  some money, Vanguard required us to get a Medallion Signature Guarantee, a bit fancier than notarization.  Bank of America provides Medallion Signature Guarantees only if customers are transferring money to Merrill Lynch, their blood brother.

more ...
Nov 28, 2016
Horrible
Anonymous Account Holder

They do nothing for you at all they closed my account over some **** I didn't even know was fraudulent and then didn't want to give me my money that I had in the account worst bank ever do not go here

more ...
Nov 22, 2016
Deplorable!
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank acts like it is honorable but in reality it tries to rip you off at every turn with fees. It runs good online and has many features but unecessary fees...for instance, a paid off HELOC, they want $10 to take it off your account summary even though it has a zero balance.....I left it there for 2 years before I called and found that out. I sold my home and it was paid at closing.....what a joke. This bank represents corporate America.....greedy and liars.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations