Bank of America Reviews

1.4 out of 5 stars
76 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 23, 2012
Never had a problem with BoA
joelg1988 Account Holder

I've been with them for year now, and I can tell you this bank will rip you apart of you are not organized with your money (my sister gets overdraft fees all the time) I have NEVER had an overdraft fee or a problem with customer service. I am extremely organized and I have to say their online banking is simply better than any other bank in the US. Get a local bank if you are not very sharp or not very organized, if you are good with money and are responsible BoA will never let you down. You gotta pay to play.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 30, 2014
You've Been Warned!
Snowdog66 Account Holder

I could write a book about my experience with BofA but I won't. I will say this, though: All these negative complaints you are reading should be trusted. This bank tried to screw me. When I caught them in the act I immediately paid off my credit card balance and closed all my accounts. This was in 2001 and I never looked back.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

May 22, 2017
Never been late...closed my account
Humbleviable Account Holder

I opened this BOA account over a year ago to use for the rewards points.  I have never been late, other than one payment posted a day late, on my payments with my BOA card.  I use this card for business purposes such as taking accounts to lunch, dinner, etc.  I went to use my BOA card to rent a car and it declined.  I was confused bc this card only had $406 and was no where close to the limit.  I called to ask what was going on with the card and the representative stated that a letter had been sent to me and the account had been closed due to a delinquent revolving credit card account on my credit report.  No phone call or email was sent either.  I have an online account set up to pay my bill so BOA has my email address.  I said I have never made a late payment with 3 credit cards, a mortgage, or a car payment.  The delinquent account is the result of a divorce and that has been cleared on my credit report.  AlsoIT IS AGAINST THE LAW to pull my information without my consent from my credit report.  Nowhere, when I opened this account did anyone get my permission to pull my credit report of any type every 30 days.   The BOA manager Bobby Vine told me that BOA scans your credit report every 30 days. So to make this story short basically BOA closed an account of an ontime paying customer that has never even been over the credit limit.  AND to reopen the account i would have to take another hit on my credit report for them to inquire to reopen the account.  So bc I have paid my bill every month on time and sometimes in full I get penalized.  I will never do business with BOA again.

more ...
May 22, 2017
Never been late, they closed my account
Humbleviable Account Holder

I opened this BOA account over a year ago to use for the rewards points.  I have never been late, other than one payment posted a day late, on my payments with my BOA card.  I use this card for business purposes such as taking accounts to lunch, dinner, etc.  I went to use my BOA card to rent a car and it declined.  I was confused bc this card only had $406 and was no where close to the limit.  I called to ask what was going on with the card and the representative stated that a letter had been sent to me and the account had been closed due to a delinquent revolving credit card account on my credit report.  No phone call or email was sent either.  I have an online account set up to pay my bill so BOA has my email address.  I said I have never made a late payment with 3 credit cards, a mortgage, or a car payment.  The delinquent account is the result of a divorce and that has been cleared on my credit report.  AlsoIT IS AGAINST THE LAW to pull my information without my consent from my credit report.  Nowhere, when I opened this account did anyone get my permission to pull my credit report of any type every 30 days.   The BOA manager Bobby Vine told me that BOA scans your credit report every 30 days. So to make this story short basically BOA closed an account of an ontime paying customer that has never even been over the credit limit.  AND to reopen the account i would have to take another hit on my credit report for them to inquire to reopen the account.  So bc I have paid my bill every month on time and sometimes in full I get penalized.  I will never do business with BOA again.

more ...
May 16, 2017
They f&cking S&ck!
Anonymous Account Holder

I had bank of america since 95.... loved them... till I found out even with my loyality to them....and because three times I went over 6 transfers they changed my saving to a checking...but wont change it back to a saving even after explainign what was occuring in my family needing me to make more than the 6 transfers.... you changed it to a checking, but wont change me back to a savings? All these years and you guys F8CK me over? This company F$cking S#cks!!!!

more ...
May 12, 2017
Don' t get charged for Overdraw FEES!
Anonymous Account Holder

I became a victim of $210 overdraw fees on single day. It is so frustrating they charged me $35 for unpaid $1.00 transaction, and then kept charging me over and over again for the rest of 5 transactions which were unpaid on the same day. Well, if I don't have any fund, why should they keep charging more than once. The worst part of story is I could not any deductable.

more ...
May 08, 2017
Ive had good sucess with BOA soo far
Anonymous Account Holder

Platinium rewards card is pretty good rewards features

more ...
May 05, 2017
bad service!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

bad service!!!

more ...
Apr 20, 2017
No customer appreciation
Anonymous Account Holder

They do not value their customers. They charve me a maintenance fee because I no longer qualified for free checking when I paid off my mortgage. THEY NEVER INFORMED ME AND SAID I WAS NOTIFIED THIS COULD HAPPEN 11 years ago when I opened the account! Shame on me for not remembering

more ...
Apr 19, 2017
Customer service
Anonymous Account Holder

Terrible. I do not appreciate representatives who are condescending and rude but that is all I find. 3 phone calls and my question was not answered 

more ...
Apr 19, 2017
Worst Bank EVER
BOASUCKS Account Holder

If you want your business to remain stagnent because your bank treats you like a number this is the bank for you. The list of HORRIBLE experiences I have had with this bank are too long to list. But they fail in all aspects. Their credit card processing fees are crazy and no matter how much business you do with them they will not bring it down. My business did 1.25 million in and out with them last year and I pay all my bills on time but have to fight with someone and talk to 3-4 different managers each time to get anything done. Just pure crap, from the branch help all the way up this is not a good bank if you care about growing your small business. 

more ...
Apr 14, 2017
Absolutely horrible!
Anonymous Account Holder

Stay away!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations