Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Amegy Bank of Texas

1.3 out of 5 stars
6 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jan 15, 2017
Greedy Bank
Anonymous Account Holder

A check and my payroll hit on the same day and this greedy bank charged me an NSF fee.  The credit and debit hit at the same time, but instead of recognizing the credit first, they chose to recognize the debit first and charged me $35.00, when the funds were in the account to cover the check.  A bunch of thieves.  Will be moving my account elsewhere as soon as possible.

more ...
Dec 23, 2016
Horrible
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank will give you a credit card. Less than one month they close a 11k limit  Credit Card.. They gave me no reason. This bank lie for no reason Turn around and say the corporate office close your Credit Card . Also when you contact the corporate office. They tell you it was a bank management decision. I never open a Credit Card  with a banking center. Leave this bank alone. Run Run Run go to any other bank . Do not come to Amegy Bank Of Texas.

more ...
Dec 04, 2016
Shady
Anonymous Account Holder

Maybe its just maybe, maybe its just the way they process their work but I have a credit limit of $1800. No matter how hard I try; After I add my available balance and my current/pending charges, The total NEVER adds up to exactly $1800 its always a few cents off whether higher or lower. Again, I don't know if they are including some type of hidden intrest fees but any time you add up your balance it should always equal your limit. Either someone is doing shady things and stealing pennies per account, or there's a undergrad failing to properly add and subtract basic numbers.

more ...
Jun 18, 2016
ILLEGITIMATE BLOODY FEES
victorio1sw Account Holder

I had an uncle that ran Marlin (Texas) National Bank. He prophetically said 25 years ago: "Banks think they can make money with Fees, but all they will make is ENEMIES".

Amegy Bank has begun charging an OUTRAGEOUS $7.50 Fee when money is pushed from the Kick Account into your checking account. Then the Kick account charges you a whopping 18% until you repay the pushed amount.

But on your savings accounts you get almost No Interest. I had $100,000 in this bank for two years, and never got enough annual interest to be reported to IRS (<$10).

This bank Now Sucks!! They are losing Customers, and Cannot Keep Employees either. Walk into the bank on Steubner-Airline and No One will Recognize you -- even if you have been there for 25 years!! I Speak with EXPERIENCE as a 25 year customer SOON TO LEAVE. I must remove my $18,000 savings before the Amegy Morons Fee it into Oblivion.

more ...
Jun 16, 2016
BLOODY NEW FEES
victorio1sw Account Holder

I had an uncle that ran Marlin (Texas) National Bank.  He prophetically said 25 years ago: "Banks think they can make money with Fees, but all they will make is ENEMIES". 

Amegy Bank has begun charging an OUTRAGEOUS $7.50 Fee when money is pushed from the Kick Account into your checking account.  Then the Kick account charges you a whopping 18% until you repay the pushed amount. 

But on your savings accounts you get almost No Interest.  I had $100,000 in this bank for two years, and never got enough annual interest to be reported to IRS (<$10). 

This bank Now Sucks!!  They are losing Customers, and Cannot Keep Employees either.  Walk into the bank on Steubner-Airline and No One will Recognize you -- even if you have been there for 25 years!!  I Speak with EXPERIENCE as a 25 year customer SOON TO LEAVE.  I must remove my $18,000 savings before the Amegy Morons Fee it into Oblivion.

more ...
Mar 18, 2016
Slow and ineffective
NotAskingForMuch Account Holder

Friendly people, but highly inefficient organization. No follow up on applictions or requests unless you go to the bank personally to stir things up. The front end has no idea what the back end is doing. According to account management the back office is overloaded with work. Front ofice will tell you one thing while the back office will send you automated letters telling you the opposite. I thought this is exactly what you're trying to prevent by going to a small(er) bank rather than a big bank. I guess not.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations