Ally® Bank Reviews

2.6 out of 5 stars
46 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 17, 2018
They are not bad
Discodisco Account Holder

Fair rate and easy online account maintenance. No problems.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 21, 2018
Defrauding in the name of security!!!
Rogims Account Holder

I got a check from my account I closed with keybank, and I deposited it with Ally mobile banking on 1st of August, 2018, they closed the account on 2nd of August, 2018, when I asked why, they claimed the reason is "fraud"! Then I asked whoever spoke to me then if my check is still okay since you closed the account, so I can find a better and suitable bank, but she coudln't give reasonable response, so I went ahead and deposited the check with Alliant CU, and when Alliant couldn't clear it, I had to call Keybank what happened, and they said they already paid the check out to Ally bank same week I deposited with them. I've been calling them since then, and they've been dribbling me back and forth, asking me to tell keybank to contact them, and Key made it clear that they have nothing to do with it anymore, check has been paid out! I don't understand why you closed an account for alleged fraud, but you held unto the money for almost 2 months now, even murder case get solved in less time frame. Unless they never intend to give me back my money. I've requested evidence from keybank on how and when they paid Ally the check, I'm hoping there is something I can do with that to claim back my money when it hit my mail. I'm not about to let some cooperate thieves steal $4,600 from me, I'm on wheelchair for christ sake!. I'm gonna keep posting this in as many review platform that I can.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Mar 16, 2019
Rip Off Artists!
LDennick1 Account Holder

These people are THIEVES! I opened an account about a month ago and discovered $200 I deposited was missing, plus the ATM card they sent was "invalid" even though I had confirmation that it was activated a day before. No effective help from anyone, just stole most of my money and closed the account for no reason!

Go to a credit union. You'll get far better service and no rip offs.

more ...
Mar 06, 2019
really bad bank
dewdappa Account Holder

work very inefficiently. don't give me $500 cash back in time and need 2 week to review a simple enrollment email. 

more ...
Feb 27, 2019
lirienleigh Account Holder

you are better off getting a loan from your local mob boss. they might actually be able to speak your language and maybe a bit more willing to work with you later on down the line. 
while we had the car, we never missed a payment. we, unfortunately, totaled the car, to which we 1. called ally the same month it happened and 2. my insurance sent them the statements and the payment for the car. Ally now claims, they never received notice the car was totaled. 

not that it matters. we were still making payments, and eventually, we came to a point where we couldn't afford the payments any longer for a car we didn't own. we called to see if there was something they could help with for the remainder of the payments (LESS THAN $2000 MIND YOU) they refused. we continued to make smaller payments of what we could afford and alley tossed the loan into collections anyways. they then sent us a letter stating they would be willing to work with us if we called them. 

they weren't. 

they wanted their money. that was what they were willing to work with. either we made a large chunk payment (over $800) that day, or we paid in full. which we just couldn't afford until taxes came in. 

we told them we would pay it off as soon as Taxes came in. 

they have called EVERY. SINGLE. DAY at 8:00 am every day. the person on the other line never speaks English enough to understand basic concepts and nor do they offer to transfer to an English speaker. they get upset when i ask to transfer stateside and have an attitude with me every single time. 

I cannot tell you enough. RUN AWAY.

if you have a loan with them. get out now.

if you are thinking about getting a loan with them because no one else will loan to you, DONT. save your money for a few months, and go with a better place that isn't a joke of a business. or go talk to the mob. because at this point, I'd much rather deal with them than this moral-less so-called "business." at least the Mob has morals and a brain. 

**also, they stopped my automatic payments without asking when the car was first totaled and used the payment from the insurance company to cover the late charges and fee's associated with them not taking the payments automatically like we had set up. they ever gave a real reason for this, and then claimed its standard after a car is totaled. the payment from the insurance would have covered the car had they not done this and tacked on a bunch of fees and charges. 

more ...
Feb 24, 2019
Ally is the best bank that I’ve joined.
crevis90 Account Holder

I’ve had nothing but great customer service with Ally.

No you cannot deposit cash, but I opt to transfer cash to a money order when given cash. 

I recently got rid of my “brick and mortar” bank and have had Ally as my primary financial institution for years. Great company!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Mar 15, 2019

I had great experiences at first also, but they allowed someone other than myself who pretended to be me and failed the security questions to make changes and take my money!

 
Feb 21, 2019
Amazing rates & customer support
AgelessKibbles Account Holder

The only downside to Ally is their website maintenance and issues, it's not super common but as it is an online bank it can be a nuisance, they do fix it immediately, however. Super easy process and I love the high-interest rates. The website is super easy to use and so is the app, customer service is great too! Since it is an online bank there are no cash deposits, however, I found that I can deposit cash into my PayPal account at Walmart, CVS, and many other stores and transfer into the account for free! I love all.

Highly recommend.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations