Ally® Bank Reviews

2.6 out of 5 stars
46 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

1 star reviews (23) See All

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Mar 16, 2019
Rip Off Artists!
LDennick1 Account Holder

These people are THIEVES! I opened an account about a month ago and discovered $200 I deposited was missing, plus the ATM card they sent was "invalid" even though I had confirmation that it was activated a day before. No effective help from anyone, just stole most of my money and closed the account for no reason!

Go to a credit union. You'll get far better service and no rip offs.

more ...
Mar 06, 2019
really bad bank
dewdappa Account Holder

work very inefficiently. don't give me $500 cash back in time and need 2 week to review a simple enrollment email. 

more ...
Feb 27, 2019
lirienleigh Account Holder

you are better off getting a loan from your local mob boss. they might actually be able to speak your language and maybe a bit more willing to work with you later on down the line. 
while we had the car, we never missed a payment. we, unfortunately, totaled the car, to which we 1. called ally the same month it happened and 2. my insurance sent them the statements and the payment for the car. Ally now claims, they never received notice the car was totaled. 

not that it matters. we were still making payments, and eventually, we came to a point where we couldn't afford the payments any longer for a car we didn't own. we called to see if there was something they could help with for the remainder of the payments (LESS THAN $2000 MIND YOU) they refused. we continued to make smaller payments of what we could afford and alley tossed the loan into collections anyways. they then sent us a letter stating they would be willing to work with us if we called them. 

they weren't. 

they wanted their money. that was what they were willing to work with. either we made a large chunk payment (over $800) that day, or we paid in full. which we just couldn't afford until taxes came in. 

we told them we would pay it off as soon as Taxes came in. 

they have called EVERY. SINGLE. DAY at 8:00 am every day. the person on the other line never speaks English enough to understand basic concepts and nor do they offer to transfer to an English speaker. they get upset when i ask to transfer stateside and have an attitude with me every single time. 

I cannot tell you enough. RUN AWAY.

if you have a loan with them. get out now.

if you are thinking about getting a loan with them because no one else will loan to you, DONT. save your money for a few months, and go with a better place that isn't a joke of a business. or go talk to the mob. because at this point, I'd much rather deal with them than this moral-less so-called "business." at least the Mob has morals and a brain. 

**also, they stopped my automatic payments without asking when the car was first totaled and used the payment from the insurance company to cover the late charges and fee's associated with them not taking the payments automatically like we had set up. they ever gave a real reason for this, and then claimed its standard after a car is totaled. the payment from the insurance would have covered the car had they not done this and tacked on a bunch of fees and charges. 

more ...
Feb 06, 2019
smmcla Account Holder

close out account after being a member for 3+ years. holding my deposits. Always hve to talk to "back office"

more ...
Jan 07, 2019
They will lock ur account

This bank will not let me access my savings account. Will not call back. Can’t get a supervisor on the phone. I have nearly 250k in my account and I can’t get at it? Are you fu*king kidding me? I will be contacting the treasury dept. When this gets handled I am CLOSING MY ACCOUNT. Screw Ally bank.

more ...
Jan 03, 2019
Sociopaths run this bank. They will lie.
gi41949 Account Holder

Sociopaths run this bank. They will lie to you repeatedly and make up new rules so they can keep your money longer than they are legally able to.

more ...
Jan 03, 2019
Sociopaths run this bank.
gi41949 Account Holder

Sociopaths run this bank. They will lie to you repeatedly and make up new rules so they can keep your money longer than they are legally able to.

more ...
Jan 02, 2019
Worst finance place to deal with
amandaaaxdanielle Account Holder

Financed a Chevy Volt through them and beginning of November it was a total loss. Now it’s January and i have a collection on my credit of $11,000 of Ally saying i owe them. My insurance company never received what they needed from Ally to write the settlement check and i log into my account online and those no vehicle listed so even if i wanted to pay the 2 months owed i can’t not and when i called customer service the lady was COMPLETELY rude to me explaining that I’m in contract to still pay until insurance pays them yet i can’t pay because my account is locked??? It is not my fault ally’s incompetent total loss department can’t do their job and give the insurance what they need to get their money. Obviously ally doesn’t want to get paid but my credit score is being drastically affected by their miscommunication with my insurance company! I will never ever ever finance through them again. The lady on the phone yelled at me saying it’s my responsibility to keep paying and treated me like trash! She had no remorse or empathy and seemed to be bothered by the fact i even called. I have never ever experienced such awful customer service.

more ...
Dec 17, 2018
Horrific and terrifying experience
Damien5377 Account Holder

I opened an Ally financial investment account last week.  They said it would take 3 days for funds transferred to be available.  I moved $50 over last week.  It showed up today.  I tried to make purchases totalling $45 and it says I have $0 available.  I look at account, $50 balance.  I called Ally to find out what is going on.  Told they cannot find my name and account in system.  Transferred me to some other department before they could find my account.  Then told me it would be a 3 day hold on the money.  I said it has been 3 days and now it is available.  They said no, it's 3 days from when it dropped in the Ally account.  So it won't be available for 3 more days.  So it takes a week for anything you move to an Ally account before it is available for you to access.  Screw that.  I'm out.

more ...
Nov 26, 2018
Your money is not safe here
Ankitejfadf Account Holder

Ally just didn't follow the terms and conditions mentioned at the time of opening the account, and this costed me $850.

There interest rates are good, but i  would avoid parking money as they don't follow the rules setup by them, which makes it scary,

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations