Ally® Bank Reviews

2.3 out of 5 stars
39 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

1 star reviews (23) See All

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

May 04, 2019
Extremely Horrible Customer service
X2heflow Account Holder

My Car was totaled and I had Gap insurance. I called Ally customer service to find out what I needed to do. The customer service rep. informed me that my insurance and Gap would handle everything. She also told me that I no longer had to keep paying on the car because the Gap insurance would pay the remaining balance on the car from the insurance company. This conversation was recorded. A month later, I was told from Ally that information was false. This was one of many wrong messages from customer service. Ally Bank would send me emails from their Gap insurance division requesting information needed to complete paperwork for the insurance company. Afterwards, I realized that they were not the GAP insurance company for my car and they never sent the paperwork to the (REAL) GAP insurance company. I have the emails to prove this as well. Ally is good for taking your money only. If you ever have to use Customer Service for any reason, it will be time out of your life that you can never get back. I sent a letter to Ally regarding this situation and they did nothing. So I am posting this complaint in an effort to save at least one person from the problems of bad business practice. They do not deserve your money. Go to a credit union instead. 

more ...
Apr 16, 2019
Horrible customer service.
Bos1cgg Account Holder

 I had to call multiple times within the last month for the same issue because they could not get it right … Had to wait on hold forever for someone to pick up then they would put me on hold again for three to five minutes every time … Most times I was on the phone for over an hour with them . Run don't walk away

more ...
Apr 16, 2019
Horrible customer service.
Bos1cgg Account Holder

I had to call multiple times within the last month for the same issue because they could not get it right … Had to wait on hold forever for someone to pick up then they would put me on hold again for three to five minutes every time … Most times I was on the phone for over an hour with them . Run don't walk away

more ...
Apr 12, 2019
Great rates - horrible customer service
RobFL Account Holder

I have been with Ally for about 2 years.  They have great rates and I actually enjoy my accounts BUT if you ever need customer service you are screwed.  You wait on hoid forever.  I called in today - they said approximately 3 minutes - I have been on hold for 32 minutes.  Its like that everytime you call in.  I used to recommend them to everyone I know.  Now I tell people to look elsewhere even if the rates are a little lower.  It will save you a lot of grief.

more ...
Apr 01, 2019
awful!
Cee1997 Account Holder

This is the absolute worst bank I’ve ever dealt with in my entire life! Never again will I ever do business with them. I’ve had my vehicle loan through them not even a whole year (June will be a year) and they have double took my payment out of my account 4 times now! I’m a 22 year old that works hard for my money. You can’t even get a single person who speaks a lick of English! I wouldn’t recommend this bank to my worst enemy.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 11, 2019

I thought I'd open a savings account here since the interest rates are good. The account opening process is such a nightmare (i applied online, but it told me to call in). Both the chat and the phone reps were incredibly unprofessional, and the hold times were absolutely insane. The chat rep told me I should just get up at 3am and call them when they're not busy. The phone rep seemed to have no clue what was going on and kept putting me on multiple holds to "talk to the back office". Ultimately I asked them to withdraw my application entirely because yikes - who knows what would happen if I did go through with the account and I ever needed help with it. So I think I dodged a bullet here. At least I found out they're a garbage company before I gave them my money.

 
Mar 16, 2019
Rip Off Artists!
LDennick1 Account Holder

These people are THIEVES! I opened an account about a month ago and discovered $200 I deposited was missing, plus the ATM card they sent was "invalid" even though I had confirmation that it was activated a day before. No effective help from anyone, just stole most of my money and closed the account for no reason!

Go to a credit union. You'll get far better service and no rip offs.

more ...
Mar 06, 2019
really bad bank
dewdappa Account Holder

work very inefficiently. don't give me $500 cash back in time and need 2 week to review a simple enrollment email. 

more ...
Feb 27, 2019
lirienleigh Account Holder

you are better off getting a loan from your local mob boss. they might actually be able to speak your language and maybe a bit more willing to work with you later on down the line. 
while we had the car, we never missed a payment. we, unfortunately, totaled the car, to which we 1. called ally the same month it happened and 2. my insurance sent them the statements and the payment for the car. Ally now claims, they never received notice the car was totaled. 

not that it matters. we were still making payments, and eventually, we came to a point where we couldn't afford the payments any longer for a car we didn't own. we called to see if there was something they could help with for the remainder of the payments (LESS THAN $2000 MIND YOU) they refused. we continued to make smaller payments of what we could afford and alley tossed the loan into collections anyways. they then sent us a letter stating they would be willing to work with us if we called them. 

they weren't. 

they wanted their money. that was what they were willing to work with. either we made a large chunk payment (over $800) that day, or we paid in full. which we just couldn't afford until taxes came in. 

we told them we would pay it off as soon as Taxes came in. 

they have called EVERY. SINGLE. DAY at 8:00 am every day. the person on the other line never speaks English enough to understand basic concepts and nor do they offer to transfer to an English speaker. they get upset when i ask to transfer stateside and have an attitude with me every single time. 

I cannot tell you enough. RUN AWAY.

if you have a loan with them. get out now.

if you are thinking about getting a loan with them because no one else will loan to you, DONT. save your money for a few months, and go with a better place that isn't a joke of a business. or go talk to the mob. because at this point, I'd much rather deal with them than this moral-less so-called "business." at least the Mob has morals and a brain. 

**also, they stopped my automatic payments without asking when the car was first totaled and used the payment from the insurance company to cover the late charges and fee's associated with them not taking the payments automatically like we had set up. they ever gave a real reason for this, and then claimed its standard after a car is totaled. the payment from the insurance would have covered the car had they not done this and tacked on a bunch of fees and charges. 

more ...
Feb 06, 2019
smmcla Account Holder

close out account after being a member for 3+ years. holding my deposits. Always hve to talk to "back office"

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations