Ally® Bank

2.4 out of 5 stars
74 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 10, 2016
Best Bank I've Come Across.
Anonymous Account Holder

I've been with this bank for a year now with only positive things to say. Never a wait to speak to customer service, I get all atm fees credited back, and I've never spoken to a foreigner through customer service.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 27, 2016
Iffy
souch89 Account Holder

This bank was ok UNTIL I started getting fraudulent charges to my account. I sent them whatever forms needed to be filled out and signed, and they say that I filled it out wrong. SO, I filled out another one as correctly as I can and even called to ask and make sure I was doing it right. No luck. They gave me back the 2gs of fradulent charges at first, but the form was filled out "wrong" still so they took the 2gs back. This was a little after receiving my tax refunds. I kept going back and forth with them for a few months, and they suddenly closed my account on me. I didn't want anything to do with them by then. That was 2 years ago. However, recently I found an uncashed check from them for funds that was left from my account that THEY closed. I called to see if this can be reissued to me, an amount of $455. They've been giving me the run around once again. They say they will send me through mail or email some bs form again that I need to fill out. Supposedly it takes 1-2 business days for an effing email???? I called them around 5 times in the past month. Most likely I will not see my funds. I don't normally write reviews ever but they suck. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Mar 21, 2017
Horrible place
Anonymous Account Holder

They will not work with you and if they do they will call you every single day. How are you suppose to make money for your payment if every time you turn around they are calling you at work. Hate hate hate this place.

more ...
Mar 20, 2017
Terrible Service
Anonymous Account Holder

I am new to Ally. My job requires me to travel extensively. I called Ally while driving in the country. I lost coverage and was disconnected. I arrived home and tried to open my account. My accounts were locked so I tried to call the rep. He could do nothing for me. He informed me that a specialist would call me in the next day or two. I need to access my accounts for work. My initial deposits were a dummy test to see how the bank preformed. I will close my accounts as soon as I have access to them. Withdrawls also take an extremely long time. 

more ...
Mar 19, 2017
Good at exactly what it promises.
KaigeG Account Holder

Ally Bank is a wonderful checking/saving account alternative. They deliver on exactly what their site's descriptions of their services promise, in a timely manner. The only catch is how their customer service over the phone is. It's not the most pleasant experience as the people on the other end don't seem the most qualified to be handling something like banking issues. Regardless, the bank is trustworthy, and offers loads of benefits.

more ...
Mar 18, 2017
Needs to get into the 21st century
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank is very, very slow so if you deposit your money and expect to have access to it any time soon, forget it.  I was notified in January that this would change but it hasn't.  The only thing that changed is now  you have access to the first $200 of your deposit but you still have to wait for the rest of it.  I have other bank accounts and when I make a deposit, whether it be in person, at an atm, or a mobile deposit with my phone, it is available immediately so I don't understand what the problem is with Ally.  I liked their interest rates so I tried it.  Lesson learned.  I should have realized it wasn't all it was cracked up to be when I called with a simple question and got an extremely rude answer.  My question was when would direct deposits be made available for use and the man on the other end said "lady, all I can tell you is if we get it, you'll get it".  

more ...
Mar 09, 2017
One of the worst banks around
Chefth Account Holder

I highly recommend you do not open an account at this Bank. They are nothing but a bunch of Liars and when they say they don't send money they do and it really messes your account up.

more ...
Feb 20, 2017
Great bank, great rates!
Anonymous Account Holder

Great bank, great rates! Just moved over all my banking here. 

more ...
Feb 13, 2017
Paid Off Ally Loan and Waiting $$
Anonymous Account Holder

Paid off my Auto loan in Full and at the Same time Auto Pay hit me for the monthly payment! Been 13 days and still No refund Check! Ally tells me 18 more days to recieve my refund??? What if i was 18 days late on my auto loan????

more ...
Feb 09, 2017
Pretty decent bank
tastik Account Holder

I have been banking with Ally for the last 5 years, and can't think of a single complaint - their model fits my lifestyle (all card / online, no need for branch access), and their customer service has always been helpful and informative.

- Their mobile app is good, but they are behind when it comes to current best security practices.

- Fraud detection and resolution is on-point

- Debit card re-issuance is reasonable given the limitations (no branches, everything comes via USPS or UPS)

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 14, 2017

Enter Your Reply

 
Feb 07, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Account Holder

I have my car payments with this bank.   They are so rude and nasty when you fall behind in payments.  The reps are unprofessional and they will harass you till no end.   I have nothing good to say about them.    Worst company ever!!! 

more ...
Feb 06, 2017
Fraud support is a joke
righthero Account Holder

The only thing that's true about Ally is that their customer service team tries to be polite on the phone. If you are concerned about how ALLY will handle fraudulent charges on your checking account, they will try to handle it with the least amount of effort. STAY AWAY from ALLY if you are concerned about Fraud protection. I have a feeling that it is not so much as to purposely not help you (although that's has been the result for almost a month now), but pure incompetence. Fraudulent charges were made to a debit card from my ally checking account ( probably because Ally doesn't have a security chip on their debit card, which makes it that much easier for hacking and fraud to take place) via paypal. I submitted a dispute. Ally calls and says I need to contact Paypal to resolve the dispute. I called paypal, they recognizes that it's fraud and tries to do a charge back. At this point the ball has been in Ally's court to unblock the request to charge back the funds to my account. It's been almost a month with over a dozen call with Ally, Paypal, Paypal and Ally together on the same line, and Ally almost on every occasion comes up with a new reason why things aren't working. At this point I got a letter saying, because the fraud happened through paypal they are off the hook, but will try to help if I submit a 10 page dispute form explaining the problem, which they then state will take up to 90 days to come back to me. SMH the paypal fraud department is shocked as well as to how Ally is handling things and has been trying to find any legal way to help me get reimbursed. It would have been one thing if Ally had at any point in time reached out to figure out how to "focus on doing right by me and my finances." But I guess it's all catchy words to hook you in, but no substance.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations