Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Ally® Bank

2.3 out of 5 stars
63 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 19, 2016
Easy
gavinvl Account Holder

Never any issues.. Chase, on the otherhand..

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 25, 2016
Avoid banking here at all costs.
bolson48 Account Holder

My experience with Ally Bank started off positively, I enjoyed the various features and benefits and some of the highest interest rates for personal savings in the market. However, this experience quickly degraded after about a year of being an account holder with Ally. Interest rates were lowered unless certain balances were met – part of the reason I joined Ally was because they marketed high interest rates regardless of balance, it was a key selling point. Another feature that was downsized was ATM fee reimbursement, at first unlimited at any ATM, was then downgraded to only a maximum of $10 per statement cycle, another key selling point when I first joined Ally that was subsequently taken away.

However, besides having key features that compelled me to join the bank being removed – what truly invoked my ire was their change in certain policies that ultimately made being an account holder intolerable. In this case, it is what occurs once you overdraft your account.

Due to an error from Ally’s Bill Pay, where a payment recipient was paid twice – resulting in an overdraft of my account - Ally not only charged me a $25 overdraft fee (previously only $9 when first joined, again – another key selling point that was quickly removed after I joined) because of their mistake, but also refused to waive the fee after the duplicate payment was corrected. On top of that, due to a “change in policy” since my account overdrafted, they put a 7 business day hold on any new deposits made to the account. So not only did they take $25 for an overdraft they caused, but they didn’t return my money to my account from the duplicate bill payment they made for 7 business days. Other than direct deposits, any other deposits I would ever try to make was then also subjected to this 7 day hold.

To add insult to injury, Ally has made the process of closing my account as difficult as they could possibly do. I attempted to transfer my funds to a new account at a new bank – where Ally promptly debited the funds out of my account the very same day. Ally, however, was not done with me yet. Due to another “error” my account was charged an overdraft fee of $25 when I was left with a balance of $0, now leaving me with a negative balance of $25. I was then told that this gave them grounds to cancel my transfer – which would take 2-3 business days to process, and then be once again subject to the 7 business day hold because of the recent overdraft. Ally has now stolen $50 from me from mistakes they’ve made, and has held my money hostage on multiple occasions. As a final kick in the pants on my way out of this simply atrocious institution, they had “temporarily” disabled any transfers to and from my account. Thankfully, I was able to at least stop my direct deposits being made their and to a new bank – but I had to wait over a month for Ally to finally give me my money back that they held “on hold” because of the mistakes they had made.

 I say again, avoid this institution, avoid it like the plague, do not let them handle your money – because they will make clerical errors and hold you and your money responsible.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Dec 01, 2016
Great!
RebeccaJ88 Account Holder

I love Ally.  I've been a customer for 4 years, opened multiple accounts and closed a few too. Never had any issues with customer service, travelling out of country or changing my home address every year.

more ...
Nov 16, 2016
Worst Credit Card
Anonymous Account Holder

I opened and closed this credit card within 2 months - I'm an Ally banking customer, and to needed 2 separate logins for the credit card, and banking is silly. .

The credit card site, is horrible, as though no user testing or even an understanding of what an online credit card site should include.
Phone service is horrible.

And let me say, when I closed the account, I continued to get online billing notifications for an additional 3 months, according to them, normal activity. So, yeah, I'd definitely consider going elsewhere if you are looking for a good online experience and good customer service experience.

more ...
Nov 12, 2016
Unprofessional
Anonymous Account Holder

I've had ally for over two years. They just shut my savings account down (without notifying me) because I had over six transfers one month within the last 12. Not only did they charge me for this, but they NEVER told me they were going to. I thought my money had been stolen. I called to see what had happened and they could not have cared less. I immediately closed my checking and other savings account down. They should have just blocked the other transaction. This bank is insane.

more ...
Nov 10, 2016
Best Bank I've Come Across.
Anonymous Account Holder

I've been with this bank for a year now with only positive things to say. Never a wait to speak to customer service, I get all atm fees credited back, and I've never spoken to a foreigner through customer service.

more ...
Nov 10, 2016
Not as convenient as they say they are
gotmick22 Account Holder

After the third time a mobile deposit was reversed, I realized how hard it was to do business with Ally. They were completely wasting my time. If the check isn't written *exactly* like the name on your account (Like a nickname), they won't take it for any reason.  Maybe that's a problem most people don't have, but my local credit union certainly doesn't have a problem with that.  

more ...
Nov 07, 2016
shady Dealings
Tineifrinn Account Holder

This company is shady and corrupt in its dealings with customers who fall even the slightest behind. They lose records and refuse information asked for, they say that they have set up a payment arrangement but continue to act as if there is not one.

more ...
Nov 06, 2016
Average
golfpro34 Account Holder

I personally have never had an issue with this bank. All my customer service experiences have been positive. I would recommend to friends and family. 

more ...
Nov 01, 2016
Anonymous Account Holder

Great approval rates, no down payment required. Thanks Ally

more ...
Oct 20, 2016
Terrible customer service.
Anonymous Account Holder

they were very rude, sent you in circles, and gave contradicting answers. Do not use for an auto loan!!!!!

more ...
Oct 18, 2016
tcormier321 Account Holder

I've been with Ally for about 3 years, and it has been one of the best banking experiences. Good interest rates, and if I want to add an additional account (such as a new savings account) it is simple to do. Customer service is great and has helped me numerous times when I forgot my password (non-standard password requirements, like you cannot use special characters, which is a bit odd), and often within a few minutes. I recommend ally to all my friends, and everyone who has switched enjoys using Ally.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations