Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Ally® Bank

2.5 out of 5 stars
74 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 18, 2016
tcormier321 Account Holder

I've been with Ally for about 3 years, and it has been one of the best banking experiences. Good interest rates, and if I want to add an additional account (such as a new savings account) it is simple to do. Customer service is great and has helped me numerous times when I forgot my password (non-standard password requirements, like you cannot use special characters, which is a bit odd), and often within a few minutes. I recommend ally to all my friends, and everyone who has switched enjoys using Ally.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 10, 2016
Terrible communication
Anonymous Account Holder

I recently updated my permanent address and apparently got locked - They NEVER called nor emailed that my account was locked until I tried to access my account online and realize there was a problem. Promptly, I called and was asked to send some documents in as proof of identity. After a couple of days, nothing had been resolved. Customer service wasn't able to help so they 'tried' to connect me with the Loss Prevent Department's employee that was taking care of my case. However, she's never free to take my calls nor ever called back. Customer service promised me twice they would definitely follow-up with her to give me a call back but nothing...

What gets me is the lack of communication. It's absolutely horrendous especially when first of all, they don't let me know when my online access was locked in the beginning - mind you, there's no alt. to your account and money access. Second, that employee taking care of my case - I have no idea what her problem is but if my documents are not sufficient, there should be some kind of reach out to me right? Ok, no, so I took the intiative to contact her, but she's always not able to speak with me - on with another customer, ok fine and then next day, she's at lunch, ok fine too. But why don't she call me back? I just don't get it. If there's something preventing her from resolving my case, shouldn't she be speaking with me and getting whatever else she needs?

Third time I'm calling after submitting my docs, and I'm transferred to her supervisor's voicemail. Let's see how that goes since it's the weekend and I have to wait...I've never had so much trouble and it's so frustrating getting the run around. They can't even stop my auto transfer of money from my external account while this is happening so they are just going to keep pulling my money while I have no bank access whatsoever to my Ally account. 

Absolutely horrible experience with this bank...

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Feb 20, 2017
Great bank, great rates!
Anonymous Account Holder

Great bank, great rates! Just moved over all my banking here. 

more ...
Feb 13, 2017
Paid Off Ally Loan and Waiting $$
Anonymous Account Holder

Paid off my Auto loan in Full and at the Same time Auto Pay hit me for the monthly payment! Been 13 days and still No refund Check! Ally tells me 18 more days to recieve my refund??? What if i was 18 days late on my auto loan????

more ...
Feb 09, 2017
Pretty decent bank
tastik Account Holder

I have been banking with Ally for the last 5 years, and can't think of a single complaint - their model fits my lifestyle (all card / online, no need for branch access), and their customer service has always been helpful and informative.

- Their mobile app is good, but they are behind when it comes to current best security practices.

- Fraud detection and resolution is on-point

- Debit card re-issuance is reasonable given the limitations (no branches, everything comes via USPS or UPS)

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 14, 2017

Enter Your Reply

 
Feb 07, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Account Holder

I have my car payments with this bank.   They are so rude and nasty when you fall behind in payments.  The reps are unprofessional and they will harass you till no end.   I have nothing good to say about them.    Worst company ever!!! 

more ...
Feb 06, 2017
Fraud support is a joke
righthero Account Holder

The only thing that's true about Ally is that their customer service team tries to be polite on the phone. If you are concerned about how ALLY will handle fraudulent charges on your checking account, they will try to handle it with the least amount of effort. STAY AWAY from ALLY if you are concerned about Fraud protection. I have a feeling that it is not so much as to purposely not help you (although that's has been the result for almost a month now), but pure incompetence. Fraudulent charges were made to a debit card from my ally checking account ( probably because Ally doesn't have a security chip on their debit card, which makes it that much easier for hacking and fraud to take place) via paypal. I submitted a dispute. Ally calls and says I need to contact Paypal to resolve the dispute. I called paypal, they recognizes that it's fraud and tries to do a charge back. At this point the ball has been in Ally's court to unblock the request to charge back the funds to my account. It's been almost a month with over a dozen call with Ally, Paypal, Paypal and Ally together on the same line, and Ally almost on every occasion comes up with a new reason why things aren't working. At this point I got a letter saying, because the fraud happened through paypal they are off the hook, but will try to help if I submit a 10 page dispute form explaining the problem, which they then state will take up to 90 days to come back to me. SMH the paypal fraud department is shocked as well as to how Ally is handling things and has been trying to find any legal way to help me get reimbursed. It would have been one thing if Ally had at any point in time reached out to figure out how to "focus on doing right by me and my finances." But I guess it's all catchy words to hook you in, but no substance.

more ...
Feb 06, 2017
BEST DECISION I EVER MADE
Anonymous Account Holder

I've been with Ally Checking and Savings for over 6 years.  I write 1 check per month and pay all bills online.

I have no need to walk into any bank for any reason.  I own my car and rent my apartment (my one check).

The application process was a piece of cake, the customer service is fast and curteous.  Why pay for services

I don't need?  Ally meets my needs perfectly.  I couldn't have made a better choice

more ...
Feb 03, 2017
Deposits Take to Long
Anonymous Account Holder

Made a deposit by check on Monday morning using my phone (because there is no other way to deposit money into my own account - the bank exists only online!). The deposit was from my other bank account, so I see what is going on.... 

Today is day 5, the funds are in my account, but I cannot use them for another day. Money left my other account on day 2, but they will only become available on my Ally account on day 6. The question is what Ally bank is doing with my money for 4 days?!!!

more ...
Jan 24, 2017
Ally Has Gone Beyond My Expectations
Anonymous Account Holder

I have been an Ally customer for about 2 years now, and I have been so pleased that I truly felt compelled to leave a review wherever possible. Currently, I have an Interest Checking account and an Online Savings account, and I will likely open a CD in the near future. When I first moved to Ally, I had shopped around. My previous bank left a bad taste in my mouth, and I wanted something convenient with low fees. Initially, I was wary of Ally because they do not have physical branches. I was worried that if something went wrong, I wouldn't have the ability to speak to someone face to face. However, the incredibly low and limited fees they advertised and the great interest rate that they offered on their Online Savings pushed to open my account. Since then, I have been blown away. There have been no gimmicks; the fees and rates listed are exactly what they offer. My initial fear of no branches has been quelled because I have never needed one. I can use any ATM around, and any ATM fee that I'm charged is returned at the end of the month. Depositing checks is a breeze using their smartphone app, and the money is deposited faster than my old bank could ever manage. The few times when I have had issues, I was able to call their customer service line or use their online chat, and I was always greeted promptly and kindly by a real person who stuck with me until my issue was solved. I've seen some people's reviews taking issue with Ally's customer service, but I have NEVER had any issue whatsoever, and I've had to contact someone at least 3 or 4 times a year. In fact, I would go so far as to say my experiences with Ally's customer service have been the best I've had with ANY business' customer service department.

Finally, and I think most importantly, my favorite part about Ally is their online and mobile banking. Their website is SO detailed and easy to use. Any and all information that I need is there, and laid out intuitively. Making transfers and sending money is a snap. I love the website immensely! For anyone looking for a great bank, I recommend Ally absolutely.

more ...
Jan 24, 2017
Terrible customer service
Anonymous Account Holder

 I paid off my loan .... they sent my title to a place where I haven't lived in for five years ! Then they send me a letter saying that they are relieving me from my Lein... and they are no longer responsible for the vehicle.meanwhile the title is in someone else's hands and I had to go through hell with the DMV to get my title! I hope they lose all business !

more ...
Jan 20, 2017
Avoid it like a plague!
Anonymous Account Holder

For 1 simple reason, they're online, and everytime you have a very small issue, you have to wait 20-30 mins for someone to answer your call. You have to keep WAITING... who has that much time?! Why can I not use my email, phone number, security questions or whatever to get some security code to verify my identity like a normal bank?

I wish I never had it, but I'm glad I got away from it, and you should too!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations