Ally® Bank

2.3 out of 5 stars
73 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 17, 2013
Best Bank I have dealt with
santadidit Account Holder

I have been a member since 2010. Never had any issues to this day (knock on wood).

I was a victim in that Play Station hack incident. They made 3 transactions on my checking account and Ally quickly refunded the $135. And changed my debit card numbers for me.

I have had great expirences talking to their American customer service representatives.

I love everything about this bank. I do hope they only get better.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 24, 2013
Poor Customer Service
Anonymous Account Holder

I just switched to Ally from Bank of America, part of which was their interest rates and postive customer service but thus far, the Customer Service has not lived up to their claim.  My debit card has not arrived past the 10 working days since being funded and when I called customer service twice, had a horrible experience on both occasions.  In both cases, the service agent was very rude, not helpful and kept going back to standard 7-10 business days even though its been past 10 business days since being funded.  To be fair, I will say the online agent was much better, understood my frustration and gave me more options if I didn't receive the card by the next day.  That said, to this point, Ally's reputation for customer service feels a bit "astroturfed", reviews by employees, and not based on actual real world experience of their service.   I cannot recommend them as an online only bank.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Apr 21, 2017
Auto Loan Difficult to do business with.
techygirl Account Holder

My husband has a loan with this company before we married.    He fell behind on his loan, and it has been hard to get his account strightened out.   Today is April 21st and I have aready made all previous payments.   I have also made the payment due for May 9th.   Yet, a late payment fee of 53.40  shows due today - for the payment due June 9th.   I've paid the "53.40" amount still due twice before now - and each time they take it off the next months payment due.  It seems this company lines it's pockets with fraudulent late fee charges.   I much prefer working with any of the other auto finance companies out there.  

more ...
Apr 18, 2017
Issues with their processing policy
Anonymous Account Holder

This Bank intentionally causes overdraft fees

more ...
Apr 03, 2017
Did not deliver on promises.
Anonymous Account Holder

Website makes it seem eaasy to use, with straightforward terms and conditions.  BUT, most of it is not actually availble and money is delayed for days and days, even split up and held for extra time.  This is nowhere on the site, it is in a packed mailed to you weeks later.  Pretty much a scam.  

more ...
Mar 21, 2017
Horrible place
Anonymous Account Holder

They will not work with you and if they do they will call you every single day. How are you suppose to make money for your payment if every time you turn around they are calling you at work. Hate hate hate this place.

more ...
Mar 20, 2017
Terrible Service
Anonymous Account Holder

I am new to Ally. My job requires me to travel extensively. I called Ally while driving in the country. I lost coverage and was disconnected. I arrived home and tried to open my account. My accounts were locked so I tried to call the rep. He could do nothing for me. He informed me that a specialist would call me in the next day or two. I need to access my accounts for work. My initial deposits were a dummy test to see how the bank preformed. I will close my accounts as soon as I have access to them. Withdrawls also take an extremely long time. 

more ...
Mar 19, 2017
Good at exactly what it promises.
KaigeG Account Holder

Ally Bank is a wonderful checking/saving account alternative. They deliver on exactly what their site's descriptions of their services promise, in a timely manner. The only catch is how their customer service over the phone is. It's not the most pleasant experience as the people on the other end don't seem the most qualified to be handling something like banking issues. Regardless, the bank is trustworthy, and offers loads of benefits.

more ...
Mar 18, 2017
Needs to get into the 21st century
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank is very, very slow so if you deposit your money and expect to have access to it any time soon, forget it.  I was notified in January that this would change but it hasn't.  The only thing that changed is now  you have access to the first $200 of your deposit but you still have to wait for the rest of it.  I have other bank accounts and when I make a deposit, whether it be in person, at an atm, or a mobile deposit with my phone, it is available immediately so I don't understand what the problem is with Ally.  I liked their interest rates so I tried it.  Lesson learned.  I should have realized it wasn't all it was cracked up to be when I called with a simple question and got an extremely rude answer.  My question was when would direct deposits be made available for use and the man on the other end said "lady, all I can tell you is if we get it, you'll get it".  

more ...
Mar 09, 2017
One of the worst banks around
Chefth Account Holder

I highly recommend you do not open an account at this Bank. They are nothing but a bunch of Liars and when they say they don't send money they do and it really messes your account up.

more ...
Feb 20, 2017
Great bank, great rates!
Anonymous Account Holder

Great bank, great rates! Just moved over all my banking here. 

more ...
Feb 13, 2017
Paid Off Ally Loan and Waiting $$
Anonymous Account Holder

Paid off my Auto loan in Full and at the Same time Auto Pay hit me for the monthly payment! Been 13 days and still No refund Check! Ally tells me 18 more days to recieve my refund??? What if i was 18 days late on my auto loan????

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations