Ally® Bank Reviews

2.5 out of 5 stars
44 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 17, 2018
They are not bad
Discodisco Account Holder

Fair rate and easy online account maintenance. No problems.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 07, 2018
Incredibly mismanaged, useless CS!
Anonymous Account Holder

I did a wire transfer using your Zelle service which never arrived at its intended destination. I've spoken with 6 different customer service reps, and not only do they flatly deny there is anything i can do, but they also give me conflictive information. I've clearly explained i want a trace back on my wire transfer and they say it is not even a possibility. As of today, i've been calling for over a month and spent countless hours with customer service. My $540 are lost in limbo and Ally washes its hands since they use a third party service called Zelle. Zelle cannot help me and there is no way to get my money back according to Ally. Stay away from this joke of a bank lest something goes wrong and the uselessness of their customer support leaves you stunned. To add insult to injury, i have the federal reserve trace number and they are unable to use it! Hopeless.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Feb 12, 2019
Bad CS can put you in a dangerous spot
jobeirne Account Holder

I'd been a mostly happy customer for a few years, but the inconvenience and incompetence at Ally around getting certified checks put me in an incredibly uncomfortable position.

I needed to get a check for around $14,000 to buy my car lease out and the timing was sensitive given the lease end. I contacted Ally and asked for a certified check to be sent out expedited. The CS representative processed the request for me and told me the check would be there in 2-3 business days. Cut to 2-3 business days later and the check still isn't there. I call Ally CS and the rep assures me the check will arrive tomorrow. Tomorrow comes and there's still no check. 

I call Ally CS again and spend 30 minutes alternately on hold and talking to a rep to find that they mailed the check through standard mail, not expedited, and that the check would arrive a week later. If I waited for that check, my payment to the car company would have been delinquent and I'm not sure what kind of badness would've resulted. The Ally CS rep basically said I could put a stop payment on the check, send a wire to the car company, or some combination of the two. Not super helpful.

I only got out of this situation unscathed because I had fortunately just opened another bank account with a physical branch nearby - but if I didn't have enough funds liquid to cover twice the cost of the car, I'd be up the proverbial creek thanks to Ally. Now I'm in the surprisingly difficult process of reclaiming my funds from the check they cut and (surprise!) I'm spending a lot more time with Ally CS than I'd like to be.

Similar uncomfortable situations (though not as severe) would happen each time I needed a certified check on a tight timeline for, say, the initial deposit on an apartment. The no-ATM fee thing is cool, but I'm planning on closing my account due to the bad customer service. Not worth the trouble.

more ...
Feb 06, 2019
smmcla Account Holder

close out account after being a member for 3+ years. holding my deposits. Always hve to talk to "back office"

more ...
Jan 24, 2019
amandapiooo Account Holder

Have been banking with this company for almost 2 years and have never had an issue. Highly recommend! 

more ...
Jan 07, 2019
They will lock ur account

This bank will not let me access my savings account. Will not call back. Can’t get a supervisor on the phone. I have nearly 250k in my account and I can’t get at it? Are you fu*king kidding me? I will be contacting the treasury dept. When this gets handled I am CLOSING MY ACCOUNT. Screw Ally bank.

more ...
Jan 03, 2019
Sociopaths run this bank. They will lie.
gi41949 Account Holder

Sociopaths run this bank. They will lie to you repeatedly and make up new rules so they can keep your money longer than they are legally able to.

more ...
Jan 03, 2019
Sociopaths run this bank.
gi41949 Account Holder

Sociopaths run this bank. They will lie to you repeatedly and make up new rules so they can keep your money longer than they are legally able to.

more ...
Jan 02, 2019
Worst finance place to deal with
amandaaaxdanielle Account Holder

Financed a Chevy Volt through them and beginning of November it was a total loss. Now it’s January and i have a collection on my credit of $11,000 of Ally saying i owe them. My insurance company never received what they needed from Ally to write the settlement check and i log into my account online and those no vehicle listed so even if i wanted to pay the 2 months owed i can’t not and when i called customer service the lady was COMPLETELY rude to me explaining that I’m in contract to still pay until insurance pays them yet i can’t pay because my account is locked??? It is not my fault ally’s incompetent total loss department can’t do their job and give the insurance what they need to get their money. Obviously ally doesn’t want to get paid but my credit score is being drastically affected by their miscommunication with my insurance company! I will never ever ever finance through them again. The lady on the phone yelled at me saying it’s my responsibility to keep paying and treated me like trash! She had no remorse or empathy and seemed to be bothered by the fact i even called. I have never ever experienced such awful customer service.

more ...
Dec 17, 2018
Horrific and terrifying experience
Damien5377 Account Holder

I opened an Ally financial investment account last week.  They said it would take 3 days for funds transferred to be available.  I moved $50 over last week.  It showed up today.  I tried to make purchases totalling $45 and it says I have $0 available.  I look at account, $50 balance.  I called Ally to find out what is going on.  Told they cannot find my name and account in system.  Transferred me to some other department before they could find my account.  Then told me it would be a 3 day hold on the money.  I said it has been 3 days and now it is available.  They said no, it's 3 days from when it dropped in the Ally account.  So it won't be available for 3 more days.  So it takes a week for anything you move to an Ally account before it is available for you to access.  Screw that.  I'm out.

more ...
Nov 26, 2018
Your money is not safe here
Ankitejfadf Account Holder

Ally just didn't follow the terms and conditions mentioned at the time of opening the account, and this costed me $850.

There interest rates are good, but i  would avoid parking money as they don't follow the rules setup by them, which makes it scary,

more ...
Nov 23, 2018
HORRIBLE
Bigtrucker1o889 Account Holder

If I could give this bank negative stars I would usually just take money out for payments once it was 3 times in a month and my bank account went into the negatives no customer services its they just send there calls to India please dont go to them I beg you

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations