Ally® Bank Reviews

2.4 out of 5 stars
51 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 30, 2018
Tight Security, Competitive APY Rates
unamusedpixie Account Holder

I'm reading a lot of negative reviews about this bank regarding security questions.  Ally is a completely online bank, and as a result, they make every effort to keep your information as safe as possible.  Sometimes that means not having immediate access to funds.  For that reason, I strongly recommend keeping your ally account as a "secondary" account.  For example, I keep CDs with them and a savings account because it's a very low-risk way to accrue interest, but I wouldn't use ally for day-to-day banking.  

As someone who has had some identity fraud scares, I really do appreciate the tight security.  I'd much rather my money be kept safe with inconveniences than to lose my money because someone let some red flags slide.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 07, 2018
Incredibly mismanaged, useless CS!
Anonymous Account Holder

I did a wire transfer using your Zelle service which never arrived at its intended destination. I've spoken with 6 different customer service reps, and not only do they flatly deny there is anything i can do, but they also give me conflictive information. I've clearly explained i want a trace back on my wire transfer and they say it is not even a possibility. As of today, i've been calling for over a month and spent countless hours with customer service. My $540 are lost in limbo and Ally washes its hands since they use a third party service called Zelle. Zelle cannot help me and there is no way to get my money back according to Ally. Stay away from this joke of a bank lest something goes wrong and the uselessness of their customer support leaves you stunned. To add insult to injury, i have the federal reserve trace number and they are unable to use it! Hopeless.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Nov 26, 2018
Your money is not safe here
Ankitejfadf Account Holder

Ally just didn't follow the terms and conditions mentioned at the time of opening the account, and this costed me $850.

There interest rates are good, but i  would avoid parking money as they don't follow the rules setup by them, which makes it scary,

more ...
Nov 23, 2018
HORRIBLE
Bigtrucker1o889 Account Holder

If I could give this bank negative stars I would usually just take money out for payments once it was 3 times in a month and my bank account went into the negatives no customer services its they just send there calls to India please dont go to them I beg you

more ...
Oct 10, 2018
Great Service, great rates
Rok125 Account Holder

I have a bank account with them, and I have had great success opening, depositing, and transferring money in/out of my accounts. I think this is a bank anyone should look into. However, objectively there is a drawback. It is an online bank so getting cash to your account is tedious. However, besides that they have been great so far. 

more ...
Oct 02, 2018
Thieves
ericamlozano Account Holder

I deposited a payroll check for $2300 10/1/18. I waited 1 whole month to be paid. Ally bank is withholding my paycheck from me which has resulted in me sleeping outside and almost being raped last night. I was bludgeoned in the head by a fellow homeless stranger. I may lose my job because I can't afford a place to stay or place to shower.

I explained my predicament to Ally bank customer service. They said I cannot speak to a manager other than a call center supervisor. They said they cannot release the funds for 5 business days without exception. It will take an "executive" research and resolution team three business days to get back to me. Meaning even if they could release the funds it would still take 5 total business days.

I have had two over drafts each less than $5 in the past 12 months. I paid $25 overdraft fees for each of those and I had a 3rd and final overdraft in the past month for $20 and an additional overdraft fee of $25 total.

My paycheck coveted this last 45 dollars. But Ally won't give me the rest of the funds. When I deposited my paycheck they gave me no warning that my check would be withheld. They had no mercy on my situation. Im trying to recover from a back injury that caused me to stop working months ago. I've been struggling and now I have a job I can't even start pulling myself out of this hole because Ally has stolen my paycheck.

more ...
Oct 02, 2018
Sorry a$$ thieves
ericamlozano Account Holder

I deposited a payroll check for $2300 10/1/18. I waited 1 whole month to be paid. Ally bank is withholding my paycheck from me which has resulted in me sleeping outside and almost being raped last night. I was bludgeoned in the head by a fellow homeless stranger. I may lose my job because I can't afford a place to stay or place to shower.

I explained my predicament to Ally bank customer service. They said I cannot speak to a manager other than a call center supervisor. They said they cannot release the funds for 5 business days without exception. It will take an "executive" research and resolution team three business days to get back to me. Meaning even if they could release the funds it would still take 5 total business days.

I have had two over drafts each less than $5 in the past 12 months. I paid $25 overdraft fees for each of those and I had a 3rd and final overdraft in the past month for $20 and an additional overdraft fee of $25 total.

My paycheck coveted this last 45 dollars. But Ally won't give me the rest of the funds. When I deposited my paycheck they gave me no warning that my check would be withheld. They had no mercy on my situation. Im trying to recover from a back injury that caused me to stop working months ago. I've been struggling and now I have a job I can't even start pulling myself out of this hole because Ally has stolen my paycheck.

more ...
Sep 26, 2018
Absolutely Terrible!
willowy0121 Account Holder

Called to pay off car loan and asked ro speak with an account specialist to review the account because we came up with differing payoff amounts. After waiting on hold for 15 minutes, the same man came back to the phone, changed his name and title and acted like he transferred me. Customer service is in the Phillipines so in addition to the previous mentioned problem, I could not understand them and they couldn’t understand me. Had to repeat, repeat, repeat as well as spell out every other word. Run from this company!

more ...
Sep 21, 2018
Defrauding in the name of security!!!
Rogims Account Holder

I got a check from my account I closed with keybank, and I deposited it with Ally mobile banking on 1st of August, 2018, they closed the account on 2nd of August, 2018, when I asked why, they claimed the reason is "fraud"! Then I asked whoever spoke to me then if my check is still okay since you closed the account, so I can find a better and suitable bank, but she coudln't give reasonable response, so I went ahead and deposited the check with Alliant CU, and when Alliant couldn't clear it, I had to call Keybank what happened, and they said they already paid the check out to Ally bank same week I deposited with them. I've been calling them since then, and they've been dribbling me back and forth, asking me to tell keybank to contact them, and Key made it clear that they have nothing to do with it anymore, check has been paid out! I don't understand why you closed an account for alleged fraud, but you held unto the money for almost 2 months now, even murder case get solved in less time frame. Unless they never intend to give me back my money. I've requested evidence from keybank on how and when they paid Ally the check, I'm hoping there is something I can do with that to claim back my money when it hit my mail. I'm not about to let some cooperate thieves steal $4,600 from me, I'm on wheelchair for christ sake!. I'm gonna keep posting this in as many review platform that I can.

more ...
Sep 20, 2018
Best bank ever.
JamieDimonCEO Account Holder

I don't know why anyone would bank anywhere else. They consistently have some of the best interest rates and no fees for anything normal bank customers would be doing. If you're banking somewhere else, stop it, you're being dumb.

more ...
Sep 20, 2018
Great Experience
TannyBam Account Holder

I have an online savings accoutn with Ally and I love their service. I was surprised to read a few of the negative reviews on here. I don't know for sure but I'd assue the neegative experiences are rare. 

Super easy online setup experience including adding a joint account holder account was up adn runnig the same day.

Literally 24/7 Customer support and support is easy to reach via the mobile app

Great interest rates 

Easy to transfer funds to and  from external accounts

Not Easy to Deposit cash so we kept a local Credit Union account where we can depsoit cash and then transfer to Ally if needed.

more ...
Sep 17, 2018
Pure trash.
shanethomas20 Account Holder

Two weeks after opening my account I still don't have my debit card. I made the mistake of depositing my funds into this account and then I spent two weeks without access to my funds. When my card didn't come after the 5-7 days they said, they kept saying it would come the next day. I never saw my card. Also, when frustrated, I asked if they could wire the funds to my original account and the would not waive the $20 fee regardless that I said I would cancel otherwise. Then, they charge me that fee and assure me it would reach my other account on the same day, and sure enough, at the end of the day I call and they said sorry, it would be the next day. This bank is filled with liars and I will never bank here. I am moving my funds as we speak and will be closing this account and moving back to my original bank as soon as physically possible. If I could be Thanos, I would happily make this company disappear.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations