Ally® Bank Reviews

2.4 out of 5 stars
73 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 17, 2013
Best Bank I have dealt with
santadidit Account Holder

I have been a member since 2010. Never had any issues to this day (knock on wood).

I was a victim in that Play Station hack incident. They made 3 transactions on my checking account and Ally quickly refunded the $135. And changed my debit card numbers for me.

I have had great expirences talking to their American customer service representatives.

I love everything about this bank. I do hope they only get better.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 24, 2013
Poor Customer Service
Anonymous Account Holder

I just switched to Ally from Bank of America, part of which was their interest rates and postive customer service but thus far, the Customer Service has not lived up to their claim.  My debit card has not arrived past the 10 working days since being funded and when I called customer service twice, had a horrible experience on both occasions.  In both cases, the service agent was very rude, not helpful and kept going back to standard 7-10 business days even though its been past 10 business days since being funded.  To be fair, I will say the online agent was much better, understood my frustration and gave me more options if I didn't receive the card by the next day.  That said, to this point, Ally's reputation for customer service feels a bit "astroturfed", reviews by employees, and not based on actual real world experience of their service.   I cannot recommend them as an online only bank.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jul 06, 2017
horrible customer service
Anonymous Account Holder

I opened a joint account switching over from capitalone because of the higher interest rates. My sister said not to because of reviews she read online that said the customer service was atrocious, but I told her I doubt I would have to deal with them because I will only be making transfers in and out, boy was I wrong. I made a transfer from my wife's account to our joint account n it was canceled saying she wasn't an authorized user. I would have been fine if they had not already taken money from that account before! I also had to mail In information confirming her social and her personal info. So I call in to straighten everything out. The customer service rep didn't know what the hell was going on and put me on hold for about 40 minutes coming back every 5 minutes to tell me she was going to put me on hold for another 5 minutes. I did not yell or give her attitude as I know that doesn't get you anywhere. At the end of the wait when she told me all she could do is open a case for it and they would call me back the next day, I thought no thanks I don't have time to deal with this anymore. I told her no thanks she didn't have to open the case I would just close the account, I thanked her and hung up. 

tl:dr don't go with ally go somewhere else

more ...
Jul 03, 2017
Did not live up to good customer service
Anonymous Account Holder

Made excuses for not being able to transfer funds, then gave incident a file number to investigate. Terrible

more ...
Jun 28, 2017
Takes Too Long
Anonymous Account Holder

I opened an Ally Bank checking account so that I could start moving money from my regular checking account into an account that I have limited access to and would earn interest on, to help save money. The problem for me is that there bank to bank transfers take an extraordinary amount of time. They don't hesitate to remove it from your one account, but it will take over 3 days for it to appear into the Ally account. This just doesn't work for me. There are times I need to access that money, and it stinks that it is just in limbo for that long and I can't access it from either side. I also tried writing myself checks and doing mobile deposits, and those don't seem to be any quicker. I remember getting an email from Ally at the beginning of the year stating that they were going to be speeding up their transfer times, but this is still completely not mpressive to me. This combined with lackluster customer service, I think there's better options out there. At least for people like me that don't have thousands to stick in an account and don't need access to it. 

more ...
Jun 27, 2017
Convenient
Anonymous Account Holder

Excellent savings interest rates. Convenient online banking. App works pretty well. Free checks and atm reimbursement. I'm way happier with Ally than my previous credit union.

more ...
Jun 26, 2017
A joke, worst institution ever!
Anonymous Account Holder

I have 2 auto loans with Ally, dont try to call their customer service its in India and you cant understand a word they are saying. If you are 2 days late on loan its a 37.00 late fee and the harassing phone calls begin calling 1-4 times a day demanding you call them back and it doesnt matter if you are paid ahead like i was. Will NEVER finance a car with them again.

more ...
Jun 20, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

Lots of rude reps. The ones who are not rude are clueless. This place quoted me 24k to return my lease early. Ummmm... what?? I've had nothing but issues with them from the get-go. Oh, and fun fact, dealer services closes at 2:30 ET on Saturday. What dealership do you know closes early on Saturdays??? So if you live in a state where you have to go through DS to get a payoff, you're screwed. Never again will these people get my money. Truly horrible! Ruuuunnnn!!!!

more ...
Jun 17, 2017
Been on hold forever
Anonymous Account Holder

Just opend an account about a week ago. I try to log in and it says my account has been blocked. So I call customer service and have been on hold for 35 minutes allready who knows when they will answer or why the **** I am locked out of my account. 

more ...
Jun 07, 2017
I could die before getting a callback
Anonymous Account Holder

DON'T OPEN AN ACCOUNT THERE, THEY CAN'T RESOVE ANYTHING, CAN'T FIX ANY PROBLEMS, CAN'T EVEN FIGURE OUT HOW A JOINT ACCOUNT WORKS

more ...
Jun 02, 2017
Great service on two occasions
ddgar09 Account Holder

I had two different auto loans with Ally and I am very appreciative they approved my loans when the other banks wanted to charge exhorbant APR and terms.

more ...
Jun 02, 2017
Great service and financing
ddgar09 Account Holder

I had two different auto loans with this bank and got reasonable rates when the other banks turned me down. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations