Ally® Bank Reviews

2.4 out of 5 stars
66 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 10, 2016
Best Bank I've Come Across.
Anonymous Account Holder

I've been with this bank for a year now with only positive things to say. Never a wait to speak to customer service, I get all atm fees credited back, and I've never spoken to a foreigner through customer service.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Feb 03, 2017
Deposits Take to Long
Anonymous Account Holder

Made a deposit by check on Monday morning using my phone (because there is no other way to deposit money into my own account - the bank exists only online!). The deposit was from my other bank account, so I see what is going on.... 

Today is day 5, the funds are in my account, but I cannot use them for another day. Money left my other account on day 2, but they will only become available on my Ally account on day 6. The question is what Ally bank is doing with my money for 4 days?!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Sep 07, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

Have bank accounts with Ally and decided to refinance my mortages due to a promotion they were running. What a mistake! Roles and responsiblities are split among many individuals. Impossible to get a direct response out of any of them. They seem poorly informed and don't know what to say. Then, days later, they just do stuff. They ran my credit 3 times. Told me I qualified for a product, then it turned out i didn't and then changed me into a different one with out my consent. Just a nightmare. Now, I'm just going to have to accept what they offer since so much damage has been done.

more ...
Sep 06, 2017
The best. I'll never use another.
JasonSmitherman Account Holder

I do wish we could have some type of netspend partnership so there would be an easier way to make cash deposits. 

more ...
Sep 06, 2017
Horrible customer service
yankeejillybean Account Holder

I financed my car through Ally. I sent a large check to cover about 10 payments. The next month I went online to check the status and my account showed I had no payment due until 3/18 (it was 8/17). 2 weeks later I start getting collections calls saying I am past due. I explained what I saw on their website and they said sorry and charged me a late fee. They said the amount would reduce the amount of payments I had to make at the end. I decided to refinance at a lower interest rate. I got a 10 day payoff and sent the check 8/30. As of today, 9/6 they say they have not received the check that I must wait 7-10 business days. Every representative I have spoken with barely speaks English. It is very frustrating. I will never do business with this disorganized un-American company again.

more ...
Aug 25, 2017
Save Yourself the Headache
poetscafe Account Holder

Two years ago, I closed two accounts with Ally because I had issues with identity theft (not related to Ally) and I wanted to make sure none of my money would be compromised because of this theft. Recently, I tried to re-open these accounts now that the offender has been apprehended and put behind bars. I wrote two separate checks from my current checking account to fund my Ally checking and savings accounts. They passed through on both bank ends. The next day, I go to log into my Ally account and it has been locked and sent to Loss Prevention. I call in to the number I was given, reach a voicemail. I leave a detailed message with my name phone number and short description of my problem. No response. Over the next week, I call two more times, leaving my name, number and a short description of my problem. No response. 

A week has passed, I call into the customer service number to get a different number to call. After 35 minutes on the phone with this new number (majority on hold) I'm finally told that my account has been closed without my consent. After inquiring why, they said that there was corporate account linked to my Ally bank account from 2015 that had come back unauthorized to be linked to my Ally account. I asked why I was not informed of this, and if this account could be removed so I could continue my use of my bank accounts. I explained that I had never owned any corporate accounts and that if anything was connected to my Ally accounts, it was not my doing. The CSA told me my story wasn't jiving (with the tone that he was calling me a liar) and that there was nothing I could do to fix my restricted access and reach my money. 

Finally, after getting nowhere with this CSA and having made my decision my money is safer elsewhere anyway, I was able to get him to tell me that since my account had been closed by them, I would be getting a check in the mail with the amount that was in my accounts in 7-10 business days.

Overall, I have had a very disappointing experience with Ally. I have lost access to a large portion of my money, which is now floating somewhere in check form waiting to reach my mailbox. Stick with a good ole brick and mortar bank is my advice. I'll be sticking to my current credit union and lower interest rates in favor of the better customer service, security of my accounts, and access to my money. 

more ...
Aug 23, 2017
Very Chaotic. Would not recommend.
ftblledge14 Account Holder

The entire process was very chaotic.  I had 2 different people that were my main contacts and it never seemed like they were on the same page.  The reason I chose them is because they gave a pretty nice size lender credit which ended up making them my cheapest option.  After having to extend my interest lock twice the lender credit was eaten up and they were no longer my cheapest option.  I was pretty much forced to stay with them at this point though because I didn't have time to go through the whole process again.  I would've much rather changed though.  From the time the house was completely built and ready to move in it took Ally 3 weeks to be able to get closed which is ridiculous.

more ...
Aug 11, 2017
Not Veteran Friendly
Wowsurface Account Holder

The bank has a program for military if they have payment problems but when transitioning out of the military there is nothing to help a wounded veterans. The problem I see with this is Military pay doesn't change usually but does has a dramatic change when getting out. Especially when wounded from combat, the veteran is on the wait game from the VA. When asked for help from Ally they said " if I were in active duty they could help" "nothing they can do for a Veteran that was just notified that VA finished the claim and I awaiting back pay". We usually repo at 90 but we repossessed my vehicle at 75 days after being with them for 36 month with 4 months left on the lease.

more ...
Aug 11, 2017
THE WORST!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

I have NEVER had to deal with such unprofessionalism in finance! Very disappointing. I miss a couple payments to afford car repairs and my sons medical bills from a fender bender and Keisha(Or something along those lines)told me that it was "time for me to be an adult and pay me bills or she would sue me." Very disturbing. If you want to be treating like a human being and not talked down to like your in the hood than finance with literally ANYONE else. — in Charlotte, North Carolina.

more ...
Aug 03, 2017
HORRIFIC CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

If I could give no stars I would. DO NOT USE THIS BANKS FOR ANY TYPE OF FINANCING!!! They are the worst bank ever to deal with. I had a vehicle loan under them, and when the vehicle was totaled in an accident it took me 4 MONTHS!!!, to get the proper paperwork from them to send to my GAP insurance. I had to call everyday, sometimes multiple times, trying to get a hold of someone who spoke English that I could "sort of understand", and then would have to wait 24 hours for them to continually fax me the incorrect paperwork, over and over, because it is against their policy to email documents. I talked to multiple supervisors, none of which could get me the proper documents because they didn't have the right privileges, and they would continue to send me back to the same horrible customer service number. I finally had to have my GAP insurance talk to them to get the right paperwork TWO DAYS, before GAPS due date to have the car covered!!!!

To add to everything three months later, after the car was supposed to be completely paid off (the car had been totaled for over 7 months), I get a letter in the mail from them saying that I still owe them money. I call, YET AGAIN, their horrible, god awful customer service line, and have to go through another 4 people to find out why I still owe them money!!!

RUN AWAY!!! DO NOT BORROW MONEY FROM THEM!!! NOT WORTH THE ANXIETY IF SOMETHING HAPPENS BEFORE THE LOAN IS PAID!!!!

more ...
Jul 06, 2017
horrible customer service
Anonymous Account Holder

I opened a joint account switching over from capitalone because of the higher interest rates. My sister said not to because of reviews she read online that said the customer service was atrocious, but I told her I doubt I would have to deal with them because I will only be making transfers in and out, boy was I wrong. I made a transfer from my wife's account to our joint account n it was canceled saying she wasn't an authorized user. I would have been fine if they had not already taken money from that account before! I also had to mail In information confirming her social and her personal info. So I call in to straighten everything out. The customer service rep didn't know what the hell was going on and put me on hold for about 40 minutes coming back every 5 minutes to tell me she was going to put me on hold for another 5 minutes. I did not yell or give her attitude as I know that doesn't get you anywhere. At the end of the wait when she told me all she could do is open a case for it and they would call me back the next day, I thought no thanks I don't have time to deal with this anymore. I told her no thanks she didn't have to open the case I would just close the account, I thanked her and hung up. 

tl:dr don't go with ally go somewhere else

more ...
Jul 03, 2017
Did not live up to good customer service
Anonymous Account Holder

Made excuses for not being able to transfer funds, then gave incident a file number to investigate. Terrible

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations