Ally® Bank Reviews

2.3 out of 5 stars
71 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 10, 2016
Best Bank I've Come Across.
Anonymous Account Holder

I've been with this bank for a year now with only positive things to say. Never a wait to speak to customer service, I get all atm fees credited back, and I've never spoken to a foreigner through customer service.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 27, 2016
Iffy
souch89 Account Holder

This bank was ok UNTIL I started getting fraudulent charges to my account. I sent them whatever forms needed to be filled out and signed, and they say that I filled it out wrong. SO, I filled out another one as correctly as I can and even called to ask and make sure I was doing it right. No luck. They gave me back the 2gs of fradulent charges at first, but the form was filled out "wrong" still so they took the 2gs back. This was a little after receiving my tax refunds. I kept going back and forth with them for a few months, and they suddenly closed my account on me. I didn't want anything to do with them by then. That was 2 years ago. However, recently I found an uncashed check from them for funds that was left from my account that THEY closed. I called to see if this can be reissued to me, an amount of $455. They've been giving me the run around once again. They say they will send me through mail or email some bs form again that I need to fill out. Supposedly it takes 1-2 business days for an effing email???? I called them around 5 times in the past month. Most likely I will not see my funds. I don't normally write reviews ever but they suck. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Aug 11, 2017
Not Veteran Friendly
Wowsurface Account Holder

The bank has a program for military if they have payment problems but when transitioning out of the military there is nothing to help a wounded veterans. The problem I see with this is Military pay doesn't change usually but does has a dramatic change when getting out. Especially when wounded from combat, the veteran is on the wait game from the VA. When asked for help from Ally they said " if I were in active duty they could help" "nothing they can do for a Veteran that was just notified that VA finished the claim and I awaiting back pay". We usually repo at 90 but we repossessed my vehicle at 75 days after being with them for 36 month with 4 months left on the lease.

more ...
Aug 11, 2017
THE WORST!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

I have NEVER had to deal with such unprofessionalism in finance! Very disappointing. I miss a couple payments to afford car repairs and my sons medical bills from a fender bender and Keisha(Or something along those lines)told me that it was "time for me to be an adult and pay me bills or she would sue me." Very disturbing. If you want to be treating like a human being and not talked down to like your in the hood than finance with literally ANYONE else. — in Charlotte, North Carolina.

more ...
Aug 03, 2017
HORRIFIC CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

If I could give no stars I would. DO NOT USE THIS BANKS FOR ANY TYPE OF FINANCING!!! They are the worst bank ever to deal with. I had a vehicle loan under them, and when the vehicle was totaled in an accident it took me 4 MONTHS!!!, to get the proper paperwork from them to send to my GAP insurance. I had to call everyday, sometimes multiple times, trying to get a hold of someone who spoke English that I could "sort of understand", and then would have to wait 24 hours for them to continually fax me the incorrect paperwork, over and over, because it is against their policy to email documents. I talked to multiple supervisors, none of which could get me the proper documents because they didn't have the right privileges, and they would continue to send me back to the same horrible customer service number. I finally had to have my GAP insurance talk to them to get the right paperwork TWO DAYS, before GAPS due date to have the car covered!!!!

To add to everything three months later, after the car was supposed to be completely paid off (the car had been totaled for over 7 months), I get a letter in the mail from them saying that I still owe them money. I call, YET AGAIN, their horrible, god awful customer service line, and have to go through another 4 people to find out why I still owe them money!!!

RUN AWAY!!! DO NOT BORROW MONEY FROM THEM!!! NOT WORTH THE ANXIETY IF SOMETHING HAPPENS BEFORE THE LOAN IS PAID!!!!

more ...
Jul 06, 2017
horrible customer service
Anonymous Account Holder

I opened a joint account switching over from capitalone because of the higher interest rates. My sister said not to because of reviews she read online that said the customer service was atrocious, but I told her I doubt I would have to deal with them because I will only be making transfers in and out, boy was I wrong. I made a transfer from my wife's account to our joint account n it was canceled saying she wasn't an authorized user. I would have been fine if they had not already taken money from that account before! I also had to mail In information confirming her social and her personal info. So I call in to straighten everything out. The customer service rep didn't know what the hell was going on and put me on hold for about 40 minutes coming back every 5 minutes to tell me she was going to put me on hold for another 5 minutes. I did not yell or give her attitude as I know that doesn't get you anywhere. At the end of the wait when she told me all she could do is open a case for it and they would call me back the next day, I thought no thanks I don't have time to deal with this anymore. I told her no thanks she didn't have to open the case I would just close the account, I thanked her and hung up. 

tl:dr don't go with ally go somewhere else

more ...
Jul 03, 2017
Did not live up to good customer service
Anonymous Account Holder

Made excuses for not being able to transfer funds, then gave incident a file number to investigate. Terrible

more ...
Jun 28, 2017
Takes Too Long
Anonymous Account Holder

I opened an Ally Bank checking account so that I could start moving money from my regular checking account into an account that I have limited access to and would earn interest on, to help save money. The problem for me is that there bank to bank transfers take an extraordinary amount of time. They don't hesitate to remove it from your one account, but it will take over 3 days for it to appear into the Ally account. This just doesn't work for me. There are times I need to access that money, and it stinks that it is just in limbo for that long and I can't access it from either side. I also tried writing myself checks and doing mobile deposits, and those don't seem to be any quicker. I remember getting an email from Ally at the beginning of the year stating that they were going to be speeding up their transfer times, but this is still completely not mpressive to me. This combined with lackluster customer service, I think there's better options out there. At least for people like me that don't have thousands to stick in an account and don't need access to it. 

more ...
Jun 27, 2017
Convenient
Anonymous Account Holder

Excellent savings interest rates. Convenient online banking. App works pretty well. Free checks and atm reimbursement. I'm way happier with Ally than my previous credit union.

more ...
Jun 26, 2017
A joke, worst institution ever!
Anonymous Account Holder

I have 2 auto loans with Ally, dont try to call their customer service its in India and you cant understand a word they are saying. If you are 2 days late on loan its a 37.00 late fee and the harassing phone calls begin calling 1-4 times a day demanding you call them back and it doesnt matter if you are paid ahead like i was. Will NEVER finance a car with them again.

more ...
Jun 20, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

Lots of rude reps. The ones who are not rude are clueless. This place quoted me 24k to return my lease early. Ummmm... what?? I've had nothing but issues with them from the get-go. Oh, and fun fact, dealer services closes at 2:30 ET on Saturday. What dealership do you know closes early on Saturdays??? So if you live in a state where you have to go through DS to get a payoff, you're screwed. Never again will these people get my money. Truly horrible! Ruuuunnnn!!!!

more ...
Jun 17, 2017
Been on hold forever
Anonymous Account Holder

Just opend an account about a week ago. I try to log in and it says my account has been blocked. So I call customer service and have been on hold for 35 minutes allready who knows when they will answer or why the **** I am locked out of my account. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations