Ally® Bank Reviews

2.5 out of 5 stars
65 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 27, 2017
Convenient
Anonymous Account Holder

Excellent savings interest rates. Convenient online banking. App works pretty well. Free checks and atm reimbursement. I'm way happier with Ally than my previous credit union.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 01, 2016
Tough to deal with.
Anonymous Account Holder

I had pretty good credit and made plenty of money. Was put through the ringer for an auto loan.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Oct 31, 2017
Terrible security
phillymom215 Account Holder

 I am astonished at the incompetence of this company. 2 weeks ago, my husband noticed fraudulent charges, completely out of line with our typical account activity. When I called to report it they said they would put a dispute in and shut the card down for me. 2 days later we found the rest of our account had been completely drained. When I called to inquire why, they had allowed the people fraudulently using our account to reopen it and drain the rest of the funds. They never notified us that our card was being used in a different part of the country or for large cash withdrawls which is completely unlike us AND they allowed them to continue even after I reported the fraud and shut the card down. They actually reopened the card for them. Over the next few days I spent countless hours on the phone with numerous customer service representatives who had no idea what they were doing and could not offer me any additional security on my account. About 5 days after the initial report, I spoke with a representative who informed me the first representative had never filed a dispute. So they lied and did nothing to help me get the funds back. That representative disputed the fraudulent activity. At this point, daycare, the mortgage, and electric bill are not getting paid. They assured me my case was the highest priority for their loss prevention team, then assigned it to someone on vacation. Finally, they gave me a provisional credit for the funds and now won't let me access it so now, 2 weeks later, we are still unable to pay our mortgage or any other bills. I just spend hours on the phone being bounced around to different departments all with no idea what they are doing. I can't go into a branch to see a person either. Also, I've compared their security to other banks and it's pitiful. Even my credit union allows a secret password on the account but they don't. Most other banks allow a security code to be sent to your phone or email before being able to get access to the account when speaking with a rep. They don't (although they have the option for online login, but that did nothing to protect me). We will never bank here again.

more ...
Oct 23, 2017
Convenient and amazing saving rates
Anonymous Account Holder

I've had Ally for a little over a year; switched my checking and savings accounts from Bank of America. It's biggest asset, in my opinion, is the savings rate. It's above and beyond what any other bank will offer you. Being able to use any ATM to get cash is also convenient, though there is a $15 service fee maximum every month (I've never had a problem). I do think check deposits do take a little while longer than other banks, but I am lucky enough that I don't usually need to be able to access checks right away. I've only contacted customer service once or twice, but I got a human very quicky and they were very personable and helpful. Their app and website also tell you the wait time so you know before you call. 

more ...
Oct 16, 2017
Smooth and excellent
Anonymous Account Holder

Best interest rates, especially on the No Penalty CD. Very easy to work with. Seamless transfers between internal and external accounts, and their trading platform is excellent.

more ...
Oct 09, 2017
The best banking accounts I’ve ever had.
kaprikorn26 Account Holder

I’m having a hard time understanding all the intense negativity toward this instution here.  Ally has been a breath of fresh air for me in every way—by far the best policies and overall banking experience I’ve ever had, with the most interest I’ve ever earned on a checking and savings account. I wish every bank operated more like Ally.

more ...
Oct 09, 2017
The best bank account I’ve ever had
kaprikorn26 Account Holder

I really don’t understand the extreme negativity toward this institution. This is by far the most enjoyable and pain-free banking experience I have ever had... And the most interest I’ve ever earned on any account.

more ...
Oct 04, 2017
Terrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrible! Customer Servic
mmhussain Account Holder

I leased my Chevy Volt 2014 from Simpson Chevrolet of Garden Grove for 3 years and it was financed through Ally Auto, not my choice. Later at the end of lease, I swapped it with Volt 2017 from same dealer but this time it was through GM Financial (Acar). I had some minor scratch on my door, I was told that if I lease again from same dealer, I don't have to worry. But to my disappointment I have been charge $694 by Ally. I submitted a request to consider my loyalty and as courtesy, waive off those excess wear and tear charges but instead of considering anything, that customer rep was barking at me to pay off immediately. I was totally shocked. In fact I had offers from Honda and Kia to waive off those excess charges if I went with them. Wish I had gone with them!

more ...
Oct 04, 2017
Worst Customer Service!
mmhussain Account Holder

I leased my Chevy Volt 2014 from Simpson Chevrolet of Garden Grove for 3 years and it was financed through Ally Auto, not my choice. Later at the end of lease, I swapped it with Volt 2017 from same dealer but this time it was through GM Financial (Acar). I had some minor scratch on my door, I was told that if I lease again from same dealer, I don't have to worry. But to my disappointment I have been charge $694 by Ally. I submitted a request to consider my loyalty and as courtesy, waive off those excess wear and tear charges but instead of considering anything, that customer rep was barking at me to pay off immediately. I was totally shocked. In fact I had offers from Honda and Kia to waive off those excess charges if I went with them. Wish I had gone with them!

more ...
Sep 21, 2017
Great.
Anonymous Account Holder

Great.

more ...
Sep 07, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

Have bank accounts with Ally and decided to refinance my mortages due to a promotion they were running. What a mistake! Roles and responsiblities are split among many individuals. Impossible to get a direct response out of any of them. They seem poorly informed and don't know what to say. Then, days later, they just do stuff. They ran my credit 3 times. Told me I qualified for a product, then it turned out i didn't and then changed me into a different one with out my consent. Just a nightmare. Now, I'm just going to have to accept what they offer since so much damage has been done.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations