Ally® Bank Reviews

2.5 out of 5 stars
73 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 17, 2013
Best Bank I have dealt with
santadidit Account Holder

I have been a member since 2010. Never had any issues to this day (knock on wood).

I was a victim in that Play Station hack incident. They made 3 transactions on my checking account and Ally quickly refunded the $135. And changed my debit card numbers for me.

I have had great expirences talking to their American customer service representatives.

I love everything about this bank. I do hope they only get better.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 24, 2013
Poor Customer Service
Anonymous Account Holder

I just switched to Ally from Bank of America, part of which was their interest rates and postive customer service but thus far, the Customer Service has not lived up to their claim.  My debit card has not arrived past the 10 working days since being funded and when I called customer service twice, had a horrible experience on both occasions.  In both cases, the service agent was very rude, not helpful and kept going back to standard 7-10 business days even though its been past 10 business days since being funded.  To be fair, I will say the online agent was much better, understood my frustration and gave me more options if I didn't receive the card by the next day.  That said, to this point, Ally's reputation for customer service feels a bit "astroturfed", reviews by employees, and not based on actual real world experience of their service.   I cannot recommend them as an online only bank.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jun 26, 2017
A joke, worst institution ever!
Anonymous Account Holder

I have 2 auto loans with Ally, dont try to call their customer service its in India and you cant understand a word they are saying. If you are 2 days late on loan its a 37.00 late fee and the harassing phone calls begin calling 1-4 times a day demanding you call them back and it doesnt matter if you are paid ahead like i was. Will NEVER finance a car with them again.

more ...
Jun 20, 2017
Anonymous Account Holder

Lots of rude reps. The ones who are not rude are clueless. This place quoted me 24k to return my lease early. Ummmm... what?? I've had nothing but issues with them from the get-go. Oh, and fun fact, dealer services closes at 2:30 ET on Saturday. What dealership do you know closes early on Saturdays??? So if you live in a state where you have to go through DS to get a payoff, you're screwed. Never again will these people get my money. Truly horrible! Ruuuunnnn!!!!

more ...
Jun 17, 2017
Been on hold forever
Anonymous Account Holder

Just opend an account about a week ago. I try to log in and it says my account has been blocked. So I call customer service and have been on hold for 35 minutes allready who knows when they will answer or why the **** I am locked out of my account. 

more ...
Jun 07, 2017
I could die before getting a callback
Anonymous Account Holder

DON'T OPEN AN ACCOUNT THERE, THEY CAN'T RESOVE ANYTHING, CAN'T FIX ANY PROBLEMS, CAN'T EVEN FIGURE OUT HOW A JOINT ACCOUNT WORKS

more ...
Jun 02, 2017
Great service on two occasions
ddgar09 Account Holder

I had two different auto loans with Ally and I am very appreciative they approved my loans when the other banks wanted to charge exhorbant APR and terms.

more ...
Jun 02, 2017
Great service and financing
ddgar09 Account Holder

I had two different auto loans with this bank and got reasonable rates when the other banks turned me down. 

more ...
May 23, 2017
Good so far
onlycorvettes Account Holder

I recently switched to this bank because it was something I could access nationwide and since I travel for work I needed that. I switched from a small time credit union that, while good, could not offer the constant customer service Ally has. Have a question? Open up a chat with them, you can even do it on your computer while at work. I have not had to make a phone call yet, all my questions have been resolved over chat. My new debit card arrived less than a week after I opened the account. 

The only downside is that it takes 3 days for money transfers directly from another bank. BUT THIS IS CLEARLY STATED WHEN YOU INITIATE THE TRANSFER. So it's not like its a surprise and in general a few days is pretty standard (IMO) for a bank transfer. Most of the other times I've done a bank withdrawl it takes a few days at other institutions. It does also take them a few days to post a check, but again I guess that isn't a surprise/isn't too far off from other banks I've had. I'm still just happy I can do mobile deposit!

more ...
May 16, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Account Holder

Horrible experience after fraudulent charges were made on my debit card.  Told me investigation would last 45 to 90 days before any charges would be reversed.  Awful customer service trying to resolve this.  I will be closing all my accounts here.  With the occurances of fraud becoming more numerous, I cannot beleve how archaic their procedures are.  Truly frightening.

more ...
May 09, 2017
Terrible customer service
aegt Account Holder

My brokerage account from TradeKing was moved to Ally. Can't get to login. Have been calling them everyday for last 3 days. Take 20 minutes to get on the phone. Then they try to really help, but cant solve the issue. Pretty much every day after 30 minutes they come up with an excuse, ask me to check next day in the morning and then hang up. Just try to get rid of me. 

I am going to get rid of them. 

more ...
May 05, 2017
Easy and no fees
davidradin Account Holder

I've had a checking and savings account with Ally for about 8 years now. Their rates are always among the best. The website lets you do anything you need to do for checking/savings. The app finally includes fingerprint support. No BS fees. The only issue I've had is when a foreign ATM ate my debit card because I hadn't warned Ally I was going overseas. Customer service couldn't do anything at the time, but a new card was waiting for me at home when I got there.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations