Ally® Bank Reviews

2.3 out of 5 stars
73 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 17, 2013
Best Bank I have dealt with
santadidit Account Holder

I have been a member since 2010. Never had any issues to this day (knock on wood).

I was a victim in that Play Station hack incident. They made 3 transactions on my checking account and Ally quickly refunded the $135. And changed my debit card numbers for me.

I have had great expirences talking to their American customer service representatives.

I love everything about this bank. I do hope they only get better.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 24, 2013
Poor Customer Service
Anonymous Account Holder

I just switched to Ally from Bank of America, part of which was their interest rates and postive customer service but thus far, the Customer Service has not lived up to their claim.  My debit card has not arrived past the 10 working days since being funded and when I called customer service twice, had a horrible experience on both occasions.  In both cases, the service agent was very rude, not helpful and kept going back to standard 7-10 business days even though its been past 10 business days since being funded.  To be fair, I will say the online agent was much better, understood my frustration and gave me more options if I didn't receive the card by the next day.  That said, to this point, Ally's reputation for customer service feels a bit "astroturfed", reviews by employees, and not based on actual real world experience of their service.   I cannot recommend them as an online only bank.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

May 16, 2017
Horrible
Anonymous Account Holder

Horrible experience after fraudulent charges were made on my debit card.  Told me investigation would last 45 to 90 days before any charges would be reversed.  Awful customer service trying to resolve this.  I will be closing all my accounts here.  With the occurances of fraud becoming more numerous, I cannot beleve how archaic their procedures are.  Truly frightening.

more ...
May 09, 2017
Terrible customer service
aegt Account Holder

My brokerage account from TradeKing was moved to Ally. Can't get to login. Have been calling them everyday for last 3 days. Take 20 minutes to get on the phone. Then they try to really help, but cant solve the issue. Pretty much every day after 30 minutes they come up with an excuse, ask me to check next day in the morning and then hang up. Just try to get rid of me. 

I am going to get rid of them. 

more ...
May 05, 2017
Easy and no fees
davidradin Account Holder

I've had a checking and savings account with Ally for about 8 years now. Their rates are always among the best. The website lets you do anything you need to do for checking/savings. The app finally includes fingerprint support. No BS fees. The only issue I've had is when a foreign ATM ate my debit card because I hadn't warned Ally I was going overseas. Customer service couldn't do anything at the time, but a new card was waiting for me at home when I got there.

more ...
Apr 30, 2017
Fail.
Anonymous Account Holder

The money transfers always take too much time and they had issues with the site bring down for an extended period of time. A nice concept but clearly not ready for primetime!

more ...
Apr 27, 2017
SUPERB!
Anonymous Account Holder

Responsive, U.S.A. cust svc. 24/7, some of the best interest rates, easy navigation of Ally web-site!

more ...
Apr 21, 2017
Auto Loan Difficult to do business with.
techygirl Account Holder

My husband has a loan with this company before we married.    He fell behind on his loan, and it has been hard to get his account strightened out.   Today is April 21st and I have aready made all previous payments.   I have also made the payment due for May 9th.   Yet, a late payment fee of 53.40  shows due today - for the payment due June 9th.   I've paid the "53.40" amount still due twice before now - and each time they take it off the next months payment due.  It seems this company lines it's pockets with fraudulent late fee charges.   I much prefer working with any of the other auto finance companies out there.  

more ...
Apr 18, 2017
Issues with their processing policy
Anonymous Account Holder

This Bank intentionally causes overdraft fees

more ...
Apr 03, 2017
Did not deliver on promises.
Anonymous Account Holder

Website makes it seem eaasy to use, with straightforward terms and conditions.  BUT, most of it is not actually availble and money is delayed for days and days, even split up and held for extra time.  This is nowhere on the site, it is in a packed mailed to you weeks later.  Pretty much a scam.  

more ...
Mar 21, 2017
Horrible place
Anonymous Account Holder

They will not work with you and if they do they will call you every single day. How are you suppose to make money for your payment if every time you turn around they are calling you at work. Hate hate hate this place.

more ...
Mar 20, 2017
Terrible Service
Anonymous Account Holder

I am new to Ally. My job requires me to travel extensively. I called Ally while driving in the country. I lost coverage and was disconnected. I arrived home and tried to open my account. My accounts were locked so I tried to call the rep. He could do nothing for me. He informed me that a specialist would call me in the next day or two. I need to access my accounts for work. My initial deposits were a dummy test to see how the bank preformed. I will close my accounts as soon as I have access to them. Withdrawls also take an extremely long time. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations