Banking Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Ally® Bank

2.4 out of 5 stars
70 Reviews

From Account Holders in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 18, 2016
tcormier321 Account Holder

I've been with Ally for about 3 years, and it has been one of the best banking experiences. Good interest rates, and if I want to add an additional account (such as a new savings account) it is simple to do. Customer service is great and has helped me numerous times when I forgot my password (non-standard password requirements, like you cannot use special characters, which is a bit odd), and often within a few minutes. I recommend ally to all my friends, and everyone who has switched enjoys using Ally.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 10, 2016
Terrible communication
Anonymous Account Holder

I recently updated my permanent address and apparently got locked - They NEVER called nor emailed that my account was locked until I tried to access my account online and realize there was a problem. Promptly, I called and was asked to send some documents in as proof of identity. After a couple of days, nothing had been resolved. Customer service wasn't able to help so they 'tried' to connect me with the Loss Prevent Department's employee that was taking care of my case. However, she's never free to take my calls nor ever called back. Customer service promised me twice they would definitely follow-up with her to give me a call back but nothing...

What gets me is the lack of communication. It's absolutely horrendous especially when first of all, they don't let me know when my online access was locked in the beginning - mind you, there's no alt. to your account and money access. Second, that employee taking care of my case - I have no idea what her problem is but if my documents are not sufficient, there should be some kind of reach out to me right? Ok, no, so I took the intiative to contact her, but she's always not able to speak with me - on with another customer, ok fine and then next day, she's at lunch, ok fine too. But why don't she call me back? I just don't get it. If there's something preventing her from resolving my case, shouldn't she be speaking with me and getting whatever else she needs?

Third time I'm calling after submitting my docs, and I'm transferred to her supervisor's voicemail. Let's see how that goes since it's the weekend and I have to wait...I've never had so much trouble and it's so frustrating getting the run around. They can't even stop my auto transfer of money from my external account while this is happening so they are just going to keep pulling my money while I have no bank access whatsoever to my Ally account. 

Absolutely horrible experience with this bank...

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former account holders in the last year.

Jan 10, 2017
The WORST expirence of my life!!!!!!!
Anonymous Account Holder

The WORST experience of my life...and just to give you a point of reference of my life, I'm a combat veteran...so...ya...

I have been calling for SEVEN DAYS trying to get registered to pay my bill online.  They cant help me.  They want me to pay it through western union and pay the fee for doing so.  Its not late..Ive been trying to pay it since the first..its now the 10th.  I have asked to speak with a manager and no one has called me back and I have not spoken to one manager in 7DAYS!!! 

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE...do yourself a favor and DO NOT use Ally bank for a loan

more ...
Jan 08, 2017
Great!
pattiemelt Account Holder

I have both Online checking & savings acct with Ally & love it. I have had nothing but good experiences with their customer service, using phone, chat & email. Questions are always answered promptly & courteously. Deposits are processed according to the schedule they post. Debit card has had no problems whatsoever. They have separate logins for different types of accounts (bank, auto, credit card) to add to their security so if someone hacks one of your accounts, they can't get to the others. Free ATM use if you use the right ATMs & reimbursement up to $10/month if you use one outside of the accepted system is fine for me. Transfers are a breeze. They don't pay as high interest as some banks but they also don't hit you with fees for every little thing either so I think it balances out. Overall, it's the perfect bank for me.

more ...
Dec 29, 2016
Great rates and customer service
Sofeea Account Holder

I love that they don't charge fees and even reimburse ATM fees charged by other banks.  In fact, I used an ATM once that charged a $7(!!) withdrawal fee and was reimbursed the full amount.  Any time I had to call, there was never a long wait time and I was also assisted by competent and helpful associates.   The website is simple and straightforward.  The only downside is that they do not partner with anyone (such as Bluebird and Walmart) therefore, you can not deposit cash anywhere and must deposit a physical check through the app or mail, or a bank transfer, and any of these methods takes a minimum of two days to post to your account.  Otherwise, a good overall transparent bank.   

more ...
Dec 23, 2016
Garbage
Anonymous Account Holder

Don't deal with them. My son has a car financed with these people. Don't be late on payments even if it is a oversight by you. They call non stop and it is always a outsourced representative named bill, Fred or Sam. I mean no insult by this only telling the truth. Another issue is my son recently lost his job and made arrangements with these guys for payment. Again the information is not passed down to people calling so they keep calling. I blasted the rep out on the phone several times to check thier records and was read a script of when will the payment be made. Just a bad experience with this company.

more ...
Dec 22, 2016
Frequent Misinformation
Anonymous Account Holder

This bank seems to make a habit of holding funds an additonal day. When asked why the additonal hold, only answer is "the system". Please take some responsibility. 

more ...
Dec 20, 2016
HORRIBLE Customer Service
Anonymous Account Holder

If you want to give your money away, this is your bank.  However, if you would like to be able to occasionally withdraw needed funds from savings, you better be ready to wait.   And wait.  And wait.  While Ally loves your deposits, it doesn't love to let them go.  Truly, find another local bank to deal with.

more ...
Dec 13, 2016
Bank= Fantastic.. Credit Card= Nightmare
JasonSmitherman Account Holder

I plan to bank with Ally for many, many years to come and I was oddly excited when they began their cash back credit card service. To spare you a long review, just give that particular service a pass. The online log-in process alone is enough to drive you mad. I'm currently locked out for no real reason. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 17, 2016

Have you given the phone number on their website a call to see why? Can't truly rate a service without giving some more detail as to what you did to try to resolve your problem. I use their credit card without a problem.

 
Dec 12, 2016
Stay away
Anonymous Account Holder

Was initially attracted to opening an account with ally, for its ability to deposit big checks using online banking. Being that I travel a lot this was very beneficial. Then things went south as I realised it wasn't so simple, firstly there is a 24 hour wait time for the "back office" to view and process the check, secondly it takes 5 days for all funds to clear (they have recently shortened it), thirdly if the pictures of the check isn't perfect it wouldn't process the deposit, you pretty much need a professional camera, it needs to have the perfect lighting, perfect background, and perfect hand writing. Still after you get it to finally process, you find out after 24 hours that it got rejected by the "back office" and are told that it could have to do with the fact that my whole first name wasn't there and only the first letter was, and need to get a new check and start again...this sort of thing happened all the time...they always found something that invalidated the check, and I would only find out 24 hours later....about a week ago my account got shut down with out anexplanation, after many hours on the phone, a representative could only assume that the "back office" had shut it maybe because I had to many rejected checks, and was banned for life with out the opportunity for an appeal...and what's really frustrating is there is no office you can walk in to and shake someone and try to explain your case....stay away from this bank ...don't waste your time.

more ...
Dec 09, 2016
Convenient Higher Interest Savings Acct
LuckOfTheLibra Account Holder

So far so good, I have yet to experience any issues with this bank but so far I've only opened 2 savings accounts through them, so no debit cards. 
Haven't had any reasons to contact customer service. 

It's a little annoying how long it takes for funds to transfer but that is my only complaint so far.

more ...
Dec 05, 2016
new customer
Anonymous Account Holder

I am a new customer and had no issues so far. I have a checking, savings and cash back credit card. The two separate log ins is very annoying for credit card and checking but oh well it is whatit is. Dont know how they deal with fraudelent charges like other big banks do but hope will never find that out. So far a happy customer. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this bank overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this bank?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations