Personal Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Wells Fargo Personal Loans

2.7 out of 5 stars
9 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 04, 2016
good
Anonymous Borrower

its been good experience

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 31, 2016
Jondb8 Borrower

Hi I recently got approved for a personal line of credit with Wells Fargo. I was wondering if anyone knows if the line of credit will show on all 3 credit bureau? I called Wells Fargo and the lady said it will not show.. Only if you missed a payment is this true?

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Nov 19, 2016
Personal loan
Anonymous Borrower

It was a great experience!

more ...
Nov 05, 2016
Bank should be shut down
Anonymous Borrower

I have had savings well over $250k in various accounts. fees fees fees fees fees fees fees fees.
they would not loan u a dime but they will be more than happy to yake your money. take ur $$ somewhere else and run.
they have the lowest interest rate in market
u can easily get 10 times return on ur money somewhere else.

more ...
Nov 04, 2016
good
Anonymous Borrower

its been good experience

more ...
Jul 31, 2016
Jondb8 Borrower

Hi I recently got approved for a personal line of credit with Wells Fargo. I was wondering if anyone knows if the line of credit will show on all 3 credit bureau? I called Wells Fargo and the lady said it will not show.. Only if you missed a payment is this true?

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 01, 2016

What was you credit score?

 
Jul 14, 2016
Great Experience on a Personal Loan
Anonymous Borrower

I had a great experence. I called over the phone and asked a few questions before applying. I was approved in minutes with a Fico score of 731, which came from the consumer report they gave me. I called by noon and had a check by 4PM on a Wedesnday. I have been a customer for over 3 years and I also have a credit card with them. My APR was 7.45 on 10K at 36 months. I plan on paying it off in 18 months or less.  

For all of those people that applied for a personal loan without banking at WF.. A bank will need  trust to lend you a "personal loan" - Hence the name..

more ...
May 05, 2016
Antiquated systems make for bad service
AZ2312 Borrower

First, you can likely get better rates elsewhere, which is probably most important.

Secondly, their approval process takes longer than most other places.  

I only went with the loan through Wells Fargo because I have 4 other accounts with them, have had accounts with them for more than 20 years, and they offered me an upgraded account based on my cumulative deposits/account balances.

Ironically, as I paid down the balance on the loan those cumulative deposits expired and I was charge additional money for those upgraded accounts, which I could only cancel by visiting a Wells Fargo location.

More inferiating, I used their online bill pay to make my payments.  One of those payments were somehow lost.  They still deducted the money from my checking account but sent me to collections for the actual payment.

Collections then called to ask me for money 3 days in a row.  I explained the situation each time and was told they were looking into it.  It finally escelated up the collections chain.  They called me today saying it would go to external collections if I did not pay soon.  I explained the situation, they reviewed the notes, reviewed my accounts and could see that the money had been deducted but indicated that I would have to call their online bill pay to sort this out myself.  

Their customer service rep did offer to wave the late penalties but only after speaking with their manager... and he phrased it as if he was doing me a favor. :-/

I called online bill pay.  They canceled the payment and explained that it was somehow sent out as a check so maybe "online" wasn't the best description of their service.  They again "offered" to wave the check cancel fee and refund my account in 3-7 business days.  

I was still required to then visit a Wells Fargo location to make an immediate payment on the loan balance.  

So recapping...

I gave Wells Fargo money for a loan payment, they deducted that money from my account immediately, sent me to collections 7 days later, admitted to receiving that money, yet made me talk to 4 different people over 3 days waiting on hold for a cumulative ~90 minutes and still visit a physical location after using their conveinent "not-so-online" bill pay system.  And they now have double the payment amount for this month until I get credited the original payment back in the next 3-7 days.  

But hey... they did wave the fees so I have that going for me, which is nice!

If every bank didn't suck I would swtich.  Instead I will just never apply for a Wells Fargo Loan for the rest of my life and recommend others do the same.

more ...
Mar 20, 2016
Worst student loan company
Anonymous Borrower

I've had an account with them since I was 6 months old, great credit, and no past issues. Then I got a student loan through them. First they assured me when I went to change my loan date to coinside with payment from my new job that it would be processed in time. At no time did they suggest removing my auto pay. It wasn't, and I had to have my boyfriend give money to pay off my rent. When I called they said there was nothing they could do, and transfered me from one incompetent person to the next. Then, several months later they increased my payments by $2 without notice despite me having no late payments. It may have been a small amount, but if they do that without notice, I no longer trust them to do it again for a higher amount. A month later I called for a deferment for unemployment, informing them that I was already working with a temp agency and would only need the 2 months they offer. The questions were scripted, but felt harassing. They told me it should be processed in time for my next payment date. They even called me a week later for more questions about my employment status - questions I had already answered! Then, 4 days after my payment was due I received a late payment email. Nearly 20 days after I first called, and they STILL haven't finished processing my request! Talking to them seems fruitless. I will be moving all of my accounts out of this bank and into my credit union as soon as I can. Seriously, save yourself the hastle. The 4 and 5 stars on here may having glowing reviews now, but they are either employees themselves or just haven't been with them long enough to get messed over yet. Avoid Wells Fargo at all costs! 

more ...
Dec 28, 2015
unsecured cards
Anonymous Borrower

Don't do this they lie

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 18, 2016

what do you mean?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.