Upgrade Reviews

Upgrade Reviews
4.7 out of 5 stars
262 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

3 star reviews (6) See All

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Jun 08, 2020
A loan.
Fknbastages Borrower

A review would be better for later on, after I see how they work. 
It was easy to do, I got the money soon enough.

I'd rather log into a site and make the payments myself so I can keep better track of my bank account. Rather then have them steal the money once a month.

I haven't found a site to pay more on the loan if I feel I have extra. 

more ...
Mar 29, 2020
Okay
Dusty58 Borrower

People on the other end of the phone kept asking the same questions over and over. Even when I was transferred to another person this happened pretty much every Time I called all most looked else where for a loan

more ...
Mar 29, 2020

It's a good place to get a loan you'll get the money quickly but what they don't tell you is if you borrowed $5000 they're only gonna send you $4700 and you still have to pay back the $5000

more ...
Apr 07, 2020

Why do they only send 4,700$?

 
May 01, 2020

I wonder if that’s the deduction for loan origination fee

 
Mar 26, 2020
Not bad, not great.
GotMyLoan Borrower

The process was relatively straight forward. The web application was quick and painless. The approval, processing, and disbursement were fine. I had a delay in disbursment because of the requirement to join the Pentagon Federal Credit Union. I hesitateed since I am already a member of PenFed, but that didn't matter. I had to join again and open another, separate membership and account. I was told I had to join again since PenFed was funding the loan. So I checked the PenFed site and found that I could have gotten the loan a full point cheaper had I gone directly to them. Lesson learned.

more ...
Feb 19, 2020
Good, but could be better

Firstly, applying for the loand was extremely easy: sign up for an account, fill basic info, and after a fewmore clicks, I was already waiting for the review. The actual approval process was speedy also, and didn't require additional documentation from me. Now here's where I have to demote it heavily: after the setup of the loan, and its been disbursed and active, WHY is it that despite HAVING the interface to be able to 1)Manually make a single payme, and 2)change the recurring payment amount, there is actually NO CAPABILITIES to do so? For me to do either of those things, I have to call. I don't get the logic here. Don't get me wrong, the first call I made was to increase my recurring payment and that was done very quickly through the customer rep, and at least verbally, they were able to change it, but on my end I have YET TO SEE THE CHANGE (at the time of this review, it has been ~48H since the call). What is the point of having such a nice-looking website, when MAJOR features within it are missing? This kind of thing also smells sketchy to me because it makes me feel like they DO NOT want me to touch the loan during repayment. 

more ...
Jan 20, 2020
Slow Customer Service and Speed
travis304 Borrower

Others report a "quick experience" with Upgrade, but this is likely only applicable when the approval process is automatic. I've been rebuilding my credit thanks to a deadbeat ex-wife and outstanding balances due on closed accounts (scores around 615-630) so I applied for a relatively small loan ($4,000) through Upgrade to bump up my scores, pay off her debt on my report (already disputed, to no avail) and pay off a credit card. I have high income and only took this because CK said I had a "90% guarantee of approval". Okay, great. Submitted my application. It took about five days before anyone from Upgrade contacted me to request a different bank statement. I'd just moved cross-country and opened a new account at a local credit union, since my existing credit union is now 2,000 miles away. I provided pay stubs, a note for the Underwriter explaining my move and new account, and additional documentation to verify my employment. They still (for whatever reason) refused to allow the funds to be approved and transfered to my new account, instead requiring we use my *old* credit union account, which I want to close out. This is needless and they couldn't explain to me why they requested this, but okay. So I updated the account information. Another four days goes by, and *finally* this stupid little loan (that I could literally pay off with one-and-a-third paychecks) gets approved. It is now business day 3 after approval, and the funds have not been released. So, we're going on well over a week, now. I'm fine with waiting for the approval process on financing, but not if the company blatantly advertises "quick and easy". 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.