Personal Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Prosper Personal Loan

4.7 out of 5 stars
387 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 23, 2016
Easy process and approved
ingenuity1 Borrower

I was not planning on applying for a loan, but I received their mailing. I thought this may be a good thing. I do not have alot of debt, but what I have, can be consolidated. I applied for a 12,000 dollar loan and approved within 24 hours. Funds were dispersed within 48 hours. Now I have one bill at a lower interest rate. I am thrilled!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 26, 2016
Just happened
ishmael62 Borrower

I had credit karma share my information to get some pre-approved numbers. I checked out prosper and unfortunately, I guess I did not read well enough. Entering my information and checking that I accept Prosper T&C as well as them checking my credit apparently means I accept the loan. No signature, no contracts, just a checkbox. In addition, I couldn't adjust the original request and everything just went and got processed without any further consent. I also called them up, because my FICO 8 was higher than what Credit Karma said, to see if we could get better rates or lower closing fees. I was told that it's all done by computers and algorithms and they could do absolutely nothing for me.

Maybe I should have read more about it first. But I got a good loan at a lower rate for my debt consolidation. Funds got to me within a week of "applying". We'll see how they treat me

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Jan 19, 2017
best decision ever!!!
keepitrealz Borrower

Human nature; we stick to what we know, mine was costing me 200% interest.  I was checking credit karma to see the damage when this preapproved opportunity appeared.  I almost didn't take it but it was so easy with no impact on my credit score because I was already preapproved...what harm could it do. Completed the online application, uploaded a couple of documents and checked back a few times, I'm not sure if the wait time was long per say or the not knowing but I got a callasking me to confirm my bank information and the next business day I was funded.  My credit union interest rate was only .5% less!  So happy I took the evelutionary step away from what I know - 5 minutes saved me 40k in interest

more ...
Jan 17, 2017
Very easy and efficient process.

Just follow the process and provide all the information they are requesting.  Very easy process and a fast turn around time.

more ...
Jan 16, 2017
Credit card consolidation
mts16 Borrower

Application process extremely easy and processing of loan took appiximately 5 days and this was during Holidays. I felt very secure that since Prosper was recommended through Credit Karma that the company was not just a scam.  Prosper gave several options for loan amounts and length of loan. 

more ...
Jan 16, 2017
Excellent!
EDDIE2588 Borrower

I applied on a Tuesday afternoon got the approval next day and on Friday morning the 5000 was already on my account. This is a good source for responsible people looking to pay off their dept or need some money for repairs. Highly recommend.  I want to thank everyone who have given this company the great feedback  that gave me the extra push to apply for it.

more ...
Jan 16, 2017
Easiest loan I have ever applied for.

Very courteous staff, friendly and easy to work with.

more ...
Jan 14, 2017
Easy and helpful
netcrazy Borrower

Very easy application.  It took 5 business days for a decision and they surprised me by saying "yes".  Then 2 days later the money was in my account.

No back and forth with paper work or phone calls.    I wanted to consolidate credit card debit and my local credit union turned me down because.  I expected Prosper to 

say no as well, so I almost didn't apply.  So glad I did.  Prosper even gave me a lower interest rate than originally offered.  I am grateful to them for giving me the help

I needed.  

more ...
Jan 14, 2017
The total experience was outstanding.
gemini7man Borrower

this company is responsive and right on point.

more ...
Jan 14, 2017
Very easy to apply!
Anonymous Borrower

Easy process, just pay attention to the processing fee.  That was a bit higher than I expected when I started.

more ...
Jan 14, 2017
simple, clear process: approved!
jordanroad5 Borrower

Applied through Credit Karma personal loan pre-approval process, seeking debt consolidation loan. Given a variety of pre-approved options $2K-$15K by Prosper. Accepted and went to Prosper site. Application process very clear. Note, Prosper made hard pull when I submitted the completed application. It wasn't clear if I was approved at that point, but since I ultimately received the loan my assumption is that if you receive preapproval when they run the soft check, your chances of being funded are good. On the 4th business day after application, received a call to verify bank account from a friendly support person. Approved the next day, a Friday, and funds were in my account on Monday. My credit union doesn't process transactions on the weekend. 659 FICO resulted in very high rate (34%), but am working on rebuilding credit so not a surprise. My goal is to pay back sooner than 3 yr term now that my other debt (good and bad) is paid off. Gave 4 stars only because my rate is so high, other than wanting a lower interest rate, I would highly recommend Credit Karma pre-approval and Prosper to those who need a loan and are on the path to rebuilding their credit.

more ...
Jan 14, 2017
simple, clear process: approved!
jordanroad5 Borrower

Applied through Credit Karma personal loan pre-approval process, seeking debt consolidation loan. Given a variety of pre-approved options $2K-$15K by Prosper. Accepted and went to Prosper site. Application process very clear. Note, Prosper made hard pull when I submitted the completed application. It wasn't clear if I was approved at that point, but since I ultimately received the loan my assumption is that if you receive preapproval when they run the soft check, your chances of being funded are good. On the 4th business day after application, received a call to verify bank account from a friendly support person. Approved the next day, a Friday, and funds were in my account on Monday. My credit union doesn't process transactions on the weekend. 659 FICO resulted in very high rate (34%), but am working on rebuilding credit so not a surprise. My goal is to pay back sooner than 3 yr term now that my other debt (good and bad) is paid off. Gave 4 stars only because my rate is so high, other than wanting a lower interest rate, I would highly recommend Credit Karma pre-approval and Prosper to those who need a loan and are on the path to rebuilding their credit.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.