Prosper Personal Loan Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
383 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 02, 2017
Easy & fast.
Anonymous Borrower

They do take 5% off the top so instead of $10000. only $9500. was put in my account which I didn't know until after I was approved.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 13, 2017
There are better options!
egueits1 Borrower

With most loans, you can pay the balance of your prinipal owed if you are able to come up with the cash all at once. For example if you owed around 11k and had about 45 payments left, then you could pay about 8 or 9k and the loan is paid off.  Prosper does not allow this and you would still owe 11k, meaning there is no benefit to paying early other than total payments that you owe on the back end would would drop by your cash infusion but you still pay interest as if you borrowed the money for the full term.  Go look at Lending Club or others becuase there are much better options!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Nov 24, 2017
Easy, fast and very helpful.
Mrevoevo8 Borrower

Great way to consolidate debt and have a set time and vision when it will be paid off. Definitely a weight off my shoulders

more ...
Nov 24, 2017
Quick easy process
Ericlr74 Borrower

Wasn't really shopping for a consolidation loan but CK said I had a good chance of being approved. Got 25K with 640 score. the rates is not the best but better than the CC rates i would  be paying. Loan app process is easy and it took about 24 hours to be approved.

more ...
Nov 21, 2017
The process was beyond easy
khzad Borrower

It took 15 minutes and two days after it was in my bank. No hassles no judgement. Will recommend to anyone

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 22, 2017

Thanks @khzad! We're glad you were pleased with your Prosper experience, and we appreciate the recommendation!

 
Nov 21, 2017
Personal Loan
Mamide5 Borrower

Honestly it helps if you have a good credit score to start. This will allow you to get better rates. Thankfully I do and this loan allowed me to streamline my various payments into just one per month. I am saving on interest and do not have to juggle 3 or 4 payments a month, just one. The process of approval took a little long but I must say it was because of my pay type at work (small business, in-house bookkeeping). Overall this was a decent experience and I am satisfied with the loan and the terms.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 22, 2017

Hi @Mamide5, we’re sorry the verification process took longer than expected. In some circumstances, income is more difficult to verify than in others. We’re continuously working hard to improve our verification processes and customer experience, so thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We're happy to hear you're pleased with the overall experience, though! Thank you.

 
Nov 21, 2017
A-MZING!!
Mlford3 Borrower

The prrocess was simple, fair and customer service representative were patient and kind.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 22, 2017

Thank you again, @Mlford3!

 
Nov 21, 2017
Life saving!
Mlford3 Borrower

The process was simple and timely! 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 22, 2017

Hello, @Mlford3. We are happy to be of service!

 
Nov 20, 2017
Good rates, easy application process!
DrPsychLSU Borrower

Prosper was recommended by Credit Karma as a means of consolidating my outstanding credit card debt at about half the rate I was currently paying.  The pre-approval process was extremely easy and I got an instant answer, went on to provide some additional information--again extremely easy and quick.  Once the information was in and my identity verified (by uploading a picture of my driver's license), the review and verification process took less than 3 days and the funds were electronically deposited into my checking account.  Good rates, easy application process, excellent customer service.  Recommended!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 22, 2017

Hi, @DrPsychLSU! We work hard to provide seamless steps throughout the entire loan process. Thank you for your great feedback!

 
Nov 20, 2017
Great when needed.
bkskid Borrower

This was fast and easy.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 22, 2017

Hi @bkskid. We're happy you found the loan process painless!

 
Nov 20, 2017
Very fast and easy process!
4breeze2u Borrower

Was able to consolidate high interest credit cards and save hundreds in interest each month.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 22, 2017

Hi @4breeze2u. We're pleased you had a great experience with us. A personal loan through Prosper is a great way to unify multiple card payments!

 
Nov 19, 2017
Easy to apply quick process
Firter Borrower

It was quick and easy

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 22, 2017

Thank you @Firter. We're glad you found the loan process straightforward and speedy!

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.