Prosper Personal Loan

4.6 out of 5 stars
338 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 10, 2014
Prosper Loan Was A Smooth Process
bigring66 Borrower

After reading the reviews on CK, I was a bit apprehensive. It appears to be a love/hate feeling toward Prosper, but with some credit card debt at a high APR, I decided to submit my application.

Ultimately, I was approved for $20,000.00 @ 11.39%. Much lower APR than what was on some of my cards.

I started the process on Jan 3.

Submitting the required docs was easy. I just uploaded pdf's for the W-2, bank account and utility bill.

I was approved for funding on Jan 7. The funds were in my bank account on Jan 10.

Some of my details:

  • FICO = 721
  • DTI = 24%
  • Prosper Rating = A

So far, so good. And really happy to have a game plan to get out of debt and not to continue to pay the high APR on the cards.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 26, 2016
Just happened
ishmael62 Borrower

I had credit karma share my information to get some pre-approved numbers. I checked out prosper and unfortunately, I guess I did not read well enough. Entering my information and checking that I accept Prosper T&C as well as them checking my credit apparently means I accept the loan. No signature, no contracts, just a checkbox. In addition, I couldn't adjust the original request and everything just went and got processed without any further consent. I also called them up, because my FICO 8 was higher than what Credit Karma said, to see if we could get better rates or lower closing fees. I was told that it's all done by computers and algorithms and they could do absolutely nothing for me.

Maybe I should have read more about it first. But I got a good loan at a lower rate for my debt consolidation. Funds got to me within a week of "applying". We'll see how they treat me

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Apr 19, 2017
Fast approval and payment!
DameSorka Borrower

I kept hesitating about getting a personal loan to consolidate credit card debt. I kept checking interest rates as my credit score slowly improved. I finally bit the buttlet and checked into the preapproval from Prosper. Theire rates were great! Reviews were overall good too. I was prepared, had all my information ready. Account verifications were a breeze and I received approval the same day. The funds were deposited two business days later. The terms are great and my monthly payments are less than my total credit card minimum payments. I had a question that I couldn't find an answer for on their website so I called them. I t was easy to reach someone and they were courteous and knowledgeable. They answered my question completely. I would highly recommend Prosper for debt consolidation.

more ...
Apr 17, 2017
Totally great!!!!!!
Anonymous Borrower

Just when. I thought there was no help out therefor a person like myself Credit Karma and Prosper loans came to my rescue. Thank you guys a whole bunch.

more ...
Apr 15, 2017
Fast and Easy
Anonymous Borrower

Application was easy but you should know how to scan and convert documents into PDFs (taking a picture of documents and uploading them as JPGs will take longer processing times according to Prosper). Communication was fast and funds were provided at the estimated time they projected.

more ...
Apr 12, 2017
Quick and easy

I was hesitant that I would actually get this loan as credit karma had my scores at about a 650. I was already pre-approved and was approved within minutes. Verified my bank account information and uploaded proof of income. Within two days that was verified and funds were in my account two more days later. I couldn't believe​ how easy the process was. Very happy customer! Paid off all my credit cards and within a week my score had rose 30+ points because two accounts had updated balances.

more ...
Apr 10, 2017
perfect
Rosep76 Borrower

It was easy, no hassle, and no gimicks. They hid nothing and provided exactly what they said they would. 

more ...
Apr 09, 2017
Anonymous Borrower

Smooth process!

more ...
Apr 08, 2017
The loan is awesome!
epschmitt Borrower

At first I was a little frustrated because I got some emails saying that  I wasn't approved for the loan that I had been pre-approved for but after talking with a representative I found out that wasn't true. After that, everything was smooth sailing. The whole process took about a week or two and after that I already had my loan. 

more ...
Apr 06, 2017
Fast and Easy
Anonymous Borrower

As long as you have decent credit, are able to provide the information and documents required; you won't have an issue receiving a loan.

more ...
Apr 05, 2017
Anonymous Borrower

Work company ever! Dont waste your time or credit check. 

more ...
Apr 04, 2017
Quick and simple.
Anonymous Borrower

Applying for this loan took no time at all. Just ensure that your scanned documents are clear and legible. Very easy to complete and it heavily assisted with my debt consolidation. Thank you prosper.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.