Prosper Personal Loan Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
376 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year


Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.


Most Helpful Positive Review

Dec 21, 2017
Very easy process also was the best rate
Almostfamous84 Borrower

Shopped around a lot applying with at least 3 other lenders. This was the best rate and costed me less than the other 3. My APR is only %1.23 above what was advertised because of my credit. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?


Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 30, 2017
Getting a loan may be ok but
Kellikels2 Borrower

Trying to pay it off early is a total different story.  They do everything in their power to keep you from early payoff.  They have lost checks my bank sent directly, now I have a FedEx receipt showing that they received another payoff check for over $13,000 and they still will not credit it to my account and what me to make a monthly payment in addition to the check.  It is a bank issued check not a personal check so there should be no issue with posting it to my account. I have been trying to payoff for 25 days now.

more ...

Was this review helpful?


These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Mar 20, 2018
Great rate, funds received within days!

Very easy application process. Quick approval. Fast funds. 

more ...
Mar 19, 2018
Smooth process, great rates
scottcred1 Borrower

I really like the rates, but note the 5% origination fee always.

more ...
Mar 19, 2018
home improvement loan
Anonymous Borrower

what an easy and fast way to acquire a loan.  Quick answers from Prosper on the approval process too.  interest rate very fair and easy payment.  Thank you Prosper!

more ...
Mar 19, 2018
disgusted with Propser
yf77 Borrower

i applied for a loan in 2017- was approved...  paid off or though i paid off loan in December 2017.  Apparently there was a $10 balance when i thought balance was paid off...  Prosper sent notifications to my prosper account...  well since i had paid off loan, I did not log into account....   I called in late Jan/early Feb to see when balance would reflect paid off and NO ONE mentioned a balance...  March 7 i received an email saying account needed my attention...  I called and paid this unknow balance..  well was too late- missed pmt was reported.  I called prosper and emailed to explain this and they will NOT remove from my credit!  DONT't USE them....   

more ...
Mar 19, 2018
debt reduction
wechasse Borrower

East application and received funds in two days.  Fast.

more ...
Mar 18, 2018
Very easy and fast!
Cypher211 Borrower

The loan process was painless. Was approved and had money in bank in less than a week.

more ...
Mar 17, 2018
Quick and easy!
theboss33 Borrower

Money was deposited fast! Only issue i have is even if you pay off early youbstill pay fulzl interest and there is a large origination fee!

more ...
Mar 17, 2018
Anonymous Borrower


more ...
Mar 15, 2018
A bit pricy but Excellent
Coloiguazo Borrower

This lender treated me with efficiency and promptness.. I wouldn't have applied had it not been for Credit Karma. Thanks credit Karma.. you're aweome! Great customer service. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.