Personal Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Prosper Personal Loan

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Borrower Ratings
4 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.


Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 10, 2014
Prosper Loan Was A Smooth Process
bigring66 Borrower

After reading the reviews on CK, I was a bit apprehensive. It appears to be a love/hate feeling toward Prosper, but with some credit card debt at a high APR, I decided to submit my application.

Ultimately, I was approved for $20,000.00 @ 11.39%. Much lower APR than what was on some of my cards.

I started the process on Jan 3.

Submitting the required docs was easy. I just uploaded pdf's for the W-2, bank account and utility bill.

I was approved for funding on Jan 7. The funds were in my bank account on Jan 10.

Some of my details:

  • FICO = 721
  • DTI = 24%
  • Prosper Rating = A

So far, so good. And really happy to have a game plan to get out of debt and not to continue to pay the high APR on the cards.

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 01, 2013
Confirmed: Waste of Time

I went through the initial application process to get my rate for a loan.  The application itself is very easy.  But the rate that I was offered on a loan at the lower end of their range was higher than my credit card rates, despite the fact that I have slightly above average credit and decent income.  Thanks for wasting my time, but I think I'll just pay down my credit cards myself and save myself some money.

more ...

Reviews (1315)

Add Review
Oct 19, 2016
Super easy process and quick turnaround!
oceankath Borrower

Prosper is very easy to deal with.  Minimal work involved on the borrower side.  Go for it!

more ...
Oct 19, 2016
Easy Process, however
Anonymous Borrower

The rates are higher than credit card rates,even if you have a good credit rating.  The main purpose for geting the loan was to reduce your payments. I recommend weigh your options.

more ...
Oct 18, 2016
Loan to pay off high interest debt.
Anonymous Borrower

This was by far the easiest and quickest loan process I have ever been through. I am pleased with my interest rate (about half of what I was paying my credit card companies) and received the money in just a few days. When you apply for any of the personal loans, there are all sorts of options and rates based off of your current score. I selected something that fit into my budget to pay off. They pull the payment directly from your bank, so it's really simple and ultimately should improve my credit score even more. 

more ...
Oct 18, 2016
Crychton Borrower

The process was simple and fast. I was funded in just a few days. Rates are average but that is because of my credit score. So far a great experience.

more ...
Oct 18, 2016
Home Repair Loan

Sometimes you need help when there are multiple things to fix in a home. I took a chance and applied and was blessed with what I needed. The gentleman I dealt with was so wonderful and patience with me, it made me feel as if he was totally on my side. Even when there was a problem with my application, he allowed me to reapply over the phone. Then, when my bank gave him a hard time, he knew just what to say and I was able to get everthing done. I am very pleased. If, for some reason, I have to apply again after paying this one off, I am confident I will be treated fairly.

more ...
Oct 18, 2016
Fast and easy.
Anonymous Borrower

Was so easy to do.

more ...
Oct 18, 2016
Process was easy and fast.
Anonymous Borrower

Call representatives available and are knowledgeable and friendly.

more ...
Oct 17, 2016
Quick. Easy. Awesome

Very quick and easy process. Took a couple days to get the amount I had been approved for but I still recommend using prosper

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this loan overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this loan?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.