Prosper Personal Loan Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
291 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 02, 2017
Easy & fast.
Anonymous Borrower

They do take 5% off the top so instead of $10000. only $9500. was put in my account which I didn't know until after I was approved.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 13, 2017
There are better options!
egueits1 Borrower

With most loans, you can pay the balance of your prinipal owed if you are able to come up with the cash all at once. For example if you owed around 11k and had about 45 payments left, then you could pay about 8 or 9k and the loan is paid off.  Prosper does not allow this and you would still owe 11k, meaning there is no benefit to paying early other than total payments that you owe on the back end would would drop by your cash infusion but you still pay interest as if you borrowed the money for the full term.  Go look at Lending Club or others becuase there are much better options!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Sep 19, 2017
Pay off high interest rate cards
pstanich Borrower

The process was easy, their offering was extremely favorable.  There is no charge to pay off the loan early.  I am very happy.

more ...
Sep 18, 2017
Simple and convenient.
Anonymous Borrower

Great way to pay off all those credit cards and improve your overall credit in a very short period of time.

more ...
Sep 18, 2017
Convenient and simple to acquire
MsMatiAnn Borrower

For me it was about consolidating to improve my overall credit, which I am watching and expect to happen.

more ...
Sep 18, 2017
Anonymous Borrower

Very easy process.

more ...
Sep 14, 2017
Quick and easy, no hassles
Anonymous Borrower

I was looking for a loan to consolidate my credit card debt.  I did a lot of research and soft credit pulls to get loan qualifiers and Prosper offered the best Interest rate and APR against 5 other leading competitors.  The application process was easy and straightforward, all online.  In less than 24 hours, i was approved.  Within 3 days, I was funded.  There were no hiccups or changes to rates.  The rate i was qualified for was what I got, no change.  There is an origination fee, but they're transparent about the amount of the fee when you qualify.  

I have a good credit score (700-750), low DTI ratio, and a decent paying job for a California resident.  Overall I've been satisfied for the instant results and i'm now saving 7-10% on my interest rate from my existing credit cards and am on my way to becoming debt free.

more ...
Sep 01, 2017
Anonymous Borrower

Applied on Sunday morning got the funds Friday morning 15000$ they have a 5-% fee from the start got a 9,59% rate to pay my high interest credit cards and my car loan, very easy process,one phone call to verify my bank info! Credit Karma scores 677 TransUnion 680 Equifax!

more ...
Aug 28, 2017
Anonymous Borrower

I got penalized for making an extra payments. I made a full paymen5

more ...
Jul 25, 2017
It's really support me lots....Thanks!
Anonymous Borrower

Excellent!

more ...
Jun 30, 2017
Easy to do very helpful
mrbeck21 Borrower

The process was pretty straightforward. I had to submit some documentation on income. I was notified about a day later that my loan for $8,000 was fully funded, and about a week after I applied I had the funds in my bank account. Would do it again.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.