OneMain Financial Personal Loans Reviews

OneMain Financial Personal Loans Reviews
4.5 out of 5 stars
805 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 02, 2019
Predatory Loan so Pay off Fast
NobodysFool99 Borrower

This loan is Predatory. If you don't plan on paying it off in 6 or less months, don't get it. If you are falling into some lump sum within that time, then go for it. I did.

It was so funny. As soon as I went online and paid the entire balance off, a representative called me immediately, like if it was any of her business, and asked me how did I pay it off. Lol. I told her I ran an escort service. You should have heard the silence! Point is, pay of early or pay a couple hundred more than the amount owed each month to get that balance down. Don't pay the minimum. That's what they are banking on. Be smart....like me!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 01, 2019
The Interest is a Killer
Ghostofalegend Borrower

If they explained the interest rate propely and the repayment Math upfront they would lose alot of business. Their interest rate is a daily interest rate so if you took a loan of 10,000. at a interest of 25% and lets say your monthly payment is to be $250. When you make your monthly payment $212 goes towards your interest and $38 goes towards your balance. The only way to get out of your loans fast with this company is to never miss a payment and always pay more than your standard monthly payments. The loan math is [Loan Amount] (APR%/365)X{days between payments} = interest.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Feb 14, 2020
Combine credit cards & cover dental care
Shyan2 Borrower

I also wanted money to cover dental expenses. I asked for $12,000 but was told I only qualify for $9,200. At least it paid off my cards so I can shut them down. Everyone was very friendly.

more ...
Feb 11, 2020
Great for what it is.
Fhun Borrower

Got this loan quickly and without hassle. Terms were explained very well and if pursued responsibly this loan is an excellent option.

more ...
Feb 11, 2020
Brenda is always there for me !
Veeby Borrower

An easy process with pleasant help and no hassle 

more ...
Feb 11, 2020
Easy.
Mlocicero68 Borrower

The whole experience was wonderful.  Devin made the process very easy and not stressful at all.  He was very intiutive to my needs.  I will recommend this company to my family and friends.

more ...
Feb 11, 2020
Very well done

Asked enough info to show it's legit without being a real psin

more ...
Feb 08, 2020
Amazingly easy and painless process
Heather3266 Borrower

The customer service was GREAT! The application process was simple and painless. Easy payment options. I would recommend OneMain Financial to anyone who needs to rebuild credit. 

more ...
Feb 06, 2020
Awesome
L765 Borrower

If you're having trouble catching up on bills, I recommend One Main for a loan.

more ...
Feb 05, 2020
Good luck if you miss a payment.
Cathy9775 Borrower

I have been a customer with One Main for over 20 years, on and off. I took out my last loan with them approximately 2 years ago. None of my payments were significantly late. For one thing you can not change your payment date so I was forced to pay them at the end of the month rather than the beginning. As soon as it is a day past the due date the calls begin, often several times a day from multiple numbers. In Dec 2018, my bank was was cloned and someone took over $300 out of my checking account. Due to this I was unable to make my payment with One Main until well after the 30 day mark which resulted in it being reported to the credit bureau. I waited over a year and made my payments on time every month in hopes of being able to show the company this was a one time blemish. I recently emailed thier executive team and asked for this mark to be removed in light of the circumstances surrounding the singular late payment. I was told it was reported accurately and there is nothing they can do. 

So basically, if you make every payment on time and have been a loyal customer it makes no difference. One late payment or 12 late payments all look the same on your credit report. It shows to other creditors that you are a financial risk. I will be paying off this loan very soon and will never take out a loan with this company again. Very disappointed in this especially since I have borrowed and repaid several loans with them. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.