OneMain Financial Personal Loans Reviews

OneMain Financial Personal Loans Reviews
3.9 out of 5 stars
348 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 26, 2020
Great for short term borrowing.
egoods1290 Borrower

Great for short term loans/beat payday loans or other astronomically high lending options... It's still very high interest, even with a secured interest (against a vehicle I own) I was at nearly 26%... most credit cards carry lower interest rates then this! If I were to pay JUST the minimums over the 3 year loan term it would end up costing me $4000 in just interest on a $6000 loan. They push you to borrow the maximum allowable, and also push BS added services like life insurance/payment protection/roadside assistance (and they frame it in 'it will only add $__ per month, instead of disclosing the total cost). Felt pretty high pressure/pushy to add those services, I declined them all and suggest you do as well, there's far better options for these items from other companies. They use the dealer fiancing tactic of framing everything in "how much can you afford to pay per month/what kind of monthly payment would you be comfortable with" instead of straight up outlining the loan/term/APR... felt somewhat predatory BUT if you do it correctly, and pay it off as quickly as possible it's not a terrible way to borrow money. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 12, 2020
Predatory Lending at its best
JackjustJack Borrower

CREDIT KARMA >.... STOP YOUR RELATIONSHIP WITH THIS COMPANY ... Why WHY WHY WHY WHY would you suggest a loan company to ANYONE that is gonna make you pay back triple what you borrowed ... I borrowed $2600 ... I walked out of the office with $1700 (FEES) ... I paid back $7553 ... COME ON CREDIT KARMA ... DO THE RIGHT TIHING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Oct 09, 2020
They lost my car title.
JohnRMuller Borrower

They literally lost my colatteral documents, and they changed their business name so I couldn't get the state to re-issue me a title easily. worst financail services group I've ever dealt with.

more ...
Oct 01, 2020
Jo12345678 Borrower

Amazing customer service! Went above and beyond! She even stayed late until the decision came back on my loan!

more ...
Oct 02, 2020

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review of your experience. We are pleased to hear that our team made your experience pleasant, and we look forward to seeing you again soon! – LF

 
Oct 02, 2020

How long do it take to get the loan

 
Nov 14, 2020

Terrible rate.. they stayed up to make sure that got that money

 
Sep 18, 2020
Credit Solution

I have been really satisfied with Best hacker Credit Solution. His very helpful and my credit has drastically improved just like he said. No one would have believed my score could be raised in 7days after I contracted him. Even the chapter 7 on my report was removed including other negatives items. I now have a Vantage score of 789 and FICO score of 800. I would highly recommend BESTHACKER. Contact via besthacker0509 @ g m a i l . c o m

more ...
Sep 21, 2020

Who is Best Hacker Credit Solution? I thought this was supposed to be a review of your experience with a loan approval through OneMain Financial.

 
Oct 25, 2020

You're definitely selling something! No shame in your game!! Huh 🤡💩☠🥶🤮🤢🤯

 
Sep 17, 2020
Nightmare. Don't they are crooks.
Biteme133 Borrower

If you only pay the minimum you will pay for 30 years. They make it secured so they can rip you off some more. I took out a loan in 2001. Had to file bankruptcy and they still got a pay off of 8,000. I only borrowed 5000. Paid every month for years. When I was unemployed they never applied my unemployment insurance twice. Now it's my turn to sue them. Yet they still keep sending me pre approved offers. Run.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 23, 2020

It’s not there fault you paid the minimum amount each month

 
Sep 15, 2020
I would never get a loan through them
TheTruthMan Borrower

This is one of the biggest mistakes i made was getting a loan through one main. The APR is through the roof and you pay between 4-8$ per day so if you have a payment of say 350$ on a 10k loan well guess what you only paying 120-150$ per month to the balance and rest goes to them as interest so every month they make 200 or more on you dont do it stay way far away from this place lending club is a way better option than this scum of a place.

more ...
Sep 17, 2020

Upgrade is the same way.

 
Oct 09, 2020

All of these loans are pre-approved on my credit karma account and I just wanted to see what the reviews looked like. I will never be stupid enough to take a loan from any of these companys. Fuuuuuuuuuuuuck that. Thanks guys, for taking the risk and helping others see the truth but unfortunately there has been over 400 of you that took the **** in the ***. I'm sorry and I hope you make better decisions in the future. See ya.

 
Sep 05, 2020
Dont do it
Dgoff212 Borrower

Terrible loan service. Do not do it. Please listen to this warning. Please. Do not ruin your wallet or credit. The interest rate is stupid high and then a final "pay off amount" ontop of the loan. Dont do it to yourself.

more ...
Aug 31, 2020
NIGHTMARE COMPANY
NEvett Borrower

Tiana & Josh were the WORST. I got approved for a high loan and Tiana my loan rep was super rude and changed my application to self employed which got my decision reversed from approved to not approved.

more ...
Aug 29, 2020
mattrkrauss Borrower

They are a legal loan shark. Interest rates that high should be illegal. 

more ...
Sep 15, 2020

Thank you for this warning.

 
Oct 12, 2020

I really appreciate all the heads up advice. I almost excepted the loan offer. I will let EVERYONE I know about these crooks.

 
Aug 26, 2020
The interest rate will eat you lunch.
GeoffreyT Borrower

The interest rates are extremely high. I would avoid this company and look elsewhere.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.