OneMain Financial Personal Loans Reviews

OneMain Financial Personal Loans Reviews
4.5 out of 5 stars
782 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

3 star reviews (22) See All

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Feb 18, 2020
Debt consolidation loan
oh10rep Borrower

I had to get an Ohio Title, although OneMain locations are in Georgia. I was offered 1/4 of what I applied for and what was initially told I was APPROVED FOR. The appear to ONLY use car titles for collateral; I offer a house deed, free and clear and still couldn't get the full amount. Customer Service was nice though I don't think too highly of how the company does business.

more ...
Feb 18, 2020
Debt consolidation loan
oh10rep Borrower

I had to get an Ohio Title, although OneMain locations are in Georgia. I was offered 1/4 of what I applied for and what was initially told I was APPROVED FOR. The appear to ONLY use car titles for collateral; I offer a house deed, free and clear and still couldn't get the full amount. Customer Service was nice though I don't think too highly of how the company does business.

more ...
Jan 27, 2020
personal loan

Was an easy loan to obtain however- the interest reate is over 36%.  I have made on time payments for well over a year, and am even paid ahead.  However-  I made some additional payments on thier online service- that went almost entirely to interest.   When I called to have it re applied to principle - I was told that since I didnt make the xtra payment in person - they cannot apply it to principle - and the online serice doesn't tell you that your payment will not be applied to principle.   So now all I am doing is paying interest and I cannot get ahead of it.  I also called to see if they would work with me and i was offered no help since I am technically paid ahead.  They were not freindly when I asked if there was anything they could do.  Bottom line- they want the interest and are not interested in helping.

more ...
Dec 29, 2019
High high high interest. Snoop dog high.

Sure you'll get approved for a 6,000 loan, and after fees and interest you'll be paying about 9,000. I would wait until your credit is better and get a lower interest loan.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 29, 2019

Snoop dog high...lol

 
Nov 05, 2019
Irritating

I was happy to know I was approved for $6,400 plus refinance my car... until i got in there office 30 minutes away from home! All of a sudden they recalculated my income and dropped the loan amount to $4,700 and car refinance. What some bull****. So now i cant even consolidate all my debt.. i can only do partial and still make minimum payments on my other cards. The girl was nice and tried to call the people who make the decisions at corporate and they still said no they wouldnt go with the $6,400 i was initially equated. Not to mention the service fee of a couple hundred dollars is out of this world! Grrrr

more ...
Oct 23, 2019
This is a charge card home shopping I us
Plong12 Borrower

This is a loan I used for home shopping I lots my job in 2008 because of the economy.  But I do make payments to this account every month auto with draw from my checking so I am in the process of paying this loan.

more ...
Sep 25, 2019
High rate - quick flip - pay back fast!
lemnick Borrower

You DO NOT want to just make the monthly payments and go the full term. It will end up costing you MORE THAN DOUBLE what the actual loan amount. Initial fees are somewhat high too. I got $9200 and owe $10,854 right out of the gate. This loan is good for quick flips or something along those lines. For example if you have something you can buy for $3800 and sell for twice what you paid for it. Or if you have a few deals over a few months that can net you over 50% profit. Or if you have money coming in six months but you actually need it sooner and the interest initial fees are still worth it. If you are using it for a quick flips and then paying it backl within a few months then this is anb excellt way to get quick cash. I plan to use it regularly.

more ...
Sep 03, 2019
It will help
Saynotodebt Borrower

 High interest and not really enough for what I needed but I plan to pay off early. My local rep was very friendly and knowledgeable. Very quick process from app to close. 

more ...
Jul 02, 2019
Just okay.
SmartKitKat Borrower

They did not approve me for the amount they said these would on Credit Karma. They ended up approving me for much less and the interest is crazy high. However, they have a rewards program that gives you points for basically learning about financial literacy as you get to redeem these points for gift cards. I ended up getting the loan since it has a slightly lesser interest than this other loan I had and the payments were less. They have a lot of requirements in order to approve you, including having to go out of your way to schedule and appointment to go in a branch they chose. This is like a last resort place to get a loan.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.