OneMain Financial Personal Loans Reviews

OneMain Financial Personal Loans Reviews
4.5 out of 5 stars
805 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

2 star reviews (13) See All

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Feb 18, 2020
Go somewhere else!
Jimmy3077 Borrower

Dont do it! They will kill you with interest rates and promise you things they can't deliver on! Not very honest ppl

more ...
Jan 31, 2020
RIP off
Smitwell Borrower

Borrow 7k and patty back almost 16k

more ...
Feb 03, 2020

Omg that's wayyyy to much interest!

 
Feb 04, 2020

Your interest rate is based on your credit score. So the fact you had to pay that much isn’t their fault. Just like any other bank your considered a liability.

 
Feb 09, 2020

Even at bad credit score that is over 50% interest thatsvhigj way robbery

 
Jan 28, 2020
At 35% interest, the loan is a killer..

This is NOT a "take all the time you need" loan.  Pay the loan off in less than a year.  I was able to consolidate and reposition my revolving credit into a term based loan.  But the dirty little secret is that you still owe the debt.  I cancelled my credit cards so I wouldn't recharge the debt on them. Also, FICO is now penalizing people for getting personal loans to pay for credit card debt,  if they recharge on their credit cards before paying off the personal loans, so watch out for that.

more ...
Jan 16, 2020
Zztophat76 Borrower

Don't use this company no matter what if it's a secured loan they will lie do you get you nothing what you need tell your payments are 200 and in six months you're over $800 and they keep adding fees no matter how much or how far ahead you get your  loan never decreases so they can take the car from you without issue 

more ...
Jan 08, 2020
Dear lord pay it off QUICK

Got approved but it took a LOT to get there. Surprised they didn't ask for my daughter and son's DNA and hair samples as part of the process. They will dig through your bank account and request proof for everything. Interest was ROBBERY. I got the loan initially to build credit but I ended up paying it off QUICK because of the 100% interest. Be careful with your money. OneMain should be a LAST RESORT. But honestly next time, I would rather borrow from the MOB.

more ...
Jan 10, 2020

If you don't mind me asking, what was your credit score when they approved you? CK has suggested them to me with good approval odds, and I would love to use this as a debt consolidation loan to pay off some other things quickly. But I don't want the hit to my score if I'm not going to be approved.

 
Jan 10, 2020

Right !

 
Nov 11, 2019
I can't get out from under it...
CO6342 Borrower

Polite staff but the interest on loans & constant nudge to borrow more has put me under increasing debt instead of paying off principle.

more ...
Nov 01, 2019
The Interest is a Killer

If they explained the interest rate propely and the repayment Math upfront they would lose alot of business. Their interest rate is a daily interest rate so if you took a loan of 10,000. at a interest of 25% and lets say your monthly payment is to be $250. When you make your monthly payment $212 goes towards your interest and $38 goes towards your balance. The only way to get out of your loans fast with this company is to never miss a payment and always pay more than your standard monthly payments. The loan math is [Loan Amount] (APR%/365)X{days between payments} = interest.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 13, 2019

Are you certain the interest rate is that high? I’ve not heard of anyone- even with a credit score <550. If it is that high I don’t want a loan from them. </p>

 
Aug 20, 2019
Good only if you have a bad credit
Ralfonso Borrower

Very aggressive interest rates and have to out your car as a collateral (they keep the car's title until last payment is done)
Also have a hiden fees for docs, taxes and so. I found those fees only after everything was signed out.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 09, 2019

Don’t mean to be personal but how bad of a credit score are they asking like can you get approved for a pan with a 60@ or 600?

 
Jun 18, 2019
rebecca1972 Borrower

I  was called and told that I was approved for the amount that I asked for. I was told what my monthly payment would be. Then… I was called three or four more times and told that everything looked fine and I should come in for a closing. I get up there I sit and wait for hours and then just to be told I’m only going to be able to get her Third of what I actually applied for. Had I had known that I would not of put myself and all my important information out there. This will be the last time I ever use them

more ...
Jun 20, 2019

But what was the reason why they didnt give you what was promised..
Just so I know when I apply. Thx

 
Jul 13, 2019

Same with me through credit karma. Hey you're approved for this amount i said ok let's do it and go in to finalize then get told i needed a co signer or a title to a vehicle after being told it was an unsecured loan.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.