OneMain Financial Personal Loans Reviews

OneMain Financial Personal Loans Reviews
4.1 out of 5 stars
457 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

2 star reviews (12) See All

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Jul 14, 2020
Loan was easy to get.
Bikermama14 Borrower

Higher interest rates, poor customer service

more ...
May 01, 2020
Horrible interest
Kara42892 Borrower

I had a Loa͏n with this financial institution and it was the worst loan I've ever had to work to pay off. The daily interest is so ridiculous, about 75% of my payments we're going to interest! I never even noticed because I was consumed with paying off other debt that when I did really take a look at what was happening, the principal balance only went down $200 in one year...$325 monthly payment, BS. I called my local branch about any help they could offer and they didn't even act like they wanted to help. Got another loan to pay off that one. Never again One Main. Never again. Don't bother with this institution unless you are in dire need and will be able to pay it off as quickly as you can and never be late on payments!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 09, 2020

Sounds just like titlemax

 
Apr 23, 2020
The place is a joke.
Bit2x Borrower

They push you to take their disability ins. Then when you need to use it, no they will deny your claim.. Even if you are under doctor care.. this place is a joke.. and I have great credit..

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 01, 2020

If you have "great credit" why are you using a predatory loan company at a 25ish% interestrate? That's what real banks and credit unions are for. This comment makes zero cents (see what I did there lol?), I'm not buying it.

 
Apr 18, 2020
Drowning
Mojaz Borrower

I took out a $5000 loan. Desperate times in life it happens. I paid $188 a month for 13 months before requesting a payoff quote. My payoff quote after 13 month was $4775. I paid that off so fast, never will I ever. I know I got this loan out of impulse. But fair warning to my fellow borrowers...beware.

more ...
Apr 21, 2020

Easy to get approved if your willing to pay for life

 
Apr 23, 2020

Example, you borrow 5000 1 year later you ask for payoff you balance is 5500 plain and simple. Worst mistake ever.

 
Feb 18, 2020
Go somewhere else!
Jimmy3077 Borrower

Dont do it! They will kill you with interest rates and promise you things they can't deliver on! Not very honest ppl

more ...
Jan 31, 2020
RIP off
Smitwell Borrower

Borrow 7k and patty back almost 16k

more ...
Feb 03, 2020

Omg that's wayyyy to much interest!

 
Feb 04, 2020

Your interest rate is based on your credit score. So the fact you had to pay that much isn’t their fault. Just like any other bank your considered a liability.

 
Feb 09, 2020

Even at bad credit score that is over 50% interest thatsvhigj way robbery

 
Jan 28, 2020
At 35% interest, the loan is a killer..

This is NOT a "take all the time you need" loan.  Pay the loan off in less than a year.  I was able to consolidate and reposition my revolving credit into a term based loan.  But the dirty little secret is that you still owe the debt.  I cancelled my credit cards so I wouldn't recharge the debt on them. Also, FICO is now penalizing people for getting personal loans to pay for credit card debt,  if they recharge on their credit cards before paying off the personal loans, so watch out for that.

more ...
Jan 16, 2020
Zztophat76 Borrower

Don't use this company no matter what if it's a secured loan they will lie do you get you nothing what you need tell your payments are 200 and in six months you're over $800 and they keep adding fees no matter how much or how far ahead you get your  loan never decreases so they can take the car from you without issue 

more ...
Jan 08, 2020
Dear lord pay it off QUICK

Got approved but it took a LOT to get there. Surprised they didn't ask for my daughter and son's DNA and hair samples as part of the process. They will dig through your bank account and request proof for everything. Interest was ROBBERY. I got the loan initially to build credit but I ended up paying it off QUICK because of the 100% interest. Be careful with your money. OneMain should be a LAST RESORT. But honestly next time, I would rather borrow from the MOB.

more ...
Jan 10, 2020

If you don't mind me asking, what was your credit score when they approved you? CK has suggested them to me with good approval odds, and I would love to use this as a debt consolidation loan to pay off some other things quickly. But I don't want the hit to my score if I'm not going to be approved.

 
Jan 10, 2020

Right !

 
Aug 18, 2020

For anyone else looking to help your credit check out Self. They have a credit building option, it's not a loan. You pay between $25-$150 (your choice) per months for 12-24 months depending on the payment amount. At the end of the term you get the money back The interest rate is between 12-14%.

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.