OneMain Financial Personal Loans Reviews

OneMain Financial Personal Loans Reviews
4.5 out of 5 stars
772 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

1 star reviews (55) See All

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Feb 27, 2020
Loan to take advantage of the desperate.
Zack45601 Borrower

You will essentially pay 50% to 100% interest. If you don't have good credit, you will also need collateral for this terrible loan. They describe it as 25% interest, (which is still terrible). It's just clever tactics by their employees. I even say down and did the math with them in the office, and they just insisted it's 25% interest, and that's all you pay.

more ...
Feb 05, 2020
Good luck if you miss a payment.
Cathy9775 Borrower

I have been a customer with One Main for over 20 years, on and off. I took out my last loan with them approximately 2 years ago. None of my payments were significantly late. For one thing you can not change your payment date so I was forced to pay them at the end of the month rather than the beginning. As soon as it is a day past the due date the calls begin, often several times a day from multiple numbers. In Dec 2018, my bank was was cloned and someone took over $300 out of my checking account. Due to this I was unable to make my payment with One Main until well after the 30 day mark which resulted in it being reported to the credit bureau. I waited over a year and made my payments on time every month in hopes of being able to show the company this was a one time blemish. I recently emailed thier executive team and asked for this mark to be removed in light of the circumstances surrounding the singular late payment. I was told it was reported accurately and there is nothing they can do. 

So basically, if you make every payment on time and have been a loyal customer it makes no difference. One late payment or 12 late payments all look the same on your credit report. It shows to other creditors that you are a financial risk. I will be paying off this loan very soon and will never take out a loan with this company again. Very disappointed in this especially since I have borrowed and repaid several loans with them. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 27, 2020

You should have disputed the on time payment with the credit bureaus I can almost guarantee that you would have got that blemish removed.

 
Jan 20, 2020
Total Scam
bl915 Borrower

Do not use this company. They will charge you high interest rate and you will never pay off your loan. All payments go to interest. Total Scam. 

more ...
Jan 19, 2020
Terrible
Ddeerr12 Borrower

Stay away. You will never pay it off. Lies lies lies. Everything goes to interest, even payments you pay ahead. Total scam

more ...
Jan 14, 2020
Crooks being crooks

Rip off ,,Interest rates should be illegal but banks own the world sssoooo screw them

more ...
Jan 01, 2020
24% interest is absurd..

The interest rate is too high, this is a scam to get people in debt that they will struggle for years to get out of. My word of advice is save your money and buy your item direct and dont fall victim to these credit cards with high interest rates.

more ...
Jan 02, 2020

No one forces you to accept an offer and there was no cold call or high pressure. You responded to an offer so you sought a financial resolution or funds. There is no scam forcing you into debt. If interest was too high for you you had plenty of opportunity to refuse loan. There is also a period of time after you accept loan to return the money if you change your mind. For you to use the word scam is absurd.

 
Jan 04, 2020

Indeed nobody forces you into this but seriously anything above 15% is just ludicrous. If you are desperate and you need a long term plan to crawl out of debt this is a painful option. But seriously at these rates you have to be desperate or stupid

 
Dec 29, 2019
They take advantage of people
Zack45601 Borrower

You pay back about double what you borrow. The interest is 50% and they tack on double that and WILL NOT come clean that they are essentially charging you double that.

more ...
Dec 25, 2019
Worst company ever
Truth4 Borrower

They claim they will work with you, they claim you can get your loan modified if something happens, I was laid off and had to get a new job, the new job pay rate is way less iv tried to get them to help 2 times and they just refuse to work with me i have since let 2 cards fall behind and I still cant pay the loan and have to come up with late payments as well so don't go with them they make claims to work with you then tell you your ****ed

more ...
Dec 12, 2019
Not worth it
missgem Borrower

I had this loan and right now I'm almost paid off thru debt consolidation. When I had the loan, they had my car title, and would not add $300 to a loan almost paid off. So they later raised my amount and I couldn't pay the $7000 they offered.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.