Personal Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Lending Club Personal Loans

Application Process
Customer Service
4.3 5
Apply Now

Get Your Personal Loan Rate from Lending Club Personal Loans

What are you looking to do with your loan?

60

13.25%

$229

 

Current Loan

This Loan

 

Change

Balance

$10,000

$10,000

$0

Term (Months)

60

60

0

 

Estimated Interest & Fees

$14,000

$3,724

Down

$10,276

Interest Cost

$14,000

$3,724

Down

$10,276

Lender Fees

N/A

$0

$0

 

Total Monthly Payment

$400

$229

Down

$171

 
Savings:
Monthly Payment Savings over 1 Year

$2,052

Interest & Fee Savings over 5 Years

$10,276

Compare Personal Loan Rates

View your top Personal Loan recommendations and compare rates on Credit Karma.

About Credit Karma

Credit Karma is an entirely free credit resource. See your credit information, educational tools and more. No catch.
  • Credit Scores
  • Credit Reports
  • Personalized Offers
  • Most Helpful Positive Review

    Mar 04, 2014

    I am beyond impressed!
    Helpful to 142 out of 152 people

    I rarely write reviews but I really feel like I will be doing many people who are "in my shoes" a disservice if I don't.  I have only been on Credit Karma for a few weeks but I have been helped a lot by various reviews of credit services. I was looking for a loan to pay down my credit cards and raise my credit score (plus have a single payment at lower interest rate) prior to shopping for a car. Whenever I came across a lender, I would log on to Credit Karma to find reviews or comments made by members about them, and so after being prequalified by Lending Club I did the same thing and found a great deal of negative reviews. To say the least I was discouraged almost to the point of not taking the loan but then I decided since they were not likely to do a hard pull (learned that also thanks to this forum), I don't have much to lose, I might as well try. I am glad I made that decision. My loan request was for 4000, I got an interest rate of 10.99 and an APR of 13.84% (36-month term, score 680 according to LC). My loan got fully funded in about 30 hours, and it was so much fun watching that process. The most impressive part of the deal is that verification of my email and bank account were the only requirements and those happened within 24 hours. Soon after the loan was fully funded, loan status changed to "approved" and a few minutes after that to "issued". I received an email from Lending Club informing me that the money had been electronically transferred to my account and that was it! No phone calls to or from Lending Club, no faxes, no paperwork. Total time from application to issuing of the loan was only 36 hours and it was so effortless! Probably some of those who wrote negative reviews might have had genuine reasons to do so but my experience makes me conclude things may have changed for the better or borrower related factors may be partly responsible for at least some of the negative cases (like false information on application, etc), or both. 

    Read More

    bergermedecin's review was:    

     

    Most Helpful Critical Review

    Nov 01, 2012

    Confusing
    Helpful to 67 out of 76 people

    Let me say that I took out a previous loan with Lending Club and everything was fine. I received the funds and am paying it off. No problem there.

    However, when I tried to take out a second loan, problems quickly began to arise. The website will simply NOT allow you to take out a second loan if you have one already. There is no clear cut direction as to what to do or what to click on.

    I emailed Lending Club and asked if I could take out a second loan and explained the technical issues I was having. Someone responded with "you can only take out a second loan if you had the first loan for 6 months and paid everything on time". That was all the email said. But I have had the other loan for a YEAR and always paid on time. They didn't address my real question or even look up my account. I emailed them again and finally they told me how to get a second loan. You have to actually sign up using a different email address to do this. It was confusing and irritating to have to do that.

    I have had other questions and have gotten one line generic responses via email. You can call them with questions too, but phone lines are only open during the day and early evenings.

    My loan has been 100% funded as of a week ago, but I never received an email stating this. I found out myself when I logged in to my account. I have not received any funds in my bank account either. I don't understand what the hold up is or why there was no communication. I just emailed them yet again with another question.

    It has been two weeks since I posted my loan and I am confused about the status. 

    Bottom line: the loan request process may be time consuming and possibly a waste of time if you never end up getting a loan somehow down the road. Customer service is below average. The website is easy to use for simple tasks but there is limited information available for account holders and not easy to figure out how to take out multiple loans. Overall, not as easy of a process as I once thought it was. Don't know if I would recommend Lending Club to anyone.

    Read More
     

    Reviews (1222)

    Mar 02, 2015

    Deceptive application/lending practices.

    Lending Club's (LC)  web site says one can make payments at anytime which is not true. LC refused to accept extra payments on any date except standard payment date. They do not report payments accurately on website. I filed complaint with FDIC and FDIC aggreed that LC practices were deceptive. TLC charges large upfront fee to make loan. I have found LIGHTSTREAM/SUNTRUST BANK is far better loan, no upfront fees, lower interest, ability to make payments anytime. Prosper is a better leneder then LC and allows oine to make payments with ease. I would avoid LENDING CLUB. I found LC customer service rude and willing to lie. There is a statement about people tat some would rather climb a  tree and tell a lie then stand on the ground and tell the truth, that statement applys to Lending Club. I am planning on filing with the CFPB concerning LC deceptive web site that can induce one to make  loan with out truth being told by LC.

    Read More

    Bill714's review was:    

     
    Write A Reply |

    Feb 26, 2015

    Great service

    What a great experience ! I needed 18,000 to consolidate my bills and with my busy schedule Lending Club approved me in minutes and my funds were in my checking account in 5 days without a phone call ! And a great rate also ! Thank you Lending Club a lot of pressure off my back now 

    Read More
      Write A Reply |

    Feb 26, 2015

    A financial dream come true!
    Helpful to 1 out of 1 people

    I received an email from lending club and decided to check the rates, just for the heck of it.  I know my credit is just fair and figured it wouldn't work out.  I couldn't have been more wrong!  I was immediately approved for a $12,000 loan with an interest rate of 6.39% and an APR of 7.75%.  The credit cards I wanted to pay off ranged from 18 - 30%. My "to-do" list included verifying my email and verifying my bank account with a small debit (immediately credited) that showed in my bank account the very next morning.  Wednesday I received an email telling me I was 100% financed and the money was being deposited.  This morning (Thursday), a deposit of $11,760.00 was in my account. Lending Club charges a small percentage for their service; for $12K the fee was $240.  So, I just finished paying off $12,000 of high interest credit card and the loan I used to do it will be paid off in three years!!  I am going to tell everyone about this.

    Things to consider: 

    - My credit score was 680

    - You can still go through with the loan even if you don't receive 100% investor backing (60% min)

    - These are peer - to - peer loans, meaning that individuals, not banks, are giving you the money

    Process:

    Monday         Checked rates, applied, 100% financed loan approved

    Tuesday        Verified bank account

    Wednesday  Notified that funds were being transferred

    Thursday      Funds in my bank account

    Read More

    funissa's review was:    

     
    Write A Reply |

    Feb 25, 2015

    A great experience.

    I had an excellent experience  so far. Did not take very long to get everything worked out.

    Read More
      Write A Reply |

    Feb 24, 2015

    I would highly recommend Lending Club

    I have been looking for a loan to pay off high interest credit card balances. When the banks raised their rates and cut credit limits when I had ZERO late payments, it made things tough. I applied for a $35k loan and within 2 days my loan was 100% funded and a day later my funds were deposited into my account. I now have one monthly payment and a big weight has been lifted off my shoulders. Highly recommend them, fast and easy process. Thank you Lending Club. 

    Read More
      Write A Reply |

    Feb 23, 2015

    Great people to work with

    I'm sorry I didn't know about them sooner

    Read More

    ihaditall's review was:    

     
    Write A Reply |

    Feb 22, 2015

    I like this Personal Loan.
    Helpful to 1 out of 1 people

    I aplied for this loan in late December to pay off my credit cards.The process was so easy and within 12 days i had a checked deposit in my bank account for $6000.I am credit card free and now i have only one bill to pay every month..If you want extra money i say to you apply now cause it is so easy to get approve..I wll do it again in two years.

    Read More

    seybrew's review was:    

     
    Write A Reply |

    Feb 21, 2015

    I would highly recommend Lending Club.

    I've been looking, for quite some time, into getting a loan and paying off all my credit cards. Finally found Lending Club. Outstanding. I applied on a Wednesday and the funds were deposited two days later. What a weight lifted off my shoulders. Thank you, Lending Club, for the fantastic service.

    Read More
      Write A Reply |

    Feb 20, 2015

    The least stressful small loan ever!!
    Helpful to 1 out of 1 people

    This was by far the easiest personal laon I have ever obtained. In 3 days, the money was in my account. No hard pull on my credit either. I would give only good feedback when asked.

    Read More

    kg4kdn's review was:    

     
    Write A Reply |

    Feb 19, 2015

    It was reasonably quick and easy!

    Understandably, Lending Club wanted information from me to make a decision on the loan.  They were very reasonable with the amount of time they took in the decision making process.  I would certainly recommend them!  Thanks, Lending Club!

    Read More

    Eyevan22's review was:    

     
    Write A Reply |

    Add Your Review Of Lending Club Personal Loans

    Rate this product

    Rate your application experience (Optional)

    Application Process

    Customer Service

    What is your experience with this product?

    I Have It

    I Used To Have It

    I Applied For It

    Write your review:

    Profile Image
    Anonymous

    Company Overview

    Lending Club is an online peer to peer financial community that works to match approved borrowers with investors. The online application process makes applying for a personal loan quick and convenient. Available loan types vary from debt consolidation to special events loans. Loan amounts range from $1,000 to $35,000 with fixed monthly rates. Borrower and investor support is available online or by phone.

    Founded in 2007, LendingClub has helped facilitate more than $5 billion in loans. All loans featured on Lending Club are funded by WebBank, a Utah-chartered Industrial bank headquartered in Salt Lake City.


    If you receive a $5,000 36-month loan at an interest rate of 6.03% with a 1.11% origination fee of $55.50, you will receive a loan amount of $4,944.50 and will make 36 monthly payments of approximately $152.18 at a 6.78% APR. In the case of a $15,000 60-month loan at an interest rate of 7.90% with a 3.00% origination fee of $450.00, you will receive a loan amount of $14,550.00 and will make 60 monthly payments of approximately $303.43 at a 9.20% APR. Annual Percentage Rates presented are estimated and were created based upon information entered by the consumer and through analysis of information publicly available at lendingclub.com. The estimated APR presented does not bind Lending Club or any lender originating loans through the Lending Club platform. The range of APR available through Lending Club is 6.78% to 29.99%. Only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR depends upon credit score, loan amount, loan term, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval.