Personal Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Lending Club Personal Loans

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Borrower Ratings
4.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 04, 2014
I am beyond impressed!
bergermedecin Borrower

I rarely write reviews but I really feel like I will be doing many people who are "in my shoes" a disservice if I don't.  I have only been on Credit Karma for a few weeks but I have been helped a lot by various reviews of credit services. I was looking for a loan to pay down my credit cards and raise my credit score (plus have a single payment at lower interest rate) prior to shopping for a car. Whenever I came across a lender, I would log on to Credit Karma to find reviews or comments made by members about them, and so after being prequalified by Lending Club I did the same thing and found a great deal of negative reviews. To say the least I was discouraged almost to the point of not taking the loan but then I decided since they were not likely to do a hard pull (learned that also thanks to this forum), I don't have much to lose, I might as well try. I am glad I made that decision. My loan request was for 4000, I got an interest rate of 10.99 and an APR of 13.84% (36-month term, score 680 according to LC). My loan got fully funded in about 30 hours, and it was so much fun watching that process. The most impressive part of the deal is that verification of my email and bank account were the only requirements and those happened within 24 hours. Soon after the loan was fully funded, loan status changed to "approved" and a few minutes after that to "issued". I received an email from Lending Club informing me that the money had been electronically transferred to my account and that was it! No phone calls to or from Lending Club, no faxes, no paperwork. Total time from application to issuing of the loan was only 36 hours and it was so effortless! Probably some of those who wrote negative reviews might have had genuine reasons to do so but my experience makes me conclude things may have changed for the better or borrower related factors may be partly responsible for at least some of the negative cases (like false information on application, etc), or both. 

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 11, 2013
Should be illegal
Anonymous

I applied for a loan with LC and was approved, fully funded and according to my account summary loan was issued.  The final Truth in Lending notice was issued.  According to the email I received stating "this is your official notice that your loan was approved and funds will be deposited into your account within 2 to 4 days.  All looked GREAT!!  My LC account summary still showed funds issued with a transaction code, payment amount and due date.  Great I thought, just waiting on funds to show up in my checking account. 

Five days later still no funds deposited into my account, so I called LC to check on funds.  I was told loan is complete and funds should be in account.  We verified my account information and all was correct.  She put me on hold to speak to her supervisor.  LC rep came back and said she did not know why but the loan was rescended!?!  She stated there was a note for me to call the credit department.  I asked what was going on???  I never received an email stating any problems with the loan.  But I called the credit department and I spoke to Bernard.  He stated he was sorry but my loan was rescended due to too many credit inquiries.  (I only have 3 inquiries on my TransUnion credit report).  I assure you nothing outragous on my credit report was later revealed.   I was in SHOCK!!!

Over the next week I spoke to several and the end result was still no loan!!!!  Over the last several weeks I have kept an eye on my LC account summary, all still reflects an issued loan with a payment due in mid April.  Now almost 30 days later I received an email from LC reminding me that my payment was scheduled to come out of my checking account.  CRAZY!!!  I called LC and they apologized and told me some line, but that it would be corrected and not report as a missed payment on my credit report.  I must say I am not so confident that this will not be a later battle!!!

I know this sounds incredible and must not be true, but it is!!!  I have all the emails printed out, all documents from my LC account summary.  I even kept printing out all info from my account summary over the last couple of weeks.

I just wonder how the investors that funded my loan feel about having their money invested/held and not receiving any interest on their investment!?!

This kind of business should be illegal!!!  If any knows a good lawyer, I have all the proof!!!!

more ...
 

Reviews (4449)

Add Review
Sep 24, 2016
653 score approved $6000
ron212002 Borrower

Approved in 24 hours another 24 hours investor backed by day 5 

I had the money in my account. Super easy to do early pay off and I will have it repaid in the next 8 months. I just hope it helps my credit.

more ...
Sep 23, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

I was drowning in credit card debt. I would pay off the minimum and enough to keep the interest off my back but wasn't able to get it paid off. I applied for and got a loan to pay off my debt and I couldn't be happier. Unless you're good with money and have the money to pay off the credit cards, don't get them! You're better off just having your bank account! Thank you lending club! 

more ...
Sep 23, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

It was very easy, not alot of questions, and would use them again the in future

more ...
Sep 23, 2016
Very simple process and thank you.
Anonymous Borrower

I will let all my friends know about Lending Club.

more ...
Sep 23, 2016
This loan saved me from bankruptcy.
tracyly114 Borrower

I started out with great credit. I applied for credit cards, was approved, and used them. That was 8 years ago. Since then, I have been strugling to pay them off but kept using them. I had them maxed out and my credit union wouldn't help me with a consolidation loan. When I received a prompt saying I was pre-approved for a loan from LC, I didn't believe it, but I went ahead with the application. I was approved. I paid off my credit cards and closed the accounts. I am over joyed.

more ...
Sep 24, 2016

That's awesome! I would hope you closed them 100%!

 
Sep 23, 2016
Great transaction!
somedoobie Borrower

I took out a small personal loan to help with some high-interest credit cards.  The percentage was in the single digits compared to the 20's of the credit card companies.  Now, in no time I'll be debt free.  The process was very simple and the loan was deposited in about 5 days from start to finish.

more ...
Sep 23, 2016
They take money off the top!
Anonymous Borrower

Do not waist your time and money! Not worth it! Just go to a real bank! I'm paying this loan right back and loosing $303 on a $7,000 loan...

more ...
Sep 24, 2016

All loans have a fee taken....

 
Sep 25, 2016

Ha ha! Not from a real bank they don't!

 
Sep 23, 2016
A hassle to get, but worth it
Anonymous Borrower

I applied for this loan three weeks ago and just received my loan today. I can see how this would be a good deal for someone with a straightforward income situation; however, since I work two jobs and one of them is new, the process took forever. Customer service repeatedly requested the same documents and didn't understand my job situation, which isn't that complicated; at the worst point, they rejected my offer letter from my new job, saying it was too easy to forge, but refused to call my boss to verify, and refused to tell me what would constitute a legitimate offer letter on the basis that I might forge a new one if they told me what they were looking for! I was pretty angry at being accused of forging documents, and beyond frustrated with not knowing what to send, but really wanted the loan to help with debt consolidation, so I patiently tried again and waited. Eventually they accepted the documents I sent and the loan was approved, but the whole thing was more frustrating than it should have been. However, the loan rates are good (even with the origination fee) and it's going to be a tremendous help to my credit. So...

more ...
Sep 23, 2016
FAST, EASY AND AWESOME!!!
SphereFilm Borrower

I applied on the 20th and received my loan deposit on the 23rd.  What a wonderful experience and super easy as well.  I am incredibly pleased which is why I taking the time to write this review.  

I will admit, I saw negative reviews on Credit Karma and it made me second guess the decision for weeks because I didn't want to go through a hassle or 2 weeks of waiting to get the money; but after talking it over with my wife I decided to do it and I am extremely happy I did.

If you are looking to consolidate debt then Lending Club is the way to go, but make sure you work on paying more than the minimum payment each month because the interest can be on the high side.  Also never borrow more than you need, because of the high interest, borrowing more can put you in an even bigger debt situation.

more ...
Sep 24, 2016

Except you should apply for a little more than you need for the loan fee.

 
Sep 23, 2016
10K in 5 days!
Anonymous Borrower

So simple and the agents are very helpful. Would definitely do it again and again. Thank you.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this loan overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.