Lending Club Personal Loans Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
898 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 18, 2018
Quick-Improved credit score
Suzy39 Borrower

Very quick and painless process.  NO additional paperwork needed.  Had a 670 credit score and received approval up to $40,000.  I took out $18,000 to pay off credit cards and to give me a little extra to pay for car repairs. Received the loan at the end of June and my credit scores are now 746 Transunion 753 Equifax and 752 Experian.  I had the option of 3 years with a 10% interest rate of 5 years with a 14% rate.  There was a 6% origination fee but totally worth it in the grand scheme of things financially.  I took the 5 years with the plan to pay it off early since there are no prepayment penalties.  Wish I had gone this route earlier.  Would have saved me a lot in interest fees.  One thing to consider with the personal loan route is it shows diversity in loan types.  If you don't have a car loan or a mortgage but have multiple credit cards - this is definitely a GREAT way to boost your credit scores.  It allows you to keep your credit card utilization under that 10% mark that is the holy grail in FICO scores.  But this loan isn't calculated into that scheme.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

May 15, 2018
Huge hidden fee
prowler123 Borrower

Quick approval, one week to fund.  Surprise at funding.  I was missing $540.  I called they explained that the origination fee was listed in the truth in Lending disclosure.  It was not put on the main loan page, but hidden away in the fine print.  Found out after funding that there are multiple complaints about the hidden fee with the Consumer Protection Agency.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Apr 17, 2019
Almost done with my third one
mstandley Borrower

This company is amazing. Your loan is funded my individuals that put money in a "pool" to invest in your loan. My first two loans were for about 5k-7k and I could see as they were funded. They were funded within minutes by one person in TX lol. I could SEE that. I think they saw my credit and could read my mind on what I was consolidating. I was zero risk for those. Then I needed a 20+k unsecured loan after an auto accident left me with tons of credit card debt. This last, bigger, loan took 36 hours, and about 40 investors - but I had the money in my acct in a day. It's easier to qualify because the individual investor may only put $50 towards your $20,000 loan - so they aren't out much.....but when 40 investors each kick in a little - you get your fully funded, low fixed interest rate. I couldn't ask for better customer service either. Maybe one of these days I'll do the funding instead of the borrowing! :-)

more ...
Apr 17, 2019
Excellent!
HB2019 Borrower

I was approved for a loan within 48 hours. Within another 48 hours the funds were direct deposited in my checking account. I immediately paid off a credit card and had piece of mind that I had cut my APR in HALF!

My credit score improved drastically after this. 

I can't say enough good things about Lending Club. 

You can even move your payment date around if you'd like. You can achieve this easily online.

more ...
Apr 13, 2019
Avoid like the plague!
976789 Borrower

I don’t have much left to pay on this loan and thank god! Horrible customer service. HORRIBLE! Lengthy approval process. Don’t even ask about paying this loan with money orders or checks. You’ll think the big one struck San Francisco while on the phone with them (where they’re located). After lots of haggling, they'll give you the address of where to send it but it's a hassle to get it from them. They’ll threaten you with fees and everything else. God have mercy on your soul if you're stupid enough to give them access to your bank account.

more ...
Apr 12, 2019
Pay off credit cards
Bluntness38 Borrower

This loan took about a week to get approved. I started off with a small reasonable amount. They paid on all the accounts I requested and the remaining was deposit into my checking account. I am almost done paying off my loan, and would opt to take out another one in the near future. I love the fact that they included all of my income. If you are working on polishing your credit profile, Lending Club would be a good start. I wanted excellent credit and my profile stated I was lacking a personal loan. If you are serious about your credit worthiness go for it.

more ...
Apr 07, 2019
easy

the application is a little bit long but worth it. im on my second loan and my credit score has gone up drastically. i found out about lending club through credit karma 

more ...
Mar 31, 2019
EXPENSIVE !!!
euroboy65 Borrower

HIGH INTEREST RATES!! 30% !!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 07, 2019

that depends on your credit score i have a 12 percent on my 12000 loan

 
Mar 31, 2019
Extremely HIGH INTEREST !!!
euroboy65 Borrower

30% interest....OMG !!!
EASY TO APPLY BUT EXPENSIVE MONEY

more ...
Mar 21, 2019
personal loan-debt consolidation
a1223 Borrower

Lending Club's customer service is so great! I have 25 years of customer service experience, 12 years call center experience, and working with them is a breeze! so professional and great attitudes. I actually look forward to calling them if I need something. Today I needed to change my payment date and it took a whole 3 minutes and I left the call with a smile. You can't beat that! :) I will definitely be referring friends to them.

more ...
Mar 09, 2019
Straigthforward, affordable, and easy.
SIMPLYSUZE Borrower

You can pay off in three years a credit card that would take many more with much more of your payment going to interest instead of principal.  

more ...
Mar 09, 2019
I couldn't be more pleased AND relieved!
SIMPLYSUZE Borrower

Qualified for a  very low-interest rate to pay off a high-interest credit card (leftover expenses from my daughter's wedding).  Dropped interest by 12 points!

Thanks Lending Tree.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.