Personal Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Kabbage - Small Business Loans

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Loan Holder Ratings
3 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 15, 2013
It seems too good to be true!
Anonymous Loan Holder

I sell antiques online. Saw an ad on eBay that said I was pre qualified for money, so I applied, and within 2 minutes I got a response that I had $2000 with an opportunity to get up to $10000. I took out $1000 to buy inventory, and was able to pay it back in 2 months. It really saved me to be able to take advantage of an inventory opportunity that I would not have been able to other wise. Yes it is more expensive than some other ways to get money, but where else can you get money that fast, delivered to your paypal account, with out using just a credit score? I will keep using this for sure! Seems like banks don't care about businesses that are doing new things so it is cool that Kabbage is doing this for us.

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 13, 2013
Sorta Interested
Anonymous

It seems to me that they are not fully up front in explaining the full cost of capital in the loan structure, by emphasizing the 2-7% top line cost.

" Your cost will be typically 2%-10% based on your store's monthly revenue and Kabbage score."

You would pay 2% If and only If you pay back the entire balance in the same billing cycle, and if you are lucky ennough to get the 2% rate.

The on site example of Ms. Thompson getting a $10k loan, the first two months clipped for only 3%, followed by 4 months of 1%.

Since this is a fee on the total loan, finding the equivalent APR is rather easy: 3+3+1+1+1+1=10, but since this is a six month loan the APR would be 20%. We can see this in the listed cost of loan in the Ms. Thompson example

  • Advance: $10,000
  • Cost: $1,000

  • Total Due: $11,000

1000 on 10,000 is 10% for six months, or 20% annually.

Caveat Emptor, I am not saying this is a bad thing; like stated above, if you can manage it well this is a good source of short term funding, and let people like Ms. Thompson pay Kabbage's bills.

more ...
 

Reviews (148)

Add Review
May 03, 2016
Terrible Customer Relations
TwoMen Loan Holder

I hae been a customer for some years. I have boorowed alot of money and paid back alot more! I have never ever been late and they continue to not lower my interest rate. Steer clear of these folks, they are in business to make as much money they can off you and hope that you fail. GO ANOTHER ROUTE! 

more ...
Apr 09, 2016
Easy, fast and full disclosure!
Anonymous Loan Holder

I have ready multiple posts from people who say they were "decieved" and the payments were too high for them etc. Kabbage couldn't make it easier to understand what the payment plan is. Before you confirm your loan, they spell out exactly what each payment is, when its taken out, and for how long so I cannot see where the confusion is for some. I took just a portion of the full loan amount my first time and did so based on the payment plan they put RIGHT IN FRONT of your face on the same screen. I didn't take more than I felt comfortable repaying. 

If you can get a loan with a low interest rate with a bank, take it! But, if you need funds NOW and have the business to repay the loan, Kabbage is a great resource. I plan on repaying the loan as soon as I can to save on fees and that method will keep my interest costs down and make this loan that much more beneficial to me. 

Be responsible with your funds, take what you can afford to pay back, and try and pay it off early. If you do all of those things, Kabbahge is a fantastic resource to have in your business financing aresenal. 

more ...
Apr 07, 2016
Anonymous Loan Holder

Bad customer service - terrible APR.

more ...
Mar 25, 2016
May be more hassle than it's worth
Anonymous

After reading some of these reviews, I am starting to think twice. I am in the process of getting a loan and was approved but, they informed me that there was an error message when I tried to link my bank account. After I sent several documents already, they won't take me at my word. Apparently I have to submit more information to them because they have to "manually" enter my bank information into the system. This doesn't seem right  because they already had access to all my bank statements to begin with. Now I am leery and have a gut feeling that this isn't the way to go. I guess I should trust my instincts and forget it. Things happen for a reason.

more ...
Mar 23, 2016
Change rules as they go along. Deceptive
Anonymous Loan Holder

The payment amounts change all the time. They take money out average of 3 days before the due date.  When it says you can get money you can't.  That seems like a fund availability problem to me.  So your payments are not being kept for future loans.  Seems like they must have no money to loan sometimes.  The same person answers the phone all the time..Blaine...and he is very unhelpful and uninformative.  It seems like almost a skam.  I wish I had never heard of them.

more ...
Mar 10, 2016
Not Worth It
Anonymous Loan Holder

I understand how short term loans work and had no issues with them at first. I have been making all of my monthly payments on time even though they are extremely high. All of a sudden they lower my credit line and that money they promoted through email a day before now was nothing so I couldn't pay a supplier and now I had to use the money from their payment to pay the supplier leaving me short. Don't trust their whole let us help you with cash flow because it isn't true. First problem is you must pay in 6 months so the payments are very high so if your business has high and lows chances are on the lows months you will feel the burden of the very high payments and will be stressed out trying to find the money needed to pay.

Sadly other than Paypal Working Capital I do not know any other lender that is as easy as kabbage to get a loan so I can just forget about kabbage and go with another company.

If you need a loan use Paypal Working Capital, repayment is done by they charging a percent of your sales which makes it extremely comfortable. My mistake was adding kabbage to my business for extra inventory but unless you have a business that sells out all the inventory or are earning 500% on everything you sell then stay away and save yourself some stress.

more ...
Mar 02, 2016
Great Product for A Business Credit Line
matthew123456 Loan Holder

This product is a Business Line of Credit.  It takes some work to get and may cost more than you are willing or able to pay.

Do your research.  We use it as a valuable tool in times of cash flow shortages. 

In our case it is important to have access to a credit line to purchase new equipment.

It allows us to look for cash sale prices on equipment.  Since we don't have to go through a finance company, we can move quickly on a purchase.

We like having a business line of credit.  If you think it costs to much than find a different source.

If you have done your research and understand the costs, I highly recommend Kabbage.

Pros

Business line of credit

Cons

Cost for some ​

more ...
Feb 23, 2016
Pulls money out without your approval
Anonymous Loan Holder

Be careful.  Kabbage will pull money out of your bank account without your approval even if you are on a payment plan. When I blocked them from pulling money out directly through our bank account, they just changed the name and took money out with a DBA name Kabbage Data.  Not sure how many DBA names they have.   So, I will just continue to notify the bank of Kabbage and block each DBA.   But, they do know how to taking money from your account without your approval.  The only other option is to close the bank account.   Or better yet, do not borrow from them.  Terrible company.

more ...
Feb 19, 2016
Kabbage has been there for me
esd1963 Loan Holder

I was practically laughed at when I went to Bank of America who I have had a 20 plus year relationship with. They handed me a cheap pen and sent me on my way. I had read about the high risk / Angel investment companies that charge higher than normal rates but extend credit to new businesses once in a New York Times article. The article spoke favorably about Kabbage so I went on line and filled out a simple application and in a day I had a $100,000.00 line of credit. Having access to these funds allowed me to expand my inventory and supercharge my business. I never would have been able to achieve such phenomenal growth had I not had access to the line of Credit that Kabbage provided me.  My company is a distributor that imports its products so I have to have inventory on the shelf and turn it fast so I can bring in more. Kabbage helped me triple my business plan revenue estimates. Bank of America was so impressed in fact they paid me an unsolicited visit to compliment me on my company’s outstanding cash flow and wanted to know if I was aware of the other services they provide such as business a LINE OF CREDIT which they would be happy to discuss with me. This time I showed them the door! Unlike any other business it’s the objective of all of these lending companies to make money, It’s different with Kabbage. There are no hidden fees or surcharges. What you pay is clearly explained. They aren’t vultures. My rep Tom Lynch is a human being who listened to me and works personally with my company and understands our goals. Kabbage isn’t just a third part lender to me. They are a partner that cares and listens. If you are shopping for financing or looking to expand your business you owe it to yourself to at least try these guys. On Ebay and Amazon my store is Belowwholesalelighting . We are processing over 7000 orders per month in a little over 2 years in business with very little working capital to start.  

more ...
Feb 18, 2016
Deceptive Business Practice
Bad4ever Loan Holder

long story short, you will never receive a single promotional gift card they promise! I borrowed roughly 22,800 from kabbage with incentivized funds totaling a whopping $350. I have payed back my ENTIRE loan balance in full, and would you believe I have not received a single card? I've complained and spoken to everyone within customer support. The live channel on their website just closes my window whenever speaking to me. Its quite ridiculous and ultimately a scam. Their are laws out there preventing such things, but thats not going to stop KABBAGE from making their money. I forwarded all emails to their "support@kabbage" and these slime balls have yet to reply! This was back in September of 2015. Please be advised. I am a father who was hoping to buy Christmas Presents for my children. Luckily this was just a means to add to what I was able to provide for them, but this was saddening to me nonetheless. I AM PUTTING THIS HERE FOR YOU! I'm not some crazy person that just leaves off the wall reviews. But when you deceive others and hurt families, you define what it means to be gutless... hurting the American Dream. If for no other reason, for ethics

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this loan overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

Kabbage is an online financing corporation that provides working capital to small businesses. The online application process only takes minutes, making it quick and convenient. Loan amounts range from $500-$50,000 with 24 hour access to your funds.

Founded in 2009, Kabbage is based in Atlanta, Georgia, with offices now in San Francisco as well as the United Kingdom. Kabbage was named a Red Herring 100 North American Winner as well as one of the Top 10 most innovative Companies in Finances.

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.