Marcus by Goldman Sachs ® Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
113 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 15, 2017
Best Loan option out there!
JDHKMS19892007 Borrower

I used my loan to consolidate my credit card debt. Unlike every other loan, Marcus does not charge any fees for taking out a loan. Other companies charge you an "origination" fee and deduct it from the total amount you borrowed. Marcus gives you the complete amount without charging or deducting any fees. The interest rate is great as well! My Credit Score jumped 50+ points!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 16, 2017
Very sleazy repayment policy
RogueEagle Borrower

Marcus has a very sleazy way of how they accept repayment of their loans. First of all, they try to strong arm you into setting up an auto-payment plan. If you decide to do it on your own, you are only permitted to make a current month's payment within an allocated number of days per month. For example, if your payment is due on the 30th and you make your payment at the beginning of the month, you are still on the hook for that month's ENTIRE payment because you made it outside of their "window" which is normally 2 weeks before the due date. In my case, my payment was due on the 31st, I received an email from Marcus on the 15th telling me to make my payment which I immediately did. However, given that it was made ONE DAY BEFORE the allowable period, Marcus ends up applying the entire amount to the principal and tells me I'm still on the hook for that month's payment. When I raised the issue of the timing of the payment, they more or less told me "Too bad, your fault" and that was that. Fortunately I am able to payoff the balance which I did and I encourage ANYONE who is looking for a personal loan to look elsewhere and avoid these crooks.        

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Jul 19, 2017
Approved - Fast and Friendly
robert91203 Borrower

I applied for a $30K wtih 9.99% loan on Sunday morning, uploaded an ID on Monday morning, got a call on Wednesday afternoon, immediately approved, money in the bank 2 day later.  Great experience online and on the phone.  

more ...
Jul 17, 2017
The easiest way I have ever got a loan
Anonymous Borrower

This loan from start to finish was the easiest and faster than I could have wished for.Applied 1 night had money in my bank in 4 days.Marcus by Goldman Sachs was great

more ...
Jul 07, 2017
Anonymous Borrower

I applied for a loan for 14k I was instantly approved and was asked how'd I like to receive my cash. I had a 710 fico score although my rate was 12% the process was very smooth I had to provide not one piece of paperwork and the funds were deposited within 2 or 3 days... 

more ...
Jul 06, 2017
Great and easy
Anonymous Borrower

I took out a 10,000 dollar loan, at 6.99 APR. My credit is 790. Simple and easy. Took some pictures of the required information and was approved in a day.

more ...
Jun 28, 2017
To high of payments
Anonymous Borrower

Go to a credit union to get a personal loan

more ...
Jun 24, 2017
100% Satisfied with this Loan/Company A+
smurphz Borrower

Very simple process.  Received my funds FAST!  No Hidden or additional fees.  Got a great rate even with mediocre credit score.  I don't have a single complaint about the whole process.  I looked into 3 or 4 other companies and no one else came close. A+

more ...
Jun 23, 2017
awesome

applied with cs of 680 got approved for $18.500.00 in minutes  cash i my account in days 

no complaints 

more ...
Jun 23, 2017
Very Easy
18JEP Borrower

The interest rate is great and it will be paid off in 31 months. The process only took 2 days and the loan was in my account by the 3rd day. I paid off most of my credit cards and now I only have a few bills to pay each month. I have already told friends and family members about Marcus and some have also applied. I'm glad Credit Karma recommended this company.

more ...
Jun 22, 2017
Easy, Quick, and Fast
Petionville Borrower

I applied on a Sunday afternoon and was asked to upload income verification. I sent my w2 and within one hour, I receive my congratulatory email with a request for my bank info. I signed the documents online. My money was deposited by Wednesday morning.. 20k at 11.99%.

they used Fico score 9 TU (mine was at 766). But my CK TU score was at 715.

income is 166k

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.