Marcus by Goldman Sachs ™ Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
96 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 16, 2017
Easy and helped me in a pinch!
Anonymous Borrower

I was drowning in interest fees and surchages on my cc balances. I own Cap One, Chase Slate and was over 60% utilization. I was paying on 2 other cards. My monthly payments were around 350-400 monthly. I saw these as a recommended offer and had been debating a while. I mean the last time I tried to get personal loan it was denied and that was 3 years ago. Well I took the plunge and got APPROVED! I was so elated. I got 10,000 within 5-7 days. The application process was easy, everything was done online. My credit score on CK is 693 but my Fico score is 701. I think CK is a little off. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 16, 2017
Very sleazy repayment policy
RogueEagle Borrower

Marcus has a very sleazy way of how they accept repayment of their loans. First of all, they try to strong arm you into setting up an auto-payment plan. If you decide to do it on your own, you are only permitted to make a current month's payment within an allocated number of days per month. For example, if your payment is due on the 30th and you make your payment at the beginning of the month, you are still on the hook for that month's ENTIRE payment because you made it outside of their "window" which is normally 2 weeks before the due date. In my case, my payment was due on the 31st, I received an email from Marcus on the 15th telling me to make my payment which I immediately did. However, given that it was made ONE DAY BEFORE the allowable period, Marcus ends up applying the entire amount to the principal and tells me I'm still on the hook for that month's payment. When I raised the issue of the timing of the payment, they more or less told me "Too bad, your fault" and that was that. Fortunately I am able to payoff the balance which I did and I encourage ANYONE who is looking for a personal loan to look elsewhere and avoid these crooks.        

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

May 23, 2017
Easy!

The process was super easy and the people are very prompt. Applied and was approved within 36hrs!  Everyone that I spoke with on the phone was very nice and very helpful. The first time I called I was taken back by an actual person answering the phone!  No number tree no machines, just straight to great customer service!

more ...
May 20, 2017
Best Loan Experience
jaa0009 Borrower

Approved in under 5 minutes with no impact on credit score. Accepted offer and had to submit pay stub and copy of driver's license. Funded in 2 days. Everything can be done online but their customer service people were also amazing the 2 times I had to call them so far.

more ...
May 19, 2017
So Easy
Anonymous Borrower

The loan only took 24 hours to process and approve. The Customer service representatives were very friendly. By far the easiest experience I have ever had

more ...
May 18, 2017
These people are crooks!!!!! They said I
loseu1234 Borrower

This company claimed I put in an application and I did not.  I will be filing a complaint with the BBB!!!

more ...
May 15, 2017
Best Loan option out there!

I used my loan to consolidate my credit card debt. Unlike every other loan, Marcus does not charge any fees for taking out a loan. Other companies charge you an "origination" fee and deduct it from the total amount you borrowed. Marcus gives you the complete amount without charging or deducting any fees. The interest rate is great as well! My Credit Score jumped 50+ points!

more ...
May 11, 2017
Anonymous Borrower

Easy non stressful ! Money in account in 2 days! Easy process!

more ...
May 06, 2017
Wonderful
Anonymous Borrower

Very easy process. And now I have all but 2 credit cards paid off. Their customer service is fantastic. After one phone call verifying the credit fraud alert on my credit reports, I received my Approval Email! I will definitely use them again.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
May 11, 2017

Enter Your Reply

 
May 03, 2017
Best Loan experience ever!
Anonymous Borrower

I applied for a $22,500 personal loan and was approved within 24 hours.  Interest rate is 7.99% and my TransUnion Fico score is 798.  Customer service was professional and amazing.  I will definitely use them again.  

more ...
May 03, 2017
GREAT!
Anonymous Borrower

That the loan amount being offered is the amount you receive.

more ...
May 03, 2017
Credit Card Pay Off
Anonymous Borrower

A quick and easy process to consolidate debt. When I did have a question, I actually spoke to a live person!!! Keep up the great work!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.