Marcus by Goldman Sachs ® Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
182 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 17, 2017
Awesome experience
HappyLady756 Borrower

The entire process was complete in a week. From the application process until the funds were deposited into my account. Customer service representatives were professional and pleasant. Setup auto pay so I won't have to worry about the payments. Based on other reviews I'm waiting to see my credit score improve. The purpose for the loan was to consolidate credit card debt. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 16, 2017
Very sleazy repayment policy
RogueEagle Borrower

Marcus has a very sleazy way of how they accept repayment of their loans. First of all, they try to strong arm you into setting up an auto-payment plan. If you decide to do it on your own, you are only permitted to make a current month's payment within an allocated number of days per month. For example, if your payment is due on the 30th and you make your payment at the beginning of the month, you are still on the hook for that month's ENTIRE payment because you made it outside of their "window" which is normally 2 weeks before the due date. In my case, my payment was due on the 31st, I received an email from Marcus on the 15th telling me to make my payment which I immediately did. However, given that it was made ONE DAY BEFORE the allowable period, Marcus ends up applying the entire amount to the principal and tells me I'm still on the hook for that month's payment. When I raised the issue of the timing of the payment, they more or less told me "Too bad, your fault" and that was that. Fortunately I am able to payoff the balance which I did and I encourage ANYONE who is looking for a personal loan to look elsewhere and avoid these crooks.        

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Aug 18, 2017
STOP paying crazy CC interest! EZ!!!!!!!
MarkItPAID Borrower

This is the best loan I've ever taken...super interest rate, all online, complete in four days!  If you are like me, you may have credit card debt that you just can't seem to get rid of due to he exorbitant interest rates.  I used my Marcus loan to wipe out over 90% of my credit card debt at roughly 1/4th the interest rate.  Credit rating has gone up 50+ points.  This WON'T help you if you fall back into the habit of carrying large credit balances, but if you just need/want to get out from under the high CC interest, this is the best way to do it!  Now everyting is either debit or AmEx.  Can't say enough good about Marcus!

more ...
Aug 18, 2017
SO Easy!
surfer04 Borrower

Pre Qualified from CK, approved instantly for 20K. The money was in my checking account in 4 days. LOW INTREST RATES! Never spoke with anyone, all done on the computer. Great company! Highly recommended!

more ...
Aug 17, 2017
Amazingly easy process and great rate!

The loan process was so easy and super fast! We had the loan in our account in 2 days. We were very pleased with the interest rate, we are now paying 1/3 of the interest we were paying before!

more ...
Aug 16, 2017
Easiest loan I ever applied for!!
Dondren1 Borrower

The whole process was simple, Credit Karma said I was pre approved, I applied and got the rate they were offering. I had the money in my account and ready to pay off the debt in 2 days. I never even had to speak to anybody, all was done through the computer. Fantastic!!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 18, 2017

I had the same exact experience! Super awesome and easy...

 
Aug 16, 2017
So far_ so good
martyta Borrower

The only thing I dont like about the loan is that you have to get a code on your phone everytime you want to log in to your account online. I like to pay my bills with the PRISM phone app it really easy and has helped my stay on top of my bills, but the way MARCUS is set up with the new code everytime i log in I had to just put a reminder for the bill into PRISM. It seems like they really want you to do automatic payments and I can understand why but I like to make payments when I happen to have the money and dont like having the payment sit in my bank account tempting me to use it for something else for two weeks. I read in other reviews where if you make a payment too early they will put that whole payment toward principal and still consider that months payment not met. I recieved an email from them shortly after getting this loan stating that is no longer their policy and they have adjusted the billing cycles to stop this from happening. At least that was my impression from the email I would double check with them to be sure if that is an issue for you.

more ...
Aug 12, 2017
Anonymous Borrower

Excellent experience all around

more ...
Aug 11, 2017
Anonymous Borrower

Application process was quick and easy. Lowest interest rate. Highly recommended!!!!

more ...
Aug 09, 2017

It was fast and easy to apply for and I got the money faster than I thought I would.  I had gotten another personal loan a ways back and they charged me fees so I did not recieve the full amount applied for, with this loan I got the full amount.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.