Marcus by Goldman Sachs® Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
284 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 17, 2017
Awesome experience
HappyLady756 Borrower

The entire process was complete in a week. From the application process until the funds were deposited into my account. Customer service representatives were professional and pleasant. Setup auto pay so I won't have to worry about the payments. Based on other reviews I'm waiting to see my credit score improve. The purpose for the loan was to consolidate credit card debt. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 16, 2017
Very sleazy repayment policy
RogueEagle Borrower

Marcus has a very sleazy way of how they accept repayment of their loans. First of all, they try to strong arm you into setting up an auto-payment plan. If you decide to do it on your own, you are only permitted to make a current month's payment within an allocated number of days per month. For example, if your payment is due on the 30th and you make your payment at the beginning of the month, you are still on the hook for that month's ENTIRE payment because you made it outside of their "window" which is normally 2 weeks before the due date. In my case, my payment was due on the 31st, I received an email from Marcus on the 15th telling me to make my payment which I immediately did. However, given that it was made ONE DAY BEFORE the allowable period, Marcus ends up applying the entire amount to the principal and tells me I'm still on the hook for that month's payment. When I raised the issue of the timing of the payment, they more or less told me "Too bad, your fault" and that was that. Fortunately I am able to payoff the balance which I did and I encourage ANYONE who is looking for a personal loan to look elsewhere and avoid these crooks.        

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Nov 22, 2017
Buckitup Borrower

Easiest, quickest, and convenient loan I have ever applied for and received.

more ...
Nov 14, 2017
Straight forward.
RPicard314 Borrower

There are no hidden or origination fees for this lender, which is fantastic. Once the documents were uploaded, I received a call from one of their customer service agents who confirmed my bank information. The loan was in my account 2 days later.

more ...
Nov 14, 2017
Easy Breezy
l8ejay71 Borrower

Application was quick and easy and approval was in a few seconds. I applied with a “very good approval rate” from Credit Karma - 704 CS to consolidate my credit cards on Sunday, money in my bank on Tuesday morning. I didn’t have to speak with anyone, everything was done online, my type of process! 

more ...
Nov 11, 2017
No hassle loan at a a fair rate
Anonymous Borrower

The application process was simple and fast received funds in less than a week

more ...
Nov 11, 2017
Painless! 
Anonymous Borrower

Painless!  Online and on the phone I always felt "this is how it should be".  Response was immediate with no problems.

more ...
Nov 09, 2017
Simple and quick
Anonymous Borrower

The loan application was easy to do, approved quickly and the funds were transferred to my checking account in a few days. Will look here first if I need another loan.

more ...
Nov 08, 2017
Best lending experience...EVER!!
opsmanbrian Borrower

The loan process was very simple and short, no filling out 5 or 6 pages of history and what you majored in in high school. The money was in our account in a matter of days.

more ...
Nov 08, 2017
Fast, no hassle, and the rates are great
Mordal Borrower

It was a great experience, everything was electronic, I never had to talk to one person and the funds were in my account in two days!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.