Marcus by Goldman Sachs™ Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
228 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jun 17, 2017
Awesome experience
HappyLady756 Borrower

The entire process was complete in a week. From the application process until the funds were deposited into my account. Customer service representatives were professional and pleasant. Setup auto pay so I won't have to worry about the payments. Based on other reviews I'm waiting to see my credit score improve. The purpose for the loan was to consolidate credit card debt. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 16, 2017
Very sleazy repayment policy
RogueEagle Borrower

Marcus has a very sleazy way of how they accept repayment of their loans. First of all, they try to strong arm you into setting up an auto-payment plan. If you decide to do it on your own, you are only permitted to make a current month's payment within an allocated number of days per month. For example, if your payment is due on the 30th and you make your payment at the beginning of the month, you are still on the hook for that month's ENTIRE payment because you made it outside of their "window" which is normally 2 weeks before the due date. In my case, my payment was due on the 31st, I received an email from Marcus on the 15th telling me to make my payment which I immediately did. However, given that it was made ONE DAY BEFORE the allowable period, Marcus ends up applying the entire amount to the principal and tells me I'm still on the hook for that month's payment. When I raised the issue of the timing of the payment, they more or less told me "Too bad, your fault" and that was that. Fortunately I am able to payoff the balance which I did and I encourage ANYONE who is looking for a personal loan to look elsewhere and avoid these crooks.        

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Sep 21, 2017
Seemless super easy loan
Hortn8r Borrower

Well i applied on a Sunday night finished on Monday and the money was in my account on Tuesday. What else is there to say super easy no hassle. Set up auto payments so thats easy don't have to remember to pay every month. 

more ...
Sep 19, 2017
Easy Peasy Lemon Squeezie

Application process is totally painless and their responsiveness is extremely fast. I highly recommend this for anyone who needs to consolidate high interest credit card debt to get themselves out of the hole.

more ...
Sep 18, 2017
Easy, quick, as advertised.

This was as easy as it gets and was everything advertised. 

more ...
Sep 16, 2017
No goodie
Anonymous Borrower

Fraud buyer beware

more ...
Sep 15, 2017
Finally given a break!
zephyr823 Borrower

This was so unbelievably easy to apply for. I was given a great rate on a consolidation loan. I finally got the small chance I needed to expedite my debt pay down. I am very grateful!

more ...
Sep 14, 2017
Wow! Just WOW!
chokolat83 Borrower

Low interest rates, easy/flexible payment plan, NO fee, free to change due date, FAST and EASY process!

Applied and was approved immediately, funds in my account the next day. I'm very impressed! 

more ...
Sep 09, 2017
Quick And Easy
raaaac Borrower

They were showing me the lowest rate and I received that rate. I was also able to change my payment date. 

more ...
Sep 07, 2017
Convient
Anonymous Borrower

Great options

more ...
Sep 07, 2017
Wow! So Easy!
ekoorb Borrower

I applied for a loan to pay off three credit cards that had higher interest rates. I applied on a Wednesday afternoon and had the money in my account by Thursday morning. I was so impressed with the ease of the application process, the low interest rate I received, and the low monthly payment to now pay off three credit cards. I would highly recommend and will use them again! Thank you!! 

more ...
Sep 07, 2017
So Easy!!
ekoorb Borrower

I am 100% impressed with how easy the loan process was, the interest rate I received, the low monthly payments. I was able to pay off 3 credit cards with a very low interest rate and one low montly payment. I applied and had the money in my bank account the next day! Wow! I would highly recommend this company. Thank you!! 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.