Avant Reviews

Avant Reviews
3.2 out of 5 stars
20 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4.5 out of 5 stars

3 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 29, 2020
Very Fast Approval Process

I applied in the evening and the next day I got a follow up call to verify some information.  The day after that I got my loan directly deposited into my bank account.  Yes, the APR is high, but there is a reason why I had to apply for this loan in the first place, including the people complaining about the APR in the reviews.  All in all I got a loan with less than favorable credit, allowing me to rebuild my credit.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Nov 04, 2019
Antiqued Process
NikkiHunts Borrower

I made a payment of $350 on my existing account and it takes them 10 business days to update my balance!! Up until now they have been an ok starter card but this is ridiculous! The only explanation they can offer is that is their process. But they deduct the funds within 24 hours of me making the payment.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Oct 12, 2020
Avant's Interest Rates are Astronomical!
TaxPro60 Borrower

This company is the biggest loan shark / rip-off, unreputable company that I have ever dealt with. Their interest rates are exceptionally high. It is impossible to reach a human on the customer service phone number. They do not have a simple method to pay an amount that is not a regulary scheduled payment, for example if you wanted to pay an extra $1,000 on your loan, there is not a way to input the payment amount. You must divide the amount that you want to pay into regulary scheduled payments (for which you can change the date). There is no graceful way to pay off the loan. This company wants auto-draft outrageous interest amounts from you, not let you have any say or any control, and make it impossible for your to manage your account. They want to manage your account the way they want to manage your account. To heck with you and how you want to pay them! RUN AWAY AS FAST AS YOU CAN!

more ...
Oct 10, 2020
Helped when I needed it most.

I applied and the next morning I had $3200 in my account and I didn't mind my monthly payment amounts.

more ...
Sep 09, 2020
painless
norton231 Borrower

Very quick approval. High interest rates but thats what happens when you get a loan from a subprime lender. 

more ...
Sep 05, 2020
Was Easy and painless process

I appliend for this loan 3 years ago and was approved when I really needed the money at the time no one else was willing to help me but Avant did.

I since paid off this loan. I have had nothing but great customer service from them and their web site was easy to manage my loan.

HIghly recommend you give them a try.

more ...
Aug 31, 2020
Very STUPID Policies
Erniesgirl1 Borrower

DON'T even try to get credit with this company. Their "POLICY" is that if you have a credit card with their company, you cannot apply for a loan with them. 

HOW IDIOTIC. I was told that I would have to close out my credit card (ZERO BALANCE) to apply for a new loan - did I say that I had paid off a previous loan of $15k with 

these IDIOTS? I guess they don't realize that closing credit cards impact your credit score negatively --duh.

Pass this "COMPANY" - loosely termed, by....

Too bad I cannot give them ZERO stars.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 18, 2020

The only reason why closing out a credit card would hurt your credit is if you have high balances on other cards it’s hurts your debt to ratio unless other credit cards are paid off.
Example: If I apply for a credit card for $15,000 and paid off 2 credit cards worth $1,000 and closed them it wouldn’t hurt my credit because the amount of credit I owe vs the amount I have available is greater.

 
Aug 25, 2020
Blood Suckers..!!
srinivasv2 Borrower

Their APRs are very high and they charge very high origination fee compared to other financial institutions. They'll charge admin fee upfront which is completely non refundable even if you pay off the loan in a month. They will just take advantage and sucks customer blood who are in financial need.

more ...
Aug 17, 2020
Gangster
calicojack Borrower

It is great if you are in a real jam, but if you have time to search or get out of it without using this company you are better off. Their standard rate is 30 percent, there is a funding fee, and their customer service is not good. Im putting extra money on each payment now in order to get rid of them. 

more ...
May 29, 2020
Very Fast Approval Process

I applied in the evening and the next day I got a follow up call to verify some information.  The day after that I got my loan directly deposited into my bank account.  Yes, the APR is high, but there is a reason why I had to apply for this loan in the first place, including the people complaining about the APR in the reviews.  All in all I got a loan with less than favorable credit, allowing me to rebuild my credit.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Aug 10, 2020

Secured or unsecured??

 
May 12, 2020
Last min
sheriesmith Borrower

I was in a last min kind of situation and this was the perfect setup.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.