Personal Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure


Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Borrower Ratings
4.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.


Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 06, 2014
Quickest Way To get money TOMORROW!
Anonymous Borrower

I was denied a loan from my bank because I had a few credit dings about a year ago (screw comcast). I had no other choice but to check out Avant after hearing about them from local media sources. The application took about 10 minutes and was pretty straight forward. I make decent money but my bank denied me, but I was in need for short term money to pay for housing repairs due to a leak. My apr was right around 35%, but if you plan accordingly and payoff the balance quick it's not a bad price to pay. Definitely worth checking out, plus, unlike payday loans they report to the 3 major credit bureaus. If you make timely payments, it'll help improve your credit score as well!

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 20, 2014
No Thanks!

[QUOTE/] RIDICULOUS INTEREST AND FEES PLEASE READHelpful to 23 out of 23 people I had recently received a 2000.00 line of credit form Avant Credit at a whopping 24.99 % but I was down on my luck and agreed to the terms. They had told me at the time that they would automatically deduct 122.00 a month for the next 24 months. So i would pay 2928.00 for a 2000.00 line of credit. I desperately wanted to pay this credit off quick to avoid such high fees. I called and spoke to a representative and asked if there were any penalties to pay off early and they told me no. I received this line of credit  toward the end of December and my first payment was due the 17th of January. A week prior to my due date I called in a 500.00 payment. A couple of days later I logged on to check out my statement And I had 376.00 in available credit and had a balance of 1634.00. Today on february 4Th I logged on again and had a balance 1792.00 and available credit of 208.00. the statement showed an interest charge of 37.00 and a monthly service fee of 118.00. I immediately called about this monthly service fee and they told me that the State of Maryland required them to charge a monthly service fee of 118.00. and so my 122.00 monthly minimum payment had went up to 277.00 for 24 months which means i would pay 6648.00 for 2000.00. (WOW). I inquired on how much it would cost me to pay off my whole line of credit? First they said 1634.00 then they said 1792.00 because of the monthly service charge. I told them that this was a very big mistake and that I would I like to pay the line of credit off. They put me on hold and transferred me to a girl who said I owed the 1792.00 plus the 118.00 monthly service fee for february and the 37.00 interest.  total pay off 1947.00. Ive has this line of credit  a little over five weeks and I already paid 500.00 plus I paid the 1947.00 to close this account total 2447.00 they also told me my next statement  may have additional interest for the 4 days in February. (possibly a march 118.00 service fee) I can't believe CREDIT KARMA recommended this predatory lender to me .. HOW CAN THIS BE LEGAL.

more ...

Reviews (10828)

Add Review
Oct 23, 2016
Tatianaozr Borrower

Fast proceess, good customer service. The only problem is the interest rate, when I applied my credit wasn't bad, yet the Apr they gave me was over 60%! Lesson learned anyway, do not get a loan, unless you're desperately in need of money.

more ...
Oct 22, 2016
Vert fast and friendly,easy to work with

Applied for a loan to consolidate credit cards after several emergencies and this was a big help.

more ...
Oct 21, 2016
Lowered my monthly cost
lovegun427 Borrower

.Application was quick. Staff was helpful and friendly. After approved loan was deposited the next day. 

more ...
Oct 20, 2016
Good chance, denied

I had a good chance to get this loan so I applied. I was denied. The process was fast and efficient even if a tad misleading with the chances.

more ...
Oct 21, 2016

We are sorry to hear about your customer experience. In order to fulfill our commitment to responsible lending, all loan requests go through an online final review process after pre-approval. This review process may change the status of your loan. Please be advised that rates are determined on an individual basis and are based on a number of factors including your credit score, repayment history, debt to income ratio, etc.

We apologize for any confusion in your loan process. To find out more about your loan request and why you were declined, please send us an email to with your customer details so we can review your account in detail, or a detailed letter regarding your situation to the address below:

Avant Inc.,
222 N. LaSalle St.,
Suite 1700
Chicago, IL 60601

Oct 19, 2016
High Interest Rate!!!!!
sg12865 Borrower

I did not know it was 34% interest rate when I got my loan and now it seems like it is taking forever to pay off...I would not recommend at all.

more ...
Oct 20, 2016

Thank you for leaving this feedback. Please be advised that rates are determined on an individual basis and are based on a number of factors including your credit score, repayment history, debt to income ratio, etc. At Avant, we help tens of thousands of customers to improve their credit score through our flexible personal loans. If you have any further questions, please contact us at

Oct 19, 2016
they were there when I needed the money
samatha39 Borrower

that you are a good company to deal with and you .

more ...
Oct 19, 2016
Great experience!

The process was easy online. With only 1 phone call for verification the monies was in my bank account. My bank account was in the negative, my bills were falling behind for the month and I did not want to asked family members. This experience affords me the peace of mind knowing my bills are current.

Thank you!!!!!

more ...
Oct 18, 2016
I was approved for $6100.00

The loan pre qualification and approval process went very smoothly and quickly ... No tricks ... I would highly recommend and am glad I took a chance on the inquiry after being pre approved ...Loan will help me clear up the last bad trade line on my credit ...

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this loan overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this loan?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.