Personal Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Avant

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Loan Holder Ratings
4.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 06, 2014
Quickest Way To get money TOMORROW!
Anonymous Loan Holder

I was denied a loan from my bank because I had a few credit dings about a year ago (screw comcast). I had no other choice but to check out Avant after hearing about them from local media sources. The application took about 10 minutes and was pretty straight forward. I make decent money but my bank denied me, but I was in need for short term money to pay for housing repairs due to a leak. My apr was right around 35%, but if you plan accordingly and payoff the balance quick it's not a bad price to pay. Definitely worth checking out, plus, unlike payday loans they report to the 3 major credit bureaus. If you make timely payments, it'll help improve your credit score as well!

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 20, 2014
No Thanks!

[QUOTE/] RIDICULOUS INTEREST AND FEES PLEASE READHelpful to 23 out of 23 people I had recently received a 2000.00 line of credit form Avant Credit at a whopping 24.99 % but I was down on my luck and agreed to the terms. They had told me at the time that they would automatically deduct 122.00 a month for the next 24 months. So i would pay 2928.00 for a 2000.00 line of credit. I desperately wanted to pay this credit off quick to avoid such high fees. I called and spoke to a representative and asked if there were any penalties to pay off early and they told me no. I received this line of credit  toward the end of December and my first payment was due the 17th of January. A week prior to my due date I called in a 500.00 payment. A couple of days later I logged on to check out my statement And I had 376.00 in available credit and had a balance of 1634.00. Today on february 4Th I logged on again and had a balance 1792.00 and available credit of 208.00. the statement showed an interest charge of 37.00 and a monthly service fee of 118.00. I immediately called about this monthly service fee and they told me that the State of Maryland required them to charge a monthly service fee of 118.00. and so my 122.00 monthly minimum payment had went up to 277.00 for 24 months which means i would pay 6648.00 for 2000.00. (WOW). I inquired on how much it would cost me to pay off my whole line of credit? First they said 1634.00 then they said 1792.00 because of the monthly service charge. I told them that this was a very big mistake and that I would I like to pay the line of credit off. They put me on hold and transferred me to a girl who said I owed the 1792.00 plus the 118.00 monthly service fee for february and the 37.00 interest.  total pay off 1947.00. Ive has this line of credit  a little over five weeks and I already paid 500.00 plus I paid the 1947.00 to close this account total 2447.00 they also told me my next statement  may have additional interest for the 4 days in February. (possibly a march 118.00 service fee) I can't believe CREDIT KARMA recommended this predatory lender to me .. HOW CAN THIS BE LEGAL.

more ...
 

Reviews (9735)

Add Review
May 26, 2016
Quick and Painless
JerseyGirlatHeart Loan Holder

Debt consolidation, interest was lower then others and I was funded in 24 hours.  Definitely better then paying off the hight interest rates of my credit cards.  No penalty for paying off earlier, which is definitly my goal.  Thank you Avant!!

more ...
May 26, 2016
No Thanks Rates are very high on this on
JimmyBlue Loan Holder

Wife got one of these loans and didn't read the fine print. The rate is out in orbit High 29% So we are paying it off twice as fast to try to bring the rate down each month.

She messed up but it did help her out of a jam at the time.

more ...
May 26, 2016
Terrible

689 trans union FICO I have 2 cc never missed payment, Student loans an can not get 3 grand

more ...
May 26, 2016
Total Bull****

I just pulled my credit. I have a 689 score with a 127 dollar in collections medical. They turned me down. I got approved for a home loan but can not borrow 3 grand WTF

more ...
May 26, 2016
Fast money and great customer service!
Franxxx Loan Holder

I need to get a loan to pay off the IRS, I got into they payment paln but I will never see the end of it. The penalties fines and interest was way too high.

Avant has high interest rates, but if you pay faster you can pay much less. I am happy to be free from the IRS and on my way to improve my credit score.

more ...
May 25, 2016
Quick and Convinent
HBowman11 Loan Holder

I have used Avant twice. Once last year to get a loan online after a car accident. The process was quick and easy. The interest rate were high. But what other reviewers are not realizing is that the interest rate is based on their credit score. I had the loan back within a month. There was no prepayment penalties. They were polite when I called customer service and went out of their way to make sure it was a pleasant experience. They also have online chat to process the loan. 

This past month, I decided to pay off high interest cards with a personal loan. My interest rate had dropped and I chose Avant again. The loan was approved same day and the funds were deposited the next business day. You pay online by direct withdrawl from a bank account. But you still have the ability to schedule the payment and to make extra payments if you desire. 

more ...
May 25, 2016
Easy
14fan4life Loan Holder

The customer service is competent and easy to work with.   My debt consolidation loan was funded in 1 business day.   My score went up 33 points immediately.  Thanks AVANT.  Would use again if needed!!

more ...
May 25, 2016
Debt consolidation loan - very easy
WSFL Loan Holder

The interest rate was high as others have expressed but in my state no penalty to pay off early and the rate is lower than some credit cards so it makes sense for me.

more ...
May 25, 2016
I don't know if I have a loan or not.

I applied online, but the part of the process where it takes my SSN didn't work, wouldn't take my number. So I just closed out. Now today I get a congratulations email saying I have the loan. I applied on May 24th but it says I have the loan starting the May31st. IIf I'm going to apply for a loan at a rediculous 31% interest I don't need it 8 days from now, I need it now. Website says deposited as quickly as next day. Have clicked the chat button several times today but they are always "away". So it's not like I can cancel or something, that's if I even have a loan. Very wierd.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this loan overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

Avant is an online lending platform offering a fast, simple, and secure borrowing experience to consumers with less than perfect credit.

Borrowers can apply online for a personal loan ranging from $1,000 to $35,000*. Avant customers can take advantage of competitive APRs with no hidden fees or charges on unsecured loans, and a completely easy and friendly experience.

Founded in 2012, Avant is headquartered in Chicago, IL. Avant offers 24/7 customer support now servicing 46 states.

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.