Personal Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Avant

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Loan Holder Ratings
4.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 06, 2014
Quickest Way To get money TOMORROW!
Anonymous Loan Holder

I was denied a loan from my bank because I had a few credit dings about a year ago (screw comcast). I had no other choice but to check out Avant after hearing about them from local media sources. The application took about 10 minutes and was pretty straight forward. I make decent money but my bank denied me, but I was in need for short term money to pay for housing repairs due to a leak. My apr was right around 35%, but if you plan accordingly and payoff the balance quick it's not a bad price to pay. Definitely worth checking out, plus, unlike payday loans they report to the 3 major credit bureaus. If you make timely payments, it'll help improve your credit score as well!

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 20, 2014
No Thanks!

[QUOTE/] RIDICULOUS INTEREST AND FEES PLEASE READHelpful to 23 out of 23 people I had recently received a 2000.00 line of credit form Avant Credit at a whopping 24.99 % but I was down on my luck and agreed to the terms. They had told me at the time that they would automatically deduct 122.00 a month for the next 24 months. So i would pay 2928.00 for a 2000.00 line of credit. I desperately wanted to pay this credit off quick to avoid such high fees. I called and spoke to a representative and asked if there were any penalties to pay off early and they told me no. I received this line of credit  toward the end of December and my first payment was due the 17th of January. A week prior to my due date I called in a 500.00 payment. A couple of days later I logged on to check out my statement And I had 376.00 in available credit and had a balance of 1634.00. Today on february 4Th I logged on again and had a balance 1792.00 and available credit of 208.00. the statement showed an interest charge of 37.00 and a monthly service fee of 118.00. I immediately called about this monthly service fee and they told me that the State of Maryland required them to charge a monthly service fee of 118.00. and so my 122.00 monthly minimum payment had went up to 277.00 for 24 months which means i would pay 6648.00 for 2000.00. (WOW). I inquired on how much it would cost me to pay off my whole line of credit? First they said 1634.00 then they said 1792.00 because of the monthly service charge. I told them that this was a very big mistake and that I would I like to pay the line of credit off. They put me on hold and transferred me to a girl who said I owed the 1792.00 plus the 118.00 monthly service fee for february and the 37.00 interest.  total pay off 1947.00. Ive has this line of credit  a little over five weeks and I already paid 500.00 plus I paid the 1947.00 to close this account total 2447.00 they also told me my next statement  may have additional interest for the 4 days in February. (possibly a march 118.00 service fee) I can't believe CREDIT KARMA recommended this predatory lender to me .. HOW CAN THIS BE LEGAL.

more ...
 

Reviews (9377)

Add Review
Apr 30, 2016
Avant has been extremely quick and easy.
shaken10 Loan Holder

Higher than average interest rate, but if you choose the quickest repayment time, totally worth it!

more ...
Apr 30, 2016
it was fast and easy

interest rate kinda high but u get the loan u need with out the red tape most banks make go thru

more ...
Apr 29, 2016
Wolves In Sheep Clothing!
AllThat777 Loan Holder

It's very obvious, that you fools deleted, or gotten rid of my comments! Here is what, I'm going to do about that! First demand credit karma, launch their investigation into or about you'll low down misconduct, and constructive behaviour! If they don't do a got ****, and dog gone thing about this! Then you fools know, I will take the matter to higher authority, and or the federal agencies; that handles these types of matters! You fools haven't said nothing! I'm going to do, and be me! No more, and no less! Furthermore, I will file retaliatory, and violations of my health, civil, freedom of speech, liberty, complaint, and violations of my constitutional rights! You started it got ****, and dog gone it! I guarantee you this! I'm going to finish this matter! Just for your info, and awareness Avant! God, Life, and Death are my: protectors, advocates, advisors, defenders, warriors, and has my back 24/7, seven days a week, and 365 day in or out of the year!

more ...
Apr 29, 2016

Are you some kind of nut job?

 
Apr 29, 2016

You can't demand Karma Credit to do anything. If you have something wrong you must contact the three Credit Bureau in writing letting them know about your issue then they will investigate and determine what is wrong. (if anything.) I think the only fool is you....

 
Apr 29, 2016

NUT JOB!!!!!

 
Apr 29, 2016

Fool you haven't said nothing neither! Furthermore, watch me bust a **** move! I've done already taken actions against Avant! So shut the hell up satan, and uncle tom! Maybe you're in debt or have to kiss up! I never did, and will be in debt to no man: in the earthly realm!

 
Apr 30, 2016

Stop..... You need to take your MEDS.... Are you some kind of Religious nut job? Unlike you I pay my bills and don't blame others because I take responsibility for my actions. My question to you is why are you applying for a loan if you will never be in debt to no man? See the difference is when I apply for a loan I get accepted then I turn around and pay my debt. You should try it some time it works.

 
Apr 30, 2016

I bet you still haven't gotten Karma Credit to investigate crap.....When you wake up and realize that the world doesn't revolve around you, there are serval great articles on this web site that teaches you how to improve your credit. Maybe if you quit using words like "Fools" and learn something here, you too could have good credit. Just take the time to learn how credit really works. Good luck...

 
Apr 29, 2016
grammy752 Loan Holder

This was the easiest and the quickest I have ever gotten a loan from anywhere.

more ...
Apr 29, 2016
Very Quick and easy to apply
thanes37 Loan Holder

very pleased with their services and assistance when needed. 

more ...
Apr 29, 2016
Anonymous

From Start to finish took less than 10 minutes. Extremely fast approval.

more ...
Apr 29, 2016
Anonymous Loan Holder

This was the best experience I've ever had with any financial institutions.They were so efficient and professional I would highly recommend them to anyone.thanks avant

more ...
Apr 29, 2016
No Flexability
Anonymous Loan Holder

Future borrowers beware, your loan payment will be set 30 days from funding.  For me, that was 3 days before my monthly direct deposit.  I called several times to get help changing my payment date, but there is no one with the authority to do that.  They have the change payment date option on the website, but it moves the payment 10 business days into the future, no other option.  If you do move your loan using their onsite option, be ready for a penalty.  I was finally frustrated to the point I paid my loan off.  After 5 ontime monthly payments, my payoff was more than what I had borrowed.  I used Advant to add a signature loan to my credit profile, as per Credit Karma's suggestion.  For me, this turned out to be a horrible experience.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this loan overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

Avant is an online lending platform offering a fast, simple, and secure borrowing experience to consumers with less than perfect credit.

Borrowers can apply online for a personal loan ranging from $1,000 to $35,000*. Avant customers can take advantage of competitive APRs with no hidden fees or charges on unsecured loans, and a completely easy and friendly experience.

Founded in 2012, Avant is headquartered in Chicago, IL. Avant offers 24/7 customer support now servicing 46 states.

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.