Personal Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Avant

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Borrower Ratings
4.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS

Most Helpful Positive Review

Apr 06, 2014
Quickest Way To get money TOMORROW!
Anonymous Borrower

I was denied a loan from my bank because I had a few credit dings about a year ago (screw comcast). I had no other choice but to check out Avant after hearing about them from local media sources. The application took about 10 minutes and was pretty straight forward. I make decent money but my bank denied me, but I was in need for short term money to pay for housing repairs due to a leak. My apr was right around 35%, but if you plan accordingly and payoff the balance quick it's not a bad price to pay. Definitely worth checking out, plus, unlike payday loans they report to the 3 major credit bureaus. If you make timely payments, it'll help improve your credit score as well!

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Mar 20, 2014
No Thanks!

[QUOTE/] RIDICULOUS INTEREST AND FEES PLEASE READHelpful to 23 out of 23 people I had recently received a 2000.00 line of credit form Avant Credit at a whopping 24.99 % but I was down on my luck and agreed to the terms. They had told me at the time that they would automatically deduct 122.00 a month for the next 24 months. So i would pay 2928.00 for a 2000.00 line of credit. I desperately wanted to pay this credit off quick to avoid such high fees. I called and spoke to a representative and asked if there were any penalties to pay off early and they told me no. I received this line of credit  toward the end of December and my first payment was due the 17th of January. A week prior to my due date I called in a 500.00 payment. A couple of days later I logged on to check out my statement And I had 376.00 in available credit and had a balance of 1634.00. Today on february 4Th I logged on again and had a balance 1792.00 and available credit of 208.00. the statement showed an interest charge of 37.00 and a monthly service fee of 118.00. I immediately called about this monthly service fee and they told me that the State of Maryland required them to charge a monthly service fee of 118.00. and so my 122.00 monthly minimum payment had went up to 277.00 for 24 months which means i would pay 6648.00 for 2000.00. (WOW). I inquired on how much it would cost me to pay off my whole line of credit? First they said 1634.00 then they said 1792.00 because of the monthly service charge. I told them that this was a very big mistake and that I would I like to pay the line of credit off. They put me on hold and transferred me to a girl who said I owed the 1792.00 plus the 118.00 monthly service fee for february and the 37.00 interest.  total pay off 1947.00. Ive has this line of credit  a little over five weeks and I already paid 500.00 plus I paid the 1947.00 to close this account total 2447.00 they also told me my next statement  may have additional interest for the 4 days in February. (possibly a march 118.00 service fee) I can't believe CREDIT KARMA recommended this predatory lender to me .. HOW CAN THIS BE LEGAL.

more ...
 

Reviews (10584)

Add Review
Aug 30, 2016
Colehvr21 Borrower

Horrible company might as well go through a loan shark if you want to get f***ked. I've had 2 loans and each one has a ridiculous interest rate for people who are in need it's their only choices have a 660-700 credit score. I did it and paid the first loan off, 2nd loan I needed they have me an even worse interest rate than the first but again had no choice and Taking a hit for the $ they offered a $50 gift card well that never happened they treat me like they owned me because I had a 6k loan for a car. I'm paying it off ASAP this is a horrible company they are so greedy and only care for themselves 

more ...
Aug 30, 2016
life saver
ambroadway Borrower

Great experience! They helped my family and I out in our time of need. The whole process was easy and stress free. Customer service has been wonderful!

more ...
Aug 29, 2016
Quick and easy
Anonymous

The loan typically has a high interest rate but there were no surprise fees. The application process was quick and simple and I was approved and had my money within a couple days. 

more ...
Aug 28, 2016
Low credit loans... TOTALLY A LIE
Anonymous

I applied for a debt consolidation loan since thanks to my divorce my ex didn't take care of the accounts as we agreed my credit got screw really bad, I've been working really hard about it and I got it back to the 600's again, my plan was to pay all the non paid accounts on my credit and get them to one payment with this loan to raise my credit so I could give my children a better place to live and future. They took over a week to give me a response and at the end they said that because of my low credit and debt the couldn't give me the loan... That's why is a debt consolidation loan right? Because you want to get rid of what is harming your credit. Till now I haven't find an agency who can help my situation.

more ...
Aug 28, 2016
sugary15 Borrower

I have a 630 credit score and got preapproved for up to 5600.  In a bind I read reviews and thought I would try.  I am so glad I did.  They helped me with the most easiest process ever.  Approved on Monday and had funds in bank by Tuesday.  Seems to me as long as you are honest about everything and the proof they need matches what you say, your pre-approval will be an approval!  Thanks Avant.

more ...
Aug 27, 2016
TruckerMike2011 Borrower

Easy to get / harder to repay. It is like a land contract, except with much much higher percentage points! Very very very little goes to the principal, but an exceptionally vast amount goes to interest. All that being said, I have fallen on some harder times, and the almost six hundred dollar a month payment I had been being able to make, my work comp payments were cut in half to get me to settle the case, attorney said no, ins co is voluntarily paying, so they can voluntarily ( legally )cut in half also. I called into Avant this evening (8/27/16) to discuss my missing payment. Long story short, the customer service representative was very helpful, explained options, we came to an agreement, and I'm paying around $150.00 less. So far good to work with.

more ...
Aug 27, 2016
WORST DECISION I MADE
Anonymous Borrower

DO NOT GET A LOAN FROM AVANT!!

more ...
Aug 26, 2016
All in all a good experience
stubbs2167 Borrower

took a little longer than expected but in the end it was a good experience. The customer service was excellent, they responded in a timely manner and were always friendly and professional. I had to provide additional information that wasn't clearly outlined in the beginning but each road bump was easily overcome once I contacted support so in the end it was a good experience overall and I would recommend them to anyone with confidence.

more ...
Aug 25, 2016
Fell short for bills & needed xtra cash.

The process and easy and they don't leave you hanging; you get a response in a timely manner.

more ...
Aug 24, 2016
Totally screwed my credit
Anonymous Borrower

Beware of small lines

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this loan overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.