Affirm Personal Loans Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
82 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 09, 2016
Great Experience!!
Anonymous Borrower

It was easy and I got approved and changed my mind then tried again and got denied... (I'm so indecisive). Tried again the next day and was approved. I have three payments left and I am looking to make another purchase. My credit score is fair so not sure why people with higher scores are getting denied. I say try it again. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 31, 2017
Not the best but simple.
Rawrkrite Borrower

I used Affirm to buy an iPhone 6s when my 5 died. I have since paid it off, bought a Mini 4, and a laptop, so I feel like I'm qualified to give my opinion. 

My loan still does not show on my credit report, which was the whole reason I replaced my laptop with Affirm. They will not consolidate loans period- I asked to have my iPad and laptop loans combined after they started reporting to the bureau. A flat 30% finance charge is easy to remember, and the payment percentages are nice, but really... Compared to other companies, the flat finance charge is almost insulting. 

I don't regret using Affirm for my phone and tablet. I just wish the laptop loan was reported as an open account in good standing. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Jun 25, 2017
Great......
Se7enNYC Borrower

...if you need something and you don't have the money or available credit. But, if you're trying to rebuild your credit, then they're useless. The Do Not report to EX, EQ or TU.

more ...
Jun 22, 2017
Great company to use for purchases
Collyb01 Borrower

I have used this company for a new bed and I could not be happier.  You can pay off the loan early with no penalties and they take the same amount out each month, so you always know how much will be deducted from your account.  Great customer service too.. I highly recommend using them for future purchases.. 

more ...
Jun 19, 2017
0% apr

So far I love affirm! Been using it since Jan 2017 for the ghost bed I bought.  Looking into using it again. Hoping for 0% apr again! Sign up was a breeze. My credit score is 770 and A+ payment history. 

more ...
Jun 15, 2017
STAY AWAY! SCAM, seriously
Anonymous Borrower

I've been trying to post my review but Credit Karma won't let me. This company is terrible. Charged me in error (couldn't complete the purchase) but STILL wants to hold my funds for 21 DAYS. No phone customer service to help me out. Save yourself some trouble and stay away. 

more ...
Jun 15, 2017
SCAM! Stay away
crisgal Borrower

This company is terrible. Charged me in error (couldn't complete the purchase) but STILL wants to hold my funds for 21 DAYS. No phone customer service to help me out. Save yourself some trouble and stay away. 

more ...
Jun 13, 2017
Simple and Easy
cporter430 Borrower

Applying is easy and everything is clear cut. Everything you need to know is there. I see reviews here stating that online stores may have issues with the affirm cards but i've used it 5 times (all online) and i have yet to have an issue with them. Autopay hasn't given me any problems either, on top of that, when i manually submit a payment, i get immediate responses saying that the payment has been processed. I have no complaints, they even send you texts if you opt in saying when payments and autopay is due.

more ...
Jun 06, 2017
EASY!
lemaejik Borrower

Soooooo easy to apply and use towards larger purchases without a credit card or poor credit history.  Easy to apply and easy to pay directly through my bank or debit card.

more ...
May 28, 2017
zero transparency
lkmerc02 Borrower

yeah, the process is easy if you get approved, but heaven help you if you buy multiple items from a company & they try to process the "card" as the items ship. I had a loan that covered all the items but it only ended up being used for 1/10 of my overall purchase bc Affirm makes it a one-time only virtual card "loan" or whatever you want to call it. They would not make a 2nd loan bc the other was too high. I had to wait over a week for them to take the remainder of the unused $ off the books and then submit an app for the smaller remaining amt. What is the most frustrating of all, however, is that (like others), I have paid everything off and paid HUGE interest amounts and now I cant even borrow a fraction of what they had loaned before. My credit is good, my history is good. This company is annoying and seems shady to me, after all these dealings. I wonder if they see you have available credit elsewhere and/or pay your cards off monthly and deny bc they wont rack up the full 12 mos interest or bc they are still dealing w limited capital and dont want to loan to people who have other options. If they would freakin' disclose even a bit of actual info on their methods it would be great. The denial notice states that they use experian AND some unnamed non credit reporting agency. Ummm, who? I have to write in to find out what other digging they have done on me, but I dont like that they base their decision on info that comes from a source they arent open about disclosing. They seem dirty and I wish I had never done business with them. I dont trust them at all.

more ...
May 23, 2017
500 credit score approved with 0% APR
Anonymous Borrower

I had serious doubts that Affirm would even consider me at all, but I was pleasently surprised when they approved me for a loan. The application process was easy, and they don't put a hard inquiry on your credit report. The options for purchasing are limited, but, all in all it is great for someone with little or bad credit. Good luck!

more ...
May 20, 2017
Total mistake.

I have made multiple purchases through AFFIRM. My last was in March 2017 and I never recieved any email reminders that my payment was due. I eventually had to call in and ask what the issue was and they did an investigation on why I was never notified. They was not sending reminders correctly and the payment was still considered late, even thought they was at fault. I recently attempted to make a new purchase and was denied. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.