Affirm Personal Loans Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
80 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

4 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 06, 2017
Not Bad
ModCredBldr Borrower

I like these guys. For those considering Affirm, you should know that your credit score should be over 600 to be approved at the very least (not a guarantee however). Affirm does monitor how frequently you use their services. If you use too frequently without a strong payment history with them, you will likely be denied. If you have high credit score, but have a history hazardous spending, you'll also be denied. But if you have a pretty balance payment, credit use history, you will likely be approved. Keep in mind, their interest rate isn't the best - it's pretty high in my opinion, but if you buy something you know you can pay off pretty quickly, this option isn't too shabby.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 31, 2017
Not the best but simple.
Rawrkrite Borrower

I used Affirm to buy an iPhone 6s when my 5 died. I have since paid it off, bought a Mini 4, and a laptop, so I feel like I'm qualified to give my opinion. 

My loan still does not show on my credit report, which was the whole reason I replaced my laptop with Affirm. They will not consolidate loans period- I asked to have my iPad and laptop loans combined after they started reporting to the bureau. A flat 30% finance charge is easy to remember, and the payment percentages are nice, but really... Compared to other companies, the flat finance charge is almost insulting. 

I don't regret using Affirm for my phone and tablet. I just wish the laptop loan was reported as an open account in good standing. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Dec 06, 2017
Movado watch purchased through Jomashop.
jennylc8182 Borrower

no-nonsense, reasonable, user-friendly...flexble and offers choice with re-payment 

more ...
Dec 06, 2017
Movado watch purchased through Jomashop.
jennylc8182 Borrower

No-nonsense, flexibility and choice in re-payment plan. User-friendly and reasonable.

more ...
Dec 06, 2017
One sided loan.
Anonymous Borrower

If you order and cancel one item you will still pay monthly payment but on a shorter loan term.

more ...
Dec 05, 2017
Triptanight Borrower

Easy to use, Great user interface and personally I love how I get an email a couple days before and a text message on the due day remind me to pay.  Also if you pay it off early, they let you know the amount of interest you will be saving.  I do wish it was reported to my credit though.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 08, 2017

According to their website it's supposed to be reporting to Experian and the other 2 in the near future but I don't see it on mine.

 
Nov 29, 2017
Easy, from start to finish!
Anonymous Borrower

Easy process from beginning to end! In fact it was so easy, I felt maybe it was too good to be true! I have had two loans for about a month and have not seen either show up on credit. Not a big deal to me but it would be nice to see the loans reported to three bureaus. I’ve read reviews on the interest but I don’t have complaints. It is as high as a credit card but they don’t have early payoff fees and you only get charged interest for as long as you have the loan. Honestly, I think this is a great service! Give them a shot! 

more ...
Nov 14, 2017
One of the best!!!!

I’m going to be as transparent as possible! I have many credit cards.... some in good standing some in bad standing, that’s was not because of my wreck less use of credit. 5 years ago I had EXCELLENT credit with my score floating between 732 and 760 now my score is 572. Basically we all fall victim to some unforeseen life events that cause this. With creditors would look at your past history to see how well you manage your credit, I had basically got laid off and everything  fell apart. Well I have some past due credit cards and cards that are maxed out. But affirm approved me for a Wayfair order of $300+ I paid that off in 6 months opposed to 12 and now I got approved for another one for $400+. I’m very thankful for this. They report it to my Experian report which should help me build credit. Now I’m back on my feet and have been gainfully employee. I can not manage rebuilding my wrecked credit. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 08, 2017

What does it report as on your Experian? The actual bank name or as Affirm? I don't see it anywhere on mine.

 
Nov 12, 2017
Could be a lot better!
bozz2 Borrower

Affirm will not let you change the due date on your loan, I work for the state and get paid once monthly, this causes me a lot of problems, but they could care less, Beware of this Bank, they will not work with you to find a solution!

more ...
Nov 10, 2017
Great Loan for when you're In a Pinch!
Anonymous Borrower

My credit was less than stellar, but my back was hurting from sleeping on my 10 year old mattres.  Checked out comfy foam beds in a boxline, and found that Affirm would finance me.  Awesome. 

Paid that loan off, and then the CPU on my computer blew up - checked online, and Affirm approved me for a 1k desktop.  Awesome.

High interest rate, but it's simple interest, and you can pay it off early.  Satisfied customer.

more ...
Oct 24, 2017
I used it to purchase a pool this summer
Anonymous Borrower

I used it to purchase a pool this summer and it was great. The finance option are great no intrest unless you do payment plan and you are still given every month to pay off the amount in full.

more ...
Oct 13, 2017
You cannot change your phone number
Anonymous Borrower

If you change your phone number you cannot get into your account because they will only send you the pin to log on to your original number.  Even if you call them, follow the proper procedures to speak with a representative to verify, you will still get denied. I applied and got approved, but had to change phone services.  Don't ever change your phone number if you are a new applicant

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.