Affirm Personal Loans Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
65 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 18, 2018
Great company, except on credit report
dev71893 Borrower

I've had probably 12 loans through the company. They are straight forward, no BS which I love. The only bad thing is it shows up on your credit report as a consumer finance loan, and it's interpretation on FICO is you're a risky borrower, rather than a responsible one.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 10, 2018
Good idea, but credit rebuilders beware.
wb6vpm Borrower

Never had any issues with customer service or payment problems. However, if you are trying to rebuild your credit, don't use it regularly, only use it if absolutely needed, as each loan goes on as a separate line entry, which can really hurt your credit, both in the number of line entries overall (most loan officers will only see that you have had X number of loans, not that they were small loans that have been paid off, as well as messing with your average age calculation.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Dec 08, 2018
Easy, simple and straight forward
Rachael90 Borrower

Applied for this loan about 6 months ago for a lift kit for my truck. Lift kit was $1800 and I was approved for $1500. Had to make a $300 down payment. Have paid on time every month. I just applied for 3 more smaller loans for Christmas. Was approved instantly. First time applying, it takes about 15 min to put all your info in. After that, if you choose affirm for another loan, it automatically will tell you approved or denied. You dont have to fill everything out again for each store. Customer service has always been nice when and if I needed to call. All guidelines and interest rates are shown before making your purchase. Only downfall is theres no way to change the due date so make sure you apply on a date you want to pay it back. I downloaded the app and can make payments easily and you dont have to be enrolled in autopay. Also if your searching for a store to see if affirm is an option, not all stores are listed on their website where its excepted. My advice is go to the store or website and choose the checkout option to see if its available. Been great for us so far and much cheaper interest then others. My credit was around 600 at the time and I have an interest rate of 30%. Not the best but helps when you need or want something but dont have a large sum.

more ...
Dec 08, 2018
Simple, easy, straight forward loan
Rachael90 Borrower

Applied for this loan about 6 months ago for a lift kit for my truck. Lift kit was $1800 and I was approved for $1500. Had to make a $300 down payment. Have paid on time every month. I just applied for 3 more smaller loans for Christmas. Was approved instantly. First time applying, it takes about 15 min to put all your info in. After that, if you choose affirm for another loan, it automatically will tell you approved or denied. You dont have to fill everything out again for each store. Customer service has always been nice when and if I needed to call. All guidelines and interest rates are shown before making your purchase. Only downfall is theres no way to change the due date so make sure you apply on a date you want to pay it back. I downloaded the app and can make payments easily and you dont have to be enrolled in autopay. Also if your searching for a store to see if affirm is an option, not all stores are listed on their website where its excepted. My advice is go to the store or website and choose the checkout option to see if its available. Been great for us so far and much cheaper interest then others. My credit was around 600 at the time and I have an interest rate of 30%. Not the best but helps when you need or want something but dont have a large sum.

more ...
Nov 26, 2018
Easy payoff and no interest for 12 month
Anonymous Borrower

Used Affirm to pay for a new mattress in the range of $900. Was granted 12 months no interest and managable monthly payments. I would use this company again and highly recommend - as long as you're receiving 0% interest!

more ...
Nov 26, 2018
Easy payoff and no interest for 12 month
Anonymous Borrower

Used Affirm to pay for a new mattress in the range of $900. Was granted 12 months no interest and managable monthly payments. I would use this company again and highly recommend - as long as you're receiving 0% interest!

more ...
Nov 06, 2018
All of a sudden getting denied
nycruben87 Borrower

Been using them for over a year, took out several loans and always paid them on time. I haven't been late not even once. Now all of a sudden they're denying me loans because my "fico" score is too low when just the day before they denied me, I was approved on another loan. What kind of shady **** is that? I've been a loyal customer making payments on time and now they come with this BS. Once I pay off in full my existing loans, I will close my account. They just lost a valued customer for acting so shady

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 21, 2018

The other loan you got a few days earlier may have prevented the new loan. Creditors don't like to see multiple loans in a short period of time.

 
Oct 09, 2018
Good option with huge drawback
Anonymous Borrower

I've had 2 loans through Affirm. Both were very cut and dry and easily maintained and paid for. My issue with Affirm is they don't just lend you a sum for any qualified amount and you pay it back. They won't pay out to a merchant who uses PayPal to collect. You don't find this out until... (you guessed it) you've already committed to buying the item. Before you get your virtual card (the medium with which you pay the merchant using your loan amount) you tell affirm which website you want to use your loan on (i.e. eBay), then they approve it. Seems pretty straight forward until you commit to buy and then your payment to the seller hangs in limbo and you get an email from affirm explaining they don't pay a service that sends and receives payments. They shouldn't offer the option to buy with their loans on that site due to the amount of transactions that are orchestrated with PayPal. So I got stuck with 1200 payment I had to come out of pocket for. I emailed Affirm directly to appeal the situation with no luck. Unfair to the seller if I back out because of Affirm's lack of information on the front end. Luckily it was a great deal....

more ...
Oct 02, 2018
Excellent
Akhuda Borrower

This is a great company to do business with. Low Interest rates

more ...
Sep 30, 2018
Totally great!!
bkev420 Borrower

This loan was so easy to get! A few simple clicks and wham I had my order on its way paid in full by affirm! Love you guys!

more ...
Sep 10, 2018
Miracle loan
rob15216 Borrower

 What I should tell others about this alone if you get it you’re one of the lucky few because I call this my miracle loan from a place but treat you like royalty I have been stuck many times needing my car fixed and easy pay came to the rescue I definitely would use them again in the future and Repair all my friends and family to them as well one thing that you have to remember you must must pay the loan off it within 90 days 

I think God for finance company like this and I’m also praying to God that I get approved for another loan to get my suspension fixed on my car that needs it badly

more ...
Sep 06, 2018
Affirm works great for me
AyeJay77 Borrower

I really don't understand the negative reviews.  Approval is quick and the app is easy to use. I first found out about affirm when my car needed a repair and I was in a cash bind. I didn't want to max out my credit cards and have my utilization % go up and my score go down.......so I tried affirm. They approved me instantly.  Then.. a few months later I wanted a new bed. I was shopping online on Wayfair, and I saw Affirm listed as an option. clicked it, and bam, approved for an $800 new bed, too.  You can open the app anytime and make a payment, and you will save on a ton of interest if you just double up on payments.  My loans have not reported to any credit bureau, which is perfectly OK with me because I am buying a house soon and I don't want these loans on my credit report anyway.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.