Affirm Personal Loans Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
82 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3 out of 5 stars

4 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 06, 2017
Not Bad
ModCredBldr Borrower

I like these guys. For those considering Affirm, you should know that your credit score should be over 600 to be approved at the very least (not a guarantee however). Affirm does monitor how frequently you use their services. If you use too frequently without a strong payment history with them, you will likely be denied. If you have high credit score, but have a history hazardous spending, you'll also be denied. But if you have a pretty balance payment, credit use history, you will likely be approved. Keep in mind, their interest rate isn't the best - it's pretty high in my opinion, but if you buy something you know you can pay off pretty quickly, this option isn't too shabby.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 31, 2017
Not the best but simple.
Rawrkrite Borrower

I used Affirm to buy an iPhone 6s when my 5 died. I have since paid it off, bought a Mini 4, and a laptop, so I feel like I'm qualified to give my opinion. 

My loan still does not show on my credit report, which was the whole reason I replaced my laptop with Affirm. They will not consolidate loans period- I asked to have my iPad and laptop loans combined after they started reporting to the bureau. A flat 30% finance charge is easy to remember, and the payment percentages are nice, but really... Compared to other companies, the flat finance charge is almost insulting. 

I don't regret using Affirm for my phone and tablet. I just wish the laptop loan was reported as an open account in good standing. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Oct 13, 2017
You cannot change your phone number
Anonymous Borrower

If you change your phone number you cannot get into your account because they will only send you the pin to log on to your original number.  Even if you call them, follow the proper procedures to speak with a representative to verify, you will still get denied. I applied and got approved, but had to change phone services.  Don't ever change your phone number if you are a new applicant

more ...
Oct 12, 2017
Easy to use, very helpful the reminders
Anonymous Borrower

It works

more ...
Sep 10, 2017

Have several loans and never had an issue with them. Would highly recommend to anyone with less than perfect credit who needs to finance a purchase. Fees are specified up front, paying off early does not save on interest, the interest is a fixed amount and included in total amount owed.

more ...
Sep 08, 2017
4 new tires, when I needed them.
Anonymous Borrower

This loan is slightly higher interest but reasonable in relation to the convenienc, especially at point of sale. Terms are simple, straight forward and allow for no penalty if paid off earlier than expected. In my case, although I could have purchased my tires using my bank account, I didn't want a debit of over $400 right after I paid my mortgage and auto insurnace, so I applied for the loan and was surprised at how reasonable and smple the entire process was. 

Although I wouldn't make a habit of purchasing things in this manner, because I would prefer to accrue the lowest amount of debt possible, I think this is perfect for short term, imeediate need purchases like the one I made with Affrim. 

more ...
Sep 01, 2017
Great...at First...
Anonymous Borrower

I used Affirm to finance airline tickets that I otherwise wouldn't have been able to afford. I mean, let's be honest, the airline industry has a firm "no money, no ticket" policy, and who wants to drop that kind of money all at once? I came across them and between my husband and myself, used them a lot, recommended them to everyone. I have financed two international flights for my husband and I, and on his account he had several domestic flights financed. The interest was extremely reasonable, as were the payments. Recently, I paid off every. single. one. of our Affirm loans, and when I tried to get a new one, was denied every single time. I emailed Customer Service as I thought this had to be SOME kind of a mistake, and lo and behold, I got no response. Interestingly enough, I had emailed them about having an issue linking my checking account on the app, and they responded in a timely manner to THAT email, but not the other, sent only shortly after. Thanks, Affirm.

I am severly disappointed in this company. My credit has not changed, I never missed a single payment with them (I was often many months AHEAD on my loans at any given time, as was my husband), and paid every loan off many, many months early. Way to kick your credible borrowers to the curb. Maybe they realized they can't make all of their interest off of me because my loans are paid off in advance? Either way, unless something changes I will no longer be using or recommending Affirm to anyone. Such a disappointment, I thought this was a great concept. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 07, 2017

Thought it was just me. Did a lot of purchases for my wedding and paid them all of on time no problems. Go back in to make a small purchase and get denied. Like how? Credit score is still the same, amount is under a lot of the loans I have paid off and I get denied $150. Was it because we paid off early and show the ability to pay off? What a disappointment

 
Aug 21, 2017
Coding Does not equal customer service

If you finance a major zero interest purchase through this outfit,  find that you need to exercise the guarantee on your purchase, necessitating a refund from AFFIRM, watch it like a hawk.  Apparently, they can't handle processing refunds older than 90 days.  That's weird by itself.  But then you'd expect them to have it set up to notify the customer that a paper check would be processed.  But no, you'll need to call and let them know they messed up and then they'll fumble around for an explanation, and tell you that you may get a check in 7-10 business days, or they might tell you that the system automatically initiates a paper check when the refunds fail to process....but that doesn't seem right either because it's already been longer than that.  Bottom line, not a bad way to finance major purchases with zero interest, but watch like a hawk if you need a refund!!

more ...
Aug 04, 2017
This is a great program with good terms!
Artemus7575 Borrower

My personal experience has be positive, fast and seamless!  Pay off early you save interest.  Used it three times with mid to low 600s FIC0. It's a great alternative to credit cards if you need to purchase something fast. 

more ...
Jul 27, 2017
good at first
Anonymous Borrower

I've been using affirm for 21/2 yrs now.  Have one payment left.  Applied and they are saying that my FICO is too low for their requirements ??

more ...
Jul 25, 2017
Straightforward
Jack790 Borrower

Affirm is pretty decent. It's not a hard inquiry on your credit report and they give you a credit decision on the spot. The rate I got was 17% which was high, but less than some credit cards out there. If you really have that NEED IT NOW item then go for it. No hidden fees and plenty of reminders for payment. I'd recommend it. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.