Personal Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Affirm Personal Loans

4.1 out of 5 stars
60 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 09, 2016
Great Experience!!
Anonymous Borrower

It was easy and I got approved and changed my mind then tried again and got denied... (I'm so indecisive). Tried again the next day and was approved. I have three payments left and I am looking to make another purchase. My credit score is fair so not sure why people with higher scores are getting denied. I say try it again. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 28, 2016
It may start out good...
mkalt Borrower

I started out last year with affirm, used them for multiple things paid ALL on time.  Now it wont let me get anything else saying my credit is too bad.  My credit hasn't changed in the last 2 years, trust me I check monthly.  Doesn't make sense.  If they only want you to get a few things then they should say that in their paperwork. Worthless.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Feb 08, 2017
Quick and Easy Approval Process
samriojas Borrower

Pros: Easy and fast approval. Ability to finance directly from merchant websites (several to choose from). The ability to apply for a loan and issued a temporary credit card to make a purchase online. Easy to understand terms, a mobile app, and auto payments from either a debit card or checking account with no fee. No pre-payment penalties. Reporting credit line to credit bureaus with payment history (a huge plus).

Cons: None really.

I've personally financed a mattress from Casper, a laptop from Best Buy (using a loan with issued credit card number online), and some other items from various retailers that offered their financing.

more ...
Feb 08, 2017
Simple & Convenient
Anonymous Borrower

Great, easy, efficent loan service. High interest rates though.

more ...
Feb 07, 2017
Excellent service and would use again
Anonymous Borrower

Professional, easy, excellent

more ...
Feb 07, 2017
Fast easy and convenient
Anonymous Borrower

High interest

more ...
Feb 05, 2017
Helpful but potentially harmful
Anonymous Borrower

I have been using Affirm for over a year now and have made multiple purchases using their services. All in all, I find the service to be easy and the process is super clear. I have been happy with their app and website and nothing negative to say on that end. I noticed the problem yesterday when I was checking my credit yesterday using a credit tracker provided by Experian. Experian shows my loans with Affirm in good standing but classifies them as "consumer finance accounts" and says that those are HARMFUL to my credit score!!!!! Experian claims that consumer finance companied offer loans to people with less than perfect credit and that those loans are a red flag for other would-be lenders. I'm not sure that this is a problem with Affirm, since they are exactly who they say they are, but I thought this information should be noted 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Feb 09, 2017

Thank you very much for the tidbit regarding the "consumer finance account'. I will check in with the myFico peeps and see what they have to say.. i will report back with any findings,.Was happy to be approved... but this bit of info makes me leery.

 
Feb 01, 2017
Fantastic, upfront company!
Anonymous Borrower

I can't begin to explain how happy I've been with affirm! Amazing customer service, upront clear terms, lightining fast approval. What more could you want?

more ...
Jan 31, 2017
Not the best but simple.
Rawrkrite Borrower

I used Affirm to buy an iPhone 6s when my 5 died. I have since paid it off, bought a Mini 4, and a laptop, so I feel like I'm qualified to give my opinion. 

My loan still does not show on my credit report, which was the whole reason I replaced my laptop with Affirm. They will not consolidate loans period- I asked to have my iPad and laptop loans combined after they started reporting to the bureau. A flat 30% finance charge is easy to remember, and the payment percentages are nice, but really... Compared to other companies, the flat finance charge is almost insulting. 

I don't regret using Affirm for my phone and tablet. I just wish the laptop loan was reported as an open account in good standing. 

more ...
Jan 27, 2017
Great

wJust pay it off in time , or ahead of time and save finace charges. remeber the words pay on time !!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.