Affirm Personal Loans Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
80 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

3.5 out of 5 stars

4 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Oct 09, 2016
Great Experience!!
Anonymous Borrower

It was easy and I got approved and changed my mind then tried again and got denied... (I'm so indecisive). Tried again the next day and was approved. I have three payments left and I am looking to make another purchase. My credit score is fair so not sure why people with higher scores are getting denied. I say try it again. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 28, 2016
It may start out good...
mkalt Borrower

I started out last year with affirm, used them for multiple things paid ALL on time.  Now it wont let me get anything else saying my credit is too bad.  My credit hasn't changed in the last 2 years, trust me I check monthly.  Doesn't make sense.  If they only want you to get a few things then they should say that in their paperwork. Worthless.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

May 28, 2017
zero transparency
lkmerc02 Borrower

yeah, the process is easy if you get approved, but heaven help you if you buy multiple items from a company & they try to process the "card" as the items ship. I had a loan that covered all the items but it only ended up being used for 1/10 of my overall purchase bc Affirm makes it a one-time only virtual card "loan" or whatever you want to call it. They would not make a 2nd loan bc the other was too high. I had to wait over a week for them to take the remainder of the unused $ off the books and then submit an app for the smaller remaining amt. What is the most frustrating of all, however, is that (like others), I have paid everything off and paid HUGE interest amounts and now I cant even borrow a fraction of what they had loaned before. My credit is good, my history is good. This company is annoying and seems shady to me, after all these dealings. I wonder if they see you have available credit elsewhere and/or pay your cards off monthly and deny bc they wont rack up the full 12 mos interest or bc they are still dealing w limited capital and dont want to loan to people who have other options. If they would freakin' disclose even a bit of actual info on their methods it would be great. The denial notice states that they use experian AND some unnamed non credit reporting agency. Ummm, who? I have to write in to find out what other digging they have done on me, but I dont like that they base their decision on info that comes from a source they arent open about disclosing. They seem dirty and I wish I had never done business with them. I dont trust them at all.

more ...
May 28, 2017
zero transparency
lkmerc02 Borrower

yeah, the process is easy if you get approved, but heaven help you if you buy multiple items from a company & they try to process the "card" as the items ship. I had a loan that covered all the items but it only ended up being used for 1/10 of my overall purchase bc Affirm makes it a one-time only virtual card "loan" or whatever you want to call it. They would not make a 2nd loan bc the other was too high. I had to wait over a week for them to take the remainder of the unused $ off the books and then submit an app for the smaller remaining amt. What is the most frustrating of all, however, is that (like others), I have paid everything off and paid HUGE interest amounts and now I cant even borrow a fraction of what they had loaned before. My credit is good, my history is good. This company is annoying and seems shady to me, after all these dealings. I wonder if they see you have available credit elsewhere and/or pay your cards off monthly and deny bc they wont rack up the full 12 mos interest or bc they are still dealing w limited capital and dont want to loan to people who have other options. If they would freakin' disclose even a bit of actual info on their methods it would be great. The denial notice states that they use experian AND some unnamed non credit reporting agency. Ummm, who? I have to write in to find out what other digging they have done on me, but I dont like that they base their decision on info that comes from a source they arent open about disclosing. They seem dirty and I wish I had never done business with them. I dont trust them at all.

more ...
May 20, 2017
Total mistake.

I have made multiple purchases through AFFIRM. My last was in March 2017 and I never recieved any email reminders that my payment was due. I eventually had to call in and ask what the issue was and they did an investigation on why I was never notified. They was not sending reminders correctly and the payment was still considered late, even thought they was at fault. I recently attempted to make a new purchase and was denied. 

more ...
May 18, 2017
Anonymous Borrower

Set up autopay,  it did not.  Caused my loan to be late and reported it to the credit reporting entities.   Found out they didn't take the payment.  Paid in full the next day.  Not worth it. 

more ...
May 17, 2017
easy
Brissy Borrower

Easy process to apply and lets you know upfront what your payments will be. Easy payment plans

more ...
May 17, 2017
Awesome
Brissy Borrower

It was nice to find out about this loan. It is perfect to help pay for a hotel room for a vacation. Payments are easy t make and can be made sooner then payment date also with no penalties

more ...
May 16, 2017
Quick & hassle-free!
Anonymous Borrower

We're happily sleeping the nights away on the bed we got with the easy financing through Affirm.

more ...
May 10, 2017
Better save to buy
Anonymous Borrower

If you use this, make sure you have the funds for days or maybe over a week when the payments comes around, because they take FOREVER to process a payment, then your stuck paying a returned check fee on top of the payment again... I would save up the cash instead of using them again it was my first and last time

more ...
May 09, 2017
Quick and Painless
lavinder11 Borrower

The process is very easy and they've expanded to include more diverse shops. The only issue I have with them is they do not have clear criteria for loan approvals and denials. 

more ...
May 06, 2017
Not Bad
ModCredBldr Borrower

I like these guys. For those considering Affirm, you should know that your credit score should be over 600 to be approved at the very least (not a guarantee however). Affirm does monitor how frequently you use their services. If you use too frequently without a strong payment history with them, you will likely be denied. If you have high credit score, but have a history hazardous spending, you'll also be denied. But if you have a pretty balance payment, credit use history, you will likely be approved. Keep in mind, their interest rate isn't the best - it's pretty high in my opinion, but if you buy something you know you can pay off pretty quickly, this option isn't too shabby.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.