SoFi Personal Loans Reviews

SoFi Personal Loans Reviews
3.5 out of 5 stars
18 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

3.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

1 star reviews (5) See All

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Jan 02, 2021
An absolute nightmare of a company
thisisfine Borrower

If you like your sanity, do not, under any circumstances, do anything with SoFi. They were great when they were just starting out as a company, but have absolutely gone down the drain. I refinanced my house with SoFi after a reasonably smooth student loan refinance process. It took two and a half months of back and forth with people who had absolutely no idea what they were doing. I was sent forms marked INTERNAL ONLY- when I argued that I had no idea what some of the terms on the form were (because they referenced INTERNAL PROGRAMS AT SOFI), the underwriter argued with me and basically called me an idiot. She then went behind my back and harassed my HOA to get this wrong form filled out. I had to get to the point where I refused to speak to her and would only work with her slightly less incompetent manager. We had to push the closing twice because the underwriter was so slow and so bad at her job. Then, the morning of closing, I'm told they're sending a lawyer and that I need a witness to the paperwork. Gee, that would have been nice to know the morning of. 

It was an absolute train wreck, start to finish. Go anywhere else. 

more ...
Aug 16, 2020
Ro09 Borrower

This is crap from lenders, I do not recommend running your credit with this institution

more ...
Jun 22, 2020
interest is too high

I had a great credit score but still received a loan with a higher interest.  Check around

more ...
Jul 17, 2020

Who did you go with?

 
Sep 15, 2020

Did you find something more deserving?

 
May 21, 2020
Neolithic Incompotence.........
Vettethret Borrower

I have been in the Mortgage Finance business for 24 years. I have a 787 Fico, 339k in income the last 3+ years, and only have 9k in credit card debt (Outside of a current Sofi Loan). I re applied to increase my loan amount as extra cushion for the current state of things. After three weeks of sending Sofi document after document, and sending the President an email regarding how bad their Underwriters are at reviewing what is being sent, I was declined for Ratios. My Debt To Income ratios are 19%, I know because Ijustr efinacned my own loan. Sofi is belligerent and dishonest, I have filed a claim with the CFPB. Lets see if Credit Karma actaully posts this review!

more ...
Jul 11, 2020

Kudos to you for an honest review!

 
Aug 27, 2020

Same thing happened to me, this is 100% accurate and a perfect review at how dishonest they are. They ask for document after document, stealing all of your info, just to decline for some BS reason.

 
Mar 20, 2020
Applying to SoFi is a Waste of Time
WuhanVirus Borrower

The people you deal with are amateurs. Its a mostly virtual company with people working from their homes well before COViD-19. The right hand doesn't know what they left hand is doing. In a second loan, they cost me $500 gave me a pre-approval, then reneged. I went to my local credit union and got approved. Then paid these shysters off. Stay away unless you are borrowing below 6%

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.