Personal Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

RISE Personal Loans

1.8 out of 5 stars
46 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 24, 2016
Easy! Great for rebuilding bad credit
Anonymous Borrower

I keep seeing bad reviews pointing at the cost of the loan and that some were turned down.  The cost is no surprise - all the information is right up front.  People with bad credit normally don't have many options.  The fact that you can actually lower the interest if you stay in good standing is more than any other "bad credit lenders" are doing for you.  I needed the money, wanted to save some dignity and not go through a loan process with a "normal" lender and then get turned down in the end.  I do agree with the reviews saying this is a great short term solution, but I realize that some will need then entire term to pay back.  You actually pay towards the principal, albeit not much, with your first payment.   So, in my opinion, I don't this there is a better option out there for those with bad credit trying to get back on track.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 01, 2016
Terrible!!!!
Anonymous Borrower

I took out a loan for $1000 and making payments every two weeks of $128 and by their schedule I will be done paying off this loan next year.  That is crazy. I will increase my monthly payments, pay them off and will never deal with them again.  Please anyone do your research before you borrow.  Don't end up like me.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Jan 10, 2017
Awful service, inept employees.

I "paid off" my loan a week ago. I started getting calls telling me i still owed over $350 and that i was required by law to give them my bank information. No, I'm not. Second it was their emplpyees who removed my banking information. Getting ahold of the department i need to talk to was next to impossible and apparently that department doesnt share any information with the regular department. Thanks for taking my money and still charging me more for yours rise. Appreciate it.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 11, 2017

Hi kbowdoin2000,

We are so sorry to hear about your recent experience with RISE.

Please allow us the opportunity to review and research your concerns with you by sending us an email at rise_spokesperson@risecredit.com.

We look forward to better assisting you.

Sincerely,

RISE Credit

 
Dec 29, 2016
Nice
Good661 Borrower

Easy to get approval but payback is extremely high

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 30, 2016

Hi Good661!
We are so happy to hear that you're experience was easy.
We understand that RISE is an expensive form of credit. We do offer flexible payment options and an early pay off option. Applying more towards your minimum amounts due or using the early pay off option will definitely save you in the daily interest.
Please call Customer Support at 866-580-1226 if we can offer any assistance.

Sincerely,

RISE Credit

 
Dec 13, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

It has very high apr 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 14, 2016

Thank you so much for sharing your concerns.
We disclose on our website that RISE loans can be an expensive form of credit.
The rates will also vary by state and based on the applicants credit along with several other factors.
Please let us know if you have any other questions or concerns by calling Customer Support at 866-580-1226.

Thank you,

RISE Credit

 
Dec 12, 2016
they do not distribute repayment of fees
Anonymous Borrower

I have used them in the past and they were great, now they make sure to take off the fees before they take off the principal. This is their way of making sure they get as much money from you as possible if you pay off early. Either way you don't get a "reward" for paying the loan early.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 12, 2016

We regret to hear of any confusion regarding how payments to your RISE loan are applied.
As outlined in the loan agreement all payments to your RISE loan are applied to accrued interest and fees first, then to principal.
Please keep in mind that since interest accrues daily, so you do save in interest and fees by paying off early.
If we can research your personal payment history or assist you with any other questions, please do not hesitate to call Customer Support at 866-580-1226.

Sincerely,

RISE Credit

 
Dec 09, 2016
Illegal
Anonymous Borrower

These people are thieves. they make identify theft thieves welcome

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Dec 12, 2016

We take the security and privacy of customer's information very serious and have very thorough verification processes. If you feel that your information was used fraudulently, please email us at rise_spokesperson@risecredit.com so that we may better assist you.

Sincerely,

RISE Credit

 
Nov 23, 2016
Worst thing
Customer281 Borrower

I applied and got approved I didn't mind the payments everything was fine until I changed bank accounts my nightmare started. I sent in everything of paperwork that they needed and still a month later they haven't changed it and I had to be calling in every other week to make payments. Now since the payments weren't on the day because i expected them to go thru on mondays or Tuesday they are charging me interest on the loan when I tried to pay it off ! Take into consideration one of their representatives told me I didn't have to pay anything because they were doing the changes. I asked to speak to a supervisor and she didn't even care she said she couldn't do anything about it and hung up. Frustrating 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 28, 2016

Hi Customer281!

We regret to hear of any dissatisfaction with your RISE loan.

We would like the opportunity to research your concerns personally. Please contact us at rise_spokesperson@risecredit.com so that we may better assist you.

Thank you,

RISE Credit

 
Nov 16, 2016
BEWARE!! WORST LOAN EXPERIENCE EVER
Nicille Borrower

This loan is easy to ge but BEWARE!!! If you are  day late your entire next payment is added to the balance. It is not a daily fee or even late charge the entire payment is a waste unless you make on the due date. On top of that you can not make an early payment. You can pay down your loan, but you still have the same payment every due date regardless of how much you have paid that month. So if you made a payment for this month, and want to make your next payment early you can not. I tried to pay $1000, 2 payments plus pay down my loan. 5 days later I was getting calls that I was late on my payment even though I had just paid $1000.00. On top of that the customer service people are rude. They talk over you and refuse ot help you resolve problems. I borrowed $2500, after six months of paying $445 a month I owed $2997. So I got together the money to pay my bill off a day before my next payment was due. The customer service agent entered the wrong zip code twice and the payment wouldn't go through. They will only put a charge through on your card twice in one day, so I couldn't pay off the balance that day because of their error. The next day I owed another $445! This company is horrible!

more ...
Nov 17, 2016

Hi Nicille,

We are terribly sorry to hear about your recent experience with RISE and greatly appreciate you sharing your concerns.

The payment options that you mentioned are certainly available and we would like the opportunity to research your account regarding your concerns.

Please send us an email at rise_spokesperson@risecredit.com so that we may better assist you.

Sincerely,

RISE Credit

 
Jan 10, 2017

****!

 
Nov 12, 2016
High Interest, bi-monthly paymants

I applied and got approved for a loan of $1,000 and they gave me a 300% interest rate which equals to nearly 5K i owe after completing the payment process.  I pay bi-monthly 127 which is nearly 300 a month.  They promise to offer lower interest rates after completing your first loan installment plan so there maybe hope in the future? But apply with caution and read fine print!!!!

more ...
Nov 11, 2016
They lend you a hand, but take your foot
Anonymous Borrower

I spent two years paying off 198% interest only...DON"T DO IT!!

There are other options that don't advertise as much and also don't cost as much!! Do your homework!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 15, 2016

Hi. We regret to hear of any dissatisfaction regarding your RISE loan. We strive to have lower annual percentage rates than similar loans. We also provide your payments by date and amount in great detail in your loan agreement. We also offer flexible payment options and encourage early payoff with no penalties. Please let us know if we can assist you with any further questions or concerns.
Sincerely,
RISE Credit

 
Nov 03, 2016
BAD! RUN FAST.
Anonymous Borrower

I received a loan from them. I review my documentation while doing the process and no where did I say that I will be paying every two weeks. This is crazy I would have never got a loan that I will have to pay every two weeks. I dont recommend anyone not to come here find another place to get a personal.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 08, 2016

Hi!
We regret to hear of any confusion regarding your payments.
We disclose on the 'What It Costs' page at www.risecredit.com. On your loan agreement, your payments are broken down by dates and amounts of minimum payments. Your flexible payment options and early payoff benefits are also disclosed prior to accepting the loan.
If there are any other questions or concerns that you may have, please reach out to Customer Support at 866-580-1226.

Sincerely,

RISE Credit

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.