Personal Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

RISE Personal Loans

1.7 out of 5 stars
50 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year


Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.


Most Helpful Positive Review

Jan 13, 2016
Expensive, but easy
Jarret201 Borrower

It is clearly a high rate loan - they tell you this, but you have the option to make payments early and you can see the number of future payments decrease as you do.  Yes they ttry to hook you into higher amounts as you pay it down.  I was offered a refi and additional funds after 3 early payments.  But paying it off after 2 months gave me the cash in an emergency situation, and cost less than it could have.  Only star reduction is in the fact that the rate is HIGH, but they do make that clear, and you initial a disclosure stating that you are aware and other options may be better.  I would borrow again, as long as I had a payoff plan and needed the funds.  I would NOT reccommend carrying this loan to full term...

more ...

Was this review helpful?


Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 01, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

I took out a loan for $1000 and making payments every two weeks of $128 and by their schedule I will be done paying off this loan next year.  That is crazy. I will increase my monthly payments, pay them off and will never deal with them again.  Please anyone do your research before you borrow.  Don't end up like me.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?


These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Oct 18, 2016
BEWARE!!! This company does not care!
Anonymous Borrower

They offer no help if you have difficulty paying your loan.

more ...
Oct 16, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

They dont give the money right away they are no help you will pay more then what you get worst place ever 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

1 Reply
Oct 17, 2016

We are very sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with RISE.
For all applications submitted prior to 5pm CT on a regular business day, the funds are released to be available as early as the next banking business day. These times can vary if we are not able to immediately verify your application information.
Please send us an email at with additional details regarding your experience so that we may best assist you.

Thank you,

Oct 12, 2016
Use with caution - tough to pay off.
JohnI1 Borrower

While Rise is an option for you if you are in a serious situation that requires an immediate influx of cash, borrowing from them should be done with extreme caution. The rate of interest is spelled out, but it it is obscenely high - when I made my first loan payment to them (you also make biweekly payments, so keep that in mind as well) of nearly $200,  I actually ended up owing more in the next payment because I didn't pay one cent on the principal. Thankfully I was able to pay the loan off a couple of months after I took it out by selling some stock I had acquired. But definitely use them only for emergencies if your options are limited.

more ...
Sep 23, 2016
Nellesjl Borrower

I TOOK THREE LOANS OUT AT DIFFERENT TIMES!  ALL PAYMENTS MADE ON TIME AND LOANS PAID OFF EARLY!  EACH LOAN CAUSED A HARD INQUIRY ON MY REPORT WHICH LOWERS SCORE.  There should NEVER have been more than one hard inquiry when all payments were on time.  I WAS AN EXCELLENT CUSTOMER.  I ASKED TO HAVE 2 of 3 hard inquiries removed from credit WHICH THEY CAN DO but I was denied!  On time payments and early pay off do nothing to raise score however just borrowing from them reduces score.  DO NOT ISE THIS COMPANY NO MATTER WHAT!

more ...
Oct 06, 2016

Every time you take out a new loan, even with the same lender, they run your credit. Those types of credit requests are almost always hard inquires. So, seeing that you took out 3 loans, it makes perfect sense that you have 3 hard inquiries. This is probably why they denied to remove the two you asked of them.

Oct 12, 2016

Hi Nellesjl-
Thank you for your feedback.
By submitting an application, you agree to our terms and conditions which include authorizing us to obtain information about you from one or more consumer reporting agencies and other sources. Our terms and conditions also state that we may make inquiries concerning your credit history and standing.
If there are any additional questions or concerns, please reach out to us at

Sep 19, 2016
Q: Want to sell you soul to the Devil?

Answer: Call Rise.  


I made the biggest mistake not looking at the intrest rate for $3500.  I will never, ever do this to myself ever again.  Give the money back, pay it off immediately.

For a loan of $3,500

Rate 197.24%

$11,129.97 Finance Charge

$14629.97 amount paid over the life of the loan

I screwed up.  Please do not do what I did.

more ...
Sep 12, 2016
they added a false 30-day late to my CR
Goober1115 Borrower

I paid this loan off early only to find out due to a "system error" (their words), they repored my paid in full as a partial payment only. Then, they added a 30-day late to my TransUnion credit report! When I call customer service to try and clear this up they say "I'm sorry, we can't handle credit disputes. You must EMAIL"

So far they have not responded in any way and there is NO WAY to talk to a real person about this!


more ...

Was this review helpful?

1 Reply
Oct 12, 2016

Hi Goober1115-

We regret to hear of your experience in regards to our credit reporting.

Please email us at so that we can help.



Sep 08, 2016
Crap, do not apply!
Anonymous Borrower

Can't change the dates of payments, need to go online every single time if you want to pay more than the actual payment amount, and ridiculous high interest. Was in a bind and needed cash fast for divorce attorney and left with bad credit from the awesome ex only to be sucked dry by these people to have more time taken out of my day or week to handle these people just to pay it. I would definitely never use this place again! Total nuisance for sure.

more ...
Sep 06, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

Although they gave the money quick we didn't realize we would be paying multiple times each month can't afford another 300 and something a month. When we finally got a rep on the phone they offered no help solution!! Stay away!!

more ...
Aug 25, 2016
Poor customer service!
Goober1115 Borrower

When you call to speak with them they put you on hold for more than 10 minutes. Then, we do you speak to them, they only read pre-written canned answers from a screen. Also, good luck if your paydays dont fall on the 1st and 15th of the month. This is the only company that won't let you select your paydays. (Mine are on the 5th and 20th) so I have to call in and make payments via debit card. Which brings me back to point 1 about their long hold times and unwillingness to LISTEN to why you're calling.

Don't do it! If you're desperate for cash, dealing with a PAYDAY loan company is better than this one.

more ...
Aug 24, 2016
Easy! Great for rebuilding bad credit
Anonymous Borrower

I keep seeing bad reviews pointing at the cost of the loan and that some were turned down.  The cost is no surprise - all the information is right up front.  People with bad credit normally don't have many options.  The fact that you can actually lower the interest if you stay in good standing is more than any other "bad credit lenders" are doing for you.  I needed the money, wanted to save some dignity and not go through a loan process with a "normal" lender and then get turned down in the end.  I do agree with the reviews saying this is a great short term solution, but I realize that some will need then entire term to pay back.  You actually pay towards the principal, albeit not much, with your first payment.   So, in my opinion, I don't this there is a better option out there for those with bad credit trying to get back on track.  

more ...
Aug 26, 2016

You failed to mention that any extra money paid on the loan is applied to the INTEREST, not the principal. That's in the fine print of a contract. AND if you die, they ensure that your loan will pass down to next of kin to pay.

Oct 12, 2016

After my first payment to them, I owed MORE than the original loan because I paid toward fees and interest with my first $200 payment. Didn't touch principal till $6 came off with my second payment - paid $400, repaid $6.

Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.