Personal Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

RISE Personal Loans

1.7 out of 5 stars
50 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

3 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

1.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Aug 24, 2016
Easy! Great for rebuilding bad credit
Anonymous Borrower

I keep seeing bad reviews pointing at the cost of the loan and that some were turned down.  The cost is no surprise - all the information is right up front.  People with bad credit normally don't have many options.  The fact that you can actually lower the interest if you stay in good standing is more than any other "bad credit lenders" are doing for you.  I needed the money, wanted to save some dignity and not go through a loan process with a "normal" lender and then get turned down in the end.  I do agree with the reviews saying this is a great short term solution, but I realize that some will need then entire term to pay back.  You actually pay towards the principal, albeit not much, with your first payment.   So, in my opinion, I don't this there is a better option out there for those with bad credit trying to get back on track.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 01, 2016
Terrible!!!!
Anonymous Borrower

I took out a loan for $1000 and making payments every two weeks of $128 and by their schedule I will be done paying off this loan next year.  That is crazy. I will increase my monthly payments, pay them off and will never deal with them again.  Please anyone do your research before you borrow.  Don't end up like me.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Nov 23, 2016
Worst thing
Customer281 Borrower

I applied and got approved I didn't mind the payments everything was fine until I changed bank accounts my nightmare started. I sent in everything of paperwork that they needed and still a month later they haven't changed it and I had to be calling in every other week to make payments. Now since the payments weren't on the day because i expected them to go thru on mondays or Tuesday they are charging me interest on the loan when I tried to pay it off ! Take into consideration one of their representatives told me I didn't have to pay anything because they were doing the changes. I asked to speak to a supervisor and she didn't even care she said she couldn't do anything about it and hung up. Frustrating 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 28, 2016

Hi Customer281!

We regret to hear of any dissatisfaction with your RISE loan.

We would like the opportunity to research your concerns personally. Please contact us at rise_spokesperson@risecredit.com so that we may better assist you.

Thank you,

RISE Credit

 
Nov 16, 2016
BEWARE!! WORST LOAN EXPERIENCE EVER
Nicille Borrower

This loan is easy to ge but BEWARE!!! If you are  day late your entire next payment is added to the balance. It is not a daily fee or even late charge the entire payment is a waste unless you make on the due date. On top of that you can not make an early payment. You can pay down your loan, but you still have the same payment every due date regardless of how much you have paid that month. So if you made a payment for this month, and want to make your next payment early you can not. I tried to pay $1000, 2 payments plus pay down my loan. 5 days later I was getting calls that I was late on my payment even though I had just paid $1000.00. On top of that the customer service people are rude. They talk over you and refuse ot help you resolve problems. I borrowed $2500, after six months of paying $445 a month I owed $2997. So I got together the money to pay my bill off a day before my next payment was due. The customer service agent entered the wrong zip code twice and the payment wouldn't go through. They will only put a charge through on your card twice in one day, so I couldn't pay off the balance that day because of their error. The next day I owed another $445! This company is horrible!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 17, 2016

Hi Nicille,

We are terribly sorry to hear about your recent experience with RISE and greatly appreciate you sharing your concerns.

The payment options that you mentioned are certainly available and we would like the opportunity to research your account regarding your concerns.

Please send us an email at rise_spokesperson@risecredit.com so that we may better assist you.

Sincerely,

RISE Credit

 
Nov 12, 2016
High Interest, bi-monthly paymants

I applied and got approved for a loan of $1,000 and they gave me a 300% interest rate which equals to nearly 5K i owe after completing the payment process.  I pay bi-monthly 127 which is nearly 300 a month.  They promise to offer lower interest rates after completing your first loan installment plan so there maybe hope in the future? But apply with caution and read fine print!!!!

more ...
Nov 11, 2016
They lend you a hand, but take your foot
Anonymous Borrower

I spent two years paying off 198% interest only...DON"T DO IT!!

There are other options that don't advertise as much and also don't cost as much!! Do your homework!!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 15, 2016

Hi. We regret to hear of any dissatisfaction regarding your RISE loan. We strive to have lower annual percentage rates than similar loans. We also provide your payments by date and amount in great detail in your loan agreement. We also offer flexible payment options and encourage early payoff with no penalties. Please let us know if we can assist you with any further questions or concerns.
Sincerely,
RISE Credit

 
Nov 03, 2016
BAD! RUN FAST.
Anonymous Borrower

I received a loan from them. I review my documentation while doing the process and no where did I say that I will be paying every two weeks. This is crazy I would have never got a loan that I will have to pay every two weeks. I dont recommend anyone not to come here find another place to get a personal.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 08, 2016

Hi!
We regret to hear of any confusion regarding your payments.
We disclose on the 'What It Costs' page at www.risecredit.com. On your loan agreement, your payments are broken down by dates and amounts of minimum payments. Your flexible payment options and early payoff benefits are also disclosed prior to accepting the loan.
If there are any other questions or concerns that you may have, please reach out to Customer Support at 866-580-1226.

Sincerely,

RISE Credit

 
Oct 18, 2016
BEWARE!!! This company does not care!
Anonymous Borrower

They offer no help if you have difficulty paying your loan.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 24, 2016

Hi!

We are so sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with RISE.

We do offer flexible payment options on your RISE loan.

We would like the opportunity to review your concerns with you personally. Please send us an email at rise_spokesperson@risecredit.com so that we may better assist you.

Sincerely,

RISE Credit

 
Oct 16, 2016
JUST CRAPPPPPP
Anonymous Borrower

They dont give the money right away they are no help you will pay more then what you get worst place ever 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 17, 2016

Hi!
We are very sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with RISE.
For all applications submitted prior to 5pm CT on a regular business day, the funds are released to be available as early as the next banking business day. These times can vary if we are not able to immediately verify your application information.
Please send us an email at servicerecovery@risecredit.com with additional details regarding your experience so that we may best assist you.

Thank you,
RISE CREDIT

 
Oct 12, 2016
Use with caution - tough to pay off.
JohnI1 Borrower

While Rise is an option for you if you are in a serious situation that requires an immediate influx of cash, borrowing from them should be done with extreme caution. The rate of interest is spelled out, but it it is obscenely high - when I made my first loan payment to them (you also make biweekly payments, so keep that in mind as well) of nearly $200,  I actually ended up owing more in the next payment because I didn't pay one cent on the principal. Thankfully I was able to pay the loan off a couple of months after I took it out by selling some stock I had acquired. But definitely use them only for emergencies if your options are limited.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Oct 24, 2016

Hi Johnl1-

We greatly appreciate you taking time to provide feedback on RISE.

Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance.

Sincerely,

RISE Credit

 
Sep 23, 2016
LOWERS CREDIT SCORE!
Nellesjl Borrower

I TOOK THREE LOANS OUT AT DIFFERENT TIMES!  ALL PAYMENTS MADE ON TIME AND LOANS PAID OFF EARLY!  EACH LOAN CAUSED A HARD INQUIRY ON MY REPORT WHICH LOWERS SCORE.  There should NEVER have been more than one hard inquiry when all payments were on time.  I WAS AN EXCELLENT CUSTOMER.  I ASKED TO HAVE 2 of 3 hard inquiries removed from credit WHICH THEY CAN DO but I was denied!  On time payments and early pay off do nothing to raise score however just borrowing from them reduces score.  DO NOT ISE THIS COMPANY NO MATTER WHAT!

more ...
Oct 06, 2016

Every time you take out a new loan, even with the same lender, they run your credit. Those types of credit requests are almost always hard inquires. So, seeing that you took out 3 loans, it makes perfect sense that you have 3 hard inquiries. This is probably why they denied to remove the two you asked of them.

 
Oct 12, 2016

Hi Nellesjl-
Thank you for your feedback.
By submitting an application, you agree to our terms and conditions which include authorizing us to obtain information about you from one or more consumer reporting agencies and other sources. Our terms and conditions also state that we may make inquiries concerning your credit history and standing.
If there are any additional questions or concerns, please reach out to us at servicerecovery@risecredit.com.
Thanks,
RISE

 
Sep 19, 2016
Q: Want to sell you soul to the Devil?

Answer: Call Rise.  

EVERYONE WITH BAD CREDIT, DO NOT USE RISE CREDIT!

I made the biggest mistake not looking at the intrest rate for $3500.  I will never, ever do this to myself ever again.  Give the money back, pay it off immediately.

For a loan of $3,500

Rate 197.24%

$11,129.97 Finance Charge

$14629.97 amount paid over the life of the loan

I screwed up.  Please do not do what I did.

more ...
Oct 24, 2016

Hi Centralsoccer2001-

We regret to hear of any dissatisfaction with your RISE loan and welcome any feedback.

We disclose the rates on our website and break down all the payments by amounts and dates on your loan agreement.

We also offer flexible payment options to help pay off earlier and encourage early pay off with no penalties. We try to have lower rates than most lenders in our industry as well.

If you have any other questions or concerns that we can assist you with, please send us an email at rise_spokesperson@risecredit.com.

Sincerely,

RISE Credit

 
Nov 23, 2016

Did they help you, CentralSoccer?

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.