Oportun Loans

Reviews: Oportun Loans

Reviews: Oportun Loans

Oportun Loans

Overall lender rating

4.3
out of 5
1082 reviews
from Credit Karma members

Most helpful positive review

Jan 22, 2020
Simply fast & easy
Credit Karma member

I just started to rebuild my credit and always saw this company on my feed about taking a loan out. I typically against it as I had previous history with loans and did not want to fall back into that slump. With that being said, I got back on my feet, decided to take out a small loan out just to take care of personal business, and I must say the process was super simple. I highly encourage anyone that wants to take a small loan out ($1000 or less....or more) to go ahead and try it out. I am thankful for the opportunity they have given me and look forward to doing business with them again.

228
42

Most helpful negative review

Oct 21, 2020
They Won't Work With Netspend/Chime
Credit Karma member

Even though my bank has an account and routing number since it's an online-only bank they refuse to work with it even though my employer will direct deposit checks into it and other loan companies have no problem with it. They are alienating potential customers as a lot of people use prepaid debit cards these days

360
93

Member ratings

All member reviews (1082)

844
65
12
10
151
May 20, 2022
Extremely pleased!
Credit Karma member

Totally seamless process! Definitely recommend this company! Loan was approved and two days later direct deposited into my account.

0
0

May 19, 2022
Excellent
Credit Karma member

Very good service. Walk me through each step and helped where I needed. Very professional.

0
0

May 19, 2022
Great and Easy experience
Credit Karma member

Very easy process and can get a huge loan amount without having the best credit, will definitely recommend

0
0

May 19, 2022
STAY AWAY FROM THIS 5 STAR SHADY COMPANY!!!!!
Credit Karma member

I authorized Oportun to do a soft credit check to see if I qualified for a quick emergency loan and the pre-qualification process said I was good for $1,500 and to submit my bank statements to verify my income and my bank account to deposit the funds. I was very reluctant to have a new hard inquiry on my credit report (which is what they do to finalize the loan), because I’ve been carefully fixing my credit and not applying for anything for the last 2 years because I want to buy a house, but I need the funds so I went for it. After I submitted what they asked for and they did a HARD inquiry to finalize the loan, I was denied and was told I needed a co-signer!!! I called them and the reps I talked to couldn’t give an an answer as to why I wasn’t told that I needed a co-signer BEFORE doing a HARD CREDIT INQUIRY. I asked to speak to a manager to find out what the issue was and I was hung up on TWICE after being on hold for over 45 minutes on BOTH calls. Now I have a NEW HARD CREDIT INQUIRY for a mere $1,500 loan that I didn’t even get! SO, STAY AWAY FROM THIS 5 STAR SHADY COMPANY!!!!! This happened on May 19, 2022

0
0

May 18, 2022
Good customer service
Credit Karma member

Easy and quick!

0
0

May 17, 2022
Horrible
Credit Karma member

Worse credit card ever

0
0

May 17, 2022
Misleading
Credit Karma member

Misleading

0
0

May 16, 2022
Excellent
Credit Karma member

4.7

0
0

May 16, 2022
Satisfied customer
Credit Karma member

They were very helpful. I was able to get a personal loan almost instantly. Very good customer service. Will definitely continue doing business with them.

0
0

May 16, 2022
Great application process
Credit Karma member

The application was fast and very user friendly

0
0

1-10 of 1082

These ratings and reviews are provided by our users. Banks, issuers and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee this content, are not responsible for it, and may not even be aware of it.

†† The opinions you read here come from our editorial team. Credit Karma receives compensation from third-party advertisers, but that doesn’t affect our editors' opinions. Our marketing partners don’t review, approve or endorse our editorial content. It’s accurate to the best of our knowledge when it’s posted.