Oportun Loans

Reviews: Oportun Loans

Reviews: Oportun Loans

Oportun Loans

Overall lender rating

4.2
out of 5
689 reviews
from Credit Karma members

Most helpful positive review

Jan 22, 2020
Simply fast & easy
Credit Karma member

I just started to rebuild my credit and always saw this company on my feed about taking a loan out. I typically against it as I had previous history with loans and did not want to fall back into that slump. With that being said, I got back on my feet, decided to take out a small loan out just to take care of personal business, and I must say the process was super simple. I highly encourage anyone that wants to take a small loan out ($1000 or less....or more) to go ahead and try it out. I am thankful for the opportunity they have given me and look forward to doing business with them again.

172
27

Most helpful negative review

Oct 21, 2020
They Won't Work With Netspend/Chime
Credit Karma member

Even though my bank has an account and routing number since it's an online-only bank they refuse to work with it even though my employer will direct deposit checks into it and other loan companies have no problem with it. They are alienating potential customers as a lot of people use prepaid debit cards these days

299
72

Member ratings

All member reviews (689)

516
43
9
6
115
Nov 30, 2021
Personal Loan
Credit Karma member

BEST LOAN SPECIALIST!!! The process is smooth, fast & easy.

0
0

Nov 29, 2021
Extremely Happy
Credit Karma member

Fast approval and credit is a little less than perfect.

0
0

Nov 29, 2021
Easy peasy loan process
Credit Karma member

Easy application process, quick verification process, and low interest rates. My credit score sucks right now but I guess they overlooked that in favor of my prior loans payoff history. Professional, courteous staff when I called to ask questions. I like them.

0
0

Nov 28, 2021
Good
Credit Karma member

Easy proses

0
0

Nov 28, 2021
I Wouldn't Recommend Oportun
Credit Karma member

I applied for Oportun with an outstanding chance of receiving a personal loan. I submitted an application and was pre-approved for $1,000. I was then told to connect my bank account (type username and password) but, my bank would not allow their system (Plaid) to link. I had even tried connecting my other bank account, it worked, but Oportun then requested all history in my bank account so I declined. The other option Oportun gave was to accept a paper check by submitting my last 2 pay stubs or 2 full bank statements & a selfie. I provided the 2 pay stubs & selfie. Then they called and I was told to provide more information about 2 other sources of income and I did. Then they called and wanted my bank statements to view all history. I declined and cancelled the application. My bank wouldn't allow their system to link because of privacy issues and I see why.

0
0

Nov 28, 2021
Easy and fast
Credit Karma member

Really easy to get approved

0
0

Nov 27, 2021
Easy
Credit Karma member

Amazing assisting

0
0

Nov 26, 2021
Good deal
Credit Karma member

Good deal approval was fast and painless. Funda deposited the next day using chime bank. Thumbs up. Will use again I Teresa rate 35% my credit score was mid 500's

0
0

Nov 26, 2021
A very happy customer
Credit Karma member

Very easy and convenient. At first, I thought I wasn't gonna get approved but I did. A very happy and satisfied customer and would definitely recommended to families and friends!

0
0

Nov 24, 2021
So mad
Credit Karma member

Said would not check my credit and they did an hard inquiry. So mad.

1
0

1-10 of 689

These ratings and reviews are provided by our users. Banks, issuers and credit card companies do not endorse or guarantee this content, are not responsible for it, and may not even be aware of it.

†† The opinions you read here come from our editorial team. Credit Karma receives compensation from third-party advertisers, but that doesn’t affect our editors' opinions. Our marketing partners don’t review, approve or endorse our editorial content. It’s accurate to the best of our knowledge when it’s posted.