Oportun Personal Loans Reviews

Oportun Personal Loans Reviews
4.7 out of 5 stars
7 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2.5 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Mar 18, 2020
Personal loans.
keithware Borrower

Extremely reasonable rates and payment options.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jul 25, 2020

A 70% interest rate is reasonable? OK, clearly fake or quite possibly the dumbest human being ever.

 
Mar 04, 2020
Great experience
Enduro101 Borrower

Was pre approved for a small loan amount..decided to give it a try as a step to building credit..was approved for a larger loan amount and was processed and paid out very quickly..App is easy to use and useful information .I appreciate Oportun

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Apr 15, 2020

Do you think with credit karma excellent odds and me on unemployment they would still approve? No working due to covid virus.

 
Mar 03, 2020
WillC1985 Borrower

I'm so blessed to have the opportunity for this loan. And it's very inexpensive to repay

more ...
Mar 02, 2020

Easy approval process, quick funds transfer, easy to set up auto drafts. Fantastic customer service. I cannot say enough positive things. I am so grateful for this company.  

more ...
Feb 12, 2020
Will serve its purpose
sourpuss29 Borrower

I was approved for $700; and it wasn't until we were going over the terms that I came to the realization that this essentially amounts to a pay day loan (read: payments are due every two weeks). Had I known this ahead of time, I would not have gone this route, and would have instead opted to wait for my score to rise a bit more, then applied for a traditional loan through my credit union. So as it stands now, I'm gonna let the loan report for 3 months or so, then pay it off in full.

*side note*

It is my belief that this company primarily services the Hispanic community, and the one thing that annoyed me about the process was my loan documents being sent to me in Spanish.

more ...
Apr 29, 2020

What was your score when they gave you that?

 
May 23, 2020

I honestly don't remember exactly...probably 620 or so.

 
Jun 09, 2020

Thank you for that information that was very informative...

 
Jun 12, 2020

You're welcome! 🙂

 
Jun 27, 2020

What was it that made you come to the conclusion that they serve primarily Hispanics? The Spanish documents or perhaps something else? Asking for a friend.

 
Jun 27, 2020

^^It was the issue with my docs, coupled with the make up of the staff. At the location where I conducted my business, ALL of the associates were Hispanic; and on the occasions that I had to call, every rep I ever spoke to was as well.
Stating my belief in my original comment was not meant to be a dig. It was merely my perception based on PERSONAL experience, and I wanted to give others a heads up.

ating my belief in my original comment was not meant to be a dig. It was merely my perception based on PERSONAL experience, and I wanted to give others a heads up.

 
Jun 27, 2020

Ugh. I guess I should have proofread before I hit 'submit'. 😂

 
Jul 26, 2020

Thanks for the insight. I was thinking about applying for this one loan to add another tradeline to my report but it's not worth it in my opinion at this point in my credit build journey.

 
Jul 30, 2020

@VicAl

I was about 5 months into my rebuild when I applied for this loan, and the tradeline/boost to my scores was the ONLY reason I did so. When the loan initially reported, my scores jumped 30 points, hence the reason why I said that it would serve its purpose. Due to the ridiculous amount of interest and the hassle of having to make two monthly payments, I paid it off in three months; so depending on where you're at on your journey to rebuilding and if you're able to work it like I did, you should definitely apply in order to give your credit a boost. Best of luck to you! 😊

 
Jan 22, 2020
Simply fast & easy
RoBo2020 Borrower

I just started to rebuild my credit and always saw this company on my feed about taking a loan out. I typically against it as I had previous history with loans and did not want to fall back into that slump. With that being said, I got back on my feet, decided to take out a small loan out just to take care of personal business, and I must say the process was super simple. I highly encourage anyone that wants to take a small loan out ($1000 or less....or more) to go ahead and try it out. I am thankful for the opportunity they have given me and look forward to doing business with them again.

more ...
Jan 17, 2020
Very nice amount and easy payback option

This was a very easy, understandable application process. I was approved the next day for a large amount, and I was able to pick from several different payback options and amounts.

I finished the paperwork and requested the loan before the cutoff time stated and recieved my money the following day!

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Jan 31, 2020

What was your credit score points around

 
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.