Personal Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure


Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Borrower Ratings
4 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.


Most Helpful Positive Review

May 01, 2014
Wonderfully simple and easy loan process
rachelsophie Borrower

I recently moved from San Francisco to Boston to start a new job after having spent a month in Thailand hiking the country's tallest mountains and eating everything I could get my hands on. When I arrived in Massachusetts, I quickly learned getting into an apartment is a $6,000+ money drain and I just didn't have those funds on hand. I applied for a loan through Wells Fargo (my actual bank) and they quoted me a $6,500 loan at 18% APR! What?! I heard about Earnest from a friend, ended up on their site, and after filling out the loan applications, I had funds in my account, ready to use, 2 days later. The CEO even called me to go over the process and learn more about who I was. Earnest treated me the way I wish my actual bank would. Really amazing company. Highly recommend them!

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jun 13, 2014
Lengthy process with letdown results

I was thrilled to stumble upon Earnest's website boasting merit-based personal loans for financially responsible folks. As a homeowner and married mother of one with a well-paying, full-time job, I thought this was a great alternative to pricey banks and opening yet another credit card. Sadly, despite the relatively insignificant amount I was looking to take out ($3,000) in order to consolidate my debt, including hospital bills, I was denied a loan. Earnest's reasoning? "I have too much debt." Well...yea. Hence the application for a loan to consolidate my debt. With a 695 credit score, no deragotory remarks and a salary paying close to 6 figures, I thought I was a top contender.

Oh and as far as the process being quick? Uh, no. Site indicates a response within 2-6 business days. Yes I was asked to provide additional documents the day after I applied and did so immediately but it still took 9 business days for them to come back with a denial.

Perhaps Earnest works for some but to me it seems counterproductive if the standards are so high, how can regular people get a loan to pay off their debts?

more ...

Reviews (317)

Add Review
Oct 18, 2016
Got a small loan to finance a motorcycle
Anonymous Borrower

It was easy and got a quick response back. 

more ...
Oct 05, 2016
Quick response, easy to apply

Very user friendly and fast response time.  I love that you e-sign and they deposit the funds straight into your account.  I will recommend to all my friends.

more ...
Oct 04, 2016
Link bank account? ha??

Not sure about the service and anything past the application process.  However, I definitely should have research more before applying for a refi with Earnest and have a pointless hard inquiry on my credit report.  The application process required that I provide my username and password to my checking out to very funds.  I did not and it still let me proceed with the application and I was denied.  I have never had to provide such sensative information in an online loan application.

Once i called, i was told to file another application, link my account, and they will review.  NO THANKS!!!!


more ...
Oct 04, 2016
Do not report to credit bureaus
Thoussaint Borrower

The process was fairly easy and, they came back quick with an approval result. However, they never reported my on-time payments to the credit bureaus. In fact, the loan never even show up on my credit reports. 

more ...
Sep 26, 2016
Just wanted a 4K loan

Applied for a loan with 715 M8. 100% on time and more than enough $$$ that I did not financially need a loan to begin with. I was denied and I quote, "... you have a lower level of savings than is typical of an Earnest client." To be clear, I was waiting for approval. I did not expect to be denied. I did not link my savings account, I just linked a petty account funded by one of my positions. I am dissapointed that they did not ask me to link a savings account before they denied me. Really.  It leaves one to wonder why they would do something like that. Think about it. There is no good reason. Are they foolish? Are they unjustifiably arrogant? There's a ton of loan companies out there, I recommend trying one with better reviews. Perspective: I just got approved by a bank. Good luck, buddy.

more ...
Sep 18, 2016
Mileage may vary
Paradoxical5 Borrower

You may get better terms from a credit union, but earnest seemed to have better terms than most other places. They sat on my application until I sent an email explaining why I needed the money, they they approved it and the funds were available quickly. Overall, I would rate them as a good option to pursue, but not necessarily the best

more ...
Sep 14, 2016
Easy application process
CdNPP Borrower

I have, twice, had small loans via Earnest.  I was able to pay the first one off earlier than expected but (due to unexpected medical bils) found myself needing another small loan some months later.  Each time, the application process has been straight forward and the staff easy to deal with and very responsive. Of course, they require details on your financial situation but that's normal when they're going to loan you money!   It was slightly more detaield the first time I took a loan, but the second time was simplicity itself.   The loan was quickly approved an in my bank account within days - at a lower rate than leaving the costs on my credit card.   I highly recommend Earnest.

more ...
Sep 07, 2016
Fantastic for Student Loan Refinancing
Anonymous Borrower

I love that you can explain why you are refinancing. I was able to explain my situation (first gen. college student who had no clue what I was doing when applying for my loan) and show them that I was aggresively paying it off and just wanted a lower interest rate. I also explained that the reason I wanted to refinance was to put the money I would save toward an emergency fund (although I already had one), retirement, and eventually a down payment for a home. They really want to help and you can tell. Love how you can link all of your accounts, it makes everything so easy!! I cut my payment in half and will save over 10k in interest. Earnest is awesome.

more ...
Sep 06, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

Very easy application process.  I tried SoFi and got denied instantly but came to Earnest and got approved in a couple days with minimal time invested.  The loan allowed me to payoff a personal loan that was charging 30% APY. I will save over $500 in interest.  Take the time to share your story and what you intend to use the money for.  I think that helped in my application.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this loan overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this loan?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.