Personal Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Earnest

4.3 out of 5 stars
34 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 14, 2016
Quick and Easy
Anonymous Borrower

Simple, audomated process.  The way credit application should be.  Got my money quickly. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 21, 2016
Ok APR but read fine prints
erhk Borrower

I got $15k loan with 9.71% APR, not bad. Their Application process is unusual as it requires to link all bank account and credit card account for them to look at all transactions, not a big deal for me. They access bank information same way as Mint.com and I am using mint for a long time, I have no issue sharing login credentials. Application process took around a week. Here is the thing to consider if you are not desparate to get loan by any means and also looking to improve you credit score as well. Earnest pulls hard query from Experian, not a big deal but Earnest ONLY reports loan details/activity to Experian but DOES NOT report to TransUnion and Equifax, red flag for someone trying to improve their credit score at the end of the day as Earnest loan will not improve TransUnion and Equifax credit score.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Jan 09, 2017
Pure awesomness
Anonymous Borrower

Super easy application, great product experience and the best client support I ever saw.

more ...
Jan 08, 2017
25k Student Loan Refinance
swong3415 Borrower

The application process is easy. Although mine took a bit longer than expected so make sure to call them to check on your application status if you suspect it is taking longer than usual (a couple days to a week to respond with approval/denial/requesting more information. Also, definitely use someone's referral code to get an easy $200 off when your loan is approved.

more ...
Dec 28, 2016
Terrible communication and service

Was happy with approval process and rates received. HOWEVER, my loan has been in payoff pending for 30 days, which is significantly longer than the promised 10 day period. Payoff Pending means that the student loan provider is supposed to be paid off so I can start paying Earnest on my new refinanced rate. Every day that goes by with my student loans on my old interest rates costs me more money!

And since I already signed the loan documents, I have no choice but to wait until the process goes through. I cannot go to a different provider. The application process was easy, but I guess once they lock you in to your loan the customer communication completely stops, and they no longer feel the need to efficiently expedite your loan.

The communication from customer service has been non-existent. I have had to call both times for updates, they never updated me or changed my expectations. Defintely makes me question if I made the right decision on loan providers.

more ...
Dec 23, 2016
Smooth experience. Lowest rate by far.
laticus Borrower

They asked much more than the typical credit score and income questions, including my employment and education history, to be able to assess my earning potential and trustworthiness.
This let them provide me with a loan at 1/2 the APR of others.

more ...
Dec 11, 2016
Credit Refi
Anonymous Borrower

The process was quick and very easy! Excellent customer service!

more ...
Dec 09, 2016
Excellent Experience
Anonymous Borrower

Grateful to have discovered Earnest. The entire process from applying, making payments, and managingi my loan is intuitive, simple, yet thorough. I was able to consolidate my federal student loans at a much lower rate! I love the flexiblity that Earnest offers. I am able to adjust my payment date and/or schedule, skip a payment (if need be), make extra payments all within Earnest's online web experience. I also appreciate the fact Earnest provides the remaining loan term, and is updated as payments are made (great to see chip away).

more ...
Nov 14, 2016
Quick and Easy
Anonymous Borrower

Simple, audomated process.  The way credit application should be.  Got my money quickly. 

more ...
Nov 08, 2016
Easy automated process
Anonymous Borrower

I needed a short-term personal loan to cover transaction costs during a home sale—the application process was straight-forward and it was very easy to apply and have my loan funded within a few days of applying. An excellent option for anyone needing a short-term liquidity solution!

more ...
Oct 18, 2016
Got a small loan to finance a motorcycle
Anonymous Borrower

It was easy and got a quick response back. 

more ...
Oct 04, 2016
Do not report to credit bureaus
Thoussaint Borrower

The process was fairly easy and, they came back quick with an approval result. However, they never reported my on-time payments to the credit bureaus. In fact, the loan never even show up on my credit reports. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.