Personal Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Earnest

4.3 out of 5 stars
29 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

4 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

4 out of 5 stars

4.5 5

Compare Personal Loans

Check out rates on new loans or refinance an existing loan.

SHOP PERSONAL LOANS
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Nov 14, 2016
Quick and Easy
Anonymous Borrower

Simple, audomated process.  The way credit application should be.  Got my money quickly. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jul 21, 2016
Ok APR but read fine prints
erhk Borrower

I got $15k loan with 9.71% APR, not bad. Their Application process is unusual as it requires to link all bank account and credit card account for them to look at all transactions, not a big deal for me. They access bank information same way as Mint.com and I am using mint for a long time, I have no issue sharing login credentials. Application process took around a week. Here is the thing to consider if you are not desparate to get loan by any means and also looking to improve you credit score as well. Earnest pulls hard query from Experian, not a big deal but Earnest ONLY reports loan details/activity to Experian but DOES NOT report to TransUnion and Equifax, red flag for someone trying to improve their credit score at the end of the day as Earnest loan will not improve TransUnion and Equifax credit score.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Nov 14, 2016
Quick and Easy
Anonymous Borrower

Simple, audomated process.  The way credit application should be.  Got my money quickly. 

more ...
Nov 08, 2016
Easy automated process
Anonymous Borrower

I needed a short-term personal loan to cover transaction costs during a home sale—the application process was straight-forward and it was very easy to apply and have my loan funded within a few days of applying. An excellent option for anyone needing a short-term liquidity solution!

more ...
Oct 18, 2016
Got a small loan to finance a motorcycle
Anonymous Borrower

It was easy and got a quick response back. 

more ...
Oct 04, 2016
Do not report to credit bureaus
Thoussaint Borrower

The process was fairly easy and, they came back quick with an approval result. However, they never reported my on-time payments to the credit bureaus. In fact, the loan never even show up on my credit reports. 

more ...
Sep 18, 2016
Mileage may vary

You may get better terms from a credit union, but earnest seemed to have better terms than most other places. They sat on my application until I sent an email explaining why I needed the money, they they approved it and the funds were available quickly. Overall, I would rate them as a good option to pursue, but not necessarily the best

more ...
Sep 14, 2016
Easy application process
CdNPP Borrower

I have, twice, had small loans via Earnest.  I was able to pay the first one off earlier than expected but (due to unexpected medical bils) found myself needing another small loan some months later.  Each time, the application process has been straight forward and the staff easy to deal with and very responsive. Of course, they require details on your financial situation but that's normal when they're going to loan you money!   It was slightly more detaield the first time I took a loan, but the second time was simplicity itself.   The loan was quickly approved an in my bank account within days - at a lower rate than leaving the costs on my credit card.   I highly recommend Earnest.

more ...
Sep 07, 2016
Fantastic for Student Loan Refinancing
Anonymous Borrower

I love that you can explain why you are refinancing. I was able to explain my situation (first gen. college student who had no clue what I was doing when applying for my loan) and show them that I was aggresively paying it off and just wanted a lower interest rate. I also explained that the reason I wanted to refinance was to put the money I would save toward an emergency fund (although I already had one), retirement, and eventually a down payment for a home. They really want to help and you can tell. Love how you can link all of your accounts, it makes everything so easy!! I cut my payment in half and will save over 10k in interest. Earnest is awesome.

more ...
Sep 06, 2016
Life-Saving!
Anonymous Borrower

Very easy application process.  I tried SoFi and got denied instantly but came to Earnest and got approved in a couple days with minimal time invested.  The loan allowed me to payoff a personal loan that was charging 30% APY. I will save over $500 in interest.  Take the time to share your story and what you intend to use the money for.  I think that helped in my application.

more ...
Aug 23, 2016
Great Experience
Anonymous Borrower

Very thorough process, not for everybody.  They focus on different criteria that do not necessarily pop up in a credit report.  I saved a boatload, and it will make a huge difference for me going forward.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

**Annual Percentage Rates, terms of loan, and monthly payments presented are estimated and were created based on analysis of information provided by the consumer and available rate information from lenders. While efforts have been made to maintain accurate information, the loan information is presented without warranty and the estimated APR or other terms presented do not bind any lender. Lenders generally have a range of available APRs (for example, a lender’s range might be 2% to 12%) and only borrowers with excellent credit will qualify for the lowest rate available. Your actual APR will depend upon factors evaluated at the time of application, which may include credit score, loan amount, loan term, vehicle information, credit usage and history. All loans are subject to credit review and approval. Additionally, model year, loan-to-value, minimum loan balance mileage, income, debt, etc. restrictions may apply. When evaluating offers, please review the lender’s Terms and Conditions for additional details.