Wells Fargo Mortgage

2.1 out of 5 stars
9 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

1.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

May 20, 2015
Easy process. Could not be happier.
Rainer48 Borrower

Well, after reading reviews I must have been very lucky with my experience with Wells Fargo. I am a first time home buyer and the process could not have been easier. My loan officer and processor stayed in constant touch with me through phone calls and e mail. I honestly felt like the loan officer and processor were working for me on my behalf. After closing they both called me and e mailed me to thank me and to see how  Closing went and to say they hoped I enjoyed my new home. Based on my experience I would recommend them to anyone. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Aug 02, 2013
Most incompetent "bank" ever dealt with
Anonymous Borrower

Trying to close in a loan that was pre approved 2 months ago. This company full of incompetent employees specializes in making excuses. Closing funds were wired by me 5 days ago and sit in lawyers acct.. We have been assured we are closing the next day... now 5 days in a row. Faxxed numerous documents multiple times. Always a new excuse every day. I have extensive experience with loans and closings and all i can say is stay far away from wells farce. My wife and I each have credit ratings above 800 and these idiots already have 2 of my other mortgages. Stay far away!! Ill be happy to discuss with anyone

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Apr 12, 2017
I think it could have had a better rate.
Anonymous Borrower

They say you will get free checking while you have a loan with them,however it not all true

more ...
Jan 31, 2017
Underwriting is completely broken
Anonymous Borrower

Attempting to refinance existing 30 year with WF to a 15 year fixed.  Had to provide four years of all documentation for a loan that we have had with Wells for over 10 year.  Underwriting continuallty asking for additional documentation.

Unless you are a single borrower with only W-2 income look elsewhere.  Had to pay $800 to extend the rate lock, because Wells is unable to turnaround documentation.

more ...
Dec 16, 2016
Student Loan
Anonymous Borrower

I had student loans thru Wells fargo years ago. They were really good with working with me about payment options...also helped me to consolidate when i needed to. 

more ...
Sep 30, 2016
Terrible and Awful
Anonymous Borrower

My husband passed away suddenly. His name is on the mortgage loan, my name is on the deed and I'm listed as the one obliged to make the payment. I contacted WF to request that my name be put on the loan, either refinance or assume mortgage. I sent the death certificate and paper work. Call center mentality - I have spent hours on the phone with them trying to get something going, while I continue to make payments. I am now refinancing with another mortgage company (surprised?) and cannot get them to stop the automatic mortgage payments from my checking account. Told me tonight that is illegal and they can't do it. I guess they will owe me some $ after I sign the closing papers with the new company next week. Then I can take time to grieve.

more ...
Sep 28, 2016
World Savings/Wachovia//Wells Fargo
Anonymous Borrower

Wanted my house so took it ...

more ...
Jul 12, 2016
Home Mortgage
Anonymous Borrower

Options at closing were to pay monthly, 30 years - Bi-weekly 15 years- weekly 12-13 years to payoff.  After 7 years there is not way this will be paid off in 12-13.  We have paid weekly and this has been a joke. We had the options at closing and took the weekly to pay off early.  We were not given a opy of the plan, just the note we signed.  Wells Fargo has done nothign to rectify the situation.  Why would I pay weekly and let them hold my money.  They will not apply partial payments so if you come across the same situation, beware.  They do not apply anything but a full payment and they collect money on your money sitting there.  Crooks!!!! Reporte dthem to Attorney General Office and getting a lawyer.  Anybody else have this happen?  Action lawsuit sounds good to me!!!!

more ...
Jul 06, 2016
Worst experience in my life
laciejay Borrower

We applied for a conventional loan on a prebuilt manufactured home. The application process went great, applied we were credit approved, we signed tons of paperwork. That's when things went down hill. It took over almost a month to just get the appraisal done. After the appraisal finally came back approved, the bank said we could proceed to closing. We were told that we would close on July 8th. All of our paperwork was signed, all of the funds for the closing costs were in the bank and accounted for. Then friday morning, july 1st, the bank told us that we needed to have 3 months reserve in our account, so we got the money together within 2 hours and deposited it into the account. All was good with the bank, said we could proceed. Then 7pm friday night the bank calls us and says oops you need to have 6 months worth of reserve in your account. Mine you this is a holiday weekend. No bank is open after 7pm and our bank isn't open on saturdays or sundays, and was closed monday for the 4th. We faxed them all of the proof of the money and deposited it as soon as the bank opened on tuesday. We were told that as long as we had the money in the bank by tuesday morning, we could still close on the 8th like we had planned. The bank doesn't return voicemails, they don't answer phone calls or emails. I've made complaints with headquarters in Cali and no responses from them either. We have been working with this bank for 2 months already and still have no idea when closing is. Our seller has already extended our contract 3 times and will have to do so again this weeked as we will not be able to close by friday. This whole thing is a mess and I wish I had read reviews for wells fargo before we decided to get a loan through them. I'm much rather rent for the rest of my life than deal with these people ever again. My husband is transferring to another state for a job and he will have to start before we actually end up closing on the house and because our account is being monitored he won't be able to rent a place he will have to live out of his car until we can move. It's beyond ridiculous. 

more ...
Jun 23, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

I must have also been lucky. I was preparing myself for the worst possible outcome, but Wells Fargo came through and we closed on our house a day ahead of schedule. Carlos and Kelly in East Brunswick NJ were great.

Now, understand something - I over communicated every little detail and made sure my paperwork and financial situation was in order. My wife and I earn a good salary and generally have our ducks in a row. I played liason between all parties involved because I wanted things to go smoothly.

Be professional with your loan representatives and always be honest. I was and it really paid off. It truly was a rewarding experience.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations