Home Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Wells Fargo Mortgage

1.6 out of 5 stars
11 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

1.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Sep 30, 2016
Terrible and Awful
Anonymous Borrower

My husband passed away suddenly. His name is on the mortgage loan, my name is on the deed and I'm listed as the one obliged to make the payment. I contacted WF to request that my name be put on the loan, either refinance or assume mortgage. I sent the death certificate and paper work. Call center mentality - I have spent hours on the phone with them trying to get something going, while I continue to make payments. I am now refinancing with another mortgage company (surprised?) and cannot get them to stop the automatic mortgage payments from my checking account. Told me tonight that is illegal and they can't do it. I guess they will owe me some $ after I sign the closing papers with the new company next week. Then I can take time to grieve.

more ...
Sep 28, 2016
World Savings/Wachovia//Wells Fargo
Anonymous Borrower

Wanted my house so took it ...

more ...
Jul 12, 2016
Home Mortgage
Anonymous Borrower

Options at closing were to pay monthly, 30 years - Bi-weekly 15 years- weekly 12-13 years to payoff.  After 7 years there is not way this will be paid off in 12-13.  We have paid weekly and this has been a joke. We had the options at closing and took the weekly to pay off early.  We were not given a opy of the plan, just the note we signed.  Wells Fargo has done nothign to rectify the situation.  Why would I pay weekly and let them hold my money.  They will not apply partial payments so if you come across the same situation, beware.  They do not apply anything but a full payment and they collect money on your money sitting there.  Crooks!!!! Reporte dthem to Attorney General Office and getting a lawyer.  Anybody else have this happen?  Action lawsuit sounds good to me!!!!

more ...
Jul 06, 2016
Worst experience in my life
laciejay Borrower

We applied for a conventional loan on a prebuilt manufactured home. The application process went great, applied we were credit approved, we signed tons of paperwork. That's when things went down hill. It took over almost a month to just get the appraisal done. After the appraisal finally came back approved, the bank said we could proceed to closing. We were told that we would close on July 8th. All of our paperwork was signed, all of the funds for the closing costs were in the bank and accounted for. Then friday morning, july 1st, the bank told us that we needed to have 3 months reserve in our account, so we got the money together within 2 hours and deposited it into the account. All was good with the bank, said we could proceed. Then 7pm friday night the bank calls us and says oops you need to have 6 months worth of reserve in your account. Mine you this is a holiday weekend. No bank is open after 7pm and our bank isn't open on saturdays or sundays, and was closed monday for the 4th. We faxed them all of the proof of the money and deposited it as soon as the bank opened on tuesday. We were told that as long as we had the money in the bank by tuesday morning, we could still close on the 8th like we had planned. The bank doesn't return voicemails, they don't answer phone calls or emails. I've made complaints with headquarters in Cali and no responses from them either. We have been working with this bank for 2 months already and still have no idea when closing is. Our seller has already extended our contract 3 times and will have to do so again this weeked as we will not be able to close by friday. This whole thing is a mess and I wish I had read reviews for wells fargo before we decided to get a loan through them. I'm much rather rent for the rest of my life than deal with these people ever again. My husband is transferring to another state for a job and he will have to start before we actually end up closing on the house and because our account is being monitored he won't be able to rent a place he will have to live out of his car until we can move. It's beyond ridiculous. 

more ...
Jun 23, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

I must have also been lucky. I was preparing myself for the worst possible outcome, but Wells Fargo came through and we closed on our house a day ahead of schedule. Carlos and Kelly in East Brunswick NJ were great.

Now, understand something - I over communicated every little detail and made sure my paperwork and financial situation was in order. My wife and I earn a good salary and generally have our ducks in a row. I played liason between all parties involved because I wanted things to go smoothly.

Be professional with your loan representatives and always be honest. I was and it really paid off. It truly was a rewarding experience.

more ...
Apr 11, 2016
That ship has sailed.....
Anonymous Borrower

My mortgage was bought by WF about 5 years back. I finally decided to see what refinancing could do for me, so I put myself out there and started receiving calls about refinancing within minutes (literally, I had 5 calls in an hour, with the first one coming 5 minutes after I submitted the online form). None of these however, were WF! It wasn't until about a week later and after I had started the process with the company I went with that my "WF Mortgage Account Rep" decided to give me a call and see what they could do for me.  I had told them what I was getting, what I was looking for and this WF rep still wasn't able to give me accurate numbers on what they could do. It was bad enough that they didn't even contact me right away, it was worse that the numbers he quoted me weren't even accurate as the guy never dug into my account (who was with WF) to get real numbers on the payoff..

So after a few exchanges, I clearly made it clear to him that the "Ship has sailed" on WF's chance of getting my business.

Needless to say, I was amazed that at no point in the 5 years that WF ever bothered to contact me to discuss potentially refinancing to save money. I wouldn't use them for my  mortgage needs ever again, as they don't seem to really care about the borrower in any fashion.

more ...
Mar 08, 2016
Rental Property Loan
Anonymous Borrower

Wells Fargo Financial is the worst company to deal with. They have no contact numbers that you can contact after the fact.  They refuse to give me release of deed from 12 years ago. There customer service agents can't even begin to help you on follow up to old loans.  If you close a loan with Wells Fargo you will regret it for years to come.

more ...
Feb 13, 2016
refanced fw with wf
Anonymous Borrower

I sined to received to get back my ernest money and they kept it . told me tuff luck sue them. whatch out.

more ...
Jan 11, 2016
con into a home i can't afford
Anonymous Borrower

Now in foreclosure process waiting to be put out on street

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations