Home Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

U.S. Bank® Home Mortgage

1.2 out of 5 stars
19 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

1.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1 out of 5 stars

1 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Jan 05, 2017
Horrible Refinance
medicbone Borrower

I'm currently in the middle of refinancing my mortgage through the FHA Streamline Process. Since it has "Streamline" in the title you would think it would be simple. It has now been 50 DAYS since I started this process. I still get daily requests for documentation that is not required under the FHA Streamline process. It is amazing how little they know how to follow this program. I have submitted WAY MORE documentation than I'm required to submit. Lately the requests are for documents that have already been submitted because I "never sent them" (despite the fact that it's a continuous email thread and it's very clear that I've already sent them). At this point I've simply started sending sections of the FHA Single Family Housing Handbook highlighting the sections that show that they don't need the document they're asking for. Find ANY OTHER company for your financing/refinancing.

more ...
Dec 30, 2016
Nightmare
Anonymous Borrower

They pulled a bait and switch on me when we were well into the application process, splitting the mortgage into a first and second, with the second at a much higher interest rate. Worst experience ever. And they didn't even pay off the mortgage they were supposed to be refinancing, so I got double mortgage bills. When I called it to their attention, they tried to make me pay the new, higher payoff. 

more ...
Dec 14, 2016
Terrible Refinance Experience
KMB947 Borrower

We have had a home mortgage with US Bank for over 5 years (they bought our mortgage from another bank).  We called for refinancing and decided that it was a good time for us to refinance.  Without going into too much detail, we have excellent credit (over 800), the loan value is about 40% of the house value, and they have five years of good experience with us.  After 3 months of fulfilling requests for documentation, I finally realized that they were NEVER going to approve the refinance, and they were just dragging out the process.  The final straw was them asking me to hire a CPA to document my fraction of ownership in a very large, publicly traded partnership (Kinder Morgan).  They needed documentation that I did not own more than 25% of Kinder Morgan!  Any idiot can look up and see that this publicly traded partnership is worth something like 40 to 50 BILLION dollars.  If I owned anywhere near 25%, they should be thrilled to offer me a mortgage!!    I decided that I was NOT going to hire a CPA to keep complying with ridiculous documentation requests.  If we didn't qualify ... I doubt many people will.

more ...
Dec 07, 2016
Refinance
Anonymous Borrower

IThe refinance took 3 months to close.  The original loan was also with USBANK.  Escrow refund of almost $6,000 has not been refunded as of 34 days after closing the loan.  They only tell me that the "Check is in the mail."  You can decide for yourself based on this review if you want to do business with USBANK.

more ...
Dec 05, 2016
Refi gone wrong
Anonymous Borrower

Horrible experience! This loan too FOREVER! Never got calls back... They contract with crappy appraisers and I had to call for a week to get an answer regarding the status after a month from when our appraisal was done! 

I do not recommend this company at all!!! 

more ...
Nov 21, 2016
Worst Home Mortgage Company ever
Anonymous Borrower

I am a mortgage company with US Bank, unfortunately they bought my mortgage from an actual reputable Bank.   

They have tarnished my credit with reports of late payments.   It was suspected I had a terminal illness my doctors referred me to Mayo clinic and said they could nothing for me, it would be a good idea to start getting things in order.   I called US Bank before I was ever late on my payment - requested a simple one month deferral to get my affairs in order.  As a single mother, my first responsibility was to my children.  Do what I could to survive as long as I could and possibly put my assets and liabilities in order.

When I phoned explaining my situation i was cut off and told, "No we don't do deferred payments, you'll need to pay your bill".  I tried calling back to see if I could reach a human being, not a $7 an hour rude customer service person that loved being cruel to the customers of the huge bank she worked for.  This time, I got the nicest guy, he said, "All you have to do is don't pay your payment, call back and then we can assist you."   

While I was trying to make as many memories with my kids as I could, these were made near the hospital 6 hours from home, my thoughts were not on US Bank.

After several 3 months of surgeries and biopsies and running back and forth to the hospital 6 hours away.  I was told I was not going to die.  I was making my payments but a month behind while I tried to catch up.   It took 5 payments to finally catch up and hundreds of dollars in fees.   

I recommended banking elsewhere, avoid a mortgage with them and I'm not the only one that feels this way.   If we all stop using them they won't have anyone to mistreat.  

more ...
Nov 18, 2016
No Help
Anonymous Borrower

These people do nothing but waste your time.

more ...
Sep 23, 2016
The loan itself is fine.
Anonymous Borrower

The service we received with our mortgage loan officer was horrible. He would never answer or return phone calls. We had to get our realtor to step in just to reach the man for information. After we found the house we wanted to purchase, we sent him all the information he needed and waited to hear back for a ridiculous amount of time. Again, our realtor was the only person who could help us get answers. We closed on our home and 4 or so months later, I found out he was suppose to inform me of a platinum account I should have been eligible to switch to. This account would have also gave us a 1000 dollar credit for closing. Because I found this out after the fact and he decided to not let me know about this program, it was too late and no one at us bank could help me. My local branch manager tried to make the situation right and the higher ups wouldn't let her do anything. I received a letter in the mail explaining the credit was only valid if I had a platinum account at the time of closing. Well no ****... My loan officer didn't switch me over and that's why I am ****ed..... 

more ...
Aug 21, 2016
Rip off
Anonymous Borrower

US Bank is the worst mortgage company. If you ever get into financial trouble, it takes a year to process your appliation. They most likely will not even help you. They add on unexplained charges every month. They cannot explain anything to you. This si a dirty company. They are not on the up and up. It will take you longer than most all other mortgage companies to pay off your loan. As soon as you catch up, they will make up another absurd charge. Your escrow will not be distributed properly. DO NOT USE THIS BANK. HORRIBLE COMPANY. 

more ...
Aug 18, 2016
Liars .. liars.. Liars
Anonymous Borrower

Don't do business with them!
Set three closing dates, had everything they needed until the day before, then decided they didn't have an appraisal although it was being "reviewed" several occasions and had said so. It was also paid for by my credit company. I lost the house I wanted, was moved out of my former house by this date staying in a hotel, and now I'm homeless!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations