U.S. Bank® Home Mortgage Reviews

1.2 out of 5 stars
21 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

1.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1 out of 5 stars

1 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Sep 12, 2017
Fraudulent... google search them
Anonymous Borrower

Avoid like the plague

more ...
Jul 02, 2017
Terrible, Messy, ignorant
Anonymous Borrower

As a real estate agent, I usually have a few trusted lenders I recommend. When my client chose to work with his rep at US Bank for his mortgage (inatead of a great lender I suggested) based on a promise that seemed too good to be true, I was wary. I valled the lender and asked that they be 100% up front about every fee and step of their process. They were not, and ended up costung my clients hundreds of dollars and not being able to close on time. I jabe spent my last week cleaning up their messes to try to protect my client.

more ...
May 15, 2017
Terrible Experience!
Anonymous Borrower

To make a long story short, I was provided incorrect information which resulted in negative hits to my credit report.  I fell behind on one payment back in 2015 due to hospitalization.  When I called in to make payment arrangements, my mortgage assistant representative told me about a loan modification.  She basically told me that it could possibly lower my monthly payments and my interest rate (4% at the time).  It all sounded too good to be true.  I specially asked her if it would affect my credit and she told me NO and that at the end of the trial modification period, I could decline!  I value my credit and was very disappointed to learn what had happened.  Keep in mind that they had to cancel my auto pay in order to accept the trial period (trial payments had to be submitted via phone with mortgage representative).  

The trial period was for about 5 months and I followed the payment schedule exactly how it was outlined to me; even made the payments before the due dates.  When I started receiving notifications from my credit monitoring service about late payments, I was baffled.  I called in questioning the alerts and to my surprise, US Bank indeed reported several months of late payments (the months during the trial period).  I was informed that those trial payments were partial payments resulting in my account payments not being fulfilled.  At one point, a representative told me that there was over $1100k sitting out there waiting to be applied to my account.  I was furious, because I specifically asked if there were any risks in accepting the trial period.  At the end of the trial period, I did receive notice that my monthly payment had decreased over $200 and my interest rate came back as a little over 3%.  However, I declined the entire process and now I'm getting ready to sell my property.  I still feel that US Bank took advantage (despite my many attempts to provide my bank statements and notes from calling in) and refuses to remove the late payments from my credit.  They told me that their system does not acknowledge trial payments, only full payments.  If I had know all of this before I accepted the trial, I would not have this problem.  I had no problem continuing paying my mortgage as I only fell behind one month which I quickly caught up.  Shame on you US Bank!  I know now to do my research beforehand!  I asked them several times to go back and review the recorded phone calls and they did nothing!  The damage is done and I feel that I cannot trust US Bank.     

more ...
May 07, 2017
HORRIBLE
Anonymous Borrower

I filed bankruptcy in 2012 due to a stem transplant. I didnt reaffirm the mortgage base on lawyer's advice. Had to let the home go into foreclosure late last year due to I could not afford the upkeep of the home and still keep up with medical test that have been necessary. I chose to put my health first. I put thw home in short sale in Nov 2016. Today I got a lwttwr saying US bank will not approve the sale. Of course you wont...GOD FORBID YOU BE A COMPANY WITH INTEGRITY. YOU PEOPLE ARE THE REASON I TELL PEOPLE NEVER BUY A HOME...BECAUSE US BANK MAY BUY THE MORTGAGE FROM YOU ORIGNAL LENDER AND SCREW YOU OVER. I GUESS LUCKY FORE I NEVER REAFFIRMED WITH YOU CROOKS!!

more ...
May 04, 2017
Home Mortgage
Anonymous Borrower

Trying to remove our PMI. First person I spoke to told me to fax a request to remove PMI, so I did. When I called back to check on it weeks later they gave me a completely different answer and said I need to wait two weeks for them to even mail me a packet. Refused to expedite it. Mixed messages and horrible customer service. Also they short escrow every year.

more ...
Apr 12, 2017
Mortgage loan
Anonymous Borrower

US Bank mortgage loan servicing is very poor. The bank takes as much as 11 days to post a payment  and then imposes a late charge although the payment would have been received by its servicing center well within time to avoid the charge. 

more ...
Mar 20, 2017
Failed to pay Allstate from escrow
Anonymous Borrower

If you want to feel like a number bank with usbank

more ...
Mar 19, 2017
Great experience
Anonymous Borrower

I had great experiance working with my loan officer. She was able to keep me up to date on the status of our loan and always made themselves available to answer my question. I have no complaints

more ...
Mar 02, 2017
GIANT pain in the rear.
Anonymous Borrower

Go with a different bank. US Bank has been nothing but hassle. The call center is awful. Underwriters are awful. The whole process is awful. I'll never bank or borrow from US Bank.

more ...
Feb 14, 2017
Worst service I've ever had
Anonymous Borrower

Load agreements are fine, the servicer is terrible. Online routinely checks with random questions you fill out has harsh rules for password and locks you out after 3 tries. Paying online or over the phone costs 5 dollars or more

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations