Home Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Quicken Loans Reviews

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Loan Holder Ratings
4.5 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Feb 27, 2013
refinance
Anonymous Loan Holder

Day 1. We applied for a VA refinance with Quicken Loans and was told upfront which documents I would need to provide to begin the loan process.

Day 2. I sent by fax, all of the requested documents, plus a few that I felt to be necessary. And sent the required $400.00 security deposit for the appraisal.

Day 3. My online account was available and the documents sections showed complete. I was able to see the loan amount and interest rate(locked in). I was contacted by the person who would be handling the loan from this point on. He informed me of the loan agreement, which was spot on with what Christine had told me.

Day 5. An appraisal was scheduled.

Day 9. Appraisal was conducted. Though the appraisal came in at an average sale in the area amount(used for the loan purposes), it was still about 5,000.00 over the loan amount and the actual value was estimated at approximately 37,000.00 over loan amount.

Day 13. An in home closing was scheduled. And I was able to review the complete contract for the loan. The GFE(Good Faith Estimate) was exactly as described by Christine, my initial contact person. The estimate showed my pay off amount plus my escrow amount needed, which was added to the loan.

Day 17. I received by FEDEX, our complete loan packet which was very nicely put together along with a sealed packet. The sealed packet was stamped, "TO BE OPENED BY NOTARY ONLY", which was found at the closing, a mirror of my packet.

Day 19. The closing was completed in my own home by a very informative woman. She explained every document prior to signing, unlike our current (well known) mortgage bank whom charged us approximately $10,000.00 for conducting the loan. The woman conducting the closing stated that Quicken Loans is by far the best lender she has worked with.

Day 26. My current loan was paid off in full by Quicken Loans.

Day 28. I received $396.98 back from Quicken loans from my security deposit. And we are still waiting for our refund from our ex-mortgage lender.

Our complete experience with Quicken Loans was very fast and friendly. The only thing that was added to my loan amount was my escrow for taxes/insurance, which every lender needs. Quicken paid all closing cost and fees, other than the $3.02 which was applied to escrow from the initial $400.00 security deposit. Our payment is now $300.00 per month lower and we only owe the escrow amount more than we did with our other lender.

Also, my original loan along with my prior refi (both VA) required me to pay closing cost and points, Quicken Loans informed me that VA loans require the lender to pay these amounts at the current rate, 3.75%.

Thanks Quicken Loans!

Idaho resident.

more ...
 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Jan 08, 2013
Quicken loans unsatisfied customer
Anonymous

dont you even go with quicken loans . They will make you waste your time. They never put me in the home i was suppose to go in because they gave me a low ball appraisal my offer on the home was 168000. Quicken loans appraisal said the house was only worth $125000. After this happens they will put you on the phone with hermone barb who will convince you that the house is not worth what it is and try to make look for another home and he will ask you for $500(more money) for another appraisal. He did not even want to hear anything about appealing the appraisal. They were trying to give an interest rate of 4.75, with the new mortgage company i ended up get 3.25 big difference.  when i saw the comps they compared my 3 bed room house I was so upset. They compared them too a foreclosure home, a shortsale , the homes were only 1,2 bed room homes with 1 bathroom. When my house was a 3 bed room house with finished basement and 2 full baths. thank god for my lawyer who saw this and said it was wrong, thats what they are there for......I ended up having to go with a real mortgage company and repeat the process but it was worth it because we got the house!!!!!!... we were able to get a new appraisal because quicken loans didn't report it.  I wonder why, I'll tell you why because it was wrong and they knew it was wrong. Imagine how many people they get with this.....at the end of the day they got me for 1000. It was a lesson learned and will never make that mistake again. quicken loans is no good. 

more ...
 

Reviews (5357)

Add Review
Apr 29, 2016
Picked up where another company failed!
BitterrootBob Loan Holder

I started a home refinance with another company,after five weeks of run arounds and "Oh,we forgot the Underwriters need this too" I had had enough. I contacted Quicken loans and after speaking with them for five minutes decided to tell the other company to forget it. It took Quicken 17 days to close a loan that I had wasted five weeks on with the other co.I was told exactly what was needed,and their website and program made it 1000 times easier to get them any documents they needed.Communication was EXCELLENT too! No going for a week at a time wondering what was happening with my loan.It was the easiest loan/mortgage/refi process conducted by the best team of professionals I have ever experienced! I didn't mind paying their standard fees associated with a refinance ,Which were all rolled into the loan of course,as for a change I felt they truly earned it.When closing day came,they had a notary come to me, she was professional,informative and good to work with also. Overall,I can not recommend quicken loans enough! When it comes time to purchase another home there will be no questions as to who we will contact for our mortgage needs, Quicken has earned a customer for life! Bob from Montana

more ...
Apr 29, 2016
Painless
punchie48 Loan Holder

From someone who is a natural born skeptic, I am impressed!  The degree of professionalism, efficiency, and enthusiasim is not normally found in the business worls. To the team members, THANK YOU.  Quicken was very upfront with what documentation was involved and there was none of the "Oh and now we need this and this and now this"!  This was a refi from one of the major banks who completely ignored our request for a refi.  Quicken stepped up to the plate with a competetive 3.5% 20 year rate and from initial contact to closing was 26 days.  We couldn't be more pleased.

more ...
Apr 28, 2016
Anonymous Loan Holder

Quicken loans worked with me with my unique situation. I would like to personally thank them for their dedication during my refinance process

more ...
Apr 28, 2016
So easy!!!
Anonymous Loan Holder

This was the easiest re-fi I've ever done in my life.  Everyone at QL was so helpful and they knew exactly what they were talking about!  As long as your credit score is good and you can supply all the needed paperwork, there is nothing dificult about it.  I would highly recommend them.

more ...
Apr 28, 2016
Refinance
Anonymous Loan Holder

I had a wonderful experience with Quicken Loans during my refinance. The complete process was painless and customer service was a breeze. I was always updated on new things needed from me and they were all very informative and polite. Plus, I got a great deal! 100% happy! 

more ...
Apr 28, 2016
Refinance
Anonymous Loan Holder

It was seamless

more ...
Apr 27, 2016
Scam
gotripped Loan Holder

Took deposit then went thru process then told me I didn't own my free and clear house long enough. Appraised at double cash out refi. Kept deposit. LIARS AND CHEATS they knew how long I owned the home from the start. Attorney General next stop

more ...
Apr 27, 2016
Quick, easy, minimal frustation and crap
StLucieFl Loan Holder

They were with me all the way.  There was always someone there to talk to, and I had plenty of questions.  Everything went pretty much as they promised it would, and my mortgage was closed in the time frame that I had requested.  I was pleasantly surprised.

more ...
Apr 26, 2016
Refinanced 5% 30 Year to 3.625% 15 Year
stoopify Loan Holder

Very painless process.  If you have a scanner and know how to upload documents, Quicken Loans is your place to be.  Pretty much did everything online aside from a few questions that I needed answered.  Definitely will recommend Quicken Loans to my friends and family without hesitation.

more ...
Apr 25, 2016
Refinanced my primary residence!
Anonymous Loan Holder

I was refinancing my primary residence from a 30 yr to a 15 yr loan.

The process was easy and painless. Goes really smooth if one is providing all the documentation in a timely manner.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this loan overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations

Company Overview

Quicken Loans is America’s largest online mortgage lender. With more than 28 years of experience, they provide world-class client service, and it shows – 94% of clients say they would recommend them.

Quicken Loans offers products such as fixed and adjustable rate mortgages, FHA Loans and VA loans, and custom rate mortgages known as the YOURgage, where you can pick the term of the loan. Powerful online tools, like MyQL andMyQL Mobile, allow Quicken Loans to close the majority of their loans in 30days or less. Not only is Quicken Loans a client favorite, but they’ve been named in the top 10 of Fortune Magazine’s “100 Best Companies to Work For."

Headquartered in Detroit, Michigan, Quicken Loans is an Equal Housing Lender.