PNC Bank Mortgage Reviews

1.6 out of 5 stars
14 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

May 13, 2017
Forced to open a bank account
Anonymous Borrower

I've worked with PNC mortgage for almost 15 years. The original loan was bought and sold to PNC, but no issues there. It's just within the last few months where they are forcing their online users to open a bank account in order to check their mortgage information. How is that even legal? Basically, I can't access my mortgage information any longer unless I open a financial product with the company? Once again, how is that not a financial shakedown? All bank accounts are FDIC insured so there has got to be some government regulation going on here. Wells Fargo recently got into a lot of hot water because they were illegally and unethically opening bank products for customers. I really don't see how this is any different. I don't want a bank account, why should I be forced to open one?

more ...
May 13, 2017
Forced to open a bank account
Anonymous Borrower

I've worked with PNC mortgage for almost 15 years. The original loan was bought and sold to PNC, but no issues there. It's just within the last few months where they are forcing their online users to open a bank account in order to check their mortgage information. How is that even legal? Basically, I can't access my mortgage information any longer unless I open a financial product with the company? Once again, how is that not a financial shakedown? All bank accounts are FDIC insured so there has got to be some government regulation going on here. Wells Fargo recently got into a lot of hot water because they were illegally and unethically opening bank products for customers. I really don't see how this is any different. I don't want a bank account, why should I be forced to open one?

more ...
May 12, 2017
Mortgage sold to PNC
Anonymous Borrower

I have been in my home for over 14 years and over that time I have had 3 different mortgage companies.  All of these companies except payments whenever you want to pay, without any charge.  PNC says that if you don't have a checking account with them or you don't set up automatic payments that you have to pay $7 dollars everytime you make an electronic transfer each month.  $7 for what???  I pay all my bills early and online and I don't like automatic payments.  All my credit cards allow free online payments.  What would be the purpose of charging someone for something that is processed in the back ground exactly the same as an automatic payment.  These are exactly the same, except I can pay bills early if I want.  After reading the reviews I am now afraid this will be the least of my worries.

more ...
May 07, 2017
Home Loan Aquired by PNC
Anonymous Borrower

I cannot say enough bad things about this company. I purchased my home 4 years ago and it was smooth sailing for the first 3. August of 2016 my loan was purchased by PNC. Since then trying to make a payment has been a monthly debacle. I want to refinance just so that I don't have to deal with this co on a monthly basis!!

more ...
May 05, 2017
Bait and switch, and then some extras
Anonymous Borrower

This is by far our worst experience with mortgage lenders. Unprofessional from the start, no one knows what they are doing, they scrambled to put the mortgage together, back and forth with many people who didn't know what was going on, and finally had us close and sign up for a certain monthly payment. We asked repeatedly at the closing, if this payment included absolutely everything and the answer was a solid YES from PNC bank reps. A year later - surprise! -  an escrow shortage of 10K. After so many exhausting lengthy calls,  our monthly payment goes up a $1000, because  - oops! - bank "miscalculated" at the closing. Then, the bank messes up and doesn't pay town taxes for 2015, which they supposed to pay, so our property is slanted for foreclosure! Again, many lengthy calls on our part, to various bank and town officials, collecting papers, wasting our time, trying to prove things that we shouldn't even worry about, and going back and forth because everyone is pointing fingers. It's just a never ending nightmare. PNC MORTGAGE SUCKS. We will refinance at the first possible opportunity. DO NOT mortgage with PNC, please. Do yourself a favor. It's a mess you want to stay far, far away from. Our main mortgage is with Oritani, and what a pleasure! Such contrast with the mess that PNC mortgage is.

more ...
Jan 18, 2017
Please do not use PNC bank!!!!
Anonymous Borrower

I don't think there are enough words to describe what a horrific experience we have had and are still in the middle of. 

Applied for loan in Feb 2016. PNC loan officer called us back and spent hours talking about all our options. Ordered our home in Feb. Our home has been READY to move into since 9-15-16. TODAY IS 1-18-17 AND WE ARE STILL NOT IN OUR HOME. 

Left hand has no clue what right hand is doing. They will not call you back. Asking for paperwork we have already given them months ago. Now  we are having to sign documents that we have already signed because they have expired it has been so long. 

Please do not deal with these people!!!

more ...
Jan 17, 2017
I believe "Bait and Switch"
Anonymous Borrower

I believe the loan originator used an overwhelming amount of paper work to hide that PNC was changing the points on the deal.  Very near the closing he agreed to a change that partially restored the orginal deal, after I threatened to walk away.  However, the adjustment never made it to closing.  The was blamed on someone else.  I feel swindled out of ~$1200.  I will never deal with them again.

more ...
Nov 21, 2016
Awful
Anonymous Borrower

Rates were better than anywhere else so we decided to go with them.  We have our regular banking accounts through them. Total nightmare.  I had to give evidence of deposits into my account that clearly were direct deposts from my employer.  I asked to move up closing from 45 to 30.  I could get no respose from anyone when I emailed and called to move closing.  Finally when I got a hold of someone- they just sat on it til the 11th hour (2 weeks) and said- oopps we wont make that closing date bc it had to be to underwriting today...... Then we had seller pay part of closing costs and made us get a whole new apprasial and re go through underwrting.   Absolute nightmare!

more ...
Sep 29, 2016
Mortgage Loan they bought
Anonymous Borrower

They just bought my loan.  I am terrified so far.  Terrified.  There is nowhere to select additional principal, just an "Other" amount.  I see a hot button that says they apply additional funds received to full future payments before applying to additional principal.  So I call, and the guy tells me the opposite but I can hear in his voice a bit of insecurity.  He quickly adds "if it gets mis applied just call and we can change it for you."  I ask him why would I want to ever prepay future interest?  He was quiet.  I am literally terrified of working with this company.  The website has all the bell and wistles but if you are half way intelligent you can see it is set up to make you confused.  NOthing is easy.  They should really see how other companies are run, especially if they are going to buy mortgages from those companies.  It is appalling and terrifying experience so far.  I get vastly different answers from multiple different employees on topics ranging from escrow, prepayment, to simply making a payment.  One lady told me I would have to open a fake checking account to make payments to my mortgage online.  This company is literally terrifying.  STAY AWAY. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Nov 04, 2016

My loan was also just purchased by PNC Mortgage. I can't afford to have incompetent people not able to submit an extra amount beyond the minimum monthly payment to principal. I also can't afford for a payment to be considered late because a payment on autopay suddenly doesn't go through. I'm not sure what to do... I'm hoping though that perhaps I'll be able to pay my mortgage with a credit card...

 
Sep 27, 2016
I did a home equity line of credit.
French10 Borrower

I am self emplyed, need I say more. The was not a easy process, but after 2008,  and being a business has its challenges. It was a long process but nothing PNC did wrong. They were and helpful and patient. I do not love how banking is via email and voice mail, but times have changed, that would be my only dislike. but still happy, they helped me as much as I expected.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations