New Penn Financial- Mortgage Reviews

New Penn Financial- Mortgage Reviews
2.2 out of 5 stars
9 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Jul 13, 2020
Great customer service
Tabata111587 Borrower

Customer service rep was able to help me quickly and was extremely thorough. They take the guesswork out of an otherwise stressful process, and it means a lot to be treated like a person instead of just another number on a page. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Dec 03, 2019
NewRez is delaying to remove PMI
NewRezSux Borrower

NewRez is delaying to remove PMI from my mortgage after I fulfilled all requirements. They will make you jump through all kinds of hoops and delay, delay, delay. Started the process in October.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Jul 13, 2020
Great customer service

Customer service rep was able to help me quickly and was extremely thorough. They take the guesswork out of an otherwise stressful process, and it means a lot to be treated like a person instead of just another number on a page. 

more ...
Jul 09, 2020
Mortgage
Saeb313 Borrower

The customer service agent was great, shockingly did not have a long hold time -- pulled up account quickly and answered questions I could not find on the website. When it comes to loans, a friendly voice is important to me.  

more ...
Jun 18, 2020
Run far, FAR away from this company
sans3go Borrower

It's impossible for me to express how poorly run this company is. I am reporting this company for mortgage fraud after months of patience, trying to work with them, and having them fraudulently draft money that wasn't owed from my account, lying to me, and making changes to my account without my authorization or knowledge. Stay as far away from this company as you can. Even 0 stars would be far too generous. I would give the strongest negative rating I could if possible.

In the middle of a pandemic/recession, with my wife out of a job and my tenant unable to pay rent, this company has repeatedly screwed us over to the tune of thousands of dollars. My issues have not been resolved despite countless emails and hours on the phone. Luckily, I am in a situation where I will be fine financially, but I am worried for other consumers who are on more of shoestring budget or not as financially literate as I am.

more ...
Jun 18, 2020
Run far, FAR away from this company
sans3go Borrower

It's impossible for me to express how poorly run this company is. I am reporting this company for mortgage fraud after months of patience, trying to work with them, and having them fraudulently draft money that wasn't owed from my account, lying to me, and making changes to my account without my authorization or knowledge. Stay as far away from this company as you can. Even 0 stars would be far too generous. I would give the strongest negative rating I could if possible.

In the middle of a pandemic/recession, with my wife out of a job and my tenant unable to pay rent, this company has repeatedly screwed us over to the tune of thousands of dollars. My issues have not been resolved despite countless emails and hours on the phone. Luckily, I am in a situation where I will be fine financially, but I am worried for other consumers who are on more of shoestring budget or not as financially literate as I am.

more ...
Apr 15, 2020
Mortgage servicing issues continue
Hopkins991 Borrower

They refuse to repay tax penalties paid, claiming that I am at fault. As the servicer, it is their responsibility to pay my taxes on time. They did not do that. They refuse to acknowledge that they paid late, and refuse to discuss the issue with me. Their customer service people are empathetic, many of them telling me that I am absolutely correct in that NewRez by policy should reimburse me the penalties, but they are not given the ability to do anything but refer me to people in the background who will not converse with me, only rule that it is my fault. 15 phone calls to two individuals (number given to me in the email to me) were no answered, and the 15 requests for callback were ignored. 

Their website says, "NewRez is committed to working with each of our customers to provide the highest level of service possible". They don't do that. They paid my taxes late, incurred penalties which they charged to me, and refuse to correct it, or even discuss it with me. 

Horrible experience. When I get the info for contacting their CEO, I will let him know how bad his service is, and will give him names of all of the people that I have had contact with who have not resolved this issue. 

more ...
Apr 09, 2020
Rayzor48 Borrower

They wont give you help with the your loan. They will say they will give you a break for three months but on the fourth month you owe it all.. How does this help? Most banks are putting it on the end of the loan. I am very very dissapointed with NewRez.

more ...
Mar 30, 2020
They are slow but they care.
zintli12 Borrower

They are slow making decisions but they do look out for you and mean the best for your situation.

more ...
Dec 03, 2019
NewRez is delaying to remove PMI
NewRezSux Borrower

NewRez is delaying to remove PMI from my mortgage after I fulfilled all requirements. They will make you jump through all kinds of hoops and delay, delay, delay. Started the process in October.

more ...
Oct 16, 2019
Horrendous
BobbyElvis Borrower

My mortgage was sold to this company last year.  They failed to pay my property taxes even though I have an escrow and it took me over two months to get them to pay.  I notice this year that the amount they say they are going to pay and the amount that my Tax Commissioner says is due is a different number.  I have been trying for a week to get someone to provide some assistance to no avail.  I have also been trying to refi my mortgage with them since July!  They keep putting things off, made me get an septic inspection that I didn't need and as I paid out of pocket for it, are not willing to reimburse.  They came up with some claim against my property that we have never heard of and have been "looking into it" for three months with very little to no follow up with us or response to any emails or phone messages.  I cannot express to you to "run away further" from this company.  I am seriously looking to refi with another company just to get away from these people.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations