Home Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Capital One 360 - Mortgage

2.4 out of 5 stars
5 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year


Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2.5 5

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Aug 24, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

Got the job done on time. They do procastinate till the very last minute, so was a bit nervewracking. 

more ...
Aug 11, 2016
Terrible underwriting and condo team
Anonymous Borrower

The underwriting team definitely does not have their act together. We are going through the 4th extension because they can't review the documents fast enough (apparently the condo review team takes their time). They also has asked us to provide proof of income on certain funds at least 5 times (meaning that they got it 5 times too). When you ask them for status, the answer is usually: "I don't know, that is department x who is handling that". It is a total waste. 

more ...

Was this review helpful?

1 Reply
Aug 18, 2016

Have you ever thought about trying imortgage?

May 24, 2016
Not bad...all banks are the same.
Happyin2015 Borrower

Facts: Conventional refinance @3.0% for 15 years -FICO 690 – Past BK 7 (over 4 years since discharge) – past 4 years of solid credit – single title holder – one mortgage lien – private lender (not on credit report) – 100K annual salary – 41% loan to value ratio – 57% income to debt ratio (with current mortgage) – no missed payments – didn’t take any equity with refinance.


Closed in 40 Days/Mortgage HUB (uploading & digitally signing documents)/Once my current payment history, salary, and appraisal were verified, everything went fast.


Was waiting for them to ask and verify blood type. Get ready to verify things you wouldn’t think matter. In their defense, all banks are doing it/tough to get a hold of your load specialist. I don’t think they returned one phone call – a little frustrating when you had a question. However, once my appraisal came in and my employment & salary were verified, the emails started flying/The HUB upload website does not explain why a document was rejected, which correlates with not being able to verbally communicate with your loan specialist. If CapitalOne correct that, it wouldn’t be so bad.

Overall, I’m satisfied with getting a 3.0% mortgage with a past BK. Not the simplest process, but it got done,  and the final disclosure did not vary much from their initial offer/closing cost (it was actually a little cheaper than stated). Plus I received 100,000 points on my CapitalOne credit card.

more ...
Mar 24, 2016
They want me to do their job for them
mrsaxde Borrower

Our loan was originally with ING. Let me tell you, there was no better bank to deal with than ING. Then they sold their home loans and banking products to Capital One. Now, other than the fact that Capital One does some things like refinances in a way that is more typical of most banks than the easy, customer friendly way ING did it, I still had no issues with them. Then came Friday, March 18, 2016.

There was a letter from Capital One in the mail. I figured it was spam, but when I opened it I discovered it was a notice that a homeowners association had filed a lien against my property for non-payment of HOA dues. Here's the problem: my HOA dues are current, and the HOA referenced in the letter was not our association. So I called Capital One. They told me that I should get a statement from my HOA that my dues were current and send it to them. I said I would, but then I started thinking "What good would that do? They obviously have me confused with somebody else, and sending them a letter isn't going to make that lien go away, because they will still see it."

So I went to our county recorder of deeds site, and discovered that there is a lien, by another HOA, on another property on the other side of the county from mine. The only things about that property and mine that are remotely similar are that my name and that owner's name are the same. His wife's name is totally different from mine, the property address is totally different, and the tax ID number is totally different. It looks like some Capital One employee did a records search, found the name match, and never investigated any further. Then I get a letter telling me that if I don't get it resolved, and prove to them that it was resolved, by April 14, they may pay the debt and apply the cost to my mortgage.

I faxed them copies of the lien on the other property, which I paid to view, along with other documents proving that they had made a mistake, and a letter indicating my anger. I requested a phone call, email, some sort of reply. As of today, still nothing.

As soon as possible I will remove all my money from my Capital One accounts and pay off my mortgage. They have lost a customer. I would avoid this company like the plague.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

1 Reply
Oct 15, 2016


You made yourself look like a moron who is ignorant and incompetent causing any part of your side of the story lose all credibility...

Nice job

Dec 22, 2015
Overall not terrible experience
akydaky Borrower

I just closed a refinance with Capital One, and overall the process went smoothly.  Understand, I did my homework first and knew what I was looking to achieve.  You don't have to have a degree in finance (which I do), but you can't walk in blind.  My credit score came out in the mid 660's.  I was refinancing to rid myself of another 8 years of FHA MPI.  While most calculators show it would take 7 years to break even on the refi, none take into account the cost of mortgage insurance.   I will break even in less than a year.

I responded to a promotional offer of a $1,00.00 discount in fees.  Spoke to an originator who handed me off to team 5 for the grunt work.  Everything was submitted online, and anything they asked for was submitted promptly.  I (and they) stayed in contact via telephone and email frequently.  Initial date of application was 10/2/15 and we closed on 12/7/15.   I wished it had closed a little quicker, but overall I was pretty satisfied.  I received a free 7 day rate extension due to their delay in getting the loan closed sooner.

DO YOUR HOMEWORK FIRST!  Don't bitch and moan later, if you don't like it tell them no.  The market is fairly competitive.

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations