Home Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Dovenmuehle Mortgage, Inc.

2.2 out of 5 stars
11 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

2 out of 5 stars

2 5
Collapse

Most Helpful Positive Review

Mar 13, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

Good and knowledgeable customer service.

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

Most Helpful Negative Review

Apr 15, 2016
Horrible Company
Anonymous Borrower

My mortgage was bought by this company.  The online payment is slow.  I pay my mortgage online on time and they continue to charge me late fees

Customer service is horrible.  

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Jan 27, 2017
Dovenmuehle bought Mortgage Loan
Anonymous Borrower

My previous mortgage loan was purchased by Dovenmuehle in July 2016.  I was petrified and expected the worst since all of the reviews of this company are pretty scary/awful.  I have to say, so far everything has been perfectly fine.  I always pay on time through my personal banks online bill pay service, not the Dovenmuehle service.  My bank sends the electronic payment on the 26th of every month, and I see that Dovenmuehle always receives and posts the payment to my account within 24 hours.  So far, so good!

more ...
Dec 19, 2016
Mortgage
Anonymous Borrower

Worst mortgage company I have used in 30 years. Wouldn't recommend to people I dislike.

more ...
Nov 29, 2016
Home mortgage
Anonymous Borrower

They are doubling or tax payment to the escrow and while I'm disputing (trying to correct their records) they charge late fees on false charges. I will be seeking legal help to get them to correct their paper work.

more ...
Nov 19, 2016
Mortgage loan
Anonymous Borrower

They have no customer service skills whatsoever and do not help homeowners with escrow problems or questions. All they want is the money on time and do not care about the homeowners of the loans they service. 

more ...
Nov 10, 2016
Been one year....no problems
wakfarm Borrower

No problems....no issues

more ...
Oct 19, 2016
Worst company I've ever dealt with!!!
Anonymous Borrower

Our mortgage was sold to Dovenmuehle so I had no choice. They lost my first payment, wouldn't change my mailing address and wouldn't send me a payoff statement when I want nothing more to do with them. I've spent literally hours on the phone with them trying to resolve issues and we were only sold to them in June of this year. To get my mailing address changed, I wrote them in August, faxed them, emailed three times and spoke to quite a few customer service reps and supervisors. It was finally changed today when I got a rep who was willing to go look for it and change it. She found the written notice from August! Doesn't anyone do their jobs anymore? Obviously not this company. Steer clear of this company if you can!!!

more ...
Sep 29, 2016
Efficient, secure, and no hassles

I originally got my loan through Banc of California, of which Dovenmeuhle is a subsidary. So far, everything has been up-front, with no surprises. Our originator and closer were the same person, she was local, and she guided us through everything we needed - often going above and beyond to make the process as painless as possible. Post-closing, the web interface allows you to not only make the mortgage payment, but to put extra down on the principle (as a separate line item), as well as add money to escrow (if you know your property taxes went up), as well as set up recurring automatic payments if you want them. I also like the fact that if you forgot a username or password, the process is very secure (better than Bank of America, truth be told), to prevent ID theft. The only dig I can think of was a minor mailing address issue.

more ...
Aug 01, 2016
RUN!
cgibso21 Borrower

My mortgage company just sold my loan to Dovenmuehle Mortgage. I am already planning to refinance after my first experience with them. The hold time was insane to reach a customer service rep. They want me to make a payment but cannot locate my loan in the system - not going to happen. The customer service rep was rude. I will be checking into refinancing ASAP to avoid this company.

more ...
May 03, 2016
In business since 1844--HOW?
bearships64 Borrower

Dovenmuehle/Matrix purchased my loan from the local bank. It took over 6 years for them to record my married name. I have been fighting with them since 2009 to remove additional fees charged to account, which were paid for. The different departments within their company do not communicate. A letter will have a postmark date upto a week after the letter was originated. If you make two payments within one check, the posting of those payments will have different dates. Their bookkeeping department does not know how to post transactions to an account, therefore their are always corrections to my account.

This company makes it very hard to get another mortgage company to take over the loan. It should be illegal to buy a loan without the borrowers permission. I went to a local bank because I wanted my money to benefit the local economy. I felt betrayed by my bank, therefore I closed my accounts with them and went across the street to another bank.

more ...
Apr 15, 2016
Horrible Company
Anonymous Borrower

My mortgage was bought by this company.  The online payment is slow.  I pay my mortgage online on time and they continue to charge me late fees

Customer service is horrible.  

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations