Home Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure


Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Borrower Ratings
1.5 5

Most Helpful Positive Review

Sep 10, 2012

acc. paid in full 

more ...

Most Helpful Negative Review

Sep 16, 2013
Worst place to deal with!
Anonymous Borrower

They are the worst company to deal with.  They mislead you on EVERYTHING!  Trying to get anyone to help you is impossible. 

more ...

Reviews (64)

Add Review
Oct 10, 2016

I represent a buyer who applied for a loan at Citibank and as a real estate professional with many years of experience I must say that I have never seen a worse level of service and professionalism.

more ...
Jul 28, 2016
Refi Nightmare
Anonymous Borrower

Everything was terrible...stay away from this company!!!

more ...
Jun 18, 2016
Rate hike days before closing!
rhapsodyartist Borrower

After an initially delightful and responsive initial period, Citibank reneged on their written promises and confirmations. I will never get a loan from Citibank nor would I ever recommend getting a mortgage loan from them.

Earlier this year, we found a condo that we fell in love with and made an offer. After getting our mortgage shopping done, we chose Citibank because they offered us an initial rate of 3.375%, which was fantastical and better than the rate we could get at our own bank. Signing a contract for 90 days after getting our pre-approval, we were ready to close and move in.

From the moment underwriting began, it became a nightmare. The amount of documentation required kept ballooning again and again with each time the lender assuring us that we were complete. After weeks of this, Citibank's attorneys then caused even more delays, which my attorney fixed in fifteen minutes of writing an indemnification letter. At this point, our purchase agreement had long since expired, and it was only by the kindness of the sellers that we were able to keep our considerable escrow deposit.

I had multiple written assurances from the bank that the rate would be locked in at 3.375%. With underwriting complete, we set a close date. Just a week and a half before the close of the property, we received an email from Citibank a day after they had confirmed our original interest rate that they were going to hike the interest up to 3.5%. They did this because they had to pull my credit report again causing my score to drop. This hard inquiry was completed WITHOUT my permission and WITHOUT notice.

After several days of protestations, I spoke with the VP of lending at the bank, who said there was nothing he could do. I could either pay thousands of more dollars in discount points or risk losing my tens of thousands of dollars in escrow by going to another lender. This was simply extortion. I was left with literally no acceptable options. We reluctantly agreed to pay the discount points and closed just days later, but I will never get a loan or recommend Citibank for another mortgage. They do NOT keep their written word or deal in good faith.

Do NOT get your mortgage loan from Citibank.

more ...
Jun 14, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

Look elswhere if you expect good service.

more ...
May 12, 2016
Horrible Experience with Home Mortgage

I chose Citi Bank for my home mortgage, and I thought that they would have the resources in place to execute the loan in a professional and timely manner. However, this couldn't have been further from the truth. Citi Bank had one month to put together my loan, however, they choose the wait the absolute last minute. They sent the closing documents 2 hours before the legal deadline without any time for me to ask questions and review. Then they told me that we could not close on the pre-scheduled closing date because the document that was sent last minute was not signed before 12am. To make matters worse, the day of the closing, they never sent over the necessary paperwork over to the title company! Completely unprofessional and dysfunctional. It is very rare that I leave reviews, but when a company drops the ball so many times I feel compelled to. 

more ...
Apr 11, 2016
Still haven't closed one month later

My closing date was set 1 month ago. We are on our 4th extension and I'm about to lose the house. I don't know if the seller's are willing to sign a 4th extension. I have tried all I can to talk to the loan officer and processer and they keep lying about what is needed and the closing date. They are extremely negligent! Don't go with Citibank!

more ...
Mar 14, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

I wasted 10 weeks on these people and I am no further along now that I was back in December.  The most frustrating experience I have ever had with any type of credit application or loan of any kind!

more ...
Feb 24, 2016
Terrible experience - Never go for it.

They take forever, never want to close a loan, pathetic in their responses and require contonuous follow-up, and in the end never stick to their words.

My humble advice - Never go with Citi for any mortgage.

more ...
Jan 15, 2016
Terrible Company; Non-Responsive
Anonymous Borrower

I've had the unfortunate experience of having to deal with this company while handling the probate of a deceased relative. They mistakenly disbursed from a non-escrow loan for taxes that were already paid; assessed a 10% fee for it; charge a monthly fee for it; placed an escrow on the account increasing payment $700 per month for THEIR mistake; require full payment of the incorrect escrow while they "research" the mistaken payment - for which they've received a refund already, earning interest on my dollars. DISGRACEFUL.

I will NEVER do business with any Citi- related company and have stopped using any credit cards with the Citi logo. Stay FAR away with this company at all costs!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this loan overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this loan?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations