Home Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Champion Mortgage

1.0 out of 5 stars
7 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

1.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1 out of 5 stars

1 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Jul 28, 2016
WTF
Anonymous Borrower

My mother recently passed away and held a reverse mortgage through Champion.  I am now left with the mess of a lifetime, as if grieving her loss alone isn't bad enough.  I liken speaking to the "account representatives" as speaking to a group of mentally challenged deaf 5 year olds hailing from the backwoods of Georgia.  Every time I call I am given a different phone number to call, a different extension, a different person.  No one seems to know anything and I provided with a plethora of conflicting information depending on who I am speaking to.  I'm told to fax specific documentation over, which I do.  Then I'm told they've never received it.  My mother put through a request for funds shortly before she passed which was intended to cover her end of life care (ie. significant medical expenses), funeral expenses and additional money to prepare her house for sale.  This request was sent over BEFORE she passed, along with a copy of our Power of Attorney.  When I called to check on the status, I was told the POA was received, but not the request for funds.  Interesting.  The request for funds was the very first page, apparently only the 30 page POA made it through though.  I just had to hang up the phone now as I started experiencing chest pains and felt as though I may throw my phone through a window.  I decided it best to revisit the phone calls tomorrow.  So what happens if I sell the house and don't give them their money?  Do they want to talk to me then??

more ...

Was this review helpful?

 
1 Reply
Sep 29, 2016

Unfortunately you wont have the option of not paying them. Your Mothers house already has a lien on it and the lien must be paid before any sale can go through. I just went through this with them on my mothers home. They will take forever to get you a payoff amount and delay the sale as long as possible in the hopes that they can yank the property away from you and sell it themselves.

 
May 24, 2016
BAD
Anonymous Borrower

This company had the loan on my house, they repossesed it and when I got another house with no loan they came after it too.

The second home had been my sisters but as soon as I put it in my name this company came after it too.

more ...
May 21, 2016
Corrupt, incompetent and lazy
jdgs007 Borrower

don't even want to give them one star, they are THAT bad.  I've been hoping there was a class action lawsuit I could join, but so far nothing.  They need to be sued, they deserve to be sued, and their employees deserve to be working at McDonalds.  Liars, theives and crooks just about covers it.  I have experienced the same as all the others commenting here and worse.  They foreclosed on us twice in one year.  The first time it was an "accident".  Oops. They foreclosed, they sold the house without notifying us, and they bought it themselves.  By some act of God they returned it to us but I'll be ****ed if they didn't change the deed back to our name.  Can't do business without a deed!  We are now addressing this second foreclosure.  Keep Your Home California was helping us stay in the house, but Champion couldn't be bothered to take care of their end of business in a timely manner so they ruined it for us.  Sale date will likely be next month.  Also, KYHC told me that Champion was famous for "losing checks".  They've lost their mind is what they've lost.  I would do anything  to be in a position to sue them, anything.  Money talks though and they are the ones who have it.  Praying on the elderly.  They must be so proud.

more ...
May 21, 2016
Corrupt and incompetent
jdgs007 Borrower

I don't even want to give them one star, they are THAT bad.  I've been hoping there was a class action lawsuit I could join, but so far nothing.  They need to be sued, they deserve to be sued, and their employees deserve to be working at McDonalds.  Liars, theives and crooks just about covers it.  I have experienced the same as all the others commenting here and worse.  They foreclosed on  us twice in one year.  The first time it was an "accident".  Oops. They foreclosed, they sold the house without notifying us, and they bought it themselves.  By some act of God they returned it to us but I'll be ****ed if they didn't change the deed back to our name.  Can't do business without a deed!  We are now addressing this second foreclosure.  Keep Your Home California was helping us stay in the house, but Champion couldn't be bothered to take care of their end of business in a timely manner so they ruined it for us.  Sale date will likely be next month.  Also, KYHC told me that Champion was famous for "losing checks".  They've lost their mind is what they've lost.  I would do anything  to be in a position to sue them, anything.  Money talks though and they are the ones who have it.  Praying on the elderly.  They must be so proud.

more ...
Feb 22, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

Do not let your family members get involved in a reverse mortgage!  One reason is because you'll wind up having your loan sold to a criminal company like Champion Mortgage.  They doubled the amount my Dad owed, and when he died without a will, they did not give us an extension to work on probating the will.  They are only interested in foreclosing.  It's hard to believe our government lets companies like this prey on seniors.

more ...
Jan 27, 2016
confusing
Anonymous Borrower

No communication,even though the money is here they refuse to do business with us and and are attempting to evict two u.s. army vets who will be homeless...

more ...
Dec 08, 2015
Reverse Mortgage
Anonymous Borrower

I would never recommend any type of loan from this company  Got two different stories from two different customer service reps less than 2 weeks apart and when I asked to speak to his manager/supervisor he told me it wasn't that kind of issue.  their Customer Service stinks

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations