Home Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

BB&T Mortgage

1.5 out of 5 stars
13 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

2 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Nov 15, 2016
BB&T Mortgage Process
Anonymous Borrower

We have been BB&T customers for over 7 years.  We have sufficient assets and income to support the mortgage.  BB&T was poorly organized, provided contradictory information, could not find the copies of documents I uploaded to their server.  First, they can find the documents.  Then, they can't, etc.  We have had to push the date to close three times.  I would never use BB&T again.  I plan to close my accounts as soon as we close.  In my opinion, BB&T is an Awful, awful financial institution --in my opinion.

more ...
Nov 09, 2016
The worst refi experience ever!
Anonymous Borrower

I have been a customer with them since 1995. Got a mortgage in 2006. Went in to refi and it took 6 months! You better believe what you are reading from poor communication to asking for docs you previously provided.  

more ...
Oct 13, 2016
Dealing with idiots!
Anonymous Borrower

The people in the Greensboro, NC mortgage office know less about mortgages than a grade school child!  I've been in real estate lending for over a decade and was shocked by the lack of basic lending knowledge by 2 different loan counselers.  AVOID!

more ...
Aug 23, 2016
BB&T VA Loan---- DON"T DO IT!!!!!!
Anonymous Borrower

DO NOT DO IT!!!!!!!

more ...
Jun 17, 2016
Mortgage
Anonymous Borrower

I had a bi-weekly payment set up with Susquehanna Bank before BB&T took over. Didn't notice that it till I was behind on my payments. They charged twice the amount of the payment as late charges. Which caused you to be behind on your payments. I DO NOT recommend this bank to anyone that is looking for a Mortgage.

more ...
Jun 17, 2016
No Easy Way To Make Payments

I tried to set-up a bi-weekly payment and wasn't able to do that through their online site so I called the mortgage customer service line. When I asked if I could just make an online bi-weekly payment through a one-time payment they weren't able to answer that question and transferred me to another department. I waited on hold for 15 minutes and when I asked the person the same question they told me they weren't able to answer it and were going to transfer me back over to the department I just came from. Through my own research i found that BB&T only gives you the option to pay your mortgage payment in full each month or apply an additional payment to principal. There is no way I can make half of my mortgage payment every two weeks online if I don't have an account with them. Their online bill pay system is dated and not clear and their customer service is rude and unknowledgeable. I should have went to Bank of America for my mortgage because they provide better customer service and options for their mortgage customers. I will never do any other type of business with BB&T.

more ...
Jun 07, 2016
Worst Loan Experience EVER
Anonymous Borrower

My loan was approved, but after being a BB&T customer for over 32 years, they still treated me like ****.  Now get this, I signed my Loan Disclousure on the Hood of my Car after Banking Hours and the Loan Officer was in his Shorts.  So un-professional.  ----  I will never apply for another BB&T Loan.  

more ...
Apr 21, 2016
My lender sold our mortgage to BBT.
elccurry Borrower

We call periodically for balances, tax info, etc. Never had a delay in getting our questions answered. Escrow statements come in a timely manner with the choice to pay any shortages or to increase our payment. Credit reported info is accurate.

more ...
Apr 18, 2016
Refinance of Primary Home
Anonymous Borrower

I went to B B and T because they ranked very home with J D Powers.  I used a bank in eastern Maryland.  I was the worst financial experience of my life!  I have over 660K in my retirement account, make over 250K per year and have never been late on the mortgage payments for the three houses that I have.

I was treated like a criminal.  The invasiveness of the questions that were asked and the redundancy was shocking.  I have bought a flipped homes for around 20 years and have never been through anything so intrusive.  They even contacted the IRS!  Whatever you do, don't use BB and T for your mortgage

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations