Better Mortgage

Reviews: Better Mortgage

Reviews: Better Mortgage

Better Mortgage

NMLS ID# 330511


7

Years in the industry

$27B

Total funded loans

Information is provided by the mortgage lender.


Overall lender rating

4.0
out of 5
324 reviews
from Credit Karma members

Most helpful positive review

Aug 13, 2020
Best experience ever for financing

Refinanced my primary residence mortgage. They have the best tools and someone responds in person if required.

12
8
0

Most helpful negative review

Apr 14, 2021
No flexibility

I think they just have a generic flaw of having zero flexibility. It would have been fine but they made a massive issue out of nothing and were unable to do anything about it. We were approved but then unable to close because they needed a very specific statement regarding student loans that were unavailable due to covid. We sent screenshots showing that what they were requesting didn't exist. For perspective, the student loans amounted to less than 10% of the mortgage, and less than 3% of our liquid net worth, and we both have 800 credit scores. We provided statements showing the loan balances and what was being paid on them. Somehow it wasn't exactly what was needed and the whole thing just fell apart because of it. Very frustrating that they did nothing to work around it, given how minor the discrepancy was.

36
3
2

We don’t have rates available from Better Mortgage.

Average rates from other lenders

Refinance rates

Average home details

Credit score: 720–739 • Refinance • Primary residence • ZIP: 77009 • Loan balance: $230,000 • Est. home value: $287,500

Edit

We didn’t find rates for you right now. See what would happen if something changes.

Explore refinance calculator

Purchase rates

Average home details

Credit score: 720–739 • Purchase • Primary residence • ZIP: 77009 • Price: $300,000 • Down payment: 20%

Edit

We didn’t find rates for you right now. See what would happen if something changes.

Explore buying power simulator

All reviews (324)

195
46
16
14
53
Jul 26, 2021
Great rates and great online process!

Had a great experience with Better Mortgage. We applied for 6 lenders and Better was open to beating any offer we got from another lender. We got a great rate on our 15 year financed. Their online portal for applying and supplying the required documents was awesome. We closed in about 3 weeks from initial application!

0
0
0

Jul 24, 2021
Quick and painless refinance

The process to refinance was simple, efficient, and painless. We were able to close within three weeks of initiating the refinance process.

0
0
0

Jul 24, 2021
Better Mortgage Does it Better

Very clear process with streamlined data capture and communication. Offered the most competitive rates.

0
0
0

Jul 24, 2021
Fast online process

Super fast and friendly process. Easy to submit documentation online

0
0
0

Jul 23, 2021
Better is Best

Extremely pleased with the professionalism, follow through, and most of all the web site. I was able to look at multiple scenarios for a week before selecting the one that worked best for me. Usually getting a mortgage is like dealing with a used car dealer. Not these guys. Top notch, no haggling, straight and clear numbers to compare.

0
0
0

Jul 23, 2021
Easy

Everything was as advertised and promised. Easy on-line process. Great communications during the process.

0
0
0

Jul 22, 2021
Easy to use online process

Great rate and was able to do the entire process online with minimal phone conversations.

0
0
0

Jul 21, 2021
Terrible experience

Worst experience in my life I wouldn't Recommend them they do not live up to the name "better loans" at all they are very difficult to work with and do not follow up on up dates for me

0
1
0

Jul 19, 2021
Totally incompetent

They are totally incompetent when it comes to closing loans, continually blaming other parties for delays that are entirely their own fault. In our case they have been sitting on a 'subordination agreement' for weeks, and after telling us that they were ready to close and even making appointments for a notary to come round, suddenly there's a problem with the wording of that agreement that means the whole thing needs a do-over. We regret using them, and would advise anyone else to steer well clear.

0
1
0

Jul 16, 2021
Satisfactory

Online operation Went mostly smooth Communication was sometimes slow especially on weekends but mostly responsive Rate match is great

2
1
0

1-10 of 324

We don’t have rates available from Better Mortgage.

Average rates from other lenders

Refinance rates

Average home details

Credit score: 720–739 • Refinance • Primary residence • ZIP: 77009 • Loan balance: $230,000 • Est. home value: $287,500

Edit

We didn’t find rates for you right now. See what would happen if something changes.

Explore refinance calculator

Purchase rates

Average home details

Credit score: 720–739 • Purchase • Primary residence • ZIP: 77009 • Price: $300,000 • Down payment: 20%

Edit

We didn’t find rates for you right now. See what would happen if something changes.

Explore buying power simulator

††These ratings and reviews are provided by our users. The articles you read here come from the opinions of our editorial team. Lenders do not endorse or guarantee this content, are not responsible for it, and may not even be aware of it. Credit Karma receives compensation from third-party advertisers, but that doesn’t affect our editors’ opinions. Our marketing partners don’t review, approve or endorse our editorial content. It’s accurate to the best of our knowledge when it’s posted.

About These Rates: The lenders whose rates and other terms appear on this site are our advertising partners. The interest rates, annual percentage rates, and other terms advertised here are estimates provided by those advertising partners based on the information you entered above and they do not bind any lender. The monthly payment amounts and APRs shown here do not include taxes and insurance. Lender Fees include application, commitment, underwriting, processing fees or similar fees and do not include most third party fees, such as title insurance, tax service, escrow and other such fees in which the lender does not profit and are passed directly through to the borrower. Any potential savings figures are estimates based on the information provided by you and our advertising partners. While we will always do our best to provide you with accurate rate data, rates change frequently, and each advertising partner is responsible for the accuracy and availability of its own advertised terms. Your actual annual percentage rate and loan terms will be determined by the advertising partner’s assessment of your creditworthiness and other factors after you select and apply for a loan product.

The credit scores you see on Credit Karma use the VantageScore 3.0 scoring model. Rates shown here may be retrieved using a different scoring model, and our advertising partners may also use a different scoring model when assessing your creditworthiness.

The rates and other terms shown here may differ from those an advertising partner displays on its own website or on other advertising platforms. When evaluating offers, please review the advertising partner’s terms and conditions for details. These rates and other terms were retrieved via the Mortech rate engine.

Advertiser Disclosure: The offers that appear on this site are from third party advertisers from which Credit Karma receives compensation. This compensation may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). It is this compensation that enables Credit Karma to provide you with services like free access to your credit scores and free monitoring of your credit and financial accounts at no charge. Credit Karma strives to provide a wide array of offers for our members, but our offers do not represent all financial services companies or products. We do not endorse any lender or provider, in particular.

Please see the additional terms and conditions related to any Credit Karma mortgage promotions.