Home Loan Reviews Advertiser Disclosure

Berkshire Bank - Mortgage

Find Out More

Ratings by Category

Application Process
Customer Service
Borrower Ratings
1.5 5

Reviews (8)

Add Review
May 13, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

We went through Berkshire Bank as my wife is a teacher and they are somehow affiliated with the MTA.  Really, really, really wish I had done some research and picked a different bank.  Like another reviewer said, they ask for the same documents over and over, they seem very disorganized.  The person we were dealing with quit or got another job and then all of a sudden we had to work with someone else.  They made everything much more difficult than it had to be. I will not refer them to anyone that I know and definitely would not use them ever again.

more ...
Mar 17, 2016
full of bs
Anonymous Borrower


more ...
Feb 22, 2016
Seller of a house

The buyers of my house ended up walking on the loan application process with this terrible bank after 4 months of hassles. Berkshire Bank was absolutely the worst communicator, disorganized, and incompetant. They extended the closing date 5 times with no regard for what I had lined up with my own lender/movers/etc on my end. Thankfully I was purchasing a family house, or I might've lost it, due to the constant rescheduling of dates that went on for months. The process dragged and they would sometimes skip over the buyers' agent completely and go directly to the lawyer for yet another extension without explanation. After three closing date changes (and no commitment letter!) they even decided to switch the buyers to a different loan product. Why couldn't they have figured that out when the process started four months ago? My own mortgage rate lock expired... twice, due to how long they were taking. I am so grateful that my buyers walked on them and found an alternate plan and am even more grateful to have a loan with a differen bank. 

more ...
Nov 11, 2015
Terrible Experience with Berkshire Bank

The loan officer was very unprofessional and a terrible communicator.  I would never, ever use them again and suggest that no one else (unless you like frustration) use them!  TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE!!!  

more ...
Jan 26, 2015
Anonymous Borrower

Current mortgage is from them and I hate it. They charge you a fee every five minutes and talking to someone on the phone is nearly impossible. Do NOT go with them.

more ...
Jul 30, 2014
jmeasns Borrower

I've been with Berkshire for about a year. Every month, they have charged me an "Image Charge" of $2 to both of my two accounts. I have called every single month, and have been very quickly told that I shouldn't be getting that charge, and they've refunded the fee and fixed the problem. And then, next month, I get the same fee. 

Their customer service reps have been very friendly, and have seemed as though they knew exactly what they were doing. Yet, I can't get this problem corrected. It's not even worth my time calling to get the $2 back. It's just a monthly hassle. 

I'm about to close my account because of it, which is a shame, because I haven't had any other problems. 

They offer a business checking account without a fee, which is nice...

more ...
Sep 13, 2013
I am the seller.

The buyer is working with Berkshire Bank.  It has been 4 months and they are still asking for paperwork.  A list of what's needed should have been provided upfront.  The buyer has had 4 people to work with during this time.  The one before last seemed like she might get it done but she was finished with her job last week.  Quit or fired???

They all need retraining or they need a whole new crew.  Customer service?  Not likely.  It is more like customer no service.

more ...
Aug 27, 2013
Not exciting
joebxr Borrower

Trying to get respinses from their 800 numbers is useless...they send you in continous circle and getting a live person is impossible. Having them disharge loans is awful....someone needs to really review their processes becuase this bank fails in my book!!!!

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

Rate this loan overall

Please select a rating

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

What should others know about this loan?


How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations