Bank of America Home Mortgages Reviews

1.4 out of 5 stars
10 Reviews

From Borrowers in the last year

ADDITIONAL RATINGS YOU MIGHT FIND HELPFUL

Application Process

1.5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service

1.5 out of 5 stars

1.5 5
Collapse

These reviews were written by current and former borrowers in the last year.

Mar 24, 2017
false credit reporting
nancihobson Borrower

If you are ever unfortunate enough to get a BOA home loan, not only will the loan be your worst experience. ('returned' payments not credited, with no sign of the payment posting against our bank, no explanation, late fees charged for no reason), but they will not even report your payments to the Credit Bureau correctly!!  We have paid on time for 12 months after a modification, our payment is staggering, we are trying desperately to refinance, and they are either mis-reporting or not reporting half of the payments.  They show 6 payments made on time.  I've tried to report this to the BBB, but the page is closed down!  I assume that it is because there are too many complaints.  I'll keep checking to see if the page goes back up eventually. But stay away from these people!  

more ...
Jan 05, 2017
Bank of America is Horrendous
Anonymous Borrower

Went throught three months of endless paperwork. Finally gave up. Worst banking experience of my life.

more ...
Nov 14, 2016
Anonymous Borrower

Very bad I ever see the bank like this in my life..very bad customer service. They never pic up the phone. They only nice when you apply the loan keep away from this bank

more ...
Oct 31, 2016
Mortgage
Anonymous Borrower

Bank of America assumed my Countrywide Mortgage years ago.  When the interest rates dropped I consistently tried to refinance under the "HARP 3" that never materialized.  If I want to mess up my credit they "programs' to help, but if I want to refinance my current mortgage at a lower interest rate...can't help.  When the housing market crumbled I lost all my equity and they won't do a refinance.

more ...
Sep 28, 2016
Great experience with BOA
Anonymous Borrower

I had worked with a lady in St Charles Illinois who was very helpfull and really cared - very responsive to my questions -she was my loan officer and basically the middle person between me and the underwriter.  Anyway I was able to get my documents in during the time period that Mrs Lamp has asked and everything went as scheduled.  I have good credit and I have a good job so this maybe the reason for my expediant process but I do believe you need a professional and responsive loan officer to make your experience flawless, thanks BOA and especially the nice loan officer -hopefully will be doing another loan shortly.

more ...
Aug 14, 2016
It was a nightmare.
Anonymous Borrower

Please listen to me.  Do NOT, under any circumstances, take out a mortgage with BofA.  It is not just extreme inexperience among many of their people, but their entire system is a mess.  They outsource processing to people who are equally incompetent.  I could tell 10 horror stories.  Mistakes were made that cost me money.  Never.  

This is the first negative review I have written, ever.  I wish I'd had the good sense to follow my intuition that things were not going well.  I should have gone to a pro.  

more ...
Jun 15, 2016
Run away from Bank of America!
Anonymous Borrower

I had to give up after 2 months of "evolving" documentation requirements. They made me write letter after letter, at least 9 last time I checked, for all sort of things. There were multiple missed deadlines. I considered myself a well qualified borrower with 750+ credit score, above average stable income and my net worth is as much as the house I was trying to buy. Do yourself and your familiy a favor: run away!

more ...
Jun 15, 2016
Absolutely terrible. Run away!

I had to give up after 2 months of "evolving" documentation requirements. They made me write letter after letter, at least 9 last time I checked, for all sort of things. There were multiple missed deadlines. I considered myself a well qualified borrower with 750+ credit score, above average stable income and my net worth is as much as the house I was trying to buy. Do yourself and your familiy a favor: run away!

more ...
Jun 09, 2016
ABSOLUTE NIGHTMARE AT B OF A
readreview Borrower

RUN FROM THIS BANK ! DO NOT apply for a loan from Bank of America. I was referred to a Bank of America loan officer in Kirkland WA and thought I would be in good hands. NOT. This is a refinance on a property that has a LTV of 50% and my credit rating is 793 and have great income. Should be easy right. No, the customer service is really poor, I don't know their hiring standards, must be really low. They ask me to write a total of 9 letters of explanation for the most ridiculous things. I should have left this process early on and said I am going to a different lender. They must dream up at night , how can we make this process the worst possible nightmare for the customer, lie to them and cheat them out of their money. I could write a book on how miserable this experience was. DO NOT GO TO THIS BANK FOR A HOME LOAN OR REFINANCE.  The only thing I get out of this is saving you grief and a chance to vent my frustration with my choice of going to this horrible bank. I looked at Consumer Affairs for B of A about 10 minutes ago. I should have looked at this first before applying. How can this bank stay open with thousands of complaints. STAY AWAY from Bank of America.

more ...
May 23, 2016
terrible service, waste of time
Anonymous Borrower

I have been a customer for a long time, I am dissapointed.  this was a simple refinance, for a property that I have owned for many years.  Got the preapproval, spent a month going back and forth answering questions, tracking loan officer, complained and finally was able to close.  worst experience I have had obtaining a loan, I dont recommend.  This bank is pretty pathetic when it comes to loan processing. 

more ...
Add a Review

Add Your Review

I Own It I Had It I Applied

Please state your experience.

How would you rate this loan overall?

Please select a rating

What should others know about this loan?

Optional

How was application process?

How was customer service?

Join the Credit Karma Community

It’s free, and you’ll get tools and info that can help you improve your financial health:

  • Credit scores and reports
  • Credit monitoring
  • Personalized recommendations